
Continuing Education Policy Statement 
 

The Board of Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapy and Clinical 
Pastoral Therapy adopted the following on May 2, 2003: 

 
A Professional Counselor, Marriage and Family Therapist or a Clinical Pastoral Therapist 
licensed in Tennessee is required to complete 10 clock hours of continuing education 
each calendar year.  Those who hold 2 certificates or licenses regulated by this Board 
shall complete 15 clock hours of continuing education each calendar year.  Those who 
hold 3 certificates or licenses regulated by this Board shall complete 20 clock hours of 
continuing education each calendar year.  In each case, at least 5 clock hours shall 
be directly related to the practice of each profession for which the person is licensed or 
certified. 

 
Should the Tennessee licensed Professional Counselor, Marriage and Family 
Therapist or a Clinical Pastoral Therapist fall to obtain the required amount of 
continuing education during the calendar year, the following shall occur.  
 

1. The licensee must pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred 
($100.00) dollars and payment rendered within 30 days upon notification 
from the Board.  
 

2. The licensee must make up the amount of hours that he/she is deficient, in 
addition to the continuing education hours necessary to be obtained 
annually. The deficient hours must be made up within the following 
calendar year. Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must 
be submitted to the Board upon completion. Failure to fulfill these 
conditions may result in disciplinary action. Failure to respond and obtain 
the deficient hours after receipt of notification may result in additional 
and/or other penalties. 

 
*A licensee is exempt from the continuing education requirements f or the calendar 
year that he/she is licensed. Please refer to Rules 0450-1-.12, 0450-2-.12 or 0450-
3-.12 f or continuing education requirements. 
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