MIDDLE & EAST TENNESSEE AMBER ALERT: Carlie Trent | Click for details from TBI.

State Holidays

About State Office Holiday Hours

When a holiday falls on Saturday, the Friday before the holiday is substituted. When the holiday falls on Sunday, the Monday following the holiday is substituted. 


Tennessee State Government Holiday Office Closures

New Year's Day

Friday, January 1, 2016

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

January 18, 2016
Third Monday in January
Also called "Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr."

Presidents Day 

Monday, February 15, 2016
Third Monday in February
Also called "Washington's Birthday"

Good Friday

Friday, March 25, 2016
Friday before Easter

Memorial Day

Monday, May 30, 2016
Last Monday in May

Independence Day

Monday, July 4, 2016​

Labor Day

Monday, September 5, 2016
First Monday in September

Veterans Day

Friday, November 11, 2016

Thanksgiving

Thursday, November 24 and Friday, November 25, 2016*
Fourth Thursday in November

Christmas Day

Monday, December 26 and Tuesday, December 27, 2016**

New Year's Day

Monday, January 2 and Tuesday, January 3, 2017**

*Pursuant to Tennessee Code Annotated, Section 4-4-105(a)(1), the Governor has designated that the Columbus Day holiday shall be substituted for the Friday after Thanksgiving.

**Governor Haslam has approved these additional days as State office closures in addition to the official holidays.