Haslam Announces 2017 Governor's Academy for School Leadership Participants

Tuesday, November 15, 2016 | 3:04pm

Twenty-five assistant principals from across Tennessee selected for second annual academy

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam today announced the participants selected for the 2017 Governor’s Academy for School Leadership (GASL), a one-year fellowship program for assistant principals to cultivate and develop future school leaders.

This second annual academy continues the partnership between the state of Tennessee, Vanderbilt University’s Peabody College and local school districts to build a pipeline of highly-trained school principals and ultimately improve school effectiveness and performance and unlock educational opportunities for all students. The inaugural class started last February.

“We have raised expectations, invested more in education and are making huge strides in education in Tennessee. Our students and teachers have stepped up to the challenge and we need strong school leadership to support them and continue the momentum,” Haslam said.

Last month Haslam announced that Tennessee students are the fastest improving in the nation in science, according to the 2015 National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), commonly known as the Nation’s Report Card.

Each assistant principal selected has been paired with an experienced principal mentor and will attend monthly group training sessions and a week-long summer institute at Vanderbilt and will intern three days a month at his/her mentor’s school. Upon completion of the academy, participants will be expected to pursue placement as a school principal in their district or region.

Participants were nominated by their district’s director of schools and selected through an application and interview process conducted by representatives from the Governor’s Office, the Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE) and Vanderbilt University.

The second class of GASL participants and mentors includes:

Participants                              School                                           District

Courtney Whitehead                Carpenters Middle                     Blount County

Justin Whittenbarger                Homestead Elementary           Cumberland County

Andrea Bledsoe                         Charlotte Elementary               Dickson County

Sarah Gray                                 Mosheim Elementary                Greene County

Lindsay Starnes                         Calvin Donaldson                       Hamilton County

Cameshia Emerson                  Bolivar Central High                  Hardeman County

Krista Mann                               Rogersville Middle                      Hawkins County

Victoria Perry                             Humboldt Jr. & Sr. High             Humboldt City Schools

Melanie Simpson                     Piedmont Elementary                Jefferson County

James Wernke                          Ross Robinson Middle               Kingsport City

Joann Bost                                 Carter Middle                               Knox County

Ashley Booher                          Gibbs Elementary                       Knox County

David Ayers                               Lara Kendall Elementary          Lake County

Patty Franks                              Summertown Elementary        Lawrence County

Emma McWeeney                   LEAD Southeast                          LEAD Public Schools

Danielle Beckman                    Forrest Middle & High              Marshall County

Shavoncia Watts                       E.A. Cox Middle                          Maury County

Marquis Churchwell                Joelton Middle Prep                  Metro Nashville Public Schools

Celia Jolly                                   Overton High                               Metro Nashville Public Schools

Sandra Paschall                        Rhea Elementary                       Paris Special School District

Chelsea Spaulding                   Riverdale High                           Rutherford County

Holly Kidder                             Sweetwater Jr. High                    Sweetwater City

Nathan Wade                          Union County High                     Union County

Bethany Wilson                       West Wilson Middle                   Wilson County

Candice Miller                         Georgian Hills Elementary        Achievement School District

Mentors                                  School                                                                 District

April Herron                            Middlesettlements Elementary                    Blount County

Jennifer Magnusson              North Cumberland Elementary                   Cumberland County      

Crysti Sheley                           Centennial Elementary                                   Dickson County

Amy Brooks                            Nolachuckey Elementary                               Greene County

Emily Baker                             Brown Academy                                              Hamilton County

Darlene Cardwell                   Middleton High                                               Hardeman County

Thomas Floyd                          Cherokee High                                                Hawkins County

Jonathan Kee                           Huntingdon High                                            Humboldt City Schools

Michelle Walker                       Maury Middle                                                 Jefferson County

Chris Hampton                         Dobyns-Bennett High                                  Kingsport City

Christine Oehler                       Powell Middle                                                Knox County

Kristi Woods                              East Knox Elementary                                 Knox County

Suzanne Keefe                         Halls High                                                        Lake County

Christy Crews                           Ethridge Elementary                                    Lawrence County

Tait Danhausen                       Cameron                                                        LEAD Public Schools

John Bush                                 Marshall County High                                  Marshall County

Leigh Ann Willey                     Santa Fe Unit                                                  Maury County

Kevin Armstrong                     Dupont Hadley Middle Prep                      Metro Nashville Public Schools

Clint Wilson                              Glencliff High                                                  Metro Nashville Public Schools

Norma Gerrell                         Paris Special                                                  Paris Special School District

Larry Creasy                             Siegel High                                                    Rutherford County

Heather Henry                        Brown Intermediate                                    Sweetwater City

Greg Clay                                 Horace Maynard Middle                             Union County

Christine Miller                        Stoner Creek Elementary                          Wilson County

Anne Thomas                          Pathways in Education                               Achievement School District

Education |Governor Haslam