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� Low speed vehicles 

may be titled and 

registered in 

Tennessee 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

� “Low speed” 

vehicle defined 

 

 

 

 

� Proper safety 

equipment is 

required 

 

 

� Special laws 

govern the use of 

low speed vehicles 

on Tennessee’s 

roads 

 

 
 

T.C.A. § 55-1-103 

T.C.A. § 55-1-122 

T.C.A. § 55-1-123 

T.C.A. § 55-4-111 

T.C.A. § 55-8-101 

T.C.A. § 55-8-191 

T.C.A. § 55-50-102 

49 CFR 571 
 

 

INTRODUCTION 
 
This notice is intended to provide county clerks and the general public with information 

concerning the titling and registering of low speed vehicles.  

 

Low speed vehicles that meet certain statutory requirements may be titled and 

registered in Tennessee for use on roads with a speed limit of thirty-five miles 

per hour (35 mph) or less. Generally, golf carts are excluded, unless they are 

specifically designed and manufactured for on road use or have been modified 

to meet all of the statutory requirements and safety standards outlined in this 

notice.  Page two of this notice discusses golf carts in more detail. 

 
DISCUSSION 
 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-1-103, 55-4-111, 55-8-101, 55-8-191, and 55-50-102 provide 

that low speed vehicles may be titled and registered in Tennessee if they meet the 

requirements outlined in the law. A low speed vehicle is defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 

55-1-122, as follows: 

 

“Low speed vehicle” means any four-wheeled electric or gasoline vehicle, 

excluding golf carts, whose top speed is greater than twenty miles per hour (20 

mph), but not greater than twenty-five miles per hour (25 mph), including 

neighborhood electric vehicles. Low speed vehicles must comply with the 

standards in 49 CFR 571.500. 

 

The standard contained in 49 CFR 571.500 (Code of Federal Regulations) requires low 

speed vehicles to have basic safety equipment, including head lamps, stop lamps, front 

and rear turn signal lamps, tail lamps, reflectors (one red on each side near the rear 

and one red on the back), parking brake, one exterior mirror mounted on the driver’s 

side of the vehicle and one additional mirror on the passenger side or an interior mirror, 

a windshield meeting the standards outlined in 49 CFR 571.205, seat belts (type 1 or 2) 

located at each designated seating position, and a vehicle identification number (VIN) 

that conforms to provisions outlined in 49 CFR 565.  The purpose of this standard is to 

ensure that low speed vehicles operated on the public streets, roads, and highways are 

equipped with the minimum motor vehicle equipment appropriate for motor vehicle 

safety. 

 

Important Information: 
 

The laws regarding the operation of low speed vehicles on Tennessee’s roads are 

contained in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-8-191.  Low speed vehicles can only be operated on 

streets where the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles per hour (35 mph) or less.  A 

low speed vehicle is permitted to cross streets that exceed this thirty-five mile per hour 

limit. 

Owners and operators of low speed vehicles, including modified golf carts, are subject to 

the requirements outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-8-191 regarding the proper 

operation of these vehicles on Tennessee’s roads and must have a Class D driver license 

in their possession when operating the vehicle. 
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� A low speed 

affidavit form is 

required when 

there is no MSO 

indicating the 

vehicle is a low 

speed vehicle 

 

 

 

 

� Unmodified golf 

carts may not be 

registered and 

titled in Tennessee 

 

 

 

 

 

� Golf carts can be 

modified to meet 

the strict 

specifications of 

low speed vehicles, 

allowing them to 

be titled and 

registered 

   

� Assistance is 

available from 

Revenue if you 

have questions 
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In the interest of safety, local county government entities or the Tennessee Department 

of Transportation may prohibit the operation of low speed vehicles on any road in its 

jurisdiction. 

 

To register a low speed vehicle, designed and manufactured for on road use, applicants 

should provide to their local county clerk’s office a copy of the vehicle’s MSO 

(manufacturer’s statement of origin), as proof that the vehicle meets all statutory 

requirements and safety standards, along with the traditional documentation required 

for vehicle registration.  Applicants must submit the low speed vehicle affidavit form 

(RV-F1314301) with their registration application when there is no MSO indicating the 

vehicle is a low speed vehicle.  The low speed affidavit form is available on our Web site, 

www.Tennessee.gov/revenue.   

 

Golf Carts 

Traditional golf carts, as defined by Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-1-123, may not be titled and 

registered for on road use, unless modified to meet all of the low or medium speed 

vehicle requirements in Tennessee law and the federal safety standards contained in 49 

CFR 571.500. Traditional golf carts are defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-1-123 as 

follows:  

 

“Golf cart means a motor vehicle that is designed and manufactured for 

operation on a golf course for sporting or recreational purposes and that is not 

capable of exceeding speeds of twenty miles per hour (20 mph).” 

 

A golf cart that is designed and manufactured for on road use, or is modified to meet all 

of the low or medium speed vehicle requirements and federal safety standards does not 

meet the definition of a traditional golf cart, as outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-1-123.  

Since this vehicle is not a golf cart as defined under Tennessee law, the vehicle may be 

registered as a low or medium speed vehicle if all requirements are met to be a low or 

medium speed vehicle.   

  

Individuals modifying a traditional golf cart to meet low speed vehicle requirements 

must submit a low speed affidavit form (RV-F1314301) that certifies the vehicle has 

been sufficiently modified to meet all low speed vehicle requirements.  The affidavit 

must be submitted with the registration application as a condition of registration. Clerks 

are authorized to title and register these vehicles as low speed vehicles if all 

documentation requirements are met.  

  
Additional Information: 
 
For more information regarding vehicle registration in Tennessee, please call our vehicle 

services call center at 888/871-3171 or 615/741-3101.  Assistance for county clerks is 

available by contacting Revenue’s county clerk support staff - Billy Trout (615/741-

4177), Kathy Duncan (615/532-6908), or Belinda Boddie (615/253-4073). More 

information is available on our Web site, www.Tennessee.gov/revenue.  

 

 
 

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change 

as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions.  While this notice is intended 

to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In 

such cases, you should contact the department for further guidance.  

 


