Administrative Hearings | Business Services | Charitable Fundraising & Gaming | Elections | Library & Archives | Publications

State Facts

Tennessee became the 16th state of the Union on June 1, 1796

Tennessee’s nickname “The Volunteer State” originated during the War of 1812 when thousands of Tennesseans enlisted in response to Governor Blount’s call for volunteers.

2011 population: 6,403,353

Area in square miles: 41,219

Highest elevation is Clingman’s Dome at 6,643 feet.
Lowest elevation is the Mississippi River at 178 feet.

Tennessee's capitol city is Nashville, located in Davidson County.
Tennessee’s largest city is Memphis with a population of 650,100 in 2000

Andrew Jackson, 7th President, 1829-1837
James K. Polk, 11th President, 1845-1849
Andrew Johnson, 17th President, 1865-1869
Albert Gore, Jr., 45th Vice President, 1993-2001

Tennessee’s current Governor: Bill Haslam
Tennessee’s first Governor: John Sevier

Tennessee’s General Assembly consists of the House of Representatives with 99 members, and the Senate with 33 members.

Tennessee Blue Book
Tennessee Statistical Abstract
US Bureau of the Census