
 
State of Tennessee 

Department of Revenue 
Vehicle Services Division  

 
Low-Speed Vehicle Affidavit 

 
Name of Applicant: __________________________ VIN: _______________________________________ 
 
As outlined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-1-122, a vehicle may be registered as a low speed vehicle if all the following 
conditions are met: 
 

• The vehicle’s top speed is greater than twenty miles per hour (20 mph) but not more than twenty-five miles per 
hour (25 mph) 

• The vehicle contains the following required items, as outlined in 49 CFR 571 (Code of Federal Regulations): 
Headlamps Parking brake 

Stop lamps One exterior mirror on the driver’s side and one additional 
mirror, either on the passenger side or in the interior

Front and rear turn signal lamps Windshield that conforms to the Federal motor vehicle safety 
standard on glazing materials (49 CFR 571.205) 

Tail lamps Seat belts (Type 1 or 2) located at each seating position 
Reflex reflectors, one red on each side near 

the rear and one on the rear Vehicle ID Number (VIN), conforming to 49 CFR 565 

 
Certification 
 
Under penalties of perjury, I hereby certify that the vehicle whose vehicle identification number (VIN) is shown above is 
equipped with the above listed items and meets all safety standards as required by the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration, 49 CFR 571, and the vehicle’s top speed is greater than twenty miles per hour (20 mph) but not more 
than twenty-five miles per hour (25 mph). 
 
__________________________________________     _______________________________ 
  Signature of Certifier       Date 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING LOW SPEED VEHICLES 
 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-8-191 allows low speed vehicles to be operated at a speed not exceeding twenty-five miles 
per hour (25 mph) only on streets where the posted speed limit is thirty-five miles per hour (35 mph) or less. A low 
speed vehicle is permitted to cross streets that exceed this thirty-five mile per hour limit. 
 
In the interest of safety, counties in Tennessee or the Tennessee Department of Transportation may prohibit the 
operation of low speed vehicles on any road in its jurisdiction. 
 
Operators of low speed vehicles must have a Class D driver license in their possession when operating these 
vehicles on Tennessee’s roads. 
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