Motor Vehicle Commission
The Tennessee General Assembly has recently made changes to statutes which may impact you as a holder of a license with the Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission. These new changes as set out in the following Public Chapters specifically amend the Tennessee Code Annotated as follows:
Public Chapter No. 117, amends Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-4-209 and 221, relative to registration plates. The changes create a new license plate called a special event plate, issuable only to a licensed motor vehicle dealer to be used on a vehicle suitable for “special event services”. This special event plate allows the vehicle to be operated upon any highway without registering such vehicle. A vehicle owned by a license motor vehicle dealer is suitable for “special event services” if it: (A) is rented to legal entities of this state or any political subdivision pursuant to a rental agreement; (B) only travels in the state of Tennessee during the rental period; (C) is capable of holding fifteen (15) or more passengers; and (D) has fewer than 2,500 miles on the odometer. The fee for such plates is $152.63 and application for issuance must be made to the Department of Revenue.
Public Chapter No. 192, amends Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-17-111 and 114, relative to licensure. This chapter mandates that all applications for the issuance or renewal of a motor vehicle dealer license shall contain an attestation that the applicant will comply with the requirement to maintain its surety bond in full force and effect during licensure and that the applicant shall notify the commission upon a change in ownership or location of the dealership as required under Tenn. Code Ann. § 55-17-113. Additionally, the chapter specifies that all applications for issuance of renewal of a motor vehicle dealer license must contain a statement indicating that failure to maintain its surety bond or to notify the commission of change of ownership or location of the dealership may result in the assessment of a civil penalty or revocation of the motor vehicle dealer license. Further, the commission was granted the authority to revoke or suspend the license of a licensee who fails to maintain the requirements for the issuance of such license.
Public Chapter No. 460, amends Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 55-4-1 and Title 68, relative to motor vehicle inspection requirements, requiring the Commissioner for the Department of Environment and Conservation to create a proposal for a revised plan to eliminate motor vehicle inspection testing requirements for motor vehicles three (3) or less model-years old.
Public Chapter No. 481, amends Tenn. Code Ann. in Title 55 relative to motor vehicles, creating a new section in Title 55, Chapter 5, Part 1 regarding the creation of the accurate vehicle identification number (VIN) reporting advisory committee.
Public Chapter No. 138, amends Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 56-1-302 and 308, which will allow the Division of Regulatory Boards to implement a system for the electronic submission of complaints and applications and for notifications, including those of renewals and rulemakings, to be sent electronically. The public chapter also makes payment of a civil penalty assessed after a hearing under the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, in title 4, chapter 5, a prerequisite to the renewal of any license issued by the Division of Regulatory Boards unless such penalty is stayed or acceptable arrangements are made for payment of the civil penalty prior to the renewal.
Public Chapter No. 122, amends Tenn. Code Ann. § 4-3-1304, relative to boards and commissions. This chapter requires that each board attached to the Division of Regulatory Boards establish a procedure to expedite the issuance of a license, certification, or permit for a person licensed in another state to perform those services who is a qualifying spouse of a member of the armed forces or is a qualifying member of the armed forces applying within one hundred eighty (180) days of retirement, receiving a discharge other than a dishonorable discharge, or being released from active duty into a reserve component of the United States armed forces. The chapter also requires the commissioner and each regulatory board to accept military education, training, or experience completed by certain qualifying persons towards the qualification to receive a license or certification if the education, training, or experience is determined to be substantially equivalent.