TENNESSEE BOARD OF PODIATRIC MEDICAL EXAMINERS

POLICY: CONTINUING EDUCATION DEFICIENCIES

A Podiatrist licensed in Tennessee is required to complete 15 hours of continuing education annually. A
Podiatric X-Ray Operator is required to complete 4 hours of radiological related contmumg education
biennially.

Should the Tennessee licensed Podiatrist or Podiatric X-Ray Operator fail to obtain the required amount
of continuing education during the calendar year, the following shall occur:

1. The licensee must sign an Agreed Citation and pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred
($100) dollars and payment rendered within thirty (30) days upon notification from the Board.

2. The licensee must make up the amount of hours that he/she is deficient in addition to the required
fifteen (15) hours of continuing education for the calendar year. The deficient hours must be made up
within the following calendar year. Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must be
submitted to the Board upon completion

Assessment of a civil penalty and/or requiring the completions of additional continuing education hours
for failure to obtain the required number of hours is discipline that is reportable on the monthly
disciplinary report.

ORTHOTIST, PROSTHETIST, PEDORTHIST

An Orthotist, Prosthetist, and Pedorthist licensed in Tennessee is required to complete 15 hours of
continuing education annually, a person who is licensed in more than one (1) profession shall annually
complete a total of twenty (20) hours of continuing education.

Should the Tennessee licensed Orthotist, Prosthetist, and Pedorthist fail to obtain the required amount of
continuing education during the calendar year, the following shall occur:

1. The licensee must sign an Agreed Citation and pay a civil penalty in the amount of one hundred
($100) dollars and payment rendered within thirty (30) days upon notification from the Board.

2. The licensee must make up the amount of hours that he/she is deficient in addition to the required
hours of continuing education for the calendar year. The deficient hours must be made up within the
following calendar year. Documented proof of the deficient hours obtained must be submitted to the
Board upon completion

Assessment of a civil penalty and/or requiring the completions of additional continuing education hours
for failure to obtain the required number of hours is discipline that is reportable on the monthly
disciplinary report.

Adopted by the Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners on this the 4™ day of February 2009.
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