Speech Pathologist
2023-001 - $150
2023-006 - $10

Audiologist
2024-001 - $150
2024-006 - $10

STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
DIVISION OF HEALTH LICENSURE AND REGULATION
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE TN 37243

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
(615) 253-6061-or 1-800-778-4123

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR LICENSURE AS A
SPEECH PATHOLOGIST OR AUDIOLOGIST
LICENSURE APPLICATION SHEET

Provided below is a checklist containing all the things you must do to receive consideration for issuance
of a Tennessee license to practice speech pathology/audiology. NOTE: All submissions must be
executed and dated less than one (1) year before receipt or they will be rejected by the Board.
Personal resumes are not acceptable and will not be reviewed.

A criminal background check is required for all methods of licensure. For instructions to obtain a criminal
background check, click here or go to the Noteworthy section of the Board’s website.

A mandatory Practitioner Profile Questionnaire is required for all methods of licensure. For instructions
to obtain a Mandatory Practitioner Profile Questionnaire, click here.

If applying by Certificate of Clinical Competence

The following documentation is required:

1. Completed application

2. Fee: One Hundred Sixty Dollars ($160)

3. Transcript — Official transcript sent directly to the Board from Graduate school
(transcript issued to student is NOT acceptable) (See Attachment 1)

4. Official verification sent directly to the Board from ASHA verifying that your
CCC has been awarded

5. Verification of licensure from each state(s) in which you hold or have ever held a
license. (See Attachment II)

6. Original, signed and notarized passport photograph taken within the preceding 12

months. (Passport photograph only, no copies)

7. Letter of recommendation (Moral Character). The letter cannot be from a relative

8. Mandatory Profile Questionnaire (http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/PH-3585.pdf)

9. Certified photocopy of birth certificate or a notarized copy of a certified birth
certificate

10. All applicants must complete the attached Declaration of Citizenship form and have it
notarized.

11. Criminal Background Check (http://health.state.tn.us/CBC/index.htm.)

12. A copy of the legal document that changed your name (Marriage Certificate or Divorce
Decree). IF APPLICABLE

13. Tennessee Jurisprudence Exam on the rules and statutes of the Board (Will be sent to you

after receipt of your application)
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If applying by Reciprocity:

The following documentation is required:

1.
2.
3.

13.

Completed application

Fee: One Hundred Sixty Dollars ($160)

Verification of licensure from each state(s) in which you hold or have ever held a license
(See Attachment II)

Official copy of licensure requirements from the state(s) in which you are currently
licensed

Original, signed and notarized passport photograph taken within the preceding 12
months (Passport photograph only, no copies)

Copy of your under-graduate and graduate transcripts

Copy of your renewal certificate with expiration date and certification number from
another state or foreign country

Mandatory Profile Questionnaire (http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/PH-3585.pdf)
Certified photocopy of birth certificate or a notarized copy of a certified birth certificate
All applicants must complete the attached Declaration of Citizenship form

Criminal Background Check (http://health.state.tn.us/CBC/index.htm.)

A copy of the legal document that changed your name (Marriage Certificate or Divorce
Decree). IF APPLICABLE

Tennessee Jurisprudence Exam on the rules and statutes of the Board (Will be sent to you
after receipt of your application)

If applying by Criteria:

The following documentation is required:

1.
2.
3.

9.

10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.

16.

Completed application

Fee: One Hundred Sixty Dollars ($160)

Transcript — Official transcript sent directly to the Board from Graduate school (transcript
issued to student is NOT acceptable) (See Attachment I)

Verification of successfully completed practicum of at least four hundred (400) clock
hours (One thousand eight hundred twenty [1820] hours for Audiology)

Verification of successful completion of nine (9) months full-time or eighteen (18)
months half-time professional employment (CFY)

Letter of recommendation from the Director of training program from which the
academic training and practicum were obtained

Verification of a minimum score of six hundred (600) on the National Teacher
Examination in Speech Pathology and one hundred seventy (170) for Audiology sent
directly to the Board from N.T.E.

Verification of licensure from each state(s) in which you hold or have ever held a license
(See Attachment 1)

Original, signed and notarized passport photograph taken within the preceding 12
months (Passport photograph only, no copies)

Letter of recommendation (Moral Character) The letter cannot be from a relative
Mandatory Profile Questionnaire (http://health.state.tn.us/Downloads/PH-3585.pdf)
Certified photocopy of birth certificate or a notarized copy of a certified birth certificate
All applicants must complete the attached Declaration of Citizenship form

Criminal Background Check (http://health.state.tn.us/CBC/index.htm.)

A copy of the legal document that changed your name (Marriage Certificate or Divorce
Decree). IF APPLICABLE

Tennessee Jurisprudence Exam on the rules and statutes of the Board (Will be sent to you
after receipt of your application)
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UNDERSTANDING THE APPLICATION PROCESS

If an address change occurs at any time, you MUST notify the Board office, in writing,

immediately.
1. All application fees are non-refundable.
2. All documents and fees required to be submitted must be mailed directly to:

Board of Communication Disorders and Sciences
665 Mainstream Dr
Nashville, TN 37243

3. Allow fourteen (14) working days for information mailed to our office to be received and placed
in your file. The Board asks that you please give the Board office every consideration in this
matter.

4. If necessary documentation has not been received when your application has been received by the

Board office, an initial deficiency letter will be sent to you by mail.

5. Absent any complicating factors, the average application processing time is six weeks. Once the
application is completed, your file will be promptly reviewed and an initial certification
determination made. You will be promptly notified by letter of the initial determination.

6. Applications that are deficient sixty (60) days after receipt of the initial deficiency letter will be
closed.

Thank you for your cooperation. We will make every effort to expedite your application in an efficient
manner.

IMPORTANT: You must have a Tennessee License from the Board in your possession before you
may lawfully practice as either a Speech Pathologist or Audiologist.
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A. Speech Pathology

STATE OF TENNESSEE 2023-001 $150.00

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

DIVISION OF HEALTH LICENSURE AND REGULATION B. Audiology
665 MAINSTREAM DR 2024-001 $150.00
NASHVILLE TN 37243 2024-006 $10.00

2023-006 $10.00

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
LICENSURE ALTERNATIVES
[PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY]

CHECK TYPE OF LICENSE DESIRED: Speech Pathology Audiology

Dispense/Sell hearingaids Y N

A. Speech Pathologist B. Audiologist
Certificate of Clinical Competence Certificate of Clinical Competence
Reciprocity Reciprocity
Criteria Criteria

PERSONAL INFORMATION
PLEASE PRINT IN INK
Name:

Last First Middle Maiden

Social Security Number: - - Date of Birth:
You must put your social security number on this form for the application to be complete. State and federal law require social security
numbers on this application. Tenn. Code Ann. §36-5-1301(a), as authorized by 42 U.S.C. 8405 (c) (2)(C)(i). The number will be used to
verify your identity, to ask questions about your financial responsibility, and for any other purpose allowed by state or federal law. When
you provide your social security number on this application and sign the form, you are agreeing that the Department of Health may use
your social security number in furtherance of federal and state law, for example, to collect delinquent fees.

Mailing Address: County (TN applicants only):
Phone (Home)
Office:

Place of Birth: U.S. Citizen: Yes No

All applicants must complete the attached
Declaration of Citizenship Form

E-Mail:

Do you wish to receive notification, including renewal notification, from the Department of Health via
email? Yes No
Sex (optional-for statistical purposes only) Female Male

Application page 1 of 6
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EDUCATIONAL AND EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Please provide the following information for all educational institutions you have attended
beyond junior high or middle school. Use the back of this page if you need additional space.

From: To:
Mo/Yr Mo/Yr Educational Institution Degree Awarded

From: To:
Mo/Yr Mo/Yr Educational Institution Degree Awarded

From: To:
Mo/Yr Mo/Yr Educational Institution Degree Awarded

From: To:
Mo/Yr Mo/Yr Educational Institution Degree Awarded

Practicum (400 clock hours of supervised, direct clinical practice; 1820 hours for Audiology). Give dates
and brief description:

EMPLOYMENT STATUS
Are you currently employed? Yes No If yes, give name and address of primary
DATES LOCATION POSITION & DUTIES
From: To:

Mo/Yr Mo/YTr (City) (State)
From: To:

Mo/Yr Mo/Yr (City) (State)
From: To:

Mo/Yr Mo/Yr (City) (State)
Do you have more than one employer? Yes No (if yes, list names addresses and job title)
NAME ADDRESS JOB TITLE
Do you engage in private practice? Yes No (If yes, give location)
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LICENSURE INFORMATION
(Please complete and submit this page with your application. If no other state licenses are held,
please mark “N/A” in each section.)

List below ALL States, Countries, or Provinces in which you have ever been or are currently licensed,
permitted or certified as a Speech Pathologist/Audiologist. Additional pages may be added if necessary.
Submit a copy of licensure verification form to all such states, countries or provinces regarding such
licensure, certification or permit. Use the back of this page if you need additional space.

STATE LICENSE NUMBER DATE ISSUED CURRENT STATUS

List below ALL states, countries or provinces in which you hold or have ever held a license, certification,
or permit as a health professional other than a Speech Pathologist/Audiologist. Submit a copy of licensure
verification form to all such states, countries or provinces regarding such licensure, certification or
permit. Use the back of this page if you need additional space.

STATE NUMBER/PROFESSION DATE ISSUED CURRENT STATUS

Application page 3 of 6
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| COMPETENCY INFORMATION I

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS. If any answers to the questions in this part are in
the affirmative, attach an explanation on a separate sheet. In support of your explanation, the final
documents or orders from the issuing states, courts, and/or agencies must be submitted along with this
application. For the purpose of these questions, the following phrases or words have the following
meanings:

1. ""Ability to practice your profession™ is to be construed to include all of the following:
a. The cognitive capacity to make appropriate diagnosis (if necessary), exercise reasoned
judgment, and to learn and keep abreast of development in the field.
b. The ability to communicate those judgments and information to clients and other health
care providers, with or without the use of aids or devices, such as voice amplifiers.
C. The physical capability to perform tasks and procedures required of your profession, with

or without the use of aids or devices, such as corrective lenses or hearing aids.

2. "Medical Condition™ includes physiological, mental or psychological disorders, such as, but not
limited to: orthopedic, visual, speech and/or hearing impairment, cerebral palsy, epilepsy,
muscular dystrophy, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction, and
alcoholism.

3. ""Chemical Substances™ is to be construed to include alcohol, drugs, or medications, including
those taken pursuant to a valid prescription for legitimate medical purposes and in accordance
with the prescriber's direction, as well as those used illegally.

4. "Currently" does not mean on the day of, or even in the weeks or months preceding the
completion of this application. Rather it means recently enough so that use of drugs or alcohol
may have an ongoing impact on one's functioning as a licensee or within the past two (2) years.

5. “Illegal Use of Controlled Substances’ means the use of controlled substances obtained illegally
(e.g., heroin or cocaine) as well as the use of controlled substances which are not obtained
pursuant to a valid prescription or not taken in accordance with the directions of a licensed health
care practitioner.
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QUESTIONS

YES

NO

Do you currently have a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits your ability to
practice as a Speech Pathologist/Audiologist with reasonable skill and safety?

a. If yes, are they reduced or ameliorated because you receive ongoing treatment (with
or without medications) or participate in a monitoring program?
b. If you have any limitations or impairments caused by an existing medical condition,

are they reduced or ameliorated because of the field of practice, the setting, or the
manner, in which you have chosen to practice?

(If you receive such ongoing treatment or participate in such a monitoring program, the Board
will make an individual assessment of the nature, the severity, and the duration of the risks
associated with an ongoing medical condition so as to determine whether conditions should be
imposed or whether you are not eligible for licensure.)

Do you currently use chemical substances?

If yes, do they in any way limit your ability to practice speech pathology/audiology with
reasonable skill and safety?

Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances?

If yes, are you currently participating in a supervised rehabilitation program or professional
assistance program which monitors you in order to assure that you are not engaged in illegal use of
controlled substances?

Have you ever been diagnosed as having or have you ever been treated for pedophilia,
exhibitionism, or voyeurism?

If you have ever held or applied for a license or certificate to practice as a Speech
Pathologist/Audiologist in any state, county, or province, was or has it ever been denied,
reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily
surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action?

If you have ever had staff privileges at any hospital or health care facility, have they ever been
revoked, suspended, curtailed, restricted, limited, otherwise disciplined, or voluntarily
surrendered under threat of restriction or disciplinary action?

Have you ever been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor other than a minor traffic
violation?

Have you ever been rejected or censured by a Professional Association?

In relation to the performance of your professional services in any profession:

a. Have you ever had a final judgment rendered against you?
b. Have you ever had settlement of any legal action rendered against you?
C. Avre there any legal actions pending against you or to which you are a party?

If you have ever held a license or certificate in any health care profession, has it ever been
reprimanded, suspended, restricted, revoked, otherwise disciplined, curtailed, or voluntarily
surrendered under threat of investigation or disciplinary action?

Application page 5 of 6
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APPLICANT: FILL OUT THE FOLLOWING AFFIDAVIT IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY PUBLIC
AFFIDAVIT AND RELEASE

I, , of , being duly sworn
(Applicant’s Name) (City) (State)

and identified as the person referred to in this application, attests to the truth of each statement made in said

application. | further swear that | have read and understand the law and the rules and regulations, which were

enclosed in the application packet, and agree to abide by them in the practice of Speech Pathology/Audiology in the

State of Tennessee. | also attest that the attached photo below is of me, taken within the last 6 months.

Attach a
Current Full
Faced Photograph

| HEREBY:

SIGNIFY my willingness to appear to answer such questions as the Board may find necessary which may
include a full Board interview.

RELEASE to the Board, its staff, and their representatives, any and all documentation necessary now and in the
future to establish my physical and mental capabilities to safely practice Speech Pathology/Audiology.

AUTHORIZE the Board, its staff, and their representatives to consult with my prior and current associates and
others who may have information bearing on my professional competence, character, health status, ethical
qualifications, ability to work cooperatively with others and other qualifications;

RELEASE from liability the Board, its staff, and all their representatives and any and all organizations which
provide information for their acts performed and statements made in good faith and without malice
concerning my competence, ethics, character and other qualifications for certification.

ACKNOWLEDGE that I, as an applicant for certification, have the burden of producing adequate
information for a proper evaluation of my professional, ethical and other qualifications and for resolving any
doubts about such qualifications.

THIS CERTIFIES THAT THE INFORMATION SUBMITTED BY ME IN THIS APPLICATION IS TRUE
AND COMPLETE TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE AND BELIEF.

SIGNATURE DATE
Sworn before me this day of , 20
NOTARY PUBLIC Affix seal here

My Commission Expires:

Application page 6 of 6
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ATTCHMENT I

STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
DIVISION OF HEALTH LICENSURE AND REGULATION
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243
BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
(615) 253-6061 or 1-800-778-4123

EDUCATION VERIFICATION

APPLICANT: Supply the information requested on this page and then mail this entire form to the school at
which you completed your Speech Pathology/Audiology educational program. NOTE: Many
schools require a fee, so you may wish to contact the institution before mailing this form so
that you can attach their fee.

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

I am applying for a certificate or permit to practice Speech Pathology/Audiology in the State of Tennessee. The
Board of Communication Disorders and Sciences requires verification of educational attainment. Please forward an
original transcript showing degree awarded and bearing the institution’s official seal to the Board address below.

Applicant’s Full Name:

(Last) (First) (Middle/Maiden)

Applicant’s Address:

Applicant’s Social Security Number: - -

Applicant’s Student Identified Number:

Year of Graduation:

Degree Conferred: Date Degree Conferred:

Please forward an original graduate transcript bearing the institutions official seal to:
TENNESSEE BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243

Thank you for your cooperation and prompt response.

Applicant’s Signature Date
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ATTCHMENT II

STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
DIVISION OF HEALTH LICENSURE AND REGULATION
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
(615) 253-6061 or 1-800-778-4123

VERIFICATION FROM OTHER STATE CERTIFICATION BOARDS

APPLICANT: Please provide the information requested and then mail one form to the certification board
in EACH state where you hold or have ever held a certificate/license/permit to practice any
profession. (Copies of this form can be used). NOTE: Some states require a fee for
providing clearance information. To expedite your application, you may wish to contact the
applicable state(s).

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT

I, the undersigned applicant, was granted a (circle one) license/certificate/permit to practice
with (check one) license/certificate/permit number on in the State of

. The Tennessee Board of Communication Disorders and Sciences requests that I submit
evidence of the current status of that license in your state. You are hereby authorized to release any information in
your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the Tennessee Board of Communication Disorders and Sciences.

Applicant’s Signature Date

Applicant’s Typed or Printed Name

TO BE COMPLETED BY ADMINISTRATIVE OF STATE CERTIFICATION BOARD

Name in full as it appears on license/certificate/permit:

(First) (M.1) (Last)

License/Certificate/Permit Number: Profession:

Date Issued: Date of Expiration:

Basis of Issuance:
(Check One) () CCC from ASHA () Reciprocity () Other, Specify

The license is currently active and registered? Yes No

Is there any derogatory information on file? Yes No If yes, Please attach supporting
documentation

Authorized Signature Title Date
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STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
HEALTH RELATED BOARDS

665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243

DECLARATION OF CITIZENSHIP

MUST ACCOMPANY ALL APPLICATIONS FOR INITIAL LICENSURE OR REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSURE

The “SAVE Act” requires Tennessee Department of Health (including all Boards, Commissions, and contractors), along with
every local health department in the State, to verify that every adult applicant for a professional license is either a U.S. citizen, a
“qualified alien,” or a nonimmigrant who meets the requirements set out at 8 U.S.C. 1621.

I am a(n) .
Healthcare Profession (Please Print) License number if applicable
Please Print Legibly
1. Name:
Last First Middle Maiden_
2. Mailing Address:
3. Phone Number: Home: ( ) - Office: ( ) - Fax: ( ) -
4, I am a United States Citizen: Yes No. If you answered yes to this question please sign this form in the
presence of a notary and return it with your application.
5. I am a foreign national not physically present in the United States Yes No. If you answered yes to this question
please sign this form in the presence of a notary and return it with your application. No further documentation is required.
6. Applicants Claiming United States Citizenship MUST provide one of the following:
a) Tennessee Driver’s License, or photo ID issued by Department of Safety.
b) A valid driver license or ID issued by another state provided its issuance requirements meet Department of
Safety criteria.
c) An official birth certificate issued by a U.S. state, territory, or other jurisdiction. Puerto Rican birth
certificates issued before July 1, 2010 do not count.
d) A federally issued birth certificate.
e) Avalid, unexpired U.S. passport.
f)  Avreport of birth abroad of a U.S. citizen.
g) A certificate of citizenship.
h) A certificate of naturalization.
i) A U.S. citizen ID card.
j)  Any successor document to #’s a-i above.
k)  SSN that the entity or local health department may verify with the Social Security Administration in
accordance with federal law.
7. If you checked “No” in question 4 please indicate from the list below which category applies to you: (circle one)

a) Permanent Residents

b) A nonimmigrant applicant for a professional or commercial license whose visa for entry into the United
States is related to such employment, or a nonimmigrant under the Immigration and Nationality Act (8
U.S.C. 1101 et seq.).

¢)  Asylees who meet the qualifications set out in 8 U.S.C. 1158

d)  Refugees who meet the qualifications set out in 8 U.S.C. 1157
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€)  Persons who have been “paroled into the United States,” under 8 U.S.C. 1182(d)(5) or whose deportation has been
withheld under 8 U.S.C. 1253.

f) Cuban or Haitian entrants as defined by section 501(e) of the Refugee Education Assistance Act of 1980

g)  Persons granted conditional entry into the U.S. under 8 U.S.C. 1153(a)(7) before April 1, 1980, because of persecution or
fear of persecution on account of race, religion, or political opinion or because of being uprooted by catastrophic national
calamity.

h)  An alien who has been “battered” or subjected to “extreme cruelty” by a parent or spouse as defined by 8 U.S.C.
1641(c), and also meets the qualifications set out 8 U.S.C. 1641(c)(1)(B). Under the circumstances set out in 8 U.S.C.
1641(c)(2) and (3), victims’ children, or the parents of children who are victims, may also apply for benefits as qualified
aliens.

Applicants claiming qualified alien status (question 7 above), please submit two of the following forms of “documentation of identity
and immigration status” as determined by U.S. Homeland Security to be acceptable for verification through the SAVE program.
Common types of documents used to verify immigration status are listed below. (Note: If you can provide only one document, your
status will be verified through the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s SAVE program):

1-327 (Reentry Permit)

1-551 (Permanent Resident Card or “Green Card”)

1-571 (Refugee Travel Document)

1-766 (Employment Authorization Card)

Machine Readable Immigrant Visa (with Temporary 1-551 language)
Temporary 1-551 stamp (on passport or 1-94)

1-94 (Arrival/Departure record)

Unexpired foreign passport

WT/WB Admission Stamp in unexpired foreign passport

1-20 (Certificate of Eligibility for Nonimmigrant F(1) student status— “student visa”)
DS2019 (Certificate of Eligibility for Exchange Visitor (J-1) Status)

| affirm under the penalty of perjury that the above is true and correct.

Signed this day of , 20

Signature

Sworn to before me this day of , 20

AFFIX SEAL HERE

NOTARY PUBLIC

My Commission Expires:

If an applicant is discovered to be an unqualified alien, or otherwise ineligible for benefits under the Act, all recurring benefits provided to that
applicant must be immediately terminated. Anyone who purposefully makes a false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship or qualified
alien status will be liable under the Tennessee Medicaid False Claims Act, or Tennessee’s False Claims Act. Any person who conspires to defraud
the state or any local health department by securing a false claim allowed or paid to another person in violation of the Act may be liable under
Tennessee’s False Claims Act. Upon discovery of an applicant’s false, fictitious, or fraudulent claim of U.S. citizenship, state governmental
entities and local health departments must also file a criminal complaint with the United States Attorney.
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