Skip to Content

TCAP Assessments for Students with Disabilities

The Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEIA) and NCLB require that all students, including those with the most severe disabilities, must be included in state-mandated assessments.  The Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) includes several alternative assessments available to students with disabilities whom participation in the regular state assessment is inappropriate, even with the use of extensive accommodations.  Included in Tennessee's alternate assessments are:

1) the TCAP Alternate Portfolio Assessment (TCAP-Alt PA),

2) a statewide assessment for students in grades 3 - 8 based on Modified Academic Achievement Standards (TCAP MAAS), and

3) the Alternative Performance-Based Assessments for students with an active IEP whose disability interferes with performance on an End of Course Assessment. 

Additionally, special testing accommodations may be used by students who are receiving special education services or services under Section 504 and have the need for the accommodations documented in their IEPs or 504 Service Plans. The decision for student participation in any alternate assessment or special accommodation is an IEP team decision based on the needs of the individual student.

The State is an English only State; all assessments are provided in English only. We do not offer any of our assessments in a Native Language format.

Testing Accommodations

Accommodations are modifications made to the test environment or test administration procedures. An accommodation may be used by a student only when necessary and when the student is proficient in its use. There are three types of testing accommodations available for student use: Allowable Accommodations, Special Accommodations, and English Language Learner (ELL) Accommodations.

TCAP Testing Accommodations

For more information about Alternate Assessments:

TCAP-Alt Portfolio Assessment (TCAP-Alt PA)

TCAP-Alt Modified Academic Achievement Standards Assessment (TCAP MAAS)

Alternative Performance Based Assessments (EOC)