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Enforcement of Rules Regarding Licensees Working On An Expired License 

 
The Board of Athletic Trainers realizes that an individual may allow his/her license to 
expire. However, Tenn. Code Ann. § 63-24-103 prohibits a non-exempt individual from 
working as an athletic trainer unless he/she holds an active license. To the end of 
enforcing the statute and rules addressing the problem of an athletic trainer working on an 
expired license, the Board adopts the following procedures for reinstatement of an 
expired license. 
 

1. Upon recognition by the licensee that his/her license has expired, the individual 
must immediately cease and desist from practicing as an athletic trainer, contact 
the Board administrator, and request a reinstatement application. 

 
2. The individual must complete the reinstatement application in its entirety along 

with a detailed work history from the date the license expired. The application 
must be signed before a notary and returned to the Board administrator, along 
with documentation of all required continuing education requirements and 
payment of applicable fees. 

 
3. Once the completed reinstatement application and all required documentation is 

received, the Board administrator may immediately reinstate the license only if 
the license has been expired for a period of no more than one (1) month. 

 
4. If the reinstatement application indicates that the applicant has worked for a time 

period between one (1) and three (3) months on an expired license, the licensee 
will be assessed a penalty in the amount of $150 per month, for each month 
worked from the date of the expired license. After all fees are paid, the Board 
administrator may immediately reinstate the license. 

 
5. If the reinstatement application indicates that the applicant has worked for a time 

period between three (3) and six (6) months on an expired license, the licensee 
will be assessed a penalty in the amount of $200 per month, for each month 
worked from the date of the expired license. After all fees and civil penalties are 
paid, the Board administrator may immediately reinstate the license. 

 
6. If the reinstatement application indicates that the applicant has worked for a time 

period greater than six (6) months on an expired license, the licensee’s file will be 
forwarded to the Department of Health, Office of General Counsel for potential 
formal disciplinary action.  However, if the Office of General Counsel opens a 
case for formal disciplinary action against the applicant and receives a signed 
consent order or agreed order, the Board administrator may immediately reinstate 
the license prior to the consent order or agreed order being ratified by the Board.  

 



Adopted by the Tennessee Board of Athletic Trainers on December 6, 2007. 
 
Amended by the Tennessee Board of Athletic Trainers on May 27, 2010. 


