
 
Tennessee Board of Respiratory Care 
Policy Statement on Lapsed Licenses 

 
The Board of Respiratory Care recognizes that an individual may inadvertently allow his/her license to 
expire. However, statute prohibits an individual from working as a Respiratory Therapist unless he/she 
has an active and unrestricted license. While the Board does not condone an individual working on an 
expired license, recognition is given to the fact that the problem does exist. As such, the Board has 
adopted the following procedures for reinstatement of an expired or administratively revoked license: 
 

• Immediately upon recognition that his/her license has expired, the individual must stop practicing 
and contact the board's administrative office to request a reinstatement application. 

 
• Upon receipt of the reinstatement application, the licensee is to complete the application in its 

entirety, providing a detailed work history subsequent to the license expiration date. The 
application is to be signed, notarized, and returned to the board's administrative office along with 
any additional information and all fees specified in the instructions. 

 
o If the reinstatement application reflects in the work history that the individual has 

worked on a lapsed license for less than three months, then upon receipt of a completed 
reinstatement application and supporting documentation, including continuing education 
and fees, the board administrator may immediately reinstate that person’s license, with no 
disciplinary action.  

 
o If the reinstatement application reflects in the work history that the individual has 

worked for more than three months but less than six months on an expired license, 
then the Department will assess a one hundred dollar ($100.00) civil penalty against the 
licensee for every month worked in excess of three months from the expiration date, up to 
a maximum of $300.00.  Such civil penalty will be assessed via Agreed Citation, which 
will detail the licensee’s rights and obligations under the Uniform Administrative 
Procedures Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-5-301, et seq.  The discipline assessed in accordance with this 
Lapsed License Policy constitutes formal discipline against a practitioner’s license, and as 
such it is reportable on the Department’s Disciplinary Action Report (“DAR”) and will be 
noted on the practitioner’s licensure profile.   

 
o If the reinstatement application reflects in the work history that the individual has 

worked for more than six months on an expired license, then this Lapsed License 
Policy does not apply, and the matter will be referred as a formal complaint to be 
prosecuted in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, T.C.A. §§ 4-5-
301, et seq.   

 
Adopted by the Board Respiratory Care on the 13th day November, 2002, and revised the 13th day of 
November, 2008. 
 
For further information, please use the contact information provided below: 
 

Board of Respiratory Care 
Local (Nashville Calling Area) 615-532-3202 

Nationwide (toll free) 800-778-4123 
Tennessee Board of Respiratory Care 

227 French Landing, Suite 300 
Heritage Place Metro Center 

Nashville, TN 37243 
DB/G5072331/RC 


