Is Your License Suspended?

Tennessee Real Estate Commission

If your license is suspended due to delinquent student loan payments or child support, please contact the following:

For student loans:
Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation
1-866-291-2675
student.loans@tn.gov

For child support:
John Jarrett
Tennessee Department of Human Services
615- 313-4880
John.M.Jarrett@tn.gov

The suspension will be released within 2 days of the department’s receipt of the suspension release notice. If your license is in suspension and the renewal payment is outstanding – the online payment option will be unavailable until the suspension is released.

Professional Privilege Tax:

The professional privilege tax is an annual tax imposed on certain professionals  who hold an active Tennessee license or registration on the June 1 due date, regardless of whether the person practices his or her profession in Tennessee. Please see Tennessee Taxpayer Access Point, or TNTAP, the Department of Revenues new tax filing website to pay the tax online.

In mid-April, the Department of Revenue contacted professional privilege taxpayers directly to remind them of the due date either by e-mail or via U.S. Postal Mail

 If you have received a notification pursuant to T.C.A§ Professional Privilege Tax 67-4-1704, regarding your license renewal being held in abeyance due to failure to pay Professional Privilege Tax, please see below:

Once payment has been made the Department of Revenue will issue a tax clearance letter. Upon receipt of this letter and all renewal fees and requirements, the abeyance will be released and license renewal will be processed. General processing time is two (2) business days from the receipt of tax clearance.

For any further questions regarding the professional privilege tax please contact: Department of Revenue Call Center at (800)-342-1003 for in-state calls or (615)-253-0600

You can also visit their website at:  tn.gov/revenue/topic/professional-privilege-tax

Errors and Omissions Insurance

It shall be a requirement for an active licensee to carry errors and omissions insurance to cover all activities contemplated under the Tennessee Real Estate Broker License Act. Any licensee whose license is suspended for more than thirty (30) days pursuant to T.C.A. § 62-13-112 for failure to maintain E&O insurance must provide proof of insurance that complies with the required terms and conditions of coverage to the Commission and must pay the following applicable penalty fee in order to reinstate the license:

Lapse in E&O coverage fee schedule-

  • 30-120 days -$200.00
    • If the insurance carrier backdates the licensee’s policy to indicate continuous coverage.
  • 120-182 days (6 months)- $500.00
  • 6 months- 1 year- $500.00
    • Plus a penalty fee of $100.00 per month for months 6 through 12.