Sign Up To Receive Email Notifications from TABC

Wholesaler Representative Permit

Each representative or salesperson of any wholesale license in Tennessee must obtain a Wholesalers Representative permit from the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission before soliciting orders from any retail licensee. No other person shall be allowed to solicit orders for alcoholic beverages from retail licensees, and retail licensees shall not give an order to anyone other than the holder of a wholesale representative permit.

This permit is valid 5 years from the date of issue.

The forms and fees for this permit are available under Public Information and Forms


Requirements

  • Applicant for a Wholesalers Representative must be at least 18 years of age.
  • Wholesale Representative permits must be on the person of such employee, subject to inspection by the commission or its duly authorized agent.
  • A copy of the individual’s employee permit or wholesale representative permit needs to be kept on file with the wholesaler. The actual card is kept by the employee.

Restrictions

  • Applicants cannot have been convicted of any offense prohibiting or regulating the sale, possession, transportation, storing, manufacturing, or otherwise handling intoxicating liquors or who has, during such period been engaged in business alone or with others, in violation of any of such laws or rules and regulations.
  • The applicant has not been convicted of any felony involving moral turpitude with the previous ten (10) years, unless their rights of citizenship have been restored, or judgment of infamy has been removed by the court of competent jurisdiction.

More Information
New Application Process
  • Fill out and submit the Wholesalers Representative Permit application with the fee.
  • Fill out and submit the Declaration of Citizenship with the appropriate copies of your identification.
  • Submit the original documents with payment to the local Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission for review. If you have convictions, court disposition papers showing the date of conviction and the disposition of the charges may be required for review by the TABC before your Wholesalers Representative employee permit may be issued.
  • Receive your Wholesalers Representative employee permit from the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
  • Once the card is received, the applicant keeps the original card and they give their employer a photocopy of the card. The card must be on the owner's person at all times during business operations.

* All forms must be completely filled out, signed and notarized.

* All payments must be made with a money order, cashier's check or business check from the licensed establishment and made payable to the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission. Global money orders will not be accepted.

* Notaries are available at the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission office for walk in clients. You must be present, have proper identification and the notary must witness your signature.

Renewal Information
  • Before your current card expires, fill out and submit the Wholesalers Representative Permit application with the fee.
  • Fill out and submit the Declaration of Citizenship with the appropriate copies of your identification.
  • Submit the original documents with payment to the local Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission for review. If you have convictions, court disposition papers showing the date of the conviction and the disposition of the charges may be required for review by the TABC before your Wholesale Representative permit may be issued.
  • Receive your Wholesale Representative permit from the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.
  • Once the card is received, the applicant keeps the original card and they give their employer a photocopy of the card. The card must be on the owner's person at all times during business operations.

* All forms must be completely filled out, signed and notarized.

* All payments must be made with a money order, cashier's check or business check from the licensed establishment and made payable to the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission. Global money orders will not be accepted.

* Notaries are available at the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission office for walk in clients. You must be present, have proper identification and the notary must witness your signature.

Replacement Information

To replace this permit, you must reapply and submit the replacement fee.

Once the card is received, the applicant keeps the original card and they give their employer a photocopy of the card. The card must be on the owner's person at all times during business operations.