Tennessee Government Leadership Black Belt Program

Tennessee Government Leadership Black Belt Program

The Black Belt Program is a self-directed, structured development opportunity for leaders in Tennessee State Government. Leaders begin their journey upon graduation from one or more of the DOHR-sponsored statewide [LEAD TN, Tennessee Government Executive Institute (TGEI) or Tennessee Government Management Institute (TGMI)] or agency-specific (HR Masters, Green Leadership, or Commissioner´s Academies) leadership programs. Alumni may continue their journey of leadership development through participation in the Black Belt Program.

There are six levels of the Black Belt Program: White Belt, Yellow Belt, Orange Belt, Blue Belt, Green Belt, and Black Belt. To advance from one Belt level to the next, participants must earn the specified number of points in Strategic Development and in Service. At the initial Belt levels, Strategic Development is the most emphasized component because personal learning is fundamental to professional development. As participants advance through the belt levels, Service (both internal to state government and external to the community) becomes the more emphasized component, recognizing the importance of paying it forward and investing and focusing on others.

Achievement Levels

Points

Participants must complete the number of Strategic Development and Service points as indicated in the graph above. Strategic Development points are earned by completing activities such as training, leadership development programs, seminars, webinars, conferences, etc. Service points are earned by completing a balance of internal service and external service activities. A total of 500 points is required to earn a Black Belt.

Resources

Newsletters

BBP Committee Members

Lynette Porter
TN Council on Developmental Disabilities
Davy Crockett Office Building, First Floor
Nashville, TN 37243-0635
(615) 532-4684
Lynette.Porter@tn.gov
Patrice Steinhart
Finance & Administration
Tennessee Tower, 19th Floor
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-6909
Patrice.Steinhart@tn.gov
Sheila Marchman
Human Resources
505 Deaderick Street, 1st Floor JKPolk
Nashville, TN 37243-0635
(615) 741-2087
Sheila.Marchman@tn.gov
Trish Holliday
Human Resources
505 Deaderick Street, 1st Floor JKPolk
Nashville, TN 37243-0635
(615) 741-4126
Trish.Holliday@tn.gov
Alicia Cone
Council on Developmental Disabilities
500 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 253-11005
Alicia.Cone@tn.gov
Tammy Golden
General Services, Printing and Media
Andrew Jackson Building
500 Deaderick Street, B-2
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-4198
Tammy.Golden@tn.gov
Marcus Dodson
Tennessee Department of Treasury
502 Deaderick Street
Suite 14.201 Andrew Jackson Bldg
(615) 532-8033
Marcus.Dodson@tn.gov
Michelle Smith
Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
MTRO; Stones Cottage
275 Stewarts Ferry Pike
Nashville, TN 37214
(615) 884-4311
Michelle.M.Smith@tn.gov
Kelly Lancaster
Finance & Administration
312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 770-6965
kelly.lancaster@tn.gov
Mike Lenart
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Ellington Agricultural Center
440 Hogan Road
Nashville , TN 37220
(615) 864-6993
Sean.M.Lenart@tn.gov
Shannon Hall
Department of Safety
1158 Foster Ave
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 251-5170
Shannon.Hall@tn.gov
Michelle Hamblin
Department of Children's Services
DCS Central Office UBS Tower
315 Deaderick Street, 8th Floor
Nashville , TN 37243
(615) 532-0203
Michelle.Hamblin@tn.gov
Melissa Boaz
Comptroller of the Treasury
James K. Polk Building
505 Deaderick Street, Suite 1500
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 747-5305
melissa.boaz@cot.tn.gov