Sales Tax Relief Available to Sevier County Residents: More Information Here
LEARN MORE ABOUT IMPROVE ACT CHANGES HERE

Emergency/Safety

Amateur Radio Specialty Plate

Amateur Radio

  • Available to:  Tennessee residents who hold an official FCC-issued amateur radio license (unrevoked and unexpired).
  • Documentation Required:  Application supported with copy of the FCC Amateur Radio license.
  • Cost:  Annual fee of $51.50;  Members of emergency, rescue squad and Amateur Radio Emergency Service - $26.50.
  • Option to Personalize:  No.
Emergency Specialty Plate

Emergency

  • Available to:  Auxiliary Police, Civil Air Patrol (spouse included), Civil Defense, TEMA, Rescue Squad and Emergency Services Squad members, police officers, emergency medical technicians, paramedics, trauma nurses and on-call surgical staff.
  • Documentation Required:  License to practice or organization ID card, with the exception of:
    • Civil Air Patrol and Civil Defense - letter from local emergency management director.
    • Police officers - written certification form organization's chief law enforcement officer.
    • Auxiliary Police - permanent ID card of the auxiliary police unit.
    • Trauma nurses and on-call surgical staff - letter from the chief of staff at hospital.
    • Rescue Squad - the applicant’s name must appear on a list provided to the Department by the captain of the rescue squad.
  • Cost:  $26.50 annual fee.
  • Option to Personalize:  No.
Emergency Trauma Physician Specialty Plate

Emergency Trauma Physician

  • Available to:  Trauma physicians licensed by the board of medical examiners.
  • Documentation Required:  Statement or certification from board of medical examiners and from a trauma center in a hospital or other medical facility.
  • Cost:  $26.50 annual fee (initial fee is $30.75).
  • Option to Personalize:  No.
Firefighter Specialty Plate

Firefighter

  • Available to:  Paid, paid on-call, volunteer and retired members of volunteer fire departments, full-time firefighting units or other bona fide firefighters.
  • Documentation Required:  Proof of current or former (retiring in good standing) membership in a firefighting unit.
  • Cost:  $26.50.
  • Option to Personalize:  No.
Fraternal Order of Police Member Specialty Plate

Fraternal Order of Police Member

  • Available to:  Tennessee Fraternal Order of Police (FOP) members.
  • Proceeds Benefit:  Tennessee FOP Charitable Foundation.
  • Documentation Required:  Membership certification from Tennessee FOP.
  • Cost:  $61.50 annual fee. 
  • Option to Personalize:  Yes.
Internationl Association of Firefighters Specialty Plate

International Association of Firefighters

  • Available to:  International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) members.
  • Proceeds Benefit:  Tennessee Firefighters Emergency Relief Fund.
  • Documentation Required:  IAFF membership credentials.
  • Cost:  $61.59 annual fee.
  • Option to Personalize:  Yes - between three to four characters.
Rescue Squad Specialty Plates
Rescue Squad Specialty Plates

Rescue Squad or Rescue Squad Official

  • Available to: Members of Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads that meet requirements of volunteer life-saving or first aid crews (Shelby County residents must be members of an emergency services squad other than the Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads).
  • Documentation Required: Eligibility lists submitted to county clerk by captain of local Tennessee Association of Rescue Squads.
  • Cost: $26.50 annual fee.
  • Option to Personalize: No.
Tennessee Benevolent Association Specialty Plate

Tennessee Police Benevolent Association

  • Available to: Full-time paid or retired law enforcement officers who are members of the Tennessee Police Benevolent Association.
  • Documentation Required: Certification of association membership.
  • Cost: $61.50 annual fee.
  • Option to Personalize: Yes.
Tennessee State Guard Specialty Plates
Tennessee State Guard Specialty Plates
Tennessee State Guard Specialty Plates

Tennessee State Guard

  • Available to: Members in good standing and retired members of the Tennessee State Guard.
  • Documentation Required: Eligibility list in county clerk office (Should a member not be listed, he/she will need documentation with name, social security number and indication that he/she is in good standing with the unit).
  • Cost: $26.50 annual fee (initial fee is $30.75).
  • Option to Personalize: No.
  • Plates produced annually and only issued in September; expire September 30.
US Coast Guard Auxiliary Specialty Plate

U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary

  • Available to: Members in good standing with the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary.
  • Documentation required: Written statement from commanding officer certifying membership in good standing.
  • Cost: $26.50 annual fee (initial fee is $30.75).
  • Option to Personalize: No.