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State of Tennessee 
Website:  Board for Licensing Contractors 

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/ 
Email:  Brenda.Emmett@tn.gov 

RECIPROCATION & LICENSE VERIFICATION ­ INFORMATION 
(Trade Exam Waiver Agreement) 

Out of State Contractors (Requesting Reciprocity with Tennessee) 
(Must be licensed prior to making an offer to engage, bid or contract) 

States with an Agreement with Tennessee 
Tennessee presently holds a trade exam waiver agreement, for the trade exam, only, with those 
domiciled  and  actively  licensed  in  one  of  the  following  states:  Alabama  (General,  Electrical, 
Residential and HVAC); Arkansas (General ­ Residential & Commercial); Louisiana, Mississippi, North 
Carolina (Residential and Commercial), and South Carolina (see list of state agencies on page 10 – 11). 

If you are licensed in one of these six (6) states listed above, but that state is not your domiciled 
(home)  location,  we  may  not  reciprocate  unless  you’ve  taken  an  exam  comparable  to 
Tennessee’s current exam with PSI Services, LLC. 

Tennessee will also  reciprocate with  the  “NASCLA National Commercial Contractor Exam” as 
soon as  it  is finalized  (see more  information at www.nascla.org).  The Tennessee “Business and 
Law” exam is required as part of the application process. 

NOTE:   Contractors with a complaint history or have been disciplined, may not qualify  for  the 
trade exam to be waived. 
Obtaining the Trade Exam Waiver 
To  obtain  a  trade  exam waiver,  please  attach  a  copy  of  your Qualifying  Agent’s  (QA)  exam 
scores  to  your  completed  contractor’s  license  application;  the  application  process  takes 
approximately  four  to  six  weeks.  Have  the  license  verification  form  (see  page  5;  also  in  the 
contractor  license application) completed by the state where you are currently  licensed and who 
reciprocates with Tennessee.  Some states may charge a fee to complete this form and you will 
need to contact them or check their website. 

Note:  The license is not issued to the person taking the exam (QA); it is issued to the legal owner/entity 
providing the financial statement and insurance. 

Other Tennessee Agencies 
Our  reciprocity/trade  exam  waiver  agreement  only  applies  to  our  Board  for  Licensing 
Contractors and  does  not  apply  to  other  State  licensing  agencies,  separate  from  our Board, 
such  as:  Alarm  Systems  Contracting  Board  for  security  alarm  systems;  the  Division  of  Fire 
Prevention  for  fire  sprinklers;  Geothermal  with  the  Department  of  Environment  and 
Conservation, etc., (see “Valuable Resources” link on the website). 

When is a Contractor’s License Required 
A  contractor must  be  licensed  for  projects  $25,000 or more,  and  they must  be  licensed  first 
prior to bidding, contracting or submitting a price. 

o  Prime contractors (bidding directly to the owner); and
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o  Subcontractors  (bidding  directly  to  a  licensed  contractor)  performing  Electrical, 
Mechanical, Plumbing, HVAC and Geothermal are required to be licensed as 
a Contractor for projects $25,000 or more. 

Other subcontractors, bidding to a properly licensed prime contractor (not to the owner), are not 
required to be licensed as a Contractor to perform work, regardless of the contract amount, for 
projects  such  as:  roofing,  masonry,  landscaping,  carpentry,  flooring,  etc.,  (see  list  of  license 
classifications with building subcategories on page 6 ­ 8). 

For  example,  a  landscape  contractor,  who  bids  directly  to  a  licensed  commercial  contractor, 
would be exempt from having a license as a subcontractor.  For a landscape contractor bidding 
directly to the owner, for a project $25,000 or more, they would need a contractor’s license since 
they are a prime, and would need to have a BC­29 (Landscaping) classification.  Landscaping is 
listed as one of  the 33 building subcategories (see page 6), and a trade exam is not required. 
Therefore, reciprocation would not be a benefit because a trade exam is not needed to obtain 
the license; only the Business & Law. 

A complete definition of contracting is available in the license law on our website, T.C.A. § 62­6­ 
102.  Basically,  it  is where one accepts a price to assume charge, direct, supervise, schedule 
construction, alteration, repair, improvement, movement, demolition, putting up, tearing down, or 
furnishing labor to install material or equipment for any building, highway, road, railroad, sewer, 
grading,  excavation,  pipeline,  public  utility  structure,  project  development,  housing,  housing 
development, improvement, or any other construction undertaking for which the total cost of the 
same is twenty­five thousand dollars ($25,000) or more. 

License Process 
In  order  to  obtain  a  contractor’s  license,  it  is  a  four  to  six  week  process;  the  completed 
application must be approved by  the Board at  their  regular  scheduled meetings.    If  there are 
complaints,  bankruptcies,  convictions,  lack  of  experience,  or  if  the  exam  was  taken  by  an 
employee with no ownership and employed with them less than 6 months, then the Board may 
require  a  personal  interview  at  the  Board  meeting.  The  application  process  requires  exam 
scores (trade, if applicable; see license classification list on page 6 – 8) and a Business & Law 
score;  financial  statement  prepared  by  a  CPA;  proof  of  insurance;  and  the  fee  is  $250.00, 
renewable  within  two  years.    Complete  instructions  are  in  the  application  which  may  be 
downloaded from our website. 

Tennessee Business & Law Exam 
Contractors requesting reciprocity/waiver of the trade exam must complete the entire license 
application process and take the Business & Law exam. The application may be downloaded 
from the “Forms and Applications” section on the website at: 
http://tennessee.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/  The Tennessee “Business & Law” exam is 
required by all applicants obtaining a license.  It may be taken at a PSI site (located throughout 
the United States) closest to you, by completing the special accommodations request when 
registering for the exam. This exam is open book and based upon the “Contractors Guide to 
Business, Law and Project Management” reference manual published by NASCLA ( 
http://store.nascla.org/cgi­bin/nascla.cgi/TN.html.). 

This exam is offered by PSI who may be contacted at:  (800) 733­9267 or online at 
http://candidate.psiexams.com/index.  Check with PSI for their exam site locations in other 
states.
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Qualifying Agent (Exam Taker) 
The person who took the exams on behalf of the entity is considered a Qualifying Agent (QA). 
They may be  the owner,  partner or  officer of  the entity obtaining  the  license,  or  an  individual 
who is a full  time employee, may be designated by the entity with a Power of Attorney (POA). 
The  QA  cannot  be  listed  on  more  than  one  Tennessee  license,  unless  they  are  a  majority 
owner.  The person who took the trade exam does not have to be the same person who takes 
the “Business & Law” exam.  The QA should review the “Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB)” 
examination guide for dates, locations, registration and study outlines.   The “pdf” version of the 
exam CIB from our website is at:  http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/ 

­OR­ 

Directly to PSI’s site at:  http://candidate.psiexams.com/index.jsp 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

BIDDING 
Contractors must bid, contract and permit in the name as licensed or it is considered unlicensed 
activity and subject to disciplinary action by the Board.  License ID number, classification, and 
expiration date,  is  required  to be on  the outside of  a bid envelope.   The electrical, plumbing, 
mechanical and HVAC  licensing  information of subcontractors, where  their bid  is  in excess of 
$25,000,  must  also  appear  on  the  outside  of  the  bid  envelope.  In  addition,  geothermal 
contractors  must  list  their  TDEC  (Tennessee  Department  of  Environment  and  Conservation) 
license information (see new legislation for July 1, 2008 on the website). 

BID PREFERENCE LAW 
For  those  contracting  in  other  states  bordering  Tennessee,  our  state  requires  the  same  of 
nonresident contractors as they do of resident contractors.  This statute is found in T.C.A. 12­4­ 
801  and  states  in  part,  should  the  bidder  on  a  public  construction  project  in  this  state  be  a 
resident of another state, contiguous to Tennessee, a like reciprocal preference is allowed.  In 
short, if a nonresident’s home state gives a preference to their residents, and adds a percentage 
to a nonresident’s bid to increase the total bid amount, we would apply the same criteria to their 
bid on our state’s work. 

NON­RECIPROCAL STATES 
Effective  July  1,  2008,  pursuant  TCA  §  62­6­111(B),  anyone  desiring  to  be  licensed  as  a 
contractor with this state, but does not reside in a state that does not practice reciprocity with 
licensees of the Tennessee Board for Licensing Contractors, must sign an affidavit stating they 
are  not  currently  performing  any  construction  work  and  has  not  offered  to  engage  in  any 
construction work in the amount of $2,500.00. 

APPLICATION REVIEW AND DEADLINE DATES 
The application is due on the 20 th  of the month before the Board meets.  The application must 
be  received  in  the office by  the deadline date;  not postmarked.   The Board meets during  the 
months of January (Nashville); March (Nashville); May (Memphis); July (Nashville); September 
(Knoxville); and November (Nashville).  Meeting locations are tentative and subject to change! 

For  example,  for  review  at  the  January  Board  meeting,  you  must  have  your  completed 
application in by December 20 th .  If the 20 th  is on a holiday or weekend, the next business day is 
considered the deadline.

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/
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If  you  have  questions  regarding  applying  for  a  license  in  Tennessee,  you  may  contact  Ms. 
Katherine Holliman at (615) 532­3983 or by email at:  Katherine.Holliman@state.tn.us or check 
the FAQ’s on the web. 

TENNESSEE LICENSED CONTRACTORS (Requesting Reciprocity) 

You  may  check  with  the  National  Association  of  State  Contractors  Licensing  Agencies 
(NASCLA) as a resource for other states licensing requirements, at:  http://www.nascla.org/ 

The  following  states  have  an  agreement  to  accept  Tennessee’s  trade  exam  with  the 
Contractor’s  license,  however,  other  states  may  accept  for  experience:  Alabama  (*General, 
Electrical,  Residential  and  HVAC);  Arkansas  (*General  ­  Residential  &  Commercial);  Louisiana, 
Mississippi, North Carolina  (*Residential and Commercial), and South Carolina.  However,  if 
you have a complaint or discipline history, or have been licensed less than three (3) years, or 
license is not active, they may not accept the trade exam from our State.  These states do not 
accept  the  Limited  Licensed  Electrician  (LLE)  or  Limited  Licensed  Plumber  (LLP)  license  to 
waive their trade exam. 

If you need a license verification form completed by Tennessee in order to apply for another 
state’s license, you may fax the State’s form to:  (615) 532­2868; or you mail to our office at: 

Contractor’s Board 
500 James Robertson Parkway 
Nashville, TN  37243­1150 

Should you prefer to contact staff directly: 

Brenda Emmett  (615) 532­3993  Email:  Brenda.Emmett@tn.gov 
Linda Ford  (615) 253­2144  Email:  Linda.Ford@state.tn.gov 
Fax  (615) 532­2868 

Tennessee does not charge a fee to complete verification and these may be completed within a 
week,  unless  the  exam  scores  have been  archived  or  imaged.    Therefore,  provide  as much 
information available for us to pull the original scores; name, date of  the exam; and license ID 
number assigned, please send with the verification.

mailto:Katherine.Holliman@state.tn.us
http://www.nascla.org/
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TENNESSEE RECIPROCITY INFORMATION 
TENNESSEE BOARD FOR LICENSING CONTRACTORS 
Mailing Address:  500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY 
NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37243­1150 
(800) 544­7693 or (615) 532­3993 or FAX ­ (615) 532­2868 
www.tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors  Email:  Brenda.Emmett@tn.gov 

ALL CONTRACTORS MUST HOLD A TENNESSEE LICENSE PRIOR TO OFFERING A PRICE, CONTRACTING OR BIDDING 
OR BE SUBJECT TO PENALTIES AND DENIAL OF LICENSE (See TCA 62­6­120). 

The State of Tennessee has entered into a trade exam waiver agreement with licensing agencies in:  Alabama 
–  (General,  Electrical,  Residential,  and  HVAC);  Arkansas  (General  Contracting);  Louisiana; Mississippi,  North 
Carolina  (Residential/Commercial)  and  South  Carolina.    Reciprocation  is  with  the  TRADE  exam,  only.  The 
reciprocating state must be  the applicant’s home/domiciled state or  licensed  in one of  the  six  states and 
taken an exam comparable to Tennessee’s current exam with PSI.  In addition, the contractor must pass the 
Tennessee Business and Law exam; complete the entire license application with all financial requirements, 
workers compensation and  liability  insurance,  and Board  review.   Please also attach copy of  license and 
exam score, if available. Corporations or LLC must register with the Tennessee Secretary of State. 

LICENSE VERIFICATION 

Licensee:_____________________________________________ License #:___________________ 
(Name as it appears on license) 

Address:__________________________City:_________________State:_______Zip:___________ 

Telephone:  (_____)__________;  Fax:  (_____)____________  Email:  _______________________ 

________________________________________                                    Date:___________________ 
(Signature of Owner or Officer) 

ATTN:  Reciprocating State ­ The above named applicant is applying for a contractor’s  license in the State of Tennessee.   Please 
complete the bottom portion and return to the contractor for them to submit with their Tennessee license application. 

RECIPROCATING STATE AGENCY COMPLETES PORTION BELOW 

Verifying State Completing Form: 
___Alabama  ___Arkansas  ___Louisiana  ___Mississippi  ___North Carolina  ___South Carolina 

Owner(s) or Officer(s):_________________________________________________________________ 

Name of Qualifying Agent(s) (Person Tested):______________________________________________ 

License Classification:__________________________________ Monetary Limit:__________________ 
Original Date of Licensure:_________________________   Expiration Date:______________________ 
Licensed By: 

¨ Exam ­ Type & Score:_______________________________________  Date_____________ 
¨ Endorsement­ State:__________________________________________________________ 
¨ Waiver ­ ___________________________________________________________________ 

Complaints: ¨ None  ¨ Yes ­  Disciplinary  Action:__________________________________________ 

State Agency:  _____________________________________ ­ Our agency agrees to reciprocate with Tennessee. 

Signature:_________________________________     Title:_____________________ 
(By State Agency) 

TCA 12­4­801 ­ Bid Preference Law ­ A like reciprocal preference is allowed to the lowest responsible bidder to  a contractor  who 
is either a resident of this state or is a resident of another state. 

Rev.  3/09
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6 

Outline of License Classifications 

All applicants must take the Business and Law exam.  The following is an outline of classifications and identifies 
those requiring a “Trade” test: 

BC ­ BUILDING CONSTRUCTION ­ (Test Required) 
A. Residential (BC­A) ­ (Test Required) 
“Residential building contractors” are those whose services are limited to construction, remodeling, repair, or 
improvement of one, two, three, or four family unit residences not exceeding three stories in height and accessory 
use structures in connection therewith. 
Limited Residential Restricted (BC­A/r) – No Test – Course at community college 
$70,000 total project; no 10% bid tolerance; must take exams to increase limit.  (New rules in process.) 
B. Commercial (BC­B) ­ (Test Required) 
A commercial building contractor is authorized to bid on and contract for the construction, erection, alteration, repair 
or demolition of any building or structure for use and occupancy by the general public, including residential 
construction with more than four (4) units or greater than three (3) stories in height. 
b. Small Commercial (BC­b) ­ (Test Required) 
A small commercial building contractor is authorized to bid on and contract for the construction, erection, alteration, 
repair or demolition of any building or structure for use and occupancy by the general public where the total cost of 
which does not exceed seven hundred fifty thousand dollars ($750,000.00); must take the “B” exam to increase. 
C. Industrial (BC­C) ­ (Test Required) 
A contractor under this classification is authorized to bid on and contract for the erection, alteration, repair and 
demolition of buildings or structures used for industrial production and service, such as manufacturing plants. 

BC BUILDING SUBCATEGORIES – (Test not required for five (5) or less of the following subcategories) 
1. Acoustical Treatments 
2. Carpentry, Framing and Millwork, etc. 
3. Drywall 
4. Floor Covering 
5. Foundations 
6. Glass, Window and Door Construction 
7. Institutional and Recreational Equipment 
8. Lathe, Plaster and Stucco 
9. Masonry 
10. Ornamental and Miscellaneous Metal 
11. Painting, Interior Decorating 
12. Roof Decks 
13. Site and Subdivision Development 
14. Special Coatings and Waterproofing 
15. Tile, Terrazzo and Marble 
16. Insulation 
17. Elevators, Escalators, and Dumbwaiters 
18. Erection and Fabrication of Structural Steel 
19. Concrete 
20. Sheet Metal 
21. Roofing 
22. Conveyors 
23. Sandblasting 
24. Golf Courses 
25. Tennis Courts 
26. Swimming Pools 
27. Outdoor Advertising 
28. Excavation (Note:  Always check on permits with the Department of Environment & Conservation) 
29. Landscaping 
30. Fencing 
31. Demolition 
32. Millwright 
33. Irrigation
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Example:  A contractor with a full BC classification is considered licensed to bid and perform “residential, commercial and industrial” 
building, as well as, any of the 33 listed building subcategories. A contractor with a BC­29 (Landscaping) classification would not 
be required to take a trade exam, and would be licensed for “landscaping”, only. 

HC ­ HEAVY CONSTRUCTION (No Trade Test ­ for HC or any of the HC subcategories) 
A. Marine (HC­A) 
(Wharves, Docks, Harbor Improvements and Terminals) 
B. Tunnel and Shaft (HC­B) 
C. Energy and Power Plants (HC­C) 
D. Dams, Dikes, Levees and Canals (HC­D) 
E. Mining Surface and Underground (HC­E) 
F. Oil Field Construction (HC­F) 
G. Oil Refineries (HC­G) 
Heavy Construction Categories (Apply to All Areas) 
1. Structural Steel Erection 
2. Tower and Stack Construction 
3. Foundation Construction, Pile Driving, Foundation Drilling, and Stabilization 
4. Demolition and Movement of Structures 
5. Clearing, Grubbing, Snagging and Rip Rap 
6. Slipform Concrete Structures 
7. Rigging and Crane Rigging 
8. Welding 

HRA ­ HIGHWAY, RAILROAD AND AIRPORT CONSTRUCTION (No Trade Test – for HRA or HRA subcategories) 
A. Grading and Drainage (HRA­A) 
Includes grading, drainage pipe and structures, clearing and grubbing.  (Note:  Check with Department of Environment & 
B. Base and Paving (HRA­B)  Conservation for permits) 
1. Base Construction 
2. Hot and Cold Mix Asphalt 
3. Surface Treatment Asphalt 
4. Concrete Paving 
C. Bridges and Culverts (HRA­C) 
1. Painting 
2. Repair 
3. Demolition 
4. Bridge Deck Overlay (Sealant) 
5. Gunite 
6. Cofferdam 
7. Steel Erection 
D. Railroad Construction and Related Items (HRA­D) 
E. Miscellaneous and Specialty Items (HRA­E) 
1. Traffic Safety 
(a) Pavement Markers 
(b) Signing 
(c) Guardrail and Fencing 
(d) Attenuators, signalization and roadway lighting 
2. Landscaping 
Includes seeding, sodding, planting, and chemical weed and brush control. 
3. Pavement Rehabilitation 
Includes pressure grouting, grinding and grooving, concrete joints, and underdrains. 
4. Well Drilling (Note:  Contact Department of Environment & Conservation for their license) 
5. Miscellaneous Concrete 
Includes sidewalks, driveways, curb and gutter, and box culverts. 

MU ­ MUNICIPAL AND UTILITY CONSTRUCTION – (*No Test ­ for subcategories, except for a full MU or MU­B classification; 
requires a BC or BC­B trade exam) 
Municipal and Utility Construction includes all supervision, labor, material and equipment to complete underground piping, water and 
sewer plants and sewer disposal, grading and drainage, and paving (unless restricted to specific areas named). 
A. Underground Piping (MU­A) 
Furnish supervision, labor, material and equipment to complete all underground piping for municipal and utility construction (unless 
restricted to specific areas names). 
1. Gas Distribution and Transmission Lines 
2. Sewer Lines, Storm Drains, Rehabilitation and Structures 
3. Waterlines 
4. Underground Conduit 
B. Water and Sewer Systems *(MU­B) 
* requires a BC­B or commercial or industrial trade exam to construct water and sewer plants.
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C. Grading and Drainage (MU­C) Includes grading, drainage pipe and structures, clearing and grubbing. (Note: Always check with 
Department of Environment & Conservation (TDEC) for permits) 

D. Base and Paving (MU­D) 
1. Base Construction 
2. Hot and Cold Mix Asphalt 
3. Surface Treatment Asphalt 
4. Concrete Pavement 
5. Miscellaneous Concrete (includes sidewalks, driveways, curb and gutter, and box culverts) 

MC/CMC  ­ MECHANICAL CONTRACTING 
A. Plumbing and Gas Piping (CMC­A) ­  (Test Required – Requires pre­approval to take the exam, with 3 years experience) 
B. Process Piping (CMC­B) – (No Test) 
C. HVAC, Refrigeration and Gas Piping (CMC­C) ­  (Test Required) 
1. Solar HVAC (Geothermal) – (Test Required – CMC­C) – (Well Drillers must register with Dept. of Environment & Conservation)) 
D. Sprinklers & Fire Protection (must register with Fire Prevention) ­ (CMC­D) ­ (Test Required) 
E. Insulation of Mechanical Work (CMC­E) – (No Test) 
F. Pollution Control (CMC­F) – (No Test) 
G. Pneumatic Tube Systems (CMC­G) – (No Test) 
H. Temperature Controls (Pneumatic) (MC­H) ­ (No Test) 
I. Boiler Construction & Repairs (CMC­I) ­ (No Test) 
J. Fuel Gas Piping and Systems (CMC­J) ­ (No Test) 

E/CE – ELECTRICAL CONTRACTING (Test Required for full CE) 
A. Electrical Transmission Lines (CE­A) ­ (Test Required – High Voltage) 
B. Electrical Work for Buildings and Structures ­ (Test Required – full CE) 
C. Underground Electrical Conduit Installation (CE­C) – (No Test for Low Voltage – 70 volts) 
D. Sound and Intercom Systems, Fire Detection Systems, Signal and Burglar Alarm Systems and Security (CE­D) – (No Test 
Required for Low Voltage/up to 70 volts; must register with Alarm Systems Contractors Board!)  Alarm contractors may be 
exempt from contractor’s license (see § 62­6­135) 
E. Electrical Signs (CE­E) – (Test Required if more than 70 volts) 
F. Telephone Lines and Ducts (CE­F) – (No Test Required; Low Voltage) 
G. Cable T.V. (CE­G) – (No Test) 
H. Substations (CE­H) – (Test Required for High Voltage) 
I.  Electrical Temperature Controls (CE­I) ­ (No Test) 
J. Fire Detection Systems, Signal and Burglar Alarm Systems and Security Systems with conduit and wiring above (70) volts require 
an electrical exam. (CE­J) ­ (Test Required – CE) 
K. Roadway Lighting, Attenuators and Signalization ­ requires electrical examination. (CE­K) – (Test Required – CE) 

Example:  A contractor with a CE classification may perform high voltage (CE­A,H) and any of the subcategories. 

S­ Specialty/Environmental ­ (No Test; based upon experience, training and certifications) 
A. Asbestos Material Handling/Removing (S­A or S­Asbestos) 
B. Underground Storage Tank (S­B or S­UST) 
C. Lead­Based Paint Abatement (S­C or S­ Lead) 
D. Hazardous Waste Removal (S­D or S­Hazardous) 
E. Air, Water or Soil Remediation (S­E or S­Remediation) 

S­Specialty/Medical Gas Piping (S­Medical Gas Piping) – (No Test Required) 
Installation, maintenance and repair work falling within the regulation of medical gas piping pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, 
Section 68­11­253. 
A. Medical Gas Piping Installer Certification Requirements. 
1. The minimum qualifications for board certification are the qualifications for certification 
established by the American Medical Gas Institute (AMGI) or the Piping Industry Progress and 
Education Trust Fund (PIPE). A minimum of thirty­two (32) hours of training, with eight (8) of brazing. 

S ­ Specialty (Specified) – (No Test for “S” specialty classifications) 

Specialty – This is a classification where it has not been assigned a code in the Rules of this outline of classifications. 
The Board reserves the right to depart from the classification system in appropriate individual cases, with no trade exam required. 
The following are examples. 

S­Cell Towers 
S­Equipment Installation 
S­Mold Remediation
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S­Telecommunications 
S­Audio and Visual Equipment Installation 
S­Window Tinting 

(NOTE:  The above is an abbreviated list of specialties and does not include all specialty classifications assigned to contractors by 
the Board.) 

Compilation from Rule 0680.1­­.16 and may be reviewed at the Tennessee Secretary of State’s web address at: 
http://www.state.tn.us/sos/rules/0680/0680.htm  or contact our office for a copy. 

. 

Other Licensing for Projects Less than $25,000 
Please check our website  for  licensing programs where  the cost  is  less  than $25,000 
for: 

• Home Improvement 
• LLE (Limited Licensed Electrician) 
• LLP (Limited Licensed Plumber) 

In  addition,  please  check  with  the  local  municipality  for  their  license,  permit  and 
inspection  requirements,  as  well  as  other  state  licensing  agencies.    A  few  of  these 
agencies are listed below: 

Websites 

Board  for Licensing Contractors  (see  “Forms, Applications &  Information”;  “Valuable Resources”; 
and “Law, Rules and Regulations”) 
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/ 

Department of Fire Prevention (see “Fire Sprinklers”; “Electrical Inspection”; “Building and Electrical 
Codes Adoption”; “Blasters”; etc.) 
http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/sfm/ 

Alarm Systems Contractors Board (must obtain for “Security Alarm Systems” licensing) 
http://tennessee.gov/commerce/boards/asc/ 

Department  of  Environment  and  Conservation  (see  “Well  Drillers  (Geothermal)”;  “Soil 
Erosion/Excavating Permits”; “Open Burning Law”; etc.) 
http://www.tennessee.gov/environment/ 

Tennessee Secretary of State (to register corporation or LLC with the State) 
http://www.state.tn.us/sos/bus_svc/index.htm 

One Stop Business Resource 
http://www.tennesseeanytime.org/osbr/ 

County and City Officials 
http://www.tennesseeanytime.org/local/index.html

http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/
http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/sfm/
http://tennessee.gov/commerce/boards/asc/
http://www.tennessee.gov/environment/
http://www.state.tn.us/sos/bus_svc/index.htm
http://www.tennesseeanytime.org/osbr/
http://www.tennesseeanytime.org/local/index.html
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LICENSE WAIVER AGREEMENTS (STATES) 

Alabama 

Licensing Board for General Contractors 
2525 Fairlane Dr. 
Montgomery, AL  36116 
http://www.genconbd.state.al.us/ 

Home Builders Licensure Board 
445 Herron St. 
Montgomery, AL  36130 
http://www.hblb.alabama.gov/ 

Electrical contractors Board 
610 South McDonough St. 
Montgomery, AL  36104 
http://www.aecb.state.al.us/ 

Board of Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors 
100 North Union St., Suite 630 
Montgomery, AL  36130 
http://www.hvac.alabama.gov/ 

Arkansas 

Contractors Licensing Board 
4100 Richards Rd. 
North Little Rock, AR  72117 
http://www.arkansas.gov/clb/ 

Louisiana 

State Licensing Board for Contractors 
P.O. Box 14419 
Baton Rouge, LA  70898­4419 
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/ 

Mississippi 

Mississippi State Board of Contractors 
215 Woodline dr., Suite B 
Jackson, MS  39232 
http://www.msboc.us/

http://www.genconbd.state.al.us/
http://www.hblb.alabama.gov/
http://www.aecb.state.al.us/
http://www.hvac.alabama.gov/
http://www.arkansas.gov/clb/
http://www.lslbc.louisiana.gov/
http://www.msboc.us/
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North Carolina 

*Licensing Board for General Contractors 
P.O. Box 17187 
Raleigh, NC  27619 
http://www.nclbgc.org/ 

*Exam waiver is limited to Residential and Commercial, only. 

South Carolina 

Residential Builders Commission 
P.O. Box 11329 
Columbia, SC  29211­1329 
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders/ 

South Carolina Contractors Licensing Board 
P.O. Box 11329 
Columbia, SC  29211­1329 
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/contractors/ 

Rev. 4/2009 

Note:  For step by step licensing information, to obtain a Tennessee contractor’s license, see our website at: 
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/ and click onto “Contractors”

http://www.nclbgc.org/
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders/
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/contractors/
http://tn.gov/commerce/boards/contractors/

