Septic Tank Pumping Contractor Permit

Who Needs One?

Anyone engaged in the business of removing and disposing of domestic septage from septic tanks, holding tanks, portable toilets or other similar sewage treatment or disposal facilities must obtain a septic tank pumping contractor license from the Tennessee Division of Water Resources.

What Information Must I Provide?

Applicants must submit "Division of Water Resources Application for Septic Tank Pumping Contractor Permit" (Form CN-0765). The application includes the following information: the business name and address, owner name and address, owner’s physical description, method of removing septage, method of transporting septage, the number of trucks and state of registration, vehicle license numbers, pump trucks’ capacities, number of gallons pumped per year, types of waste to be hauled, and county where owner intends to conduct most business. The applicant must have written permission of the proper official when contents are to be disposed of at a public wastewater treatment plant or written permission of the landowner and disposal site operator when land application site is used, including a copy of the domestic septage site permits.

How Will My Application Be Processed?

Completed application forms and application fee should be sent to the Division of Water Resources at the local county office, a regional Environmental Field Office, or the Nashville Central Office. A detailed review of the application is conducted, and the applicant is sent a notification letter when the review is complete. A permit is granted or denied within 45 days of the date of application. Permits expire on December 31 each year and must be renewed. Permits are not transferable and become invalid upon change of ownership.

What Fees Are Required?

Permit Fee: $200

What Are My Rights and Responsibilities After the Permit is Approved?

The applicant has the right to proceed with activities outlined in the approved permit. They must notify the Department of any changes to application information. The applicant is responsible for following all applicable state statutes and regulations. All pumper vehicles must display the name and address of the firm and operator and must have an identifying sticker provided by the Department. Applicants are responsible for maintaining monthly logs. Applicants have the right to appeal a permit that has been denied, suspended or revoked.

What Are the Division’s Rights and Responsibilities After the Permit is Approved?

The Division has the right to inspect pumpers’ monthly logs. The Division has the right to revoke, suspend, or deny the issuance of a permit to any applicant who violates the state statutes or departmental regulations. Any person who violates or fails to comply with the state statutes, rules, or regulations may be subject to civil penalties.

Whom Do I Contact For Applications, Assistance and Other Information?

Applicants may obtain applications and information from the Tennessee Division of Water Resources or the appropriate Environmental Field Office.

Applicants may refer to the following publications for further information: