Skip to Content

Tools and Resources Page

The function of this section is to provide Tennessee educators and the public with a listing of quick links to numerous assessment resources available for each student assessment program.  For more information and to access all resources available for each assessment program, click on one of the gray links on the left side of this web page.

TCAP Testing Protocol Video

Achievement Levels & Descriptors

Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, TCAP results are reported based on four achievement levels: Below Basic, Basic, Proficient, and Advanced.

Achievement Level Definitionsdownload pdf file

The following Achievement Level Descriptors reflect the changes in the curriculum standards (Reading/Language Arts, Math, and Science) and achievement levels (Below Basic, Basic, Proficient, and Advanced).

  • Mathdownload pdf file (Grades 3-8 Achievement, Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II)
  • Sciencedownload pdf file (Grades 3-8 Achievement, Biology, Chemistry, Physics)

TCAP Achievement K-8

Secondary Assessments

Supplemental Reference (Formula) Pages