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LOCAL SALES TAX RATE CHANGE — Blount County

Notice #14-11

Highlights

.

Effective July 1,
2014, the local
sales tax rate
changes in Blount
County,
Tennessee.

The new rate is
2.75%.

The single article
tax rate is also
2.75%, which is
applicable to the
sales price under
certain conditions.

%’ References:

T.C.A. 8 67-6-702

Sales and Use Tax June 2014

This notice is intended to provide taxpayers and the general public with
information concerning a recent change in the local sales and use tax rate in
Blount County, Tennessee.

Effective July 1, 2014, the governing body of Blount County, Tennessee has
increased the local sales tax rate to 2.75%. The tax change comes as a result
of voters in the area approving a referendum.

The new rate will apply to all taxable sales of tangible personal property made
on or after July 1, 2014. It also applies to the sale of taxable services for billing
periods starting on or after July 1, 2014 by sellers located in Blount County and
the Blount County cities of Friendsville, Townsend, Rockford and Louisville.

The corresponding local consumer use tax rate for people in all areas of Blount
County, Tennessee also increases to 2.75%.

The cities of Alcoa and Maryville had previously increased the local tax rate to
2.75%. This referendum increases the local tax rate to 2.75% in all areas of
Blount County.

In Blount County, the local option tax rate is applicable to the first $1,600 of
the sale price of any single article of tangible personal property sold, unless
that item is specifically exempted from local tax or taxed at another rate by
law. The local tax cap on sales of single articles of tangible personal property
will be $44. The local rate is also applicable to the total sales price of any
taxable service.

In addition, there is a state single article tax rate of 2.75% applicable to the
sales price, from $1,600.01 up to and including $3,200, of any item of tangible
personal property.

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change
as a result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this notice is intended
to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In
such cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further
guidance.

For more tax information, call toll free 1-800-342-1003
Nashville area and out-of-state call (615) 253-0600
Email TN.Revenue@tn.gov




