STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

HEALTH RELATED BOARDS
HERITAGE PLACE METRO CENTER
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
1-800-778-4123 or Locally (615) 253-6061
www.tn.gov/health

SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANT REGISTRATION FORM

Attached is an application to register a Speech Language Pathologist Assistant with the Tennessee
Board of Communication Disorders and Sciences. Also attached is a copy of the rules regulating
Assistants.

Carefully read the rules and complete the application for each Assistant to be registered. The
licensee supervising the assistant must also include a Written Plan of Training which shall be
signed by both the Licensee and the Assistant.

A criminal Background check is required for all methods of licensure. For instructions to obtain a
criminal background check, click here or go to the Noteworthy section of the Board’s website.

Return the Application to:

Board of Communications Disorders and Sciences
665 Mainstream Dr
Nashville, TN 37243

PH-3776 RDA SW05
Rev. 8/13
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2025 - 001 -$20.00
2025 - 006 -$10.00
Total due $30.00

STATE OF TENNESSEE
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

HEALTH RELATED BOARDS
665 MAINSTREAM DR
NASHVILLE, TN 37243

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES

COMPLETE ONE FORM FOR EACH SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANT

Name of Assistant:

Social Security #: Birth date:

In order to comply with federal statutes, the (Board of Communications Disorder and Sciences) is obligated to inform each applicant or licensee from
whom it requests a social security number that disclosing such number is mandatory in order for this Board to comply with the requirements of the
federal Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank and/or the National Practitioner Data Bank. If the Board is required to make a report about one
of its applicants or licensee to either or both of these data banks, it must report that individual’s social security number. This application will not be
complete if the social security number is omitted. The number will be used for identification purposes and for such other purposes as are allowed by state
and federal law.

Address: City/State/Zip: / /
Telephone #: Date Hired:
Name of Supervising Licensee: License Number:

Company name, address, and telephone number:

Alternate Supervising Licensee: License Number:

Address:

Signature of Supervisor Date Signature of Assistant Date
Signature of Alternate Supervisor Date

ATTACH WRITTEN PLAN OF TRAINING USED WITH THIS ASSISTANT. BOTH ASSISTANT AND
SUPERVISORS MUST SIGN PLAN OF TRAINING.

BOARD OF COMMUNICATION DISORDERS AND SCIENCES
1-800-778-4123 or Locally (615) 253-6061
www.tn.gov/health

PH-3776 RDA SWO05
Rev. 8/13
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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR REGISTRATION AS A SPEECH LANGUAGE
PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANT

Provided below is a checklist for your personal use and convenience containing all the things you
must submit before your application for Tennessee Registration to practice as a speech pathology
assistant can be considered.

NOTE: All submissions must be executed and dated less than one (1) year before receipt or they will be
rejected by the Board.

The following documentation is required:

1. Completed application
2. Fees: Thirty Dollars ($30.00)
3. Transcript: Official transcript showing completion of 60 college-level semester

credit hours and 100 clock hours of field experience sent directly to the Board from
school, (transcript issued to student IS NOT acceptable).

4. Written plan of training from the Supervising Speech Language Pathologist
(Signed by both the Supervisor and Assistant)

5. Criminal Background Check

PH-3776 RDA SW05

Rev. 8/13

Application - Page 3 of 3



Rules and Regulations

1370-01-.14 SPEECH LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY ASSISTANTS AND SUPERVISION.

1)

Requirements.

@)

Speech Language Pathology Assistants.

1.

Speech Language Pathology Assistants must work under the supervision of a
licensed Speech Language Pathologist (“Supervising Licensee”).

The minimum qualifications for persons employed as Speech Language
Pathology Assistants shall be as follows:

0] The applicant must have completed a program of study designed to prepare
the student to be a Speech Language Pathology Assistant. The applicant
must have earned sixty (60) college-level semester credit hours in a program
of study that includes general education and the specific knowledge and
skills for a Speech Language Pathology Assistant. The training program shall
include a minimum of one hundred (100) clock hours of field experience
supervised by a licensed Speech Language Pathologist.

U]

(In

()

At least twenty (20) semester credit hours of the sixty (60) hour
requirement shall be in general education.

At least twenty (20) semester credit hours of the sixty (60) hour
requirement shall be in technical content. The course content must
include the following:

l. overview of normal processes of communication and overview of
communication disorders;

Il. instruction in assistant-level service delivery practices;

lll.  instruction in workplace behaviors;

IV.  cultural and linguistic factors in communication; and

V. observation.

The one hundred (100) hours of supervised fieldwork experience must

provide appropriate experience for learning the job
responsibilities and workplace behaviors of a Speech Language
Pathology Assistant. This experience is not intended to develop
independent practice.

If the applicant’'s academic institution does not provide for the full one hundred
(100) hours of supervised field work experience by a licensed Speech Language
Pathologist, then the applicant shall register with the Board and shall have a
minimum of thirty (30) days up to a maximum of ninety (90) days to acquire the full
one hundred (100) clock hours of field experience needed to become a fully
credentialed Speech Language Pathology Assistant.



(2) Scope of Practice.

@)

A Speech Language Pathology Assistant shall not perform the following:

Interpret test results or perform diagnostic evaluations;

Conduct parent or family conferences or case conferences;

Perform client or family counseling;

Write, develop, or modify a client’s individualized treatment plan;

Treat clients without following the established plan;

Sign any document without the co-signature of the supervising Speech
Language Pathologist;

Select or discharge clients for services;

Disclose clinical or confidential information, either orally or in writing, to
anyone not designated by the Speech Language Pathologist;

Refer clients for additional outside service;

(3) Supervision by and Responsibilities of the Supervising Licensee.

(@)

Prior to the commencement of training and/or employment, individuals seeking to
be Speech Language Pathology Assistants must be registered by the supervising
licensee with the Board on a registration form provided at the request of the
supervising licensee.

The registration form shall be completed by the supervising licensee who
shall return the completed form to the Board’s administrative office with a
copy of the written plan of training to be used for that Speech Language
Pathology Assistant.

The Speech Language Pathology Assistant shall not begin training and/or
employment until he/she has registered with the Board and paid the
required fees, as provided in Rule 1370-01-.06.

For those applicants whose academic institution does not provide for the full



(b)

(©)

(d)

(e)

one hundred (100) hours of supervised field work experience by a licensed
Speech Language Pathologist:

0] The registration form shall be completed by the supervising licensee
who shall return the completed form to the Board's Administrative
Office with a copy of the written plan of training to be used by the
applicant.

(i)  The applicant shall not begin training and/or employment until he/she
has registered with the Board. No fee shall be required during the thirty
(30) to ninety (90) day period in which the applicant obtains the full
one hundred (100) hours of supervised field work experience. Upon
the completion of the full one hundred (100) hours, the applicant shall
pay the required fees, as provided in Rule 1370-01-.06, to become a
fully credentialed Speech Language Pathology Assistant. The
supervising licensee is responsible for designating an alternate
licensed Speech Language Pathologist and ensuring that the
designated alternate licensed Speech Language is available on-site
to provide supervision when he/she is off site for any period of time.
The designated alternate licensed Speech Language Pathologist must
be registered with the Board as the alternate and should be
documented on all written materials for training

Notice of employment, change of supervisor, or termination of any Speech
Language Pathology Assistant must be forwarded by the supervising licensee to
the Board’s administrative office within thirty (30) days of such action.

Prior to utilizing a Speech Language Pathology Assistant, the licensed Speech
Language Pathologist who is responsible for his or her direction shall carefully
define and delineate the role and tasks. The Speech Language Pathologist shall:

1. Define and maintain a specific line of responsibility and authority; and

2. Assure that the Speech Language Pathology Assistant is responsible only to
him or her in all client-related activities.

Any licensed Speech Language Pathologist may delegate specific clinical tasks to
a registered Speech Language Pathology Assistant who has completed sufficient
training. However, the legal, ethical, and moral responsibility to the client for
all services provided, or omitted, shall remain the responsibility of the supervising
licensee or of the licensed Speech Language Pathologist acting as supervisor in the
absence of the supervising licensee. A Speech Language Pathology Assistant
shall be clearly identified as an assistant by a badge worn during all contact with the
client.

When a Speech Language Pathology Assistant assists in providing treatment, a
supervising licensee shall:



Provide a minimum of fifteen (15) hours of training for the competent
performance of the tasks assigned. This training shall be completed during
the first thirty (30) days of employment. A written plan for this training
shall be submitted with registration. This training should include, but not be
limited to, the following:

(i)

(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

Normal processes in speech, language, and hearing;

A general overview of disorders of speech, language, and hearing;

An overview of professional ethics and their application to the
Speech Language Pathology Assistant activities;

Training for the specific job setting shall include information on:

()  The primary speech, language, and hearing disorders treated in
that setting;

(I Response discrimination skills pertinent to the disorders to be seen;

(I Equipment to be used in that setting;

(IV) Program administration skills, including stimulus presentation,
data collection, and reporting procedures, screening procedures,
and utilization of programmed instructional materials; and
Behavior management skills appropriate to the population
being served.

Evaluate each client prior to treatment.

Outline and direct the specific program for the clinical management of each
client assigned to the Speech Language Pathology Assistant.

Provide direct/indirect, but on-site observation according to the
following minimum standards:

@

(ii)

Provide direct observation for the first ten (10) hours of direct client
contact following training;

Supervision of a Speech Language Pathology Assistant means direct
supervision of not less than ten percent (10%) of a Speech
Language Pathology Assistant's time each week. Direct supervision
means on-site and in-view supervision as a clinical activity is performed;



(iii)

(iv)

v)

(vi)

(vii)

(viii)

The supervising licensee shall provide indirect supervision of not less
than twenty percent (20%) of a Speech Language Pathology
Assistant's time each week. Indirect supervision may include audio
and video recordings, numerical data, or review of written progress
notes. The supervising licensee, or the licensed Speech Language
Pathologist acting as supervisor in the absence of the supervising
licensee, must still be on-site;

At all times, the supervising licensee shall be available at a minimum
by telephone whenever a Speech Language Pathology Assistant is
performing clinical activities;

All direct and indirect observations shall be documented and shall
include information on the quality of a Speech Language Pathology
Assistant’'s performance;

Whenever the Speech Language Pathology Assistant’s performance
is judged to be unsatisfactory over two (2) consecutive
observations, the Speech Language Pathology Assistant shall be
retrained in the necessary skills. Direct observations shall be
increased to one hundred percent (100%) of all clinical sessions, until
the Speech Language Pathology Assistant’s performance is judged to
be satisfactory over two (2) consecutive observations;

Ensure that the termination of services is initiated by the Speech
Language Pathologist responsible for the client; and

Make all decisions regarding the diagnosis, management, and future
disposition of the client.

Provide supervision for an individual who is completing the required one
hundred

(100) hours of supervised field work experience pursuant to part (3)(a)3.,
as follows:

(i)

(ii)

(i)

Fifty percent (50%) of the remaining hours must be supervised directly,
on- site; Of the hours remaining pursuant to subpart (3)(f)5.(i), at least
twenty-five percent (25%) must be supervised directly, on-site and

Any remaining hours must be supervised indirectly.

Example: If the individual needs to complete eighty (80) of the
required 100 hours of supervised field work experience, the first forty
(40) hours (50%) must be supervised directly, on-site. Of the
remaining forty (40) hours, at least ten (10) of those hours (25%) must
be supervised directly, on-site and the remaining thirty (30) hours must
be supervised indirectly.



® Supervision limitations.

1. Supervising licensees shall supervise no more than three (3)
individuals concurrently.

2. Supervising licensees shall supervise no more than two (2) Speech
Language Pathology Assistants concurrently.

3. Supervising licensees shall supervise no more than three (3) Clinical
Fellows concurrently.

Authority: T.C.A. 88 4-5-202, 4-5-204, 63-17-103, 63-17-105, 63-17-114 and 63-17-128. Administrative

History: Original rule filed January 31, 2000; effective April 15, 2000. Amendment filed June 22, 2004;
effective September 5, 2004. Amendment filed August 3, 2005; effective October 17, 2005.
Amendment filed September 11, 2006; effective November 25, 2006. Amendment filed April 6, 2010;
effective July 5,2010. Repeal and new rule filed June 28, 2013; effective September 26, 2013.
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