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STATE OF TENNESSEE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE

DIVISION OF REGULATORY BOARDS

PRIVATE INVESTIGATION AND POLYGRAPH COMMISSION
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY '

NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1167

615.741.4827 FAX 615.532.2965

www.tn.govicommercelboards/

PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR - APPLICANT INSTRUCTIONS

REMOVE THIS PAGE BEFORE YOU SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION - RETAIN THIS INFORMATION FOR YOUR RECORDS

FEES: Application Fee $150.00
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $ 60.00 (If this office processes your print cards)
License Fee $100.00

You may not accept employment or engage in the practice of private investigations until your Private Investigator License or
Private Investigator Apprentice Permit has been issued and you work under a licensed Private Investigation Company.

< Before proceeding, review the Tennessee Private Investigators Licensing and Regulatory Act and Administrative Rules.
It is your responsibility to know and understand the laws and rules regulating private investigators in the State of

Tennessee, www.tn.gov/icommerce/boardsipifindex.shtml
<+ If you fail to respond to any correspondence from this office, your application will be closed or denied. Read and
complete each portion of the application.

Applicants must be at least Twenty-One {21) Years old. All applicants must submit:
» An application completed in its entirety. The application shall be subscribed and sworn to by the applicant before a

duly appointed Notary Public.

> Application fees are non-refundable and must be submitted with the application. Make checks payable to the
Tennessee Depariment of Commerce and Insurance

» Fingerprint Processing: Three (3) sets of classifiable fingerprint cards with fingerprint processing fees or a

photocopy of your receipt for electronic submission.

Two (2) color passport style photos must be submitted with the application. Place photos in a small envelope with

your name printed on the back of the photos and on the envelope and attach to the application. .

» You must answer each guestion on the application. If you need additional space to answer any question, attach an 8
¥z x 11 sheet and identify the question number you are answering.

> All information on charges, arrests and convictions must be fully disclosed and charging instruments, final court
dispositions and explanations must be submitted with your application. Please refer to Administrative Rules
1175-01-.04 (5}, (6), (7), (8) and (9) for information regarding criminal ccnvictions and other circumstances
that may disqualify an applicant.
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Examination - Each applicant is required to successfully completé the private investigator licensing
examination. You must make your own arrangements to take the examination. Examination Candidate Information
Bulletin is available on the Commission website.
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Company Affiliation Requirement — A letter of endorsement/affiliation from the Private Investigation.
Company, signed by the owner/qualifying agent, must accompany all Private Investigator License
applications. I you do not have a Private Investigation Company affiliation your application will be accepted
and processed, but will not be approved or issued until you have provided this office with documentation of
the required Private Investigation Company affiliation.

Apprenticeship — In order to be considered for apprentice status, the applicant must be affiliated with a
licensed Tennessee Private Investigation Company. Complete a private investigator license application.
Submit the application with the required application fees, fingerprint cards with fees or proof of electronic
submission, and photos, as weil as, a written notice of Infent to Sponsor as an Apprentice from the owner or
quallfymg agent of the licensed Private Investigation Company.
Apprentice status is intended to serve as a training, or learning period. Sponsors shall assume a training
status by providing personal direction and control of the apprentice private investigator. An apprentice
may not work without the direct supervision — in the physical presence of — a licensed private
investigator. Applicants for private investigator apprentice must complete all licensing requirements,
including scheduling the private investigator examination, during the apprentice period. Apprenticeship
is limited to six (6) months and a person shall be able to apply for apprentice status only once.

v



Private Investigator License Application — Page 1

STATE OF TENNESSEE

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE & INSURANCE

DIVISION OF REGULATORY BOARDS

PRIVATE INVESTIGATION AND POLYGRAPH COMMISSION
500 JAMES ROBERTSON PARKWAY

NASHVILLE, TN 37243-1167

615.741.4827 FAX 615.532.2965

www.th.gov/icommerce/boards/

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY
File #
Xact#

.PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE - APPLICATION

instructions: Please read this entire application carefully. Complete all sections and have notarized before returning with the appropriate application fee
to the above address. Please nofe: application fees are not refundable. Submit additional information for any item on a separale sheet of paper.

1. Are you applying as an Apprentice investigator? Yes O No O
If yes, a letter from your private investigation company sponsor MUST accompany the appiication.

2. Personal Data:

Social Security I:lumber Last Name First Name ) Middle Name
Residence (Street) Address, Apt. ﬁo. [From Mo/Yr To Mo/Yr]
City State Zip Code

(Area Code) Home Phone Number E-mail address

Date c:rf Birth,(MIDIY) Age Place {City,State) of Birth Sex(M/F) Race Height Weight Hair Eyes
a. Are you a United States Citizen? . Yes O NoO

If you are NOT a US Citizen or Resident Alien your application will be denled Applicants who have Resident Alien
status must provide documentation of their citizenship status.

b. Have you ever used a name other than the one by which you are applying? Yes O No OO
If yes, give the name(s):

Explain why the name(s) was used:

3. Required Private Investigation Company Data: This information refers to the private investigation company that you will be
affiliated with. Complete this section if you are also applying for a company license. If you are not making application for a Private Investigation
Company, this application must be accompanied by correspondence from your Private Investigation Company employer, signed by the
owner/qualifying agent, which states the effective date of your affiliation and your position with the company.

Name of Private Investigation Company Supervisor's Name
Business Address (Physical Location) City State Zip Code
Mailing Address {If different from above) | City State Zip Code
(Area Code) Telephone Number {Area Code) Fax Number Company Email/Website
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4. Previous Applications/Licenses: ‘
a. Have you previously applied for a private mvestlgator license in Tennessee? Yes & NoO
olf yes, when did you apply?
o|f yes, was your license issued? (If no, please attach an explanation.) Yes O No O
e|f yes, has your license ever been suspended or revoked? YesO No O
b. Are you currently licensed or registered as a private investigator in any other state? Yes O NoO
c. Has any license or permit issued to you or applied for by you ever been denied, suspended or revoked
by this State or any governmental or regulatory body or officer in this State or elsewhere?  Yes O No O
(If yes, explain fully, setting forth details for each answer and providing documentation. Attach additional sheets if necessary)
5. Residences: List all residences at which you have lived for the past five (5) years. Include your current address.
(Attach additional sheets if necessary.)
Street Address City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
Street Address City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/YT)
Street Address | City State Zip Code _From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
Street Address City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (MofYr)
Street Address City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
6. Employment Record: List all jobs or occupations you have held in the immediate past five (5) years.
(Attach additiona! shests if necessary.)
Employer Name City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
Employer Name City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr)  To (Mo/Yr)
Employer Name - City Staie Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
Employer Name City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To {MofYT)
Employer Name City State Zip Code From (Mo/Yr) To (Mo/Yr)
7. Criminal History Information:

Please refer to Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-26-217{4) and Administrative Rules 11758-01-.04 (5), (6}, and (7) for information on criminal convictions
that may disqualify an applicant. If you check "no” to any of the following questions regarding arrests or charges and there is an arrest record listed

on your TBI or FBI report, your appiication could be denied for a material misstatement.

" DUI or DWI charges are considered criminal charges. Misdemeancr citations and charges where you may not have been fingerprinted or booked,

but were required to pay court costs or fines, are routinely reported to the TBI and FBI as a charge/arrest. These types of charges must alsc be
disclosed on your application.
Record Expungements: If you were told that a charge or arrest would be expunged from your record, and you would not need to report the charge

as an arrest, you should verify with the court that the record was expunged and that you have "no arrest record” for the charge or arrest before
completing your application for licensure. Failure to report charges or arrests that have not been expunged from your record could resuit in the

denial of your application for a material migstatement.
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If you answer yes to any of these guestmns, it will be necessary for you to growde the following for each charge a copy of the charging

sentences, and a written explanation of the events that surrounded the charge{s). If the court no longer has these records on file, 10
must obtain a letter from the judge or court clerk stating so.

a. Have criminal charges ever been placed against you in Tennessee or any other state? Yes OO No[
If YES, what state(s)?
If NO, go to question #8.

b. Were criminal charges filed against you? Yes O NoO

If yes, please list the charges below. (Attach additional sheets if necessary.)

Date Charge City State

Date Charge City State

Date Charge City State
¢. Did you appear in court? Yes O Nol
d. Were the charges against you dismissed? Yes IO NeO
e. Were you found guilty of any offense(s)? Yes O NoO

f. I you were found guilty, what was the sentence of the court? (List the sentence below. Indicate the fine, any time served,
deferred sentence, suspended sentence, or period of probation.) (Aftach additional sheets if necessary.)

Date Charge Sentence Probation Completed Date
Date Charge Sentence Probation Completed Date
Date Charge ' Sentence Probation Completed Date
g. Are you currently on a deferred sentence or on probation? Yes O NoO
h. Do you currently have criminal charges pending against you? Yes O Noll

If you answer yes to this questions, it will be necessary for you to complete the information below, and provide the following for

each charge: a copy of the charging jnstrument (indictment, criminal information or complaint), and attach an explanation of the
circumstances surrounding the charge(s}). You must provide this office with a_certificate of disposition from the court, including
suspended or deferred sentences, within thirty (30) days of the charges being resolved by conwctnon, dismissal, or other action
taken by the court. {(Attach additional sheets if necessary

Date of Arrest Charge Court of jurisdiction (City, State) Arraignment/Court Date

Date of Arrest Charge Court of jurisdiction (City, State) Arraignment/Court Date

Date of Arrest Charge Court of jurisdiction (City, State) Arraignment/Court Date
8. Are you the subject of a court order restraining you from committing an act of “domestic violence”?

Administrative Rule 1175-01-04(9). If yes, please provide a copy of any such order. Yes O NoO
9. Have you ever been declared incompetent by reason of mental defect or disease? Yes [0 NoO

If yes attach documents showing that a court has since declared that you are competent.

10. Are you currently suffering from habitual drunkenness or any narcotic addiction or dependence?

If yes, attach proof (if applicable) of having completed treatment program(s). Yes O NoO
11. Have you ever served in the Military Service? . Yes [T NoO
a. Did you receive a Honorable discharge? Yes O NoO

If other than Honorable discharge, attach a separate sheet of paper explaining the discharge, a copy of your
DD214, and coples of all final judgments or dispositions of charges.
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12. Have you read the Tennessee laws pertaining to the Private Investigators Licensing and Regulatory Act
and the corresponding Administrative Rules, and do you understand your responsibilities? Yes[d NoO

I HAVE ENCLOSED: [Failure to include all required documents will delay processing and issuance of your license.] ,
+* The Required Application and Fingerprint Fees: In accordance with Administrative Rules 1175-01, you
must include all applicable fees required for the processing of your application.

* Three (3} sets of classifiable fingerprint cards with fingerprint processing fees or a photocopy of your
receipt for electronic submission.

* All information on criminal charges, arrests and convictions must be fully disclosed and charging
instruments, final court dispositions and explanations must be submitted with your application. Please
refer to Administrative Rules 1175-01-.04 (5), (6), (7), (8) and (9) for rules regarding criminal
convictions and other circumstances that may disqualify an applicant.

« Correspondence from private investigation company employer regarding your license affiliation.

NOTICE, AUTHORIZATION AND RELEASE FOR THE PROCUREMENT OF A CONSUMER AND/OR INVESTIGATIVE CONSUMER REPORT

I, the undersigned applicant, do hereby authorize the Tennessee Deparfment of Commerce and Insurance, Division of
Regulatory Boards, Private Investigation and Polygraph Commission to procure a consumer report and/or investigative consumer report
on me. | understand that this authorization and release shall be valid for subsequent consumer and/or investigative consumer reports
during my period of certification, licensure or registration by this agency for the purpose of investigating my credit references, and any
workplace misconduct or criminal aclivity for which | am alleged to have been involved in.

These above-mentioned reports may include, but are not limited to, information as to my character, general reputation, and
personal characteristics, discerned through employment and education verifications, personal references, personal interviews, my
personal credit history based on reports from any credit bureau; my driving history, including any traffic citations; a social security
number verification; present and former addresses; criminal and civil history/records; any other public record.

| further authorize any person, business entity or governmental agency who may have information relevant to the above to
disclose the same to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance, including but not limited to any and all courts, public
agencies, law enforcement agencies and credit bureaus, regardless of whether such person, business enfity or governmental agency
compiled the information itself or received it from other sources.

| understand that any false statement(s) and/or misrepresentation(s) given by me on this application or on any attachments
will be punishable under Tenn. Code Ann. § 62-26. Therefore, | certify that all answers, statements, and information given herein and
on any attachments, are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

(Signature of Applicant)

Subscribed and sworn to, before me on this day of , 20

[NOTARY SEAL]

{Signature of Notary Public)
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