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Agency Collection of Sex Offender Registry Administrative Costs 

 
PURPOSE:   
 
The purpose of this procedure is to define the necessary guidelines for Sex Offender 
Registering Agencies to collect the annual administrative costs from offenders on the 
Tennessee Sex Offender Registry (SOR). This activity is mandated by Tennessee state 
law effective July 1, 2008. 
 
PROCEDURAL PROCESS: 
 
Sex Offender Registry administrative cost collection is a vital part of the Sex Offender 
Registration, Verification, and Tracking process and shall be thoroughly documented 
with the same standards as the documentation of all other offender information required 
under the Act. The supervisor of the TBI Sex Offender Registry Unit shall coordinate 
with the Information Systems Division of the TBI to develop a process for Registering 
Agencies to collect administrative costs associated with the Sex Offender Registry and 
for agency remittance of the TBI portion of those costs.  
 

I. For offenders classified as Violent Sexual Offenders, Registering Agencies shall 
collect administrative costs of $150.00 from the offender at the time of the 
offender’s first registration/reporting date for the calendar year. 

 
II. For offenders classified as Sexual Offenders, Registering Agencies shall collect 

administrative costs of $150.00 from the offender at the time of the offender’s 
annual reporting date. Offenders whose initial registration occurs after the annual 
reporting period shall be required to pay the administrative costs at the time of the 
initial registration. 

 
III. Offenders adjudicated as juveniles and classified as Violent Juvenile Sexual 

Offenders are not required to pay the annual SOR Administrative Fee until the 
offender reaches eighteen (18) years of age. Once the offender is eligible to pay the 
SOR Administrative Fee, this standard operating procedure should be followed. 

 
IV. Offenders from other states, who are visiting Tennessee and meet the registration 

requirements to register in Tennessee, shall pay the annual fee at the time of initial 
registration. 

 
 

V. Registering Agencies shall make the determination of an offender’s ability to pay 
the administrative costs annually, at the time the payment is due. According to the 
United States Department of Health & Human Services, the poverty threshold 
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begins at $11,670 for an individual person. If an offender is claiming indigence, he 
or she must provide proof. Here are some examples an agency may consider, but 
not limited to: 

 
• Declared indigent by a court within the last 12 months 
• Has a net worth of less than $25,000 (homes, cars, investments, etc) 
• Proof of unemployment or social security  
• Copy of last 2 check stubs 
• Copy of rental application  
• Deed of trust 

 
 
Note: No portion of the administrative cost is to be waived unless the offender 
provides proof. If the fee is waived, the agency MUST fill out an “Indigent Fee 
Waiver Form”. Send TBI the original, give the offender a copy and keep a copy 
for the agency. This form is located on the TBI Law Enforcement Only Website 
under Sex Offender Registry forms. 
 
 
TBI will search Employment Security for you upon request. Please send your 
requests to the TBI Manger, TBISORMGR@tn.gov 
 

 
VI. Registering Agencies shall maintain a monthly ledger (preferably a spreadsheet in 

Excel format) for each offender the agency has collected a fee from or declared 
indigent. The monthly ledger shall list the agency name, and contain columns 
listing the offender name, the offender TOMIS/SO number, the date of fee payment, 
the date of indigence determination, the name of the person accepting the fee, and 
the name of the person making the indigence determination. Registering Agencies 
shall submit a copy of this ledger to the TBI Sex Offender Registry Unit monthly by 
either an attachment in an e-mail (preferred) or a hard copy by postal mail to the 
following addresses:  

 
Karrie.Stanfill@tn.gov or: 

 
Intelligence Analyst Karrie Stanfill 
Sex Offender Registry Unit 
Tennessee Bureau of Investigation 
901 R.S. Gass Blvd. 
Nashville, TN 37216-2639 
 
The spreadsheet shall be cumulative for the entire fiscal year, July through June. 
For example, in August, agencies will e-mail a spreadsheet with information for the 
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month of July. In September, agencies will e-mail a spreadsheet with information 
for July and August. In October, agencies will e-mail a spreadsheet for July, 
August, and September, and so on. 
 
Agencies may obtain a blank generic ledger, with monthly tabs for entering 
information during the entire fiscal year at the Sex Offender Registry web site for 
Law Enforcement: http://www.tn.gov/tbi 
Click on Helpful Links 
Click on Law Enforcement Resources 
Click on the “Tennessee Sex Offender Registry” 
Click on “SOR Forms”  
Click on “Monthly Fee Ledger” 
 

VII. Registering Agencies shall not accept partial payments of Sex Offender Registry 
administrative costs from offenders. Fee payment schedules or payment plans are 
not allowed. 

 
VIII. Upon collection of the $150.00 administrative cost, Registering Agencies shall 

immediately enter the fee payment information for the offender into the Sex 
Offender Registry Database. Information shall include the date the fee was paid 
and the name of the agency that collected the fee. If the system is unavailable, 
Registering Agencies shall ensure that the payment information is entered into the 
Sex Offender Registry Database within 72 hours of receipt. If computer issues 
persist during the 72 hour period, Registering Agencies shall contact an analyst 
within the TBI Sex Offender Registry Unit by calling the Registry Hotline (1-888-
837-4170) to obtain assistance in entering the payment information. Registering 
Agencies shall insure that all offender payment information for any given calendar 
month is entered into the system by the 3rd day of the following month. Offender 
payment information shall remain in the sex offender registry system until the next 
subsequent fee payment by the offender. 

 
IX. TCA: 9-2-103 Title 9 Public Finances, Chapter 2 Accounting For Revenues 

It is State law that agencies much use official receipts and they must be maintained 
for a period of 3-5 years after the audit cycle. 
Remember to issue a receipt to each offender when he or she pays and add a copy 
of the receipt to the offender’s file. 
Segregations of duties: The person who writes the receipts should not be the person 
who approves the billing. 

 
X. The TBI shall issue a billing statement monthly to each Registering Agency that has 

collected fees. Billing statements are issued based on information entered into the 
Sex Offender Registry Database. Upon receipt of the monthly billing statement 
from the TBI, Registering Agencies shall compare the statement to their own 
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monthly receipt ledger for consistency. Inconsistencies shall include, but not be 
limited to, offenders listed on agency billing statements who have not paid a fee and 
offenders who have paid annual fees to the agency who are not listed on the billing 
statement. All inconsistencies shall be immediately reported to the supervisor of the 
TBI Sex Offender Registry Unit, or Lead Analyst, so that corrections can be made 
to both the registry software system and the agency billing statement. The Lead 
Analyst in the SORU for reporting billing inconsistencies is: Intelligence Analyst 
Karrie Stanfill, 615-744-4213, Karrie.Stanfill@tn.gov . 

 
XI. Agency payment is due upon receipt of the TBI billing statement. Each year during 

the month of August, Registering Agencies shall review agency fee collection and 
TBI billing activity for the previous fiscal year to ensure payment for all offenders 
is current. 

 
XII. Advance billing to Registering Agencies is not available from TBI and is not an 

option. TBI will not issue monthly invoices for any particular month, prior to that 
month actually ending. 

 
 
Related Tennessee Code: 
 
40-39-201(b)(7) The offender is subject to specified terms and conditions that are 
implemented at sentencing, or, at the time of release from incarceration, that require 
that those who are financially able must pay specified administrative costs to the 
appropriate registering agency, which shall retain one hundred dollars ($100) of these 
costs for the administration of this part and shall be reserved for the purposes 
authorized by this part at the end of each fiscal year, with the remaining fifty dollars 
($50.00) of fees to be remitted to the Tennessee bureau of investigation's sex offender 
registry; provided, that a juvenile offender required to register under this part shall not 
be required to pay the administrative fee until the offender reaches eighteen (18) years 
of age. 
 
40-39-204. (b) Violent sexual offenders shall report in person during the months of 
March, June, September, and December of each calendar year, to the designated law 
enforcement agency, on a date established by such agency, to update the offender's 
fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, and 
to verify the continued accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form. 
Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders 
committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health 
care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person 
reporting and fingerprinting, as otherwise provided by this part. At the time of the 
violent offender's initial registration or initial reporting date for the calendar year, the 
violent sexual offender shall pay the specified administrative costs, not to exceed one 
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hundred fifty dollars ($150), one hundred dollars ($100) of which shall be retained by 
the designated law enforcement agency to be used for the purchase of equipment, to 
defray personnel and maintenance costs and any other expenses incurred as a result of 
the implementation of this part. The remaining fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be submitted 
by the registering agency to the TBI for maintenance, upkeep and employment costs, as 
well as any other expenses incurred as a result of the implementation of this part. 
Offenders who reside in nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders 
committed to mental health institutions or continuously confined to home or health 
care facilities due to mental or physical disabilities are exempt from paying the 
administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part. 
 
(c) Once a year, all sexual offenders shall report in person, no earlier than seven (7) 
calendar days before and no later than seven (7) calendar days after the offender's date 
of birth, to the designated law enforcement agency to update the offender's 
fingerprints, palm prints and photograph, as determined necessary by the agency, to 
verify the continued accuracy of the information in the TBI registration form and to 
pay the specified administrative costs, not to exceed one hundred fifty dollars ($150), 
one hundred dollars ($100) of which shall be retained by the designated law 
enforcement agency to be used for the purchase of equipment, to defray personnel and 
maintenance costs and any other expenses incurred as a result of the implementation 
of this part. The remaining fifty dollars ($50.00) shall be submitted by the registering 
agency to the TBI for maintenance, upkeep and employment costs, as well as any other 
expenses incurred as a result of the implementation of this part. Offenders whose 
initial registration occurs after the annual reporting period shall be required to pay the 
administrative costs at the time of the initial registration. Offenders who reside in 
nursing homes and assisted living facilities and offenders committed to mental health 
institutions or continuously confined to home or health care facilities due to mental or 
physical disabilities are exempt from the in-person reporting and fingerprinting and 
administrative cost as otherwise provided by this part. However, if an offender is 
released or discharged from a nursing home, assisted living facility or mental health 
institution or is no longer continuously confined to home or a health care facility due 
to mental or physical disabilities, the offender shall, within forty-eight (48) hours, 
register in person with the designated law enforcement agency, completing and signing 
a TBI registration form, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3). If the 
offender has previously registered prior to the release or discharge, the offender shall, 
within forty-eight (48) hours, report in person to the designated law enforcement 
agency and update all information pursuant to this section. 
  
40-39-208. (a) It is an offense for an offender to knowingly violate any provision of this 
part. Violations shall include, but not be limited to, the following: (5) Failure to pay the 
annual administrative costs, if financially able; (b) A violation of this part is a Class E 
felony. No person violating this part shall be eligible for suspension of sentence, 
diversion or probation until the minimum sentence is served in its entirety. 
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T.C.A. 40-39-206. Centralized record system 
(f) The TBI has the authority to promulgate any necessary rules to implement and 
administer the provisions of this section. These rules shall be promulgated in 
accordance with the provisions of the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, 
compiled in title 4, chapter 5. 
 
 
T.C.A 40-39-217. Community notification system. 
(a) (1) Any county, metropolitan form of government or municipality may, by a two-
thirds (2/3) vote of the legislative body, choose to establish a community notification 
system whereby certain residences, schools and child-care facilities within the county, 
metropolitan form of government or municipality are notified when a person required 
to register pursuant to this part as a sexual offender or violent sexual offender resides, 
intends to reside, or, upon registration, declares to reside within a certain distance of 
such residences, schools and child-care facilities. 
(2) The legislative body of any county, metropolitan form of government or 
municipality that enacts a community notification system pursuant to this subsection 
(a) may, at the same time as the system is established, enact a notification fee of not 
more than fifty dollars ($50.00) per year from each offender in the county, 
metropolitan form of government or municipality for the purpose of defraying the costs 
of the community notification. The notification fee shall be collected at the same time 
as the one-hundred-fifty-dollar administrative fee collected pursuant to § 40-39-204(b). 
(b) Forms of notification a county, metropolitan form of government or municipality 
may elect to establish include: 
(1) Notification by the sheriff's office or police department to residents, schools and 
childcare facilities located within a specified number of feet from the offender's 
residence; 
(2) A community notification flyer, whether made by regular mail or hand delivered, to 
all legal residences within the specified area; 
(3) Posting a copy of the notice in a prominent place at the office of the sheriff and at 
the police station closest to the declared residence of the offender; 
(4) Publicizing the notice in a local newspaper, or posting electronically, including the 
Internet; 
(5) Notifying homeowners associations within the immediate area of the declared 
residence of the offender; or 
(6) Any other method reasonably expected to provide notification. 
(c) Nothing in this section shall be construed as prohibiting the Tennessee Bureau of 
Investigation, a sheriff, or a chief of police from providing community notification 
under this section electronically or by publication or periodically to persons whose 
legal residence is more than the applicable distance from the residence of an offender. 
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INDIGENT FEE WAVIER  
 

DATE: ___________ 
 

OFFENDER: _________________ 
 

TOMIS/SO#: _________________ 
 

FEE WAIVER EXPLANATION: 
___________________________ 

 
_________________________________________ 

 
_________________________________________ 

 
 

Registering Agencies shall make the determination of an 
offender’s ability to pay the administrative costs annually, at the 
time the payment is due. This determination should be based on 
the following Indigence Standard:   

 
(1) A person so poor and needy that he or she cannot 

 provide, nor is  provided for, the necessities of   
  life, i.e.. food, clothing or shelter; and/or 
 
(2) Does not receive support from others; and or  
 
(3) Has an income level below the poverty line and   
  does not reside with family or associates. 

 
 FEE WAIVED BY: _________________________________________ 
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