Federal Program Grants Awarded


TNECD administers grants from three federal funding partners. Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) grants are available to the 52 counties in middle and east Tennessee for economic and community development projects. Delta Regional Authority (DRA) grants are available to the 21 counties of West Tennessee for projects targeting workforce competitiveness, strengthened infrastructure and increased community capacity. Through the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) small cities* program, funds are available to assist communities across the state with infrastructure, housing rehabilitation, health and safety, and other projects aimed at improving community livability. Tennessee has also received CDBG funding for disaster recovery due to flood and tornado disasters impacting Tennessee.

The dashboard below illustrates ARC, DRA and CDBG grants administered through TNECD since 2011.

Learn More About ARC

Learn More About DRA

Learn More About CDBG

TNECD administers the "Small Cities" CDBG program. All communities in Tennessee are eligible except those in entitlement communities which are communities that receive CDBG funds directly from HUD. Entitlement areas include Bristol, Chattanooga, Clarksville, Cleveland, Davidson County and Nashville, Franklin, Hendersonville, Jackson, Johnson City, Kingsport, Knox County and Knoxville, Morristown, Murfreesboro, Oak Ridge, Shelby County and Memphis.

HUD FY 2016 Allocation