
NEW! Plumber Licensing Requirements 

T.C.A. 62­6­402, requires an individual performing plumbing work costing under $25,000 to become licensed with the 
State  of  Tennessee  as  a  Limited  Licensed  Plumber  (LLP),  unless  he/she  is exempt  by  one  of  the  following 
provisions: 

•  He/she is a State licensed plumbing contractor, with a CMC­A, MC­A, CMC, or MC classification 
•  He/she is employed as a plumber with a State licensed contractor or limited licensed plumber 
•  He/she is a homeowner performing plumbing work on his/her own residence 
•  He/she is tested and licensed in a municipality or county that  requires tests and licenses and he/she 

only works in that municipality or county 
•  He/she works only in any of the 15 exempt *counties where the LLP license is not required 
*Exempt Counties:  Benton, Decatur, Dickson, Giles, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Humphreys, Lake, Lawrence, Lewis, Obion, 
Perry, Stewart & Weakley 

The law has different requirements for individuals applying before January 1, 2006 and individuals applying after that 
date.  This information is set forth below.  Please read it carefully. 

Before January 1, 2006, a plumber may file an application with the Board for Licensing Contractors, demonstrate 
that he/she currently provides plumbing services, and pay a $75.00 licensing fee.  If the application is approved by the 
Board, a license will be issued without the requirement of a licensing examination.  The license will allow an individual 
to work in any jurisdiction in the state, except in any county or municipality that tests and licenses plumbers.  All local 
government fees, testing and licensing requirements for plumbers will still apply. 

After January 1, 2006, a person desiring to engage in plumbing work in this state, unless exempt as noted above, 
must file an application with the Board for Licensing Contractors, demonstrate that he/she has at least 2,000 hours of 
plumbing experience, and pay a $75.00 licensing fee.  Persons without a current local government plumbers license 
must take a licensing examination.  Persons with a local government plumbers license will be exempted from the 
examination requirement, provided the Board deems the local government licensing examination satisfactory. 

The LLP license will allow plumbers to work in any jurisdiction that is not on the exemption list above and that does 
not test and license plumbers itself.  In order to work in a jurisdiction that tests and licenses plumbers, you must also 
meet their testing and application standards, along with paying any necessary license fees. 

Applications for an LLP license should be mailed to the following address with the State of Tennessee, Department of Commerce and 
Insurance: 

Contractors Board – Plumber 
500 James Robertson Pkwy., Suite 110 

Nashville, TN  37243­1150 
A two year license fee of $75.00 by check or money order that is payable to “Contractors Board –Plumber” must accompany each 
application. 

For more information, please call the Board for Licensing Contractors at 800­544­7693 or (615) 532­3994 or visit the website at: 
http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/boards/contractors 

Prior  to  starting  a  project  as  a  plumber,  contact  the  county  and  municipality  in  which  the  project  is  located  to 
determine any local government licensing and permit requirements. The LLP license WILL NOT automatically exempt 
a plumber from  local  licensing and permit  requirements enforced by municipalities or counties.  Local governments 
may impose additional and/or stricter requirements, and charge fees for additional licenses and permits.

http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/boards/contractors

