
 
 

Disclaimer:  The information provided here is current as of the date of publication buy may change as a result of new statutes, regulations, 
or court decisions.  While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur.  In such 
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.  

  

 
       Sales and Use Tax Notice 

Notice #15-12 June 2015 

Additional Nexus Standard 
 

Out-of-State Retailers Have Nexus in Certain 
Circumstances 

Effective July 1, 2015, Tennessee law creates a 
rebuttable presumption that out-of-state retailers 
have nexus, and must collect sales and use tax from 
Tennessee customers, if the retailer pays an in-state 
party a fee or commission to route customers to the 
retailer. 

The new legislation says that a dealer that makes 
sales of tangible personal property or services in 
Tennessee is presumed to have a substantial nexus 
with this state, and it is required to collect and remit 
sales and use tax on all of its taxable sales in 
Tennessee if both of the following conditions are 
met: 

1) The dealer enters into an agreement or contract 
with one or more people located in Tennessee 
under which, for consideration, the person 
refers potential customers to the dealer, by link 
on an Internet Web site or other means. 

2) The cumulative gross receipts from retail sales 
by the dealer to customers in Tennessee as a 
result of referrals to the dealer by all of the 
dealer’s resident representatives under the type 
of agreement or contract described above total 
more than $10,000 during the preceding 12 
months. 

Example: Company A is an online retailer of golf 
clothing located in California that sells its 
merchandise nationwide. Other than making sales 
of its products in Tennessee delivered by common 

carrier, as described below, Company A has no 
other connections with Tennessee. Company A 
enters agreements with Tennessee golf clubs where 
the clubs maintain links on their websites to 
Company A’s retail website. Company A pays a 
commission to the clubs based on its sales 
originating from those links. During the preceding 
12 months, Company A had gross sales based on 
these referrals totaling $85,000. 

Company A is presumed to have nexus with 
Tennessee and must collect sales and use tax from 
its Tennessee customers. 

A Dealer May Rebut the Presumption 

A dealer may rebut the presumption by proving that 
the referring entity’s activity did not substantially 
contribute to its market in Tennessee during the 
past year. 

The legislation says that a dealer may rebut the 
presumption only by clear and convincing evidence 
that the person with whom it has an agreement did 
not conduct any activities in Tennessee that would 
substantially contribute to the dealer’s ability to 
establish and maintain a market in Tennessee 
during the preceding 12 months. 

For More Information   

Visit www.tn.gov/revenue.  Click on Revenue Help to 
search for answers or to submit an information 
request to one of our agents. 

References   

Public Chapter 514, §§ 27 & 28 (2015)
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