There are a variety of insurance options available to state employees including:
- Annual Leave
Full-time employees earn annual leave each month at a rated based on years of service as follows:
|Years of Service
||Annual Leave Earned per Mont
||Maximum Allowable days
|0 up to 5
|5 up to 10
||1 and ½ days
|10 up to 20
||1 and ¾ days
|20 or more
*Leave earned in excess of the maximum allowable days will be transferred to the employee's sick leave account annually on the employee's anniversary hire date.
- Sick Leave
All full-time employees accrue 1 day (7.5 hours) of sick leave per month, provided they work the major portion of that month.
- Bereavement Leave
Leave with pay is granted for three days in the event of the death of an employee's spouse, child, stepchild, grandchild, parents, grandparents, siblings, stepparents, foster parents, or parents-in-law without charge to the employee's leave time. Two additional days of sick leave may be granted to provide a total of five days absence for this purpose.
- Family Medical Leave
Allows up to twelve work weeks of leave* each year to eligible employees for certain family and medical reasons. Continued health insurance coverage is provided during the leave period, and the employee is reinstated to the same or an equivalent position once the leave period has ended.
*Leave may or may not be paid leave, depending on individual employee's leave balances for earned leave.
- Maternity Leave
Maternity leave is an absence from work granted any female employee who has been employed in state service for at least 12 consecutive months as a full-time employee. Maternity leave is a combination of sick, annual, or special leave without pay for a period not to exceed four months following the birth of a child.
- Military Leave
Granted in accordance with applicable state and federal laws, rules and regulations.
Each year, full-time state employees receive 11 holidays
off with pay.
Beginning with the completion of 36 months (3 years) of creditable state service (1,600 hours or more worked in a fiscal year), employees receive an annual payment of $100.00 for each year of creditable state service to a maximum of 30 years of service ($3,000).
State employees are automatically members of the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System
. (TCRS) Employees must accrue 5 years of creditable state service to be vested (guaranteed retirement benefits when age requirements are met). Vested members of TCRS Legacy Plan become eligible for service retirement upon completion of 30 years of creditable service or upon attainment of age 60. Vested members of TCRS Hybrid Plan become eligible for service retirement upon completion of the rule of 90 or upon attainment of age 65.
- Deferred Compensation
The State of Tennessee Offers two optional retirement savings plans established to conform to the Internal revenue code 401(k) and 457 plans for government entities. The purpose of the 401(k) and 457 plans is to supplement the Tennessee Consolidated Retirement System, a 401(a) Defined Benefit Plan.
- Flexible Benefits Plan
Under this program certain specific expenses (e.g.,medical and dental insurance premiums, medical expenses, dependent day care expenses) can be deducted from an employee's paycheck prior to taxes, resulting in a lower taxable income level.
- Higher Education Fee Discounts and Waivers
A 25% discount on undergraduate tuition at any state operated institution of higher learning in Tennessee is available to children 23 years of age or under of full time state employees. In addition, full-time state employees with six months of continuous service are eligible to have tuition fees waived for one course per semester at a state institution. For further information on higher education discounts, click on Chapter 1540 on the Secretary of State Rules and Regulations
- Baccalaureate Education System Trust (BEST) Program (BEST)
The Baccalaureate Education System Trust (BEST) was created by the Tennessee General Assembly for the purpose of providing Tennessee families with a means to save for their children's future college education costs.
- Wellness Program
The State Employee Wellness Program
works to increase employees´ knowledge of options for healthier lifestyles through information and events that focus on improving behaviors affecting your health. Some specific benefits offered through the program include health risk assessments, fitness events, smoking cessation programs, and various other benefits.
- ParTNers Health & Wellness Center
The ParTNers Health & Wellness Center (formerly called the Employee Health Clinic) has moved to the third floor of the WRS Tennessee Tower. Visit www.partnershealthcenter.com
for more updates and about our expanded services. To make an appointment, call (615) 741-1709.
- Employee Assistance Program (EAP)
EAP is a confidential counseling and referral service for all employees and their dependents. All services are strictly confidential and can be accessed 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.