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Highlights

L

» Blue Star Family
license plates are
available for
eligible family
members

» Family members
having a spouse,
parent, sibling, or
child currently
serving in the
armed forces
qualify to purchase
this special license
plate

» Proof of eligibility
is required to be
submitted to the
county clerk’s
office with each
application for
each renewal year

%’ References:

T.C.A. 8 55-4-202
T.C.A. 8§ 55-4-203
T.C.A. § 55-4-330

INTRODUCTION

This notice is intended to provide Tennessee vehicle registrants with information
concerning the issuance of Blue Star Family License Plates.

Tenn. Code Ann. Section 55-4-330 allows eligible persons in Tennessee whose
spouse, parent, sibling, or child is serving in the armed forces of the United
States at the time of application to obtain a Blue Star Family license plate.

DISCUSSION

Blue Star Family license plates are offered for purchase to any eligible person whose
spouse, parent, sibling, or child is currently serving in the armed forces of the United
States at the time of application. Armed forces includes members serving in the Army,
Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard (when mobilized to augment the Navy)
to include reservists and National Guard members.

To obtain this license plate, a registrant must:

1. Submit proof of current service from their service member. Examples of this
documentation include copies of one of the following:
a. Current Leave and Earnings Statement (LES),
b. Member’s military ID card, or
c. A letter from their unit commander on official letterhead stating the
family member’s current status as a member of the U.S. armed forces;
and
2. Provide a written statement by the service member indicating the family
relationship with the registrant.

Proof of eligibility must be submitted for each renewal year. The initial fee for
obtaining this license plate is $25.75, and the subsequent annual fee is $21.50.
Additional charges for county and/or city wheel tax, where imposed locally, plus
county clerk fees will apply. The plate cannot be personalized.

Retired members of the military may apply for this license plate if they also meet the
criteria above, but may wish to obtain one of several choices of registration
plates available for them in honor of their service. A complete
listing of all of Tennessee’s specialty license plates can be viewed at
http://www.tn.gov/revenue/vehicle/licenseplates/specialty.shtml.

The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a
result of new statutes, regulations, or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be
comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such cases
you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.

For more tax information, call toll free 1-800-342-1003
Nashville area and out-of-state call 615-253-0700
Email TN.Revenue@tn.gov
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