Skip to Content

TCAP Achievement

The Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program, or TCAP, is a set of statewide assessments given in Tennessee to measure students' skills and progress.

Students in grades 3-8 take the Achievement Test, and high school students take End of Course exams for various subjects. More information about the Achievement test can be found below, and more information End of Course exams can be found on the Secondary Assessments page.

Student results are reported to parents, teachers and administrators and can be found on the Data Releases page or the annual Report Card, which comes out each fall.

Achievement Test

The Achievement Test is a timed, multiple choice assessment that measures skills in Reading, Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies.

In addition, some schools choose to administer the Achievement Test to students in Kindergarten and Grades 1 and 2. The 'K-2 Achievement' link below provides more information.

Tennessee is an English-only state; all assessments are provided in English only. We do not offer any of our assessments in a native language format.

2014-15 Social Studies Assessments

The State Board of Education approved an assessment transition plan for social studies for the 2014-15 school year.  There will be a field test in 2014-15, and operational social studies testing will resume in the 2015-16 school year.

More information about the field test will be released in the coming months, but as with other pilots, the results of the field test will not be reported to students and will not affect students’ grades. Information on the design of the 2015-16 Social Studies TCAP operational assessment will be available this fall.

Read the entire plan for more information about the transition to the new assessments.

For Parents & Students

FAQ - Find answers to your questions about the Achievement Test

K-2 Achievement

Samplers & Practice Tests

Parent's Guide - Understanding The Individual Profile Report 2013 download pdf file

Testing Dates