Who Needs One?
What Information Must I Provide?
How Will My Application be Processed?
What Fees are Required?
What are My Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
What are the Division's Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
Whom do I contact for assistance?
"We" and "Us" as used on this web page and in the general permit is intended to refer to the Tennessee Division of Water Resources, or means the director of the Tennessee
"You" and "Your" as used in this permit is intended
to refer to the permittee, the operator, or the discharger as the
context indicates and that party's responsibilities (e.g., the city,
the county, the flood control district, the U.S. Air Force, etc.).
Point source discharges of biological pesticides, and chemical pesticides that leave a residue into waters of the state were determined to be pollutants under the Clean Water Act (CWA). NPDES permit coverage is generally required for the type of discharges associated with the following pesticide use patterns: (1) mosquito and other flying insect pest control; (2) weed and algae control; (3) animal pest control; and (4) forest canopy pest control.
See the Notice of Intent form below.
|Notice of Intent (NOI) for the Application of Pesticides into Waters of the State|
|NPDES General Permit for Application of Pesticides||CN-0759|
|Rationale for Pesticide General Permit|
|Notice of Determination for the PGP, March 30, 2012|
|After September 1, 2012, any eligible discharge for which an NOI is required must submit an NOI consistent with the earliest due date identified below. NOI due dates for any discharges occurring on or after September 1, 2012 are as follows:|
|Operator Type||NOI Submission Deadline||Discharge Authorization Date|
|Any Decision-maker with a discharge in response to a Declared Pest Emergency for which that activity triggers the NOI requirement identified in Part 1.2.2||Not later than 30 days after beginning discharge.||Immediately upon beginning to discharge for activities conducted in response to a Declared Pest Emergency Situation.|
|Any Decision-maker that exceeds any annual treatment area threshold.||At least 10 days before exceeding an annual treatment area threshold.||No earlier than 10 days after the division posts on the Internet receipt of a complete and accurate NOI.|
|Any Decision-maker otherwise required to submit an NOI as identified in Table 1-1.||At least 10 days before any discharge for which an NOI is required.||No earlier than 10 days after the division posts on the Internet receipt of a complete and accurate NOI.|
A permittee who has submitted an NOI and received a notice of coverage (NOC) under the general permit has the duty to comply with all provisions of the general permit and applicable rules and regulations.
Coverage under this NPDES general permit does not relieve you of the responsibility for damages to surface or ground water. The permittee must notify the division as soon as possible of planned changes in operations and of any change in mailing address. You are responsible for complying with the conditions of the permit, including keeping records and reporting. If the facility experiences any emergency that could impact the waters of the state, they must notify the division as detailed in the general permit.
The Division has the right to terminate coverage under the permit if an applicant violates the state statutes, departmental regulations, or terms of the general permit. The Division has the right to inspect the conduct of activities carried out under the permit.
» TCA § 69-3-108 Tennessee Water Quality Control Act of 1977