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EDUCATIONAL AND EXAMINATION EVALUATION WORKSHEET AND PRELIMINARY 
APPLICATION 

Non-Resident and Resident Candidates Currently or Previously Licensed in another Jurisdiction 
 
Name SSN DOB   

 

Resident Address   
 

Street City County State Zip 
 
Mailing Address   

 

P.O. Box Only City County State Zip 
 
Phone (O) (H) (Fax) (E-Mail)   

 
 

What type of license do you wish to obtain in Tennessee? 
 

A. Affiliate Broker B. Broker 
 
 

1. Do you now hold or have you held an affiliate broker or broker license in any state or 
jurisdiction? YES or NO 
IF NO, STOP. You cannot use this form. See page 3 of PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin 
(Available on our website) for license requirements. 
IF YES, list the state(s), license number(s), type of license(s) and expiration date(s). Then 
proceed to question 2. 
Original Certification of License History from all states in which you have held a license. 
STATE LICENSE NUMBER TYPE OF LICENSE EXPIRATION DATE 

 
 
 
 
 

2. Do you currently live in Tennessee? YES OR NO 
 

Go to PART B, NONRESIDENT/RESIDENT LICENSING 
 
 
 
 
Signature Date 

mailto:Trec.Info@TN.Gov
http://www.tn.gov/commerce/boards/trec


PART B. NONRESIDENT/RESIDENT LICENSING 
 
1. Applicant must obtain a Certification of Licensure or License History from every state listed in PART 

A, Question 1. (must have been issued within 6 months prior to application and include education, 
examination source, and score) 

 
2. If you answered A (Affiliate Broker) to PART A, Question 1, go directly to Section (a) of this part. If 

you answered B (Broker) to PART A, Question 1, go directly to Section (b) of this part. 
 
Section (a) (Affiliate Broker) 

 
1. Affiliate Broker candidates must provide proof of satisfactory completion of ninety (90) hours of real 

estate education which includes at least thirty (30) hours of real estate principles and the Tennessee 
30hour Course for New Affiliates (CNA). The remaining 30 hours can be approved electives. 
Education hours must be accepted for credit by the resident state of licensure before being considered 
for credit by TREC. Candidates must provide copies of certificates if the education is not included on 
the Certification of Licensure or License History form(s). 

 
2. Affiliate Broker candidates must provide proof of passing a national real estate examination since June 

30, 1980, (minimum passing score of 70%) on the national or uniform section of the examination in 
order to be granted a waiver of the uniform section. If the state where you tested creates their own 
examination, you will be required to take both parts of the Tennessee exam. 

 
3. Applicant must attach Certification of Licensure or License History form(s) to Page 1 of this form and 

send to TREC. 
 
4. After review by staff, an approval to take the Tennessee section of the exam will be generated by 

TREC and you will be notified. 
 
5. Applicant must take and pass the Tennessee section of the affiliate or broker examination. Passing the 

examination will generate an application for a license. 
 
6. All Affiliate Broker candidates must pass the Tennessee law section of the Tennessee Examination 

(minimum passing score of 70%). 
 
7. Passing the examination will generate an application for a license. 

 
8. Submit the completed application with all required documentation. Applications are subject to the 

approval of the TREC pursuant to the TN Broker License Act of 1973 and the Rules and Regulations 
promulgated thereunder. 

 
Section (b) (Broker) 

 
1. Broker candidates must provide proof of satisfactory completion of one hundred twenty (120) hours of 

real estate education including at least thirty (30) hours of real estate office and brokerage management 
or equivalent. Education hours must be accepted for credit by the resident state of licensure before they 
will be considered for credit by TREC. Candidates must provide copies of certificates if the education 
in not included on the certification. 

 
2. Provide proof of having an active real estate license for at least three (3) years. (must be included on 

certification of licensure) 
 
3. Broker candidates must provide proof of passing a national real estate examination since June 30, 1980, 

(minimum passing score of 75%) on the national or uniform section of the examination in order to be 



granted a waiver of the uniform section. Score must show on certificate of licensure. If the state where 
you tested creates their own examination, you will be required to take both parts of the Tennessee 
exam. 

 
4. Applicant must attach Certification of Licensure or License History form(s) to Page 1 of this form and 

send to TREC. 
 
5. After review by staff, an approval to take the Tennessee section of the exam will be generated by 

TREC and you will be notified. 
 
6. All Broker candidates must pass the Tennessee law section of the Tennessee examination (minimum 

passing score of 75%). 
 
7. Passing the examination will generate an application for license. 

 
8. You must submit the application. Applications are subject to the approval of TREC pursuant to the TN 

Broker License Act of 1973 and the Rules and Regulations promulgated thereunder. 
 
While this information is deemed correct, the laws, policies, and regulations do change and such 
changes might not be reflected on this instruction sheet 
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