

# TENNESSEE FORESTRY COMMISSION MEETING MINUTES

#### 10/19/2023

Tennessee Forestry Commission meeting was held virtually via Microsoft TEAMS, October 19, 2023.

#### **Participants:**

**Forestry Commission Members:** Tom Midyett, Chairman; John Charles Wilson, Vice Chairman; Dr. Sharon Jean-Philippe, Secretary; Mike Witt, Bill Legg, Alex Richman, Drew Getty.

#### Forestry Commission Ex-Officio Members:

**Tennessee Department of Agriculture (TDA):** Jeff Aiken, Deputy Commissioner; Liz Sneed, HR Director; Jay Miller, General Counsel; Latoya Lewis, Administrative Service Assistant 4; Christina Brode, Administrative Service Assistant 3.

**Tennessee Department of Agriculture - Division of Forestry (TDF):** David Arnold, Assistant Commissioner-State Forester; Dyshea Brown, Executive Administrative Assistant.

The Chairman noted that, other than the above-mentioned attendees, no members of the public were present at the meeting.

Chairman Tom Midyett welcomed everyone to the meeting. The meeting began at 2:05 p.m. CDT

Approve Emergency meeting to discuss the process for the State Forester position for Tennessee.

John Charles Wilson motioned to approve emergency meeting. Bill Legg seconded the motion. All Commission members virtually voted yes. The motion passed.

Approve subcommittee for Tennessee Division of Forestry State Forester position.

John Charles Wilson motioned to approve subcommittee to submit position announcements to candidates that were identified to the commission members. Bill Legg seconded the motion. All Commission members virtually voted yes to approve. The motion passed.

MINUTES



### **MINUTES**

## Subcommittee members are: Tom Midyett, John Charles Wilson, Alex Richman and Dr. Sharon Jean-Philippe.

### **Future Meeting Dates**

- o January 9, 2024 Discuss budget, timber sales (second Tuesday in January) Cordell Hull
- April 9, 2024 Approve Nursery seedling pricing/production and appoint sub-committee to nominate Commission officers (second Tuesday in April).
- June 12, 2024 Election of Commission officers (second Tuesday in June).
- August/September 2024 (TBD)

Mike Witt made a motion to adjourn the meeting. John Charles Wilson seconded the motion. The Meeting was adjourned at 2:41PM CDT.