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1. True False The Board will employ investigators, as are deemed necessary to         

  effectually carry out the provisions of chapter law and rules. 

2. True False The optometrist instructs the patient on the use of the contact  

  lenses, and the optician instructs the patient on insertion and  

  removal.  

3. True False The Board shall require an applicant whose license has been  

  revoked, suspended, or retired for a period of three (3) or more  

  years to reapply, take and pass the ABO, NCLE, and state practical 

  examinations to be considered for reinstatement. 

4. True False It is acceptable for a non-licensed person to perform the duties of  

  an optician as long as a licensed optician is in the dispensary. 

5. True False Continuing education must be maintained during the retirement  

  period if reinstatement is desired. 

6. True False The practice of dispensing opticians includes the preparation,  

  adaptation, and dispensing of lenses, spectacles, eye glasses and  

  optical devices, but does not include prescription interpretation or 

  ocular measurements. 

7. True False Tennessee law allows opticians to refract as long as they have the 

  proper continuing education credits. 

 8. True False Licensed opticians may not examine, exercise, diagnose, treat, or  

  prescribe for any human injury, disease, or ailment. 

 9. True False An apprentice may practice and perform the duties of a dispensing 

  optician in the presence of a licensed dispensing optician who is not 

  registered as his/her designated sponsor. 

10. True False Registration in the apprenticeship program is unnecessary to  

  dispense contacts and eyeglasses, unless the employee is seeking 

  a license as a dispensing optician. 

11. True False A 2 year degree or a 2 year apprenticeship will satisfy the   

  education or experience requirements for licensure. 



12. True False The Board may rescind its approval of any apprenticeship training 

  program if it determines that the facilities and equipment available 

  to the apprentice are not adequate or when the apprentice is not  

  being properly trained or supervised. 

13. True False All licensed dispensing opticians shall be required to wear an  

  identification badge containing his/her name, photograph, and  

  Tennessee license number. 

14. True False The due date for license renewal is the expiration date indicated 

  on the licensee’s initial certificate of registration or renewal   

  certificate. 

15. True False Any person who has a change of address must update their new 

  address and place of employment to the Board’s Administrative 

  office within 30 days of the change.  

16. True False The price of frames and lenses as advertised must be in effect for 

  a period of not less than seven (7) days, and each advertisement  

  shall set forth an expiration date. 

17. True False The renewal period for a licensed optician is three (3) years. 

18. True False A licensed dispensing optician may supervise no more than two 

  (2) apprentices concurrently. 

19. True False The Board does not have the power to revoke or suspend the  

  license of a licensee who is found guilty of an unlawful act. 

20. True False Failure to meet the minimum continuing education requirements 

  shall be deemed a violation of this chapter for which disciplinary 

  action pursuant to T.C.A.§63-14-111 may be sanctioned. 

21. True False Rule 0480-01-.14 states an apprentice must be trained in laboratory 

  procedures in a optical laboratory. 

22. True False All complaints should be directed to the Investigations Division of 

  The Health Related Boards. 

23. True False The Tennessee Board of Opticians board meeting is not open to the 

  public. 

24. True False If a license is lost, it can never be replaced. 

25. True False Continuing education is always due on a calendar year basis. 

                            


