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Tennessee Works Tax Act Creates Deduction from
Franchise Tax Minimum Measure

Franchise Tax Minimum Measure

Under the Tennessee Works Tax Act, Public Chapter
377 (2023), for tax years ending on or after December
31, 2024, the real and tangible property measure of
the franchise tax base, as computed under Tenn.
Code Ann. § 67-4-2108 (the “minimum measure”), will
apply to the value of the property that is in excess of
$500,000.

Therefore, up to $500,000 of a taxpayer's aggregate
property value, as determined under Tenn. Code
Ann. 8 67-4-2108 at the close of the tax year, will be
excluded from the franchise tax minimum measure.
The annual franchise tax continues to be based on
the greater of the taxpayer's net worth or its
minimum measure. The $500,000 exclusion does not
apply to the net worth franchise tax base.

Reporting the Deduction

The Department will revise the Franchise and Excise
Tax Return by adding two lines to Schedule G.

For More Information

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue. Click on Revenue Help to
search for answers or to submit an information
request to one of our agents. Additional information
is also available in the Department's Franchise and
Excise Tax Manual.

References

Pub. Ch. 377 (2023)

Disclaimer: The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations,
or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.
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