Residential Habilitation shall mean a type of residential service having individualized services and supports that enable a waiver participant to acquire, retain, or improve skills necessary to reside in a community-based setting including direct assistance with activities of daily living (e.g., bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, eating, meal preparation), household chores) essential to the health and safety of the waiver participant, budget management, attending appointments, and interpersonal and social skills building to enable the waiver participant to live in a home in the community. It also may include medication administration as permitted under Tennessee’s Nurse Practice Act.
The Residential Habilitation dwelling may be rented, leased, or owned by the Residential Habilitation provider and shall be licensed by the State of Tennessee. The Residential Habilitation provider shall provide personal funds management as specified in the plan of care. Therapeutic goals and objectives shall be required for waiver participants receiving Residential Habilitation. The Residential Habilitation provider shall oversee the waiver participant’s health care needs.
A Residential Habilitation home shall have no more than 4 residents with the exception that homes which were already providing services to more than 4 residents prior to July 1, 2000, may continue to do so.
The Residential Habilitation provider shall be responsible for providing an appropriate level of services and supports 24 hours per day during the hours the waiver participant is not receiving Day Services or is not at school or work. A waiver participant who is receiving Residential Habilitation shall not be eligible to receive Personal Assistance or Respite (which would duplicate services that are the responsibility of the Residential Habilitation provider).
With the exception of transportation to and from medical services covered through the Medicaid State Plan/TennCare Program, transportation shall be a component of Residential Habilitation and shall be included in the reimbursement rate for such.
Reimbursement for Residential Habilitation shall not be made for room and board or for the cost of maintenance of the dwelling. Reimbursement for Residential Habilitation shall not include payment for Residential Habilitation provided by the spouse of a waiver participant.
The Residential Habilitation provider and provider staff shall not be the parent or custodial grandparent of a waiver participant under age 18 years, whether the relationship is by blood, by marriage, or by adoption; and reimbursement shall not include payment for Residential Habilitation provided by such individuals. Reimbursement shall not include payment made for services provided by the waiver participant’s conservator.
This service shall not be provided in inpatient hospitals, nursing facilities, and Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID).
Residential Habilitation shall not be provided in a home where a waiver participant lives with family members unless such family members are also waiver participants receiving Residential Habilitation. Family member shall be interpreted to mean the mother, father, grandmother, grandfather, sister, brother, son, daughter, or spouse, whether the relationship is by blood, by marriage, or by adoption.
Applicable limits, if any, on the amount, frequency, or duration of this service: None