Who Needs One?
What Information Must I Provide?
How Will My Application be Processed?
What Fees are Required?
What are My Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
What are the Division's Responsibilities After the Permit is Issued?
Whom do I contact for assistance?
Division of Water Resources
TDEC Rule Chapter 1200-4-1 et seq. Rules of the Division of Water Quality Control
TDEC Rule Chapter 1200-4-11-.04 Rules of the Water Quality Control Board, Schedule of Fees
TCA 69-3-108 Tennessee Water Quality Control Act of 1977
Water Resources Data Viewer
Persons engaged in the operation of a sewage treatment system, i.e., package plant; industrial waste or other waste treatment systems that do not have a direct discharge to any surface or subsurface waters must obtain a State Operation Permit (SOP) from the Tennessee Division of Water Pollution Control (WPC). The permit is for anyone generating wastewater who does not have a direct discharge, but rather is land applying by spray, or drip irrigation, or collecting and temporarily holding it . The discharge of treated municipal and industrial wastewater to land and the operation of a pump and haul system require a permit. In addition, the operation of a municipal sewage collection system which discharges into a collection system owned by another entity may require a permit. Also mobile car wash or other pressure washing operations require a permit.
Applicants must submit the Application for State Operation Permit at least 180 days before starting any new activity or before the permit expires if renewing a permit. The form requires:
» Name and address of the applicant, contact person,and facility
» Name and distance to the nearest stream
» Previous state and federal water quality permits
» Information regarding the industry's products and/or processes
» A description of the processes from which wastewater is discharged
» Detailed information regarding the waste stream entering the treatment system; the source of water supply, the treatment system, sludge disposal and other general information as required
Applicants also may be required to submit engineering reports, plans and specifications. Contact the Division of WPC for the applicable items.
|Water Quality State Operation Permit Application||CN-1251|
Upon receipt of the required items, the Division conducts a review of the material, and the applicant is notified of any deficiencies. When all the deficiencies have been corrected, a draft permit is generated, and a public notice is issued. The draft permit is reviewed by the applicant and Division of WPC field staff. The public has an opportunity to review the permit. Based on public response, a public hearing may be held. After considering public comments and a final review, the permit may be issued. The entire process normally takes from five (5) to nine (9) months. Permits are normally valid for five (5) years, except those for pump and haul systems which are generally valid for one (1) year.
Most water pollution state operation permits have no application fee, but all have annual maintenance fees. Fee schedule can be see here.
Drip irrigation systems that require underground injection control permit coverage are a special case and will have a $250 application fee that must be submitted with the permit application if the application is for a system that will serve more than 25 persons. This is an up-front fee, from which schools are exempt.
The applicant has the right to proceed with the approved activities in accordance with the permit conditions and requirements. In the case of a denial, the applicant may appeal to the Water Quality Control Board. The permit is transferable upon the approval of both parties and the Division of WPC. Minor modifications to the permit can be changed administratively.
The applicant is responsible for operating within the permit boundaries. General requirements for permit holders include, but are not limited to, monitoring, recordkeeping, reporting and inspections.
The Tennessee Division of WPC has the right to inspect a facility when deemed necessary. In addition, the Division has the right to revoke or suspend any permit for violation of permit conditions or any other provisions of the Tennessee Water Quality Control Act and other water pollution control rules.
The Division of WPC is responsible for regulating any activity which involves a potential discharge in order to protect the waters from pollution and to maintain the highest possible standards in water quality.
Applications and information can be obtained from the Tennessee Division of Water Resources. New applicants who need more than one permit can contact their regional Environmental Coordinator for further assistance.
» TDEC Rule Chapter 1200-4-1 et seq. Rules of the Division of Water Resources
» TDEC Rule Chapter 1200-4-11-.04 Rules of the Water Quality Control Board, Schedule of Fees
» TCA 69-3-108 Tennessee Water Quality Control Act of 1977