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REGULATORY OVERVIEW

The activities of Title Pledge Lenders are governed by the “Tennessee Title Pledge Act”,
codified at Tennessee Code Annotated (T.C.A.) Title 45, Chapter 15. This report is
provided pursuant to the statutory provision of T.C.A. § 45-15-109(c)(5), requiring a
biennial analysis and recapitulation of the reports, for calendar year 2008, for the purpose
of reflecting the general results of operations of the industry. The compilation and
analysis of information in this report was gathered from licensees in submission of their
annual renewal applications. As part of the submission, licensees were required to attest,
under oath, to the truthfulness and accuracy of the information. To further ensure the
validity of this information, the Department will select, from a sampling, companies for
on-site examination of the financial and transaction data submitted.

The Department’s regulatory oversight includes reviewing all applications to ensure that
licensing requirements are met, conducting periodic on-site examinations for compliance
with the Act, issuing corrective actions, and investigating consumer complaints.

Each application must meet the licensing eligibility requirements of T.C.A. § 45-15-106.
Applicants shall demonstrate financial responsibility, financial condition, business
experience, character, and general fitness to reasonably warrant the belief that the
business will be operated lawfully and fairly.

The statute allows the
Department up to 90 days
to act on a “complete”
application. As set forth
in Department Rule 0180- | 80 191
33-.01, a nonrefundable 600 - 703 730 742 765
fee of $700 per locationis |
required at the time of

Title Pledge Locations
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filing. The applicant must | 2% 7
also provide a surety 0 ‘ ‘ ‘ :

bond or irrevocable letter Priorto  Dec.31,2006 Dec. 31,2007 Dec.31,2008 Dec. 31,2009
of credit in the amount of Regulation

$25,000 per location,
with the aggregate amount not to exceed $200,000 for any single title pledge lender. A
complete application must be notarized and include a listing of the owners, along with
their resumes and credit reports.

An applicant is required to submit a set of financial statements prepared by a certified
public accountant or public accounting firm not affiliated with the applicant and in
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. The business must meet and
maintain a tangible net worth of at least $75,000 per location. Additional supporting
documents may be requested to substantiate the value of assets reported. Applications
that fail to meet the licensing requirements are recommended for denial. The Department
denied three license applications in 2009 and four were withdrawn. Licenses are non-
transferable or assignable and must be renewed annually.



The regulatory oversight of licensees includes on-site compliance examinations
conducted pursuant to T.C.A. § 45-15-108. Cited violations represent instances in which
the licensee did not comply with statutory requirements. On-site examinations have
proven an effective tool in detection and the prevention of violations of the Act.
Examiners also review lenders’ compliance with the U.S. Department of Defense Rule 32
CFR Part 232 (“DOD Rule™), that became effective October 1, 2007. One of the main
provisions of that Rule, which covers members of the armed forces and their dependents,
is a cap on the interest rate. The Military Annual Percentage Rate (“MAPR”) may not
exceed 36% inclusive of interest, fees, and other charges. In 2008, two lenders were
cited for violation of the DOD Rule by exceeding the permissible MAPR. The lenders
took corrective action by making refunds to consumers and/or reducing the rate on the
loans to equal or below the permissible MAPR.

Examiners document and present the examination findings to the licensee in a written
report. The licensee is given a period of time to respond in writing to the examination
findings. The response generally details the actions the licensee took to correct any
violation(s). Most exam findings are resolved by field personnel. Unresolved issues,
systemic problems, apparent criminal activity, significant refunds, unlicensed activity or
repeat violations are referred to the Chief Administrator in the Nashville office for
follow-up with the licensee and issuance of corrective action as needed.

The following graph reflects the most prevalent violations found in 2009:

2009 Violations
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As noted previously, licensees must detail in writing what steps were taken to correct
violations of the Act which may include consumer refunds when applicable. Though it
appears from examinations that lenders are not charging more than the statutory limit of
22% per month, refunds were made in 2008 and 2009 due to other improper charges or
for other reasons the most prevalent of which are outlined below.

1) Unlicensed Activity:

e Evidence of unlicensed activity may result in refunds of all interest and fees
collected and the imposition of monetary penalties. License renewal applications
must be filed on or before October 1, of each year. Licensees that file timely may
continue operating after the October 31 expiration date until such time as the
Department acts on the renewal application. If a licensee fails to file a renewal
timely, the existing license expires by operation of law and a new license
application must be filed.

2) Repossession of collateral during an active renewal period:

e Lenders are required to refund to consumers towing charges and any interest and
fees assessed. Once a renewal agreement is entered into, the lender cannot
declare default within the thirty-day renewal period. The Department issued
industry Bulletin C-08-1 on January 25, 2008 to explain and clarify this position.

3) Improper application of the 5% principal reduction under T.C.A. § 45-15-113(d):

e Lenders may be required to refund any overcharges to the consumer if the
principal loan amount was not reduced by 5% in the correct renewal period.
Overcharges occur when lenders collect interest and fees on the outstanding loan
amount before reducing it by the required 5%. This is further clarified in this
report under, “Application of Principal Reduction Requirements” from a 2009
Attorney General’s Opinion, No. 09-155 (Exhibit A).

4) Lenders collected 22% interest and fees when the stated rate in the agreement was less:
e Lenders were required to refund these overcharges to the consumers.
5) Unsigned Agreements:

e Lenders were required to refund any interest and fees collected if the loan
agreement was not signed by either the consumer or lender.

In 2008, the Department conducted 772 examinations, resulting in consumer refunds of
$40,609. In 2009, 812 examinations were conducted, resulting in refunds of $64,815.

Consumer Refunds
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2009 $64,815 |
\ \ \ \ \ \

$0 $10,000 $20,000 $30,000 $40,000 $50,000 $60,000 $70,000




Administrative Enforcement Actions in 2008 and 2009

2008 2009
Total Number of Administrative Enforcement Actions Filed 12 6
Emergency Cease & Desist Orders 1 1
Civil Monetary Penalties $3,275 $7,276

The Compliance Division of the Department is also responsible for the licensing and
regulatory supervision of other non-depository financial institutions including mortgage
brokers, lenders, and servicers, mortgage loan originators, check cashing, deferred
presentment, premium finance, and industrial loan and thrift companies. Division-wide
consumer refunds, for all regulated institutions, totaled $2,244,216 in 2008 and
$1,676,123 in 2009. In 2008, of a total of 113 enforcement actions that were filed
Division-wide, 12 resulted from violations of the Title Pledge Act. In 2009, 6
enforcement actions resulted from violations of the Title Pledge Act whereas a total of
138 enforcement actions were filed Division-wide. Civil Monetary Penalties totaled
$165,913 for 2008 and $405,303 for 2009.

The Consumer Resources Division responds to all formal consumer complaints filed
against licensees. Pursuant to T.C.A. 8 45-15-118(c)(1), the consumer must file a written
complaint with the Division for investigation of the licensee’s conduct. The lender must
provide a written response to all allegations.

For calendar year 2008, the department received and investigated 30 consumer
complaints against title pledge lenders. The most frequent allegations involved
repossession issues reported in seven complaints, payment processing disputes in seven
complaints, and customer services issues also noted in seven complaints. Investigations
revealed that the issues giving rise to the complaints were not the result of a violation of
law.

In 2009, the Department received and investigated 34 consumer complaints against title
pledge lenders resulting in total refunds of $1,151 for the year which is in addition to
examination refunds. The most frequent allegations involved payment processing or
payment history disputes reported in six complaints. In each case, it appears the accounts
had been accurately credited. However, lenders made several concessions. Among
these, one consumer received a refund for $820, and the others reached settlements for
reduced balances.

The Department also received five complaints alleging incorrect fees. The Department
substantiated three of these, resulting in consumer refunds. Although four complaints
noted customer service issues, these matters are generally subjective. The Department’s
role as a regulator is to enforce compliance with applicable law, and facilitate resolution
of customer service disputes when possible. Finally, four complaints centered on
repossession issues. While two of these were unsubstantiated, one issue involved
personal items reportedly being removed from the vehicle during repossession. Neither
the borrower, nor the title pledge lender, could confirm what items had been in the
vehicle. The lender in the fourth complaint allowed the borrower to redeem the vehicle
after it was repossessed; yet, the fees paid to recover it were correct under the statute.



ANALYSIS OF OPERATIONS

The data which follows was compiled from information provided by 173 title pledge
lenders, representing 700 locations in Tennessee, and reflects the general results of
operations for calendar year 2008. There is a difference between the number of licensed
locations (742), reported in the graph on page 1, and the number of reporting locations
(700), for calendar year 2008. The difference is attributed to locations licensed in 2008,
but that did not begin operating until 2009. The remaining locations, although licensed in
2008, either closed before the filing deadline for annual report submission or failed to
renew timely.

T.C.A. 8 45-15-106(i) provides that the licensing year shall end on October 31. The
license renewal application must be filed with the Department on or before October 1.
Licensees must submit, together with the applications, supplemental financial reports for
the preceding calendar year. This information, submitted for 2008, contributed to the
data analysis and results of operations presented in the following tables and graphs.

Industry Break Down by Entity Type
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Companies, engaging in more than one line of business were asked to segment their
income and expenses and report such data exclusively for their title pledge business.
T.C.A. § 45-15-106(d)(2) requires a licensee to submit financial statements prepared by a
non-affiliated CPA, or public accounting firm, according to generally accepted
accounting principles.

Title pledge lenders entered into 161,417 new agreements with consumers in calendar
year 2008 representing $103,074,433 in loan volume. When lenders are ranked by their
number of locations in Tennessee, the top 10 companies account for 402 or 57% of the
700 reporting locations statewide. These top 10 companies entered into 115,044 new
agreements representing 71% of the market share. In contrast, 32 proprietorships,
accounting for only 5% of the locations (36), entered into 5,525 agreements or 3% of the
total.



The remaining 131 reporting companies, representing 262 locations (37%), entered into
40,848 of the new agreements (25%). Based upon this analysis, it appears that the top 10
companies control a major portion of the market share of agreements entered into in
2008.

Market Share Break Down
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For calendar year 2008, licensees entered into a total of 161,417 new title pledge
agreements which does not include renewals of these initial agreements. Eighty-six
percent (86%) of the new agreements were for $1000 or less, whereas only 3% were
made for amounts between $2,251 and $2,500 which is the maximum loan amount
permitted by law. The following presents a breakdown of new title pledge agreements by
loan amount:

New Agreements by Loan Amount
Number | % of Total

$250 or Less 31,836 20%
$251 - $500 63,938 40%
$501 - $750 22,414 14%
$751 - $1000 19,656 12%
$1001 - $1250 6,421 4%
$1251 - $1500 5,198 3%
$1501 - $1750 1,835 1%
$1751 - $2000 4,249 3%
$2001 - $2250 500 <1%
$2251 - $2500 5,370 3%

Total Number of Agreements 161,417 100%




From the following analysis, 117,941 agreements were renewed during calendar year
2008. Of these, 22% were renewed only one time. The majority (63%) were renewed six
times or less.

Total Number of Agreements Renewed in 2008
Number | % of Total Number | % of Total
1Time 26,174 22% 12 Times 2,232 2%
2 Times 13,132 11% 13 Times 1,715 1%
3 Times 11,070 9% 14 Times 1,603 1%
4 Times 9,442 8% 15 Times 1,541 1%
5 Times 8,257 7% 16 Times 1,305 1%
6 Times 7,186 6% 17 Times 903 1%
7 Times 6,866 6% 18 Times 766 1%
8 Times 5,438 5% 19 Times 812 1%
9 Times 4,437 4% 20 Times 746 1%
10 Times 10,730 9% 21 Times 696 1%
11 Times 2,498 2% 22 Times 392 <1%

Prior to the 2005 amendments to the Act, a title pledge loan could be renewed
indefinitely and the interest and fees charged over the life of the loan were unlimited.
With the amendments to the Act, and pursuant to T.C.A. § 45-15-113(d), the borrower is
required to make a 5% principal reduction during the third renewal of the title pledge
agreement. This enables the consumer to reduce the original loan amount by 5% with
each payment, resulting in a decrease in interest and fees with each successive renewal.
All title pledge loan agreements are written for 30 days and are limited to 22 renewals
over the life of the loan.

A 2009 Attorney General’s Opinion, No. 09-155, clarifies that payment of the (5%)
principal reduction can be made anytime during the third renewal period and each
successive renewal. The principal amount, upon which interest and fees are calculated, is
not reduced with respect to the particular renewal period in which it is paid. The 5%
principal reduction must occur at the beginning of the subsequent renewal period
according to the Opinion. (Refer to Exhibit A)

In the event the consumer cannot make the scheduled principal reductions, the lender
may defer such payment(s) until the end of the title pledge agreement. However, the
lender must still reduce the outstanding principal balance by 5% per month at the
beginning of the fourth renewal, and charge interest and fees based on the reduced
principal amount. This allows the consumer to defer all or some portion of the principal
to the end of the loan agreement. Of the 114,129 agreements outstanding, representing
over $60 million, the number of deferred principal reduction payments in 2008 was
16,847. Please refer to the Title Pledge Amortization Schedule in Exhibit B to see the
effects of the 5% principal reduction payments over the life of the loan.



Under the accrual basis of accounting, title pledge lenders record revenue when the
customer enters into an agreement to borrow money. The customer is legally obligated to
pay back the principal, interest and fees. If the customer defaults, the lender’s recourse is
limited to taking possession of the pledged collateral. In 2008, the industry repossessed
14,832 vehicles due to non-payment. If the customer fails to redeem the titled property
during a 20 day holding period, the lender has 60 days to sell it. Proceeds from the sale
must be applied against the loan and any excess returned to the borrower in accordance
with the 2005 amendments to the Act. The industry returned a total of $251,047 to
consumers in 2008.

Bad debt expense is defined as expense associated with a firm's inability to collect
accounts receivable, classified usually as an administrative or selling expense. Unless all
proceeds from the sale of pledged collateral offset the debt, the balance due is considered
uncollectible by the lender and is subsequently charged-off. This amount is classified as
bad debt expense on the income statement. Sometimes, the lender cannot locate the
collateral and, therefore, the entire debt is deemed uncollectible and charged-off against
accounts receivable. In 2008, lenders charged-off $13.6 million due to non-payment of
all or part of the original principal balance, representing 15% of total revenues.

In analyzing industry-wide profitability, this report focuses on net income before tax and
performs a break-even analysis based upon interest and fees charged. Net income before
tax is the company’s revenue from operations less business expenses. In the industry, the
revenue is made up of customary interest and fees, not to exceed 22% by statute. This
equates to an annual percentage rate (APR) of 264%. General expenses include, but are
not limited to, advertising, salaries, rent, utilities, insurance, regulation, repossessions and
bad debt expense.

Net income before tax, rather than after tax, is more meaningful when comparing income
between entities within the title pledge industry. The industry is comprised of various
business structures including corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships and
sole proprietorships. Although the administrative and operational expenses generally run
consistent from one business structure to another, income tax differs because the tax
treatment associated with each type of entity varies significantly. For instance, the
income of a corporation is taxed first at the corporate level before it is distributed to
shareholders; whereas, proprietorships pay tax on income at the individual tax rate. The
combined net income before tax for the 173 companies (700 licensed locations) reporting
was approximately $11.5 million.

Overall, the title pledge industry generated over $93 million in revenue during 2008.
Forty-five percent of revenue was paid toward general expenses including, but not
limited to, rent, utilities, advertising, regulation and supplies. The next largest expense
category was employee salaries which made up 25% of total revenues. Bad debt and
repossession expenses accounted for 18% of revenues with net income making up 12%.
Owner compensation was reported to be $7.4 million, representing approximately 65% of
net income. Although the industry as a whole was profitable, there was a wide disparity
in the level of profitability within the industry.



The following tables group the 700 reporting locations into four categories and show the
income and expenses of each.

December 31, 2008
Companies | Locations
Single Location 114 114
Small: 2-9 Licensed Locations 47 163
Medium: 10-24 Licensed Locations 7 99
Large: 25 or More Licensed Locations 5 324
Total 173 700
Income Statement Summary
Single Small: Medium: Large: 25 or
Industry Location 2-9 Locations 10-24 Locations | More Locations
Revenue $93,399,478 $ 10,858,019 | $ 12,416,689 | $ 9,689,080 | $ 60,435,690
Employee Salaries $23,771,821 $ 2522075 | $ 2,709392 | $ 2,560,907 | $ 15,979,447
Bad Debts $13,619,798 $ 875521 | $ 1,301,406 | $ 2,001,405 | $ 9,441,466
Repossession Expense $ 2,538,526 $ 404,072 | $ 346,940 | $ 263,721 | $ 1,523,793
General Expenses $42,000,449 $ 4591213 | $ 5,611,654 | $ 4,033,926 | $ 27,763,656
Total Expenses $81,930,594 $ 8392881 | $ 9,969,392 | $ 8,859,959 | $ 54,708,362
Net Income Before Tax* $11,468,884 $ 2465138 | $ 2447297 | ' $ 829,121 | $ 5,727,328
* This number includes Officer/Owner Compensation
| Officer/Owner Compensation | $ 7,418,578 | $ 1,232,824 | $ 1,224,849 | $ 1,346581 | $ 3,614,324
Percentage of Revenue
Single Small: Medium: Large: 25 or
Industry Location 2-9 Locations 10-24 Locations | More Locations
Employee Salaries 25% 23% 22% 26% 26%
Bad Debts 15% 8% 10% 21% 16%
Repossession Expense 3% 4% 3% 3% 3%
General Expenses 45% 42% 45% 42% 46%
Total Expenses 88% 77% 80% 92% 91%
| Officer/Owner Compensation 8% 11% 10% 14% 6%




BREAK-EVEN ANALYSIS

A break-even analysis is another financial tool which provides a specific level of price, or
interest and fees in this case, at which there is neither a profit nor a loss. A major
component of the break-even analysis is the profit margin. Profit margin illustrates how
much of every dollar of gross revenues a company retains in earnings after expenses.
The profit margin is calculated by dividing net income by total revenues. Total revenues
and expenses reported by the industry as a whole on their financial reports as of
December 31, 2008 are noted below. The following net income includes compensation
for the owners and officers.

Revenue $ 93,399,478 100%
Expenses $ 81,930,594 88%
Net Income $ 11,468,884 12% Profit Margin Ratio

By dividing net income of $11,468,884 by total revenue of $93,399,478, the profit
margin ratio of the title pledge industry as a whole was 12%. This means that, on
average, for every dollar of revenue made, 12 cents ($.12) went to net income. Net
income, often referred to as “the bottom line,” is equal to the income a business has after
subtracting total expenses from total revenue. It can be distributed among the owners or
held by the entity as retained earnings. In 2008, 65% of net income went to the owners,
totaling $7,418,578; whereas, 35% of net income went to retained earnings, totaling
$4,050,306. Of every dollar earned, 88 cents ($.88) was used to offset business expenses.

Since the break-even analysis is designed to determine a specific level of interest and fees
necessary to be profitable, it is appropriate to look at those title pledge lenders charging
22% (2% interest/20% service fee), the maximum amount allowable by law, versus a
lower amount. It was determined that 130 companies, (372 locations/53%) charged 22%
on all agreements. The following amounts were compiled from income statements.

Revenue $ 29,811,211 100%
Expenses $ 22,717,652 76%
Net Income $ 7,093,559 24% Profit Margin Ratio

Lenders charging 22% reported $29,811,211 in gross revenue resulting in a profit margin
ratio of 24%. This means that for every dollar of revenue generated $.24 went to net
income. Therefore, on a $100 loan at 22%, lenders earned $22, of which $5.28 ($22 x
24% profit margin ratio) went to net income, and $16.72 ($22 x 76% expense ratio) was
used to defray expenses. The following analysis translates the profit margin into the
actual amount of interest and fees necessary for the company to break-even assuming that
costs remain the same as reported.

Revenue $ 29,811,211 100% x 22% = 22.0%
Expenses $ 22,717,652 76% X 22% = 16.7% Break Even
Net Income $ 7,093,559 24% Profit Margin Ratio x 22% = 5.3%

*Annualized, the net return on each $100 in receivables would be $63.60 (5.3% x 12 months).
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It appears from this analysis that if these lenders had charged 16.7% instead of 22% on
their loans, they would have made just enough revenue to offset total expenses without
making a profit based on expenses remaining unchanged. A rate higher than 16.7%
would have generated a profit, and anything less would have resulted in a loss. This
analysis is based on industry averages. The following tables give the break-even
according to company size:

Single Location Title Pledge Lenders

Revenue $ 8,857,376 100% x 22% = 22.0%
Expenses $ 6,968,714 79% X 22% = 17.4% Break Even
Net Income $ 1,888,662 21% Profit Margin Ratio x 22% = 4.6%

*Annualized, the net return on each $100 in receivables would be $55.20 (4.6% x 12 months).

Small Location Title Pledge Lenders: 2-9 Locations

Revenue $ 8,705,640 100% X 22% = 22.0%
Expenses $ 7,095,721 82% X 22% = 18.0% Break Even
Net Income $ 1,609,919 18% Profit Margin Ratio x 22% = 4.0%

*Annualized, the net return on each $100 in receivables would be $48.00 (4.0% x 12 months).

Medium Location Title Pledge Lenders: 10-24 Locations

Revenue $ 341,129 100% X 22% = 22.0%
Expenses $ 254,361 5% X 22% = 16.5% Break Even
Net Income $ 86,768 25% Profit Margin Ratio x 22% = 5.5%

*Annualized, the net return on each $100 in receivables would be $66.00 (5.5% x 12 months).

Large Location Title Pledge Lenders: 25 or More Locations

Revenue $ 11,907,067 100% x 22% = 22.0%
Expenses $ 8,398,856 71% X 22% = 15.6% Break Even
Net Income $ 3,508,211 29% Profit Margin Ratio x 22% = 6.4%

*Annualized, the net return on each $100 in receivables would be $76.80 (6.4% x 12 months).

For companies charging less than 22%, the rate varied between 10% and 21%. In the
industry, 43 companies (328 locations/47%) charged less than the maximum allowable
rate of 22%. From the following table, $.93 of every dollar was used to offset expenses;
whereas, $.07 went to profit.

Revenue $ 63,588,267 100%
Expenses $59,212,942 93%
Net Income $ 4,375,325 7% Profit Margin Ratio
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The comparison on this page shows the profit margin ratio for companies charging 22%
was higher than for those averaging lower rates.

Companies Charging 22%
130 Companies / 372 Locations

Companies Charging Less Than 22%
43 Companies / 328 Locations

Revenue $29,811,211 100% Revenue $63,588,267 100%
Expenses $22,717,652 76% Expenses $59,212,942 93%
Net Income $ 7,093,559 24% Net Income $ 4,375,325 7%

The table below compares the results of operations in the previous report to this report.

Income Statement Comparison
175 Companies 672 Locations 173 Companies 700 Locations
Percentage Percentage
Calendar 2006 of Revenue Calendar 2008 of Revenue
Revenue $ 72,125,249 $ 93,399,478
Employee Salaries $ 15,891,949 22% | $ 23,771,821 25%
Bad Debts $ 11,394,220 16% | $ 13,619,798 15%
Repossession Expense $ 3,227,022 1% | $ 2,538,526 3%
General Expenses $ 32,291,558 45% | $ 42,000,449 45%
Total Expenses $ 62,804,749 87% $ 81,930,594 88%
Net Income Before Tax* $ 9,320,500 13% $ 11,468,884 12%
* This number includes Officer/Owner Compensation
‘ Officer/Owner Compensation | $ 5,164,888 ‘ 7% ‘ $ 7,418,578 ‘ 8%

The table below compares the break-even in the previous report to this report.

Break Even Comparison
Calendar 2006 Calendar 2008
22% 22%
Industry 17.6% 16.7%
Single 15.8% 17.4%
Small 17.6% 18.0%
Medium 20.1% 16.5%
Large 20.0% 15.6%
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CONCLUSION

Title Pledge lending in Tennessee continues to be a significant segment of the financial
services sector. Based on reported information covering calendar year 2008, 161,417 new
title pledge agreements were entered into during the reporting period. This compares to
139,319 new agreements for the prior reporting period covering calendar year 2006, or a
16% increase in the number of new agreements. The total dollar volume of these new
agreements amounted to $103,074,433 compared to $77,698,729 for the prior reporting
period or a 33% increase.

An important and continuing market trend appears to be that the number of smaller
companies is declining while the largest companies are expanding their locations. For
example, the number of companies comprising the “Small” group declined by 13% from
the prior reporting period. The top ten companies, based on the number of locations,
account for 71% of the overall market share of agreements. If it is the case, as we believe,
that the largest companies sometimes offer rates less than 22% and at times significantly
less, then it may be that some small companies cannot compete and some borrowers may
benefit by receiving a lower rate. A lowering of rates could be a consideration that might
still permit a segment of the industry to operate depending on the level of rate reduction.

Bad debt expense, as a percentage of revenue, varies widely among company size
categories ranging from 8% for single location companies to 21% for companies in the
medium size category. Conversely there is little variance in other expense categories
among companies of various size. We continue to speculate that the current rate provides
enough cushion and perhaps incentive for some companies to operate at a less than
optimum efficiency. Whether rates are lowered statutorily or not, there appear to be some
competitive market forces that influence rates and fees in urban areas where there is a
high concentration of title pledge lenders versus rural areas where there are
comparatively few licensees. Approximately 45% of title pledge lender locations are in
five counties (Knox, Hamilton, Davidson, Rutherford, and Shelby). The greatest single
concentration is in Shelby County with 158 (or 21%) of the total locations in Tennessee.
There appears to continue to be a trend toward consolidation and in those areas of the
state where there is little or no competition, rates are not likely to move downward by
market pressure.

As a whole, companies charging 22% were profitable although there was a wide disparity
in level of profitability. During the period January 1 through December 31, 2008, the
large location lenders appear to have fared the best from an economic return standpoint.
These locations reflected a profit margin ratio of 29%. Correspondingly this group had
the lowest break-even point at 15.6%.

For those companies charging 22%, the ability of the large companies to out perform
other size categories is reflected in the break-even analysis. The overall break-even point
for the industry is 16.7% which is .90% less than reflected in the prior reporting period at
17.6%. However, a more significant difference is noted in comparing company size.
Single and Small location lenders experienced an increase in their break-even point from
the prior reporting period at 1.6% and .40% respectively (15.8% to 17.4% and 17.6% to
18.0%). However, the break-even point for “Medium” and “Large” size companies was
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significantly lower by 3.6% and 4.4% respectively (from 20.1% to 16.5% and 20.0% to
15.6%).

The break-even analysis is based on reported expenses. This report cannot make a
judgment on the efficiency of licensee operations. For companies charging 22%, the
break-even point for calendar year 2006 was 17.6. For calendar year 2008, the break-even
point was 16.7%. Employee salaries and other expenses including utilities, rent,
advertising, and office supplies have generally been consistent year-to-year. It appears
from the analysis that the single greatest impact that management could make on costs
would appear to be control of bad debt expense.

While attention, deservedly so, is placed on the rates and practices of title pledge lenders,
we also see a more fundamental need facing a segment of Tennessee consumers. The lack
of financial literacy among some citizens is a serious concern and we believe it is often a
root problem for some of the ills we see in the financial services sector.

We understand that some individuals are hampered by circumstances beyond their
control such as illness that may force a short term need for “fast cash” but we also know
anecdotally of individuals who do not understand that title pledge transactions are not
meant for long-term financing of basic necessities. Ironically, we have received
complaints from borrowers who do not like the principal reduction feature of the Act
because it interferes with their desire or need to enter into long term transactions even
though principal reduction helps to prevent such borrowers from being mired in long
term debt.

With the exception of unexpected events that may seem to force some to seek out fast
cash, we believe that a lack of a basic understanding of financial concepts has permeated
generations of Tennessee families and has created an environment that perhaps supports
some of the numbers reported herein.

But there is some progress being made. We are certainly glad to see that a personal
finance class has become mandatory in Tennessee schools. In recent years we have added
financial literacy as a segment of our core operations and have reached out through public
service announcements, workshops and partnerships with other public and private
entities.

This Department is partnering with efforts such as Smart Tennessee out of the University
of Memphis which seeks to educate students in basic financial concepts. We have worked
for many years with organizations such as the Tennessee Jumpstart Coalition and others
that have done much to promote financial literacy. The Department has also encouraged
Tennessee’s mainstream banking community to consider making small dollar loans and
there are Tennessee banks and credit unions providing alternative loan sources.

As we have for many years, this Department will continue to concentrate on the licensee-
focused areas of applications, examinations and enforcement actions. While these three
traditional areas of operation are very important, we realize that more attention needs to
be placed directly on consumers before the receipt of consumer complaints. Not only is
financial literacy a key for the welfare of the individual, but we believe it is a key factor
for the health of well meaning financial institutions and ultimately for the Tennessee
economy.
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NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE 37202
September 15, 2009
Opinion No. 09-155

Calculation of interest and fees under Tennessee Title Pledge Act

QUESTION

Does a pledgor’s payment made pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. 8 45-15-113(d) of
the Tennessee Title Pledge Act reduce the principal amount upon which interest and fees
are calculated with respect to the particular renewal period in which such payment is
made?

OPINION

No.

ANALYSIS

The Tennessee Title Pledge Act, codified at Tenn. Code Ann. 8§ 45-15-101, et
seq., governs the making of title pledge loans in this state. Pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. §
45-15-104, licensed title pledge lenders have the power to make loans of money on
pledges of personal property certificates of title or on pledges of titled personal property.
Title pledge agreements and property pledge agreements made pursuant to the Act are not
to exceed thirty days in length; however, the agreements may provide for renewals for
additional thirty-day periods, which may occur automatically, if certain events outlined in
the statute have not occurred. Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(a). The amount of interest
and fees for which a title pledge lender may contract is addressed in Tenn. Code Ann. §
45-15-111(a). This statutory provision also addresses when the interest and fees accrue.
“The interest and fees shall be deemed to be earned, due and owing as of the date of the
title pledge agreement or property pledge agreement and a like sum shall be deemed
earned, due and owing on the same day of each subsequent thirty-day period.” Tenn.
Code Ann. § 45-15-111(a).
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We turn now to your specific question concerning the calculation of interest and
fees under Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d). This statutory provision states:

Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter to the contrary, beginning with the
third renewal or continuation and at each successive renewal or continuation
thereafter, the pledgor shall be required to make a payment of at least five percent

(5%) of the original principal amount of the title pledge transaction, in addition to
interest and fees authorized by this chapter. Interest and fees authorized by this
chapter at each successive renewal or continuation shall be calculated on the
outstanding principal balance. Principal payments in excess of the five percent
(5%) required principal reduction shall be credited to the outstanding principal on
the day received. If, at the maturity of any renewal requiring a principal reduction,
the pledgor has not made previous principal reductions adequate to satisfy the
current required principal reduction, and the pledgor cannot repay at least five
percent (5%) of the original principal balance and any outstanding interest and
fees authorized by this chapter, the title pledge lender may, but shall not be
obligated to, defer any required principal payment until the end of the title pledge
agreement or property pledge agreement. No further interest or fees may accrue
on a principal amount thus deferred.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d).

You ask whether a pledgor’s payment made pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-
15-113(d) reduces the principal amount upon which interest and fees are calculated with
respect to the particular renewal period in which such payment is made. For the reasons
explained below, we believe interest and fees are to be calculated without taking into
account a pledgor’s payment made pursuant to this provision.

First, Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d) states that the pledgor is obligated to make
a payment of at least five percent of the original principal amount of the title pledge
transaction “beginning with the third renewal or continuation and at each successive
renewal or continuation thereafter.” Subsection (d) ends by providing that the title pledge
lender may defer any required principal payment “at the maturity of any renewal
requiring a principal reduction” if the pledgor has not made previous principal reductions
adequate to satisfy the current required principal reduction, and the pledgor cannot repay
at least five percent (5%) of the original principal balance and any outstanding interest
and fees. Based on the plain language of the statute, the pledgor is obliged to make a
principal reduction of at least five percent of the original principal amount beginning with
the pledgor’s third renewal or continuation and at each successive renewal or
continuation thereafter. Once this obligation arises, the pledgor has until “the maturity of”
the renewal period to make the payment required by Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d). In
short, the pledgor can fulfill his or her obligation under Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d)
by making the required principal reduction at any point up until the renewal period
“matures” or ends.
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In contrast, interest and fees are due and owing on the first day of a renewal
period because Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-111(a) states that interest and fees are “deemed
to be earned, due and owing as of the date of the title pledge agreement or property
pledge agreement and a like sum shall be deemed earned, due and owing on the same day
of each subsequent thirty-day period.” Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-111(a) (emphasis
added). Tenn. Code Ann. 8 45-15-113(d) does not alter when interest and fees are due
and owing because it simply provides that “[i]nterest and fees authorized by this chapter
at each successive renewal or continuation shall be calculated on the outstanding
principal balance.” Accordingly, the “outstanding principal balance” upon which interest
and fees are calculated under Tenn. Code Ann. 8 45-15-113(d) is the principal balance
that exists on the first day of a renewal period. See Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-111(a).

We believe the contrasting time frames for the accrual of interest and fees under
Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-111(a) and a pledgor’s obligation to make the required
principal reduction under Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d) point to the conclusion that
interest and fees are to be calculated without taking into account a pledgor’s payment
made pursuant to this provision since interest and fees are due and owing the first day of
a renewal period, whereas a pledgor’s payment under Tenn. Code Ann. 8§ 45-15-113(d) is
not due and owing until the maturity of the renewal period. Other provisions of Tenn.
Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d) bolster our opinion. As referenced above, Tenn. Code Ann. §
45-15-113(d) states that interest and fees “shall be calculated on the outstanding principal
balance.” If the General Assembly had wanted a pledgor’s payment under Tenn. Code
Ann. 8 45-15-113(d) to be taken into account before interest and fees were calculated, it
would have so stated. Similarly, Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d) provides that the
pledgor is to make the required principal reduction “in addition to interest and fees
authorized by this chapter.” (emphasis added). This provision, as well, indicates that the
pledgor is to pay the interest and fees that are due and owing on the first day of the
renewal period without taking into account any payment the pledgor may make pursuant
to Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d).

For all of the reasons above, we believe a pledgor’s payment made pursuant to
Tenn. Code Ann. § 45-15-113(d) does not reduce the principal amount upon which
interest and fees are calculated with respect to the particular renewal period in which such
payment is made.

ROBERT E. COOPER, JR.
Attorney General and Reporter

MICHAEL E. MOORE
Solicitor General

LAURA T. KIDWELL
Senior Counsel



Page 4

Requested by:

Commissioner Greg Gonzales
Department of Financial Institutions 414 Union Street, Suite 1000
Nashville, TN 37219



Exhibit B

Title Pledge Amortization Schedule

Principal Reduction: $50.00

Amount Financed: $1,000.00

Interest Rate: 22%

A B C D
5% Renewal Minimum
Transaction | Payment or Principal | Principal Fee Due | Amount Due| Renewal
Date Renewal | Total Paid | To Interest | To Principal] Balance | Reduction |Ax22% =C| B+C=D Date

1/1/2010 | Initial Loan $1,000.00 $220.00 $220.00 | 1/31/2010
(1) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 | $1,000.00

1/31/2010 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 $220.00 3/2/2010
(2) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 | $1,000.00

3/2/2010 Renewal $1,000.00 $220.00 $220.00 4/1/2010
(3) Payment $220.00 $220.00 $0.00 | $1,000.00

4/1/2010 Renewal $1,000.00 $50.00 $220.00 $270.00 5/1/2010
(4) Payment $270.00 $220.00 $50.00 $950.00

5/1/2010 Renewal $950.00 $50.00 $209.00 $259.00 [ 5/31/2010
(5) Payment $259.00 $209.00 $50.00 $900.00

5/31/2010 Renewal $900.00 $50.00 $198.00 $248.00 | 6/30/2010
(6) Payment $248.00 $198.00 $50.00 $850.00

6/30/2010 Renewal $850.00 $50.00 $187.00 $237.00 | 7/30/2010
(7) Payment $237.00 $187.00 $50.00 $800.00

7/30/2010 Renewal $800.00 $50.00 $176.00 $226.00 | 8/29/2010
(8) Payment $226.00 $176.00 $50.00 $750.00

8/29/2010 Renewal $750.00 $50.00 $165.00 $215.00 | 9/28/2010
(9) Payment $215.00 $165.00 $50.00 $700.00

9/28/2010 Renewal $700.00 $50.00 $154.00 $204.00 | 10/28/2010
(10) Payment|  $204.00 $154.00 $50.00 $650.00

10/28/2010 Renewal $650.00 $50.00 $143.00 $193.00 | 11/27/2010
(11) Payment|  $193.00 $143.00 $50.00 $600.00

11/27/2010 Renewal $600.00 $50.00 $132.00 $182.00 | 12/27/2010
(12) Payment|  $182.00 $132.00 $50.00 $550.00

12/27/2010 Renewal $550.00 $50.00 $121.00 $171.00 | 1/26/2011
(13) Payment|  $171.00 $121.00 $50.00 $500.00

1/26/2010 Renewal $500.00 $50.00 $110.00 $160.00 [ 2/25/2011
(14) Payment|  $160.00 $110.00 $50.00 $450.00

2/25/2011 Renewal $450.00 $50.00 $99.00 $149.00 [ 3/27/2011
(15) Payment|  $149.00 $99.00 $50.00 $400.00

3/27/2010 Renewal $400.00 $50.00 $88.00 $138.00 | 4/26/2011
(16) Payment|  $138.00 $88.00 $50.00 $350.00

4/26/2010 Renewal $350.00 $50.00 $77.00 $127.00 | 5/26/2011
(17) Payment|  $127.00 $77.00 $50.00 $300.00

5/26/2010 Renewal $300.00 $50.00 $66.00 $116.00 | 6/25/2011
(18) Payment|  $116.00 $66.00 $50.00 $250.00

6/25/2010 Renewal $250.00 $50.00 $55.00 $105.00 | 7/25/2011
(19) Payment|  $105.00 $55.00 $50.00 $200.00

7/25/2011 Renewal $200.00 $50.00 $44.00 $94.00 | 8/24/2011
(20) Payment $94.00 $44.00 $50.00 $150.00

8/24/2011 Renewal $150.00 $50.00 $33.00 $83.00 | 9/23/2011
(21) Payment $83.00 $33.00 $50.00 $100.00

9/23/2011 Renewal $100.00 $50.00 $22.00 $72.00 | 10/23/2011
(22) Payment $72.00 $22.00 $50.00 $50.00

10/23/2011 Renewal $50.00 $50.00 $11.00 $61.00 | 11/23/2011
(23) Payment $61.00 $11.00 $50.00
TOTAL | $3,970.00 [ $2,970.00 | $1,000.00




Exhibit C

DISTRIBUTION OF TITLE PLEDGE LENDERS BY COUNTY

The maps that follow depict the number of title pledge locations throughout Tennessee by
county.

East Tennessee

Population
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Middle Tennessee
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