We will take your application with only your name, address, and signature if you are only applying for
SNAP/Food Stamps. But the more you tell us, the faster we can see if you can get help. If you are approved, your
benefits will start from the date you filed the application. In most cases you will need to talk with a DHS worker to
complete the application process.

You may be able to get SNAP/Food Stamps in 7 days if:

Tennessee Department of Human Services
Family Assistance Application
THIS BOX DHS USE ONLY

Case #: 1. Your household's monthly income is less than $150, and you now have resources of $100 or less.

Date received: 2. Your shelter cost (plus utilities) is higher than your monthly income plus savings.

County: 3. You do seasonal farm or migrant work.

If you have a disability that makes it hard for you to fill out or understand this application, we can help. We can call or visit you if you cannot come to our office.

Name
| am applying for: ___ Families First ____SNAP /Food Stamps

Home Address We may use your home or cell phone number to call and remind you of an appointment.
We will leave a message if you do not answer.

City State Zip Code Home Phone Work Phone Cell/Other Phone

Mailing Address (if different) We use Social Security Numbers to check that you are who you say you are. We use them to make sure
you get the right amount of aid, to change the amount of aid you get, to check other computer and
government records, and to make sure you qualify. We check Social Security, IRS, and employment

City State Zip Code records. We may check Immigration and Naturalization Records. If those records don’t match what you
say, it may affect whether you can get help and how much cash or food stamps you get. If you give
incorrect information on purpose to get help, you may go to jail.

Do you need an interpreter? ( )Yes ( ) No By providing Race/Ethnicity information, it helps show if the State is following civil rights laws.

Please use the following to indicate race: W = White/ Caucasian, B = Black/African-American, A = Asian, H = Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander, | =
If yes, what language? American Indian/Alaska Native (Your household is not required to give us this information and it will not affect your eligibility or benefit level.)
Marital Status: Use one of the following below for each adult member of the household: married, single, divorced, widowed, separated
List everyone in your household (NOT needed if person does not
(including self) Is this want to receive benefits) (Optional) (Optional)
To add more people, please attach person For more information, see page 1 of Check box Race . Check box if
S K . Sex R Marital Status Date of Check box .
another application or sheet of applying the Statement of Understanding if (see above) . . . person is
(M/F) . . (see above) Birth if person is .
paper for Check box Hispanic/ Enter all that rernant disabled
benefits? | Social Security Number if U.S. Latino apply preg
(Yes/No) citizen

| swear under penalty of perjury (a crime for lying under oath) and all other applicable penalties that the statements made on this application, any attachments, and to whoever interviewed me are true and correct. All
persons applying for or receiving aid are U.S. citizens, legal aliens, or eligible immigrants. | understand and agree to the rules and information given to me. If asked, | will give information that proves my statement, or | give
DHS permission to get proof. | understand | must report any changes the way DHS tells me to.

Release: The State of Tennessee or people who work for it may need to prove the information | gave is true. By signing this paper, | am saying it is OK to get proof. This will let them decide if | can get Food Stamps or Families
First. | am also saying that | have read and understand the Statement of Understanding.

Signature: Date: Witness (if signed with an X): Date:

Guardian or Authorized Representative: Date:
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THIS BOX For Families First only: Permission to release school attendance records
| (client) give permission for the school attendance records of children on this application to be released to the Tennessee Department of
Human Services by the Tennessee Department of Education or my child’s school. The Department of Human Services will use these records,
including social security numbers, to help me meet my Families First responsibilities. The records will be destroyed when they are no longer
needed.

Signature: Date:

I understand | may have one or two authorized representatives:

may apply for these benefits for me: SNAP/Food Stamp ( ); Families First ( )
may use my SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for me ( ); may use my Families First benefits for me ( )

may apply for these benefits for me: SNAP/Food Stamp ( ); Families First ( )
may use my SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for me ( ); may use my Families First benefits for me ( )

Voter Registration

Are you registered to vote where you live now? ( ) Yes ( ) No

Would you like to register to vote? ( ) Yes () No

Do you want DHS to mail a voter registration form to you? ( ) Yes ( ) No

The benefits you may receive from DHS will not change whether you register to vote or not.

Enter information about your household’s INCOME in the boxes below. Income includes but is not limited to employment, self-employment,
alimony, child support, disability benefits, Social Security/SSI, Worker’s Compensation, Unemployment benefits, pensions, stipends, and interest
income.

Person with Income
taxes/expenses

Monthly amount before
taxes/expenses

Source of income (such as job, Social Security, child support)

List any household Resources (cash, checking ,savings, or other bank accounts, certificates of deposit, stocks, bonds, mutual funds,
retirement accounts, trust funds, annuities, or other liquid assets)

Type: Value:$ Type: Value:$

Type: Value:$ Type: Value:$

Any member who breaks any of the rules on purpose can be barred from the SNAP/Food Stamp program for one year to permanently, fined
up to $250,000, imprisoned up to 20 years or both. He or She may also be subject to prosecution under other applicable Federal and State
laws. He or she may be barred from the SNAP/Food Stamp program for an additional 18 months if court ordered. Do not trade or sell EBT
cards, or use someone else’s card.

Your SNAP/Food Stamp benefits may end if you:
*Give incorrect information or hide facts to get SNAP benefits;
*Use someone else’s Benefit Security Card without their permission;
*Buy things with SNAP benefits like beer, cigarettes, or soap or pay on credit
accounts.
If you break these rules, you will not get SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for:
1 year the first time, 2 years the second time, and forever the third time.
If you trade SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for drugs. You can be cut off for:
2 years the first time and forever the second time.
You’ll be cut off the SNAP/Food Stamp Program forever if you’re found
guilty of:
*Trading SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for guns, ammunition, or explosives or
controlled substances(illegal drugs);
*Selling SNAP/Food Stamp benefits worth $500 or more.

Don’t give incorrect information about who you are or where you live to
receive multiple SNAP/Food Stamp benefits. Giving incorrect information
can keep you from getting SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for 10 years.

Federal and/or State Convictions:

Have you or anyone in your household been found guilty of receiving TANF
(cash benefits) or SNAP/Food Stamp benefits from two or more states at the
same time?  Yes_ No__

Has anyone used TANF funds at the following establishments liquor stores,
casinos, poker rooms, adult entertainment business, bail bonds, night clubs,
saloons/taverns, bingo halls, race tracks, gun/ammunition stores, cruise
ships, psychic readers, smoking shops, tattoo/piercing shops, and
spa/massage salons? (TANFonly) Yes__ No__

Have you or any household member been convicted of buying or selling
SNAP/Food Stamp benefits over $500 after 08/22/96? Yes __ No___

Do you or anyone in your household have a felony conviction because of
behavior related to the possession, use or distribution of a controlled drug
substance after 08/22/96 (SNAP/Food Stamp & TANF) or a violent felony
(TANFonly)? Yes_ No_

Are you or any member of your household hiding or running from the law to
avoid prosecution, being taken into custody, or going to jail, for a felony
crime or attempted felony crime, or violating a condition or parole or
probation violations? Yes_ No_

Have you or any household member been convicted of trading SNAP/Food
Stamp benefits for drugs after 08/22/96?

Yes__ No

If you are between 18 to 24 years old, have you ever
been in state custody as a child? Yes___ No___ Shelter Costs
Rent / Mortgage (circle one)

Child Care Expenses

Amount paid per week: $ Monthly amount: $

Type:

Medical Expenses
List recurring medical expenses like prescriptions or
insurance premiums. These can help you get more Food
Stamps if you're elderly or disabled.

Child Support Paid
If you are legally obligated to pay child
support payments to or for a child or children
enter it here:
per month

Child care provider name: Gas/Electric $ per month

Type: S

Child: S per month

per month

Phone $ per month

Child: S per month

In accordance with federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national
origin, age, disability, sex ,gender identity, religion, reprisal, and where applicable, political beliefs, marital status ,familial or parental status, sexual orientation, or all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public
assistance program, or protected genetic information in employment or in any program or activity conducted or funded by the Department. (Not all prohibited bases will apply to all programs and/or employment activities.
To file a complaint of discrimination, complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint Form, found online at http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint filing cust.html, or at any USDA office, or call (866)632-9992 to request

the form. Send your completed complaint form or letter to us by mail at U.S. Department of Agriculture, Director, Office of Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20250-9410, by fax (202)690-7442
or email at program.intake@usda.gov. Write HHS, Director, Office for Civil Rights, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 509F HHH Bldg., Washington, D.C. 20201 or call (202) 619-0403 (Voice) or (202) 619-3257 (TTY).
Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA through the Federal Relay Service at (800)877-8339; or (800)845-6136 (Spanish).USDA and HHS are equal opportunity providers and
employers. You may also write Tennessee, Department of Human Services, Office of General Counsel, Compliance Officer, Citizens Plaza Building, 400 Deaderick Street, Nashville, TN 37243, (615) 313-4700.



http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint_filing_cust.html

Need to report a change? Have a question?

Client Copy
Need help? Call us. This call is free.

Family Assistance Service Center
1-866-311-4287
We are here to help you from 7 a.m.
to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Statement of Understanding - Program Rules
Important - Keep This Paper!

If you have a disability and require special assistance, please let us know.

FREE INTERPRETERS -- If you don't understand English well and need help, please let us know. We will
get an interpreter that will help you speak to us. This service is free. Getting an interpreter will not delay the
processing of your case. We can still take your application today.

You can apply for Families First or SNAP/Food Stamp benefits at a DHS office. An application must be
completed and the DHS application can be accessed online or completed at the DHS office. You may use this
form to file a joint application for more than one program or for the SNAP/Food Stamp program only. Your
SNAP/Food Stamp application will not be denied solely on the basis that your application for another program
has been denied. You must give us proof of who you are, your income, and other facts needed to approve your
application. If you need help getting proof, ask your DHS caseworker.

If you or the person for whom you are applying is eligible for benefits, SNAP/Food Stamps or TANF benefits
will be provided from the date that we receive the application with your name, address, and signature on it. The
filing date will be different if the household is in an institution and applying for SNAP and SSI at the same time.
In this case, the filing date is the date of release from the institution.

e Anyone in the household applying for Families First or SNAP/Food Stamp benefits must give us a
Social Security Number and citizenship or immigration status. The Food and Nutrition Act lets us use
Social Security Numbers to make sure you get the right amount of aid, to change the amount of aid you
get, to check computer and government records, and to make sure you qualify. When we check
computer records, we use the Income Eligibility Verification System. If those records don’t match what
you say, it may affect whether you can get help and how much cash or SNAP/food stamps you get. If
you do not have a Social Security number, we can help you ask for one.

e If you have a Social Security Number, and you are a U.S. citizen, legal alien or eligible immigrant, then
you must apply for benefits if you are a mandatory family member.

o Example: Spouses and children and their parents must apply in the same household, unless you
are opting not to apply for benefits for someone who opts not to give their SSN or immigration
status.

o DHS does not need Social Security numbers or citizenship/immigration status for household members
not applying for benefits. If a Social Security Number is provided for someone who is not applying for
benefits, it will not be sent to Immigration and Naturalization Services in order to verify their status.

e You may apply for benefits for citizens and eligible immigrants even if you do not apply for benefits
yourself.

Persons not applying for benefits will still have their resources and income considered.

If you are applying for help from DHS, we may give your Social Security Number to:
o Police who are looking for lawbreakers when the law allows or requires us or a court orders us to do so.
o Other federal or state agencies if the law allows or requires us to do so.

How long do we take to decide about your application?
o Families First cash payments: We have 45 days to decide if you can receive them.
o SNAP/Food Stamps: It can take up to 30 days to decide and to give you SNAP/Food Stamp benefits if
you qualify.
e To make a decision on time, DHS must have your help to get all the proof we need.



Your caseworker will tell you what changes you must report. If you receive Families First, you must report to
DHS about any changes about your living situation within 10 days.

If you receive SNAP/Food Stamps, you must report when your monthly income goes above the SNAP/Food
Stamp Gross Income Limit for your household size. Your worker will tell you what that amount was. You must
report this change by the 10" day of the next month after your income changes.

SNAP/Food Stamp Information:

SNAP/Food Stamp benefits won’t change your Families First benefits. If your Families First cash payments
stop, you may still receive SNAP/Food Stamps. But if you start receiving Families First, your SNAP/Food
Stamp benefits may go down. You will be notified of this change; however, you may receive this notice less
than ten days before your SNAP/Food Stamp benefits go down.

Your SNAP/Food Stamp benefits may end if you:
e Give incorrect information or hide facts to get SNAP/Food Stamp benefits;
e Use someone else’s Benefit Security Card without their permission or trade or sell the Benefit Security
Card;
e Buy things with SNAP/Food Stamp benefits like beer, cigarettes, or soap, or pay on credit accounts.
e Pay for food purchased on credit with SNAP/Food Stamp benefits.

If you break these rules, you will not get SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for:
o 1 year the first time.
e 2 years the second time.
o Forever the third time.

If you trade SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for drugs. You can be cut off for:
e 2 years the first time.
e Forever the second time.

You will be cut off the SNAP/Food Stamp Program forever if a court finds you guilty of:
e Trading SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for guns, ammunition, or explosives.
e Selling SNAP/Food Stamp benefits worth $500 or more.

You will not get SNAP/Food Stamp benefits for ten (10) years if you lie about who you are or where you
live in order to receive multiple SNAP/Food Stamp benefits.

If you do not follow your Families First plan, we may cut your Families First cash payments or your
SNAP/ Food Stamp benefits may be reduced.

If you do not report your work income or are found guilty of breaking SNAP/Food Stamp Program rules
on purpose, you may have to pay back money if you get too many SNAP/ Food Stamp benefits.

People who break these rules may go to prison, be charged under federal laws, or be fined up to $10,000.
If a SNAP/Food Stamp claim arises against your household, the information on this application, including
all SSNs, may be referred to Federal and State agencies, as well as private claims collection agencies, for
claims collection action.

Some household members must register for work if they want to receive SNAP/Food Stamps. Your
worker will tell you who in your household must register to qualify. If this happens, you will have to go to the
Department of Labor and Workforce Development (DOLWND) for an interview. They will ask you about your
past work and will help you prepare to get a job.

You may get more SNAP/Food Stamp benefits if you have proof of these kinds of expenses:
o Medical
e Child or dependent care



e Child support
e Housing or utilities

Your DHS caseworker can help you get proof. But you must report the expense and give us proof. If you
don’t tell us about these expenses and give us proof, we will assume you do not want the deduction and you
won’t get more Food Stamp benefits.

Families First Information:

If you get Families First cash payments you don’t qualify for, you must pay the State back. You can:
e Pay from your Families First cash payments.
e Pay in cash, if you don’t receive Families First.

If you give incorrect information or hide facts to get Families First cash payments, you can be taken to court.
You may be charged with perjury (lying under oath), theft or another crime, and may be sentenced to time in
jail. 1f you break Families First rules on purpose, we call this an Intentional Program Violation. If you are
found guilty, you could be cut off Families First for:

e 6 months the first time;

e 1 year the second time; and

o Forever the third time

Itis illegal to get cash payments in two states at the same time. Anyone who does this may be cut off cash
payments for 10 years.

Your children can get Families First OR SNAP/Food Stamps benefits but you cannot if you are:
o A fleeing felon
e A parole or probation violator
e Guilty of a drug-related felony that was committed after August 22, 1996, unless you meet a specific
exception.
Your caseworker can give you more information about the exception.

To get Families First cash payments, you must sign and follow a Personal Responsibility Plan. This plan
may require you to go to a work-related activity.

Important information about Child Support and Families First:

You may be able to get Families First cash payments and child support at the same time. If you get
Families First, you must help us prove who the child’s father is. You must also work with us to collect child
support for the children on Families First. We won’t try to collect support if you prove there is a good reason
not to do so. All child support must go first to DHS. If the parent gives you money directly, you must send it to
DHS. You may be able to get some or all of the child support back. We call these payments child support
pass-through payments.

The amount of your child support pass-through payment depends on both your “unmet need” and the amount of
child support paid. We figure your unmet need based on:

e How many people the Families First cash payment covers

e How much other income you have

e You can ask your DHS caseworker how much your unmet need is.

Do you want to apply to vote in the next election? Federal and state law requires that we ask if you
want to register to vote. We must ask you this question any time you apply or re-apply for benefits,



when you are recertified for benefits, or if you call to tell us you have moved. We will help you to fill
out all the forms.

Voter Registration Information:

e The benefits you may receive from DHS will not change whether you register to vote or not.

o We can help you apply. The decision to get help is yours. You may fill out the form in private.

* You may file a complaint with the Coordinator of Elections, Secretary of State’s Office, 900 William R.
Snodgrass Tennessee Tower, Nashville, TN 37243, 1-615-741-7956, Tennessee Relay Center, 1-800-
848-0299, if you believe:

o Someone has interfered with your right to register or to decline to register to vote.
o Someone has interfered with your right to privacy in deciding whether to register or in applying
to register to vote.

o If you choose to register or decline, we will not tell anyone outside the election commission about your
choice or where you applied. We will only use this for registration purposes.

e You can’t vote until you get your voter registration card. If you do not have the card in three weeks,
check with the Election Commission.

e The County Election Commission will see if you are able to register to vote. This is not done by DHS
or the TennCare Bureau.

¢ If you mail your application to your county election commission, you must vote in person the first time
you vote.

e  We will mail you a “Mail-In Application for Voter Registration” form within 30 days if you are telling
us by phone or internet about:

o An address change

o An application

o Are-application

o A re-certification

o Areview
If the deadline to register is less than 30 days away, we will mail the form to you within 5 days or the next work
day if we can.

HIPAA:

The federal HIPAA law says we must keep facts about your health private. It also says we must give you this
notice. Here are the rules that we must follow to keep the facts about your health private. These rules can
change. If important changes are made, we will tell you.

In order to determine your eligibility for Families First, DHS may share your private health information
with:
- Some employees of the Department who need it to decide if you can get Families First.
- DHS may also share your private health information with the federal Department of Health and Human
Services because they provide oversight of the Families First program.

With your prior written consent, DHS may share your private health information with any other person
or entity, such as your health care providers, an attorney, and/or members of your family.

If you are not able to provide prior written consent, DHS may share your private health information
with:
- Anauthorized representative — who will also have the right to provide written consent for release of
your private health information to other individuals and entities;
- A family member or others involved in your health care. You may ask us not to tell them your
information. We will agree if we can. If you are a minor child or in an emergency, we may not be able
to agree.



Without any prior consent, DHS may also share your private health information:
- With a health oversight agency or law enforcement as required by law for purposes of investigating
fraud allegations related to receipt of program benefits;
- With any other individual or entity, including law enforcement and other government agencies, when
allowed by law or when required to do so by a court order;
- With another individual or entity for purposes of research, as permitted by law.

RIGHTS ABOUT YOUR HEALTH INFORMATION

You have the right to:

e See your health records, except where limited by law.

e Get copies of your health records, except where limited by law.

e Talk to us about how we use and share your health information.

e Ask us to change health information that you think is wrong. You must ask us to change it in writing and
tell us why. We may not be able to change it. If we can’t change it, we will tell you why.

e Ask us not to share some facts about your health information. You must ask us in writing. You must tell us
what facts you don’t want shared. You must tell us who you don’t want us to share those facts with. But,
there may be some times when we cannot agree to your request. We will tell you why.

e Take back your okay to share your health information. If you signed an authorization form, you can take it
back any time. But, you must do it in writing. This will not change any facts we have already shared.

e Ask us to contact you in a different way or at a different address. You must tell us in writing.

e Ask for a copy of DHS’s privacy practices.

QUESTIONS or COMPLAINTS

Do you have questions about this notice? Please call 1-888-863-6178. In Davidson County, call 313-5790.
TTY#1-800-270-1349.

Do you have a complaint about how your private health information was handled? You can call or write
one of the offices listed below to ask questions or make a complaint. You will not lose your eligibility if
you complain or ask a question.

In accordance with federal law and U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and U.S. Department of Health and Human
Services (HHS) policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, age,
disability, sex, gender identity, religion, reprisal, and where applicable, political beliefs, marital status, familial or parental
status, sexual orientation, or all or part of an individual’s income is derived from any public assistance program, or
protected genetic information in employment or in any program or activity conducted or funded by the Department. (Not
all prohibited bases will apply to all programs and / or employment activities.)

To file a complaint of discrimination, contact USDA or HHS. Complete the USDA Program Discrimination Complaint
Form, found online at http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint _filing_cust.html, or at any USDA office, or call

(866) 632-9992 to request the form. You may also write a letter containing all of the information requested in the form.
Send your completed complaint form or letter to us by mail at U.S. Department of Agriculture, Director, Office of
Adjudication, 1400 Independence Avenue, S. W., Washington, D. C. 20250-9410, by fax (202) 690-7442 or email at
program.intake@usda.gov. Individuals who are deaf, hard of hearing or have speech disabilities may contact USDA
through the Federal Relay Service at (800) 877- 8339; or (800) 845- 6136(Spanish).

USDA and HHS are equal opportunity providers and employers.

You may also write Tennessee, DHS, Office of General Counsel, Citizens Plaza Building, 400 Deaderick Street, Nashville,
TN 37243, (615) 313-4700.

Your right to a fair hearing:

What if you don’t agree with what we decide on your application or case? You can appeal for a fair hearing.
You may speak for yourself at the hearing. You also may bring a friend, relative, or lawyer to speak for you.
After you hear from us, you have 90 days to file an appeal for Families First and Food Stamp benefits. If you
want to continue your benefits while the appeal is being decided, you must ask us within 10 days for


http://www.ascr.usda.gov/complaint%20_filing_cust.html
mailto:program.intake@usda.gov

Families First and Food Stamps. If you lose the appeal, you may have to pay back the benefits you
received during the time the appeal was being decided. If you want to file an appeal, tell your DHS
caseworker. You can also call the Family Assistance Service Center at 1-866-311-4287. This is a free call.

Permission to release school attendance records:

I (client) give permission for the school attendance records of children I included on this application to be
released to the Tennessee Department of Human Services by the Tennessee Department of Education or my
child's school. The Department of Human Services will use these records, including social security numbers, to
help me meet my Families First responsibilities and the records will be destroyed when they are no longer
needed.

Permission to contact me:

| agree that DHS may contact me by U.S. Mail and by phone at the address and numbers indicated on my
application, and leave messages when | am unavailable, as necessary to provide information about my
application for benefits / services or the benefits / services that | am already receiving.



