Scientific Permits

Tennessee Code Annotated.
70-2-213. Permits for scientific purposes 
Reports required - penalty for violation.

(a) The executive director has the power, at the executive director's discretion, to grant permission, under the executive director's seal, to any reliable person to take, capture and transport in Tennessee, wild birds, and nests and eggs thereof, and wild animals and fish, when taken and used for purely scientific purposes. The permit so issued shall continue in force for one (1) year after the date of issue and shall specify the number of any species to be taken under the permit.

(b) Each person receiving a permit under the provisions of this section shall report to the wildlife resources agency on blanks furnished by it, at or before the expiration of such permit, the number and disposition of the collections made thereunder.

(c) Any person taking any wildlife in violation of the provisions of this section or of the permit held by that person shall be, upon conviction, fined not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) and the permit held by that person shall become void. [Acts 1951, ch. 115, Section 66 (Williams, Section 5178.95); impl. am. Acts 1974, ch. 481, Sections 6, 7; Acts 1974, ch. 481, Section 21; T.C.A. (orig. ed.), Section 51-224.]

To apply for a permit, select the most appropriate application below.

Terrestrial Application
Aquatic Application
Report Form