Policy
Tennessee Board of Athletic Trainers

Unlicensed Practice Enforcement

Every person who practices, or has practiced as an athletic trainer without possessing a
license issued by the Board, unless that person is exempted pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann.
8 63-24-103, is in violation of the law and subject to the assessment of civil penalties. In
an effort to avoid these matters being forwarded to the Department of Health’s Office of
General Counsel for full prosecution and the possibility of more severe sanctions, any
complaint involving a non-exempt individual practicing as an athletic trainer without a
license may be settled, and if appropriate, an authorization to practice, or a license issued,
upon payment of a civil penalty equal to Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) for each month
the non-exempt person practiced as an athletic trainer without a license.

Furthermore, pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-24-110(c) the Board will assess a civil
penalty in the amount of One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) per day against persons,
including corporations, who have knowingly employed, contracted for or otherwise
utilized unlicensed persons in the practice of athletic training, with or without
compensation. Any person or corporation assessed such a civil penalty shall have the
choice to pay the civil penalty imposed or to enter the formal disciplinary process by
exercising their right to a contested case hearing before the Board.

Adopted by the Tennessee Board of Athletic Trainers on this the 6" day of
December 2007



