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History of the Tennessee Sex Offender Registry 

 
PURPOSE:  The purpose of this portion of the Standard Operating Procedures is to 
explain the history of the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation’s Sexual Offender Registry 
from its origin to the present.  
 
The TBI’s Sexual Offender Registry (SOR) was implemented in January of 1995 as 
mandated by Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA) §40-39-101 et. seq.  The following 
persons were originally required to comply with the registration requirements of the 
“Sexual Offender Registration and Monitoring Act” and the acts succeeding it: 
 

1. An offender who has been convicted of committing a sexual offense on or after 
January 1, 1995; or 
 

2. If the offender’s conviction occurred prior to January 1, 1995, the person who 
 

a. Remains under or is placed on probation, parole, or any other alternative 
to incarceration on or after January 1, 1995; 

 
b. Is discharged from probation, parole, or any other alternative to 

incarceration on or after January 1, 1995; or 
 

c. Is discharged from incarceration without supervision on or after January 1, 
1995. 

 
Under the original sex offender registry law in Tennessee, at least once every ninety (90) 
days following receipt of the initial TBI Registration/ Monitoring form, the TBI sent by 
certified mail (return receipt requested) a Verification/Monitoring form to the offender’s 
last reported address. The offender was required to complete and return the 
Verification/Monitoring form within ten (10) days of the date of which the certified mail 
was signed. Violations of this statute were a Class A misdemeanor. The TBI was charged 
with compiling non-compliance reports to District Attorney Offices for prosecutions. 
 
For all sexual offenses committed on or after July 1, 1997, sex offender registration 
information was considered public information.  In order to provide access to this public 
information, TBI established a toll free hotline (1-888-837-4170), which allows the 
public to inquire whether an individual is a registered sexual offender. TBI has also 
displayed the offender information on the TBI Internet Home Page located at 
www.tbi.tn.gov , since January 1, 1998.  
 
Beginning August 1, 2004, Tennessee’s Sex Offender Registry Act changed dramatically.  
Under the new “Tennessee Sexual Offender and Violent Sexual Offender Registration, 
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Verification, and Tracking Act of 2004” as mandated by Tennessee Code Annotated 
(TCA) §40-39-201 et. seq. Sex offenders in Tennessee had thirty (30) days to appear at 
their local Sheriff’s Office, Chief of Police Office, or Probation/Parole Office to register 
in person.  Sex Offenders were required to pay an annual fee, now in the amount of One 
Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00), to the registering agency, with $100.00 being retained 
by the registering agency and $50.00 being forwarded to the TBI. These fees were 
implemented to defray the costs of implementing and maintaining the monitoring of sex 
offenders. Sex offenders were divided into two categories: sexual and violent, with sexual 
offenders being required to report annually while violent sexual offenders were required 
to report quarterly. Sex offenders were also required to report changes in address, job, 
and other pertinent information.  Registering agencies send originals of documents to TBI 
while maintaining copies of these documents for themselves and the offenders. 
 
Using information received pursuant to this act, TBI established and maintains a 
centralized record system of sexual offender registration and verification information, 
known as the SOR. Because local law enforcement now sees offenders in person, they are 
better able to monitor and track sex offenders across this state. TBI assists law 
enforcement by giving copies of documents when requested to law enforcement;  
providing a software program for the registering, monitoring, and verification of 
information regarding sex offenders; and giving legal advice when requested, among 
other services. All of these services are provided to assist local law enforcement in the 
monitoring of sex offenders. 

 
The following is a timeline outlining significant changes occurring in the sex offender 
law since its inception: 
 

1995 

 Registry begins.  (Legislation passed in 1994). 

 Offenders mail in monitoring forms to TBI, pay no fee, do not report in  
  person. 

 
 Violation is Class A misdemeanor. 
 

TBI composes affidavits detailing noncompliance for District Attorney’s 
offices which prosecute. 

 
1997 

 Those offenders who committed their crimes on or after 7/1/1997 will  
  now have certain parts of their information accessible by the public. 
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2003 
 1000’ rule is enacted  

Effective 7/1/2003 
 

2004 
 Registry law changes comprehensively allowing local law    

  enforcement, along with probation & parole, to register sex offenders.   
  
 $60 fee is charged to the offender, which goes totally to registering  

  agency. 
  
 Punishment for violation of the Registry goes from an A misdemeanor  

  to an E felony. 
  
 Offenders divided into 2 categories:  sexual or violent. 
 
 Agencies are required to enter information into SOR within 12 hours  

  and send original copies into TBI within 3 days. 
 
 Courts no longer decide who is removed from the Registry; TBI does. 
 
 Wording of 40-39-211 (1000’ rule) is changed making it    

  constitutionally suspect. 
  
 Effective 8/1/2004. 
 

2005 
 

 Fee increases to $100 annually. 
  
 Time set to establish a primary residence goes from 7 days to 5 days. 
  
 Agencies were not required to print and photograph each time   

  offender reported. 
 
 Wording of 40-39-211 is changed back to the way it was in 2003 so  

  that it is constitutionally sound. 
  
 “Parent” was defined. 
  
 Effective 8/1/2005. 
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2006 
  

Statutory Rape registration changes:   
 
For offenses committed on or after November 1, 1989: 

  
Statutory rape if the defendant has one or more prior convictions for 
mitigated statutory rape, statutory rape, or aggravated statutory rape. 

  
For offenses committed prior to November 1, 1989: 

  
Statutory rape only if the facts satisfy the definition of aggravated 
statutory rape. 

 An offender who plea bargains down an aggravated stat rape or stat  
  rape by an authority figure to stat rape is NOT required to register   
  unless he/she has a prior. 

 
It is TBI’s policy that a court cannot order something contrary to what the 
law requires. 

  
 Changed vehicle language to a vehicle “owned” or “used”. 
  
 Added age of victims, if known, to information gathered. 
  
 Added language to set out those who may verify the information   

  contained in the Registry. 
  
 Changed language about how fee is paid for quarterly offenders   

  (anytime throughout the year instead of March). 
  

Language is added to the 1000 feet rule to prohibit offenders from seeking 
sexual offender treatment within 1000’ of the prohibited places AND 
public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field are added 
to the places prohibited. 

  
 Legislature added the “physical presence” language to the statute   

  stating that eligible offenders who “establish a physical presence” in  
  TN are required to register. 

  
 The definition of “parent” is changed to state that stepparents could  

  not live with stepchildren if their victim was under the age of 13. 
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 “Exploitation of a minor by electronic means under 39-13-529” was  
  added as a sexual offense, but only if the victim was under the age of  
  13. 

  
 Offenders who are on the Registry for stat rape, but wouldn’t be   

  required to register under the new law, may apply immediately for   
  termination and skip the 10 year requirement. 

 
 “Aggravated stat rape” was added as a sexual offense and “stat rape by  

  an authority figure” was added as a violent offense. 
 
 Stat rape was divided into 3 categories, and the offense of stat rape by  

  an authority figure was created. 
  
 Effective 7/1/2006. 
 

2007 
 
 Did away with time limitations (the former 1995 date.)  All eligible  

  offenders, no matter the date of conviction, are required to register. 
  
 All offenders will be posted on the internet. 
  

Stated that persons who are required to register in another jurisdiction are 
automatically required to register here (unless they were juveniles when 
the offense occurred.)  Applies to those offenders who don’t already fit 
our criteria for registration. 

  
 Incest is switched from sexual to violent, but ONLY for offenses that  

  occur on or after 5/30/2007. 
  
 Judicial diversions that were granted on or after 7/1/2007 are now   

  required to register.  If a person getting judicial diversion successfully  
  completes that diversionary period and the charge is dismissed, that  
  person may be deleted from the Registry immediately. 

  
Guilty pleas or findings of guilt by a judge or jury that occur on or after 
7/1/2007 require registration prior to sentencing. 

  
 Registered sex offenders who are misdemeanants must provide a DNA  

  sample. 
  
 “Material change in employment or vocational status” is defined. 
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Effective 7/1/2007 (except that offenders who were newly required to 
register had until 8/1/2007 to become registered.) 

 
2008 

 
 Language is changed to allow for more verification before removal of  

  an offender from the Registry due to death. 
  
 All registered sex offenders must provide a DNA sample (no matter  

  date of conviction.) 
  
 “Material change in employment or vocational status” definition is   

  changed from 7 days to 5 days. 
  
 Fee increases to $150 with $50 to go to TBI. 
  
 “Volunteering” added to definition of “Employed or practices a   

  vocation.” 
  
 “Month” was added as a definition. 
  
 “Report” and “register” were differentiated in the definitions. 
  
 The words “report or register” and “physical presence” were added in  

  the statute where applicable. 
  
 “Kidnapping of a minor by someone other than the parent” was added  

  to sexual offenses (previously omitted by mistake). 
  
 “Solicitation of a minor” was changed so that its classification can   

  either be sexual or violent depending on how the crime is graded.    
  Offenders convicted of this crime need to be re-evaluated to determine  
  whether they were convicted of solicitation of a minor that is a   
  misdemeanor, Class D or Class E felony.  This re-classification   
  includes out of state charges that equate to solicitation of a minor. 

  
 Certain stat rape language was cleaned up in the definitions. 
  
 “Aggravated rape of a child” was added to violent offenses. 
  
 “Criminal responsibility” was added because it was previously   

  omitted. 
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 “Catchall” provision added to state that it is a violation not to disclose  

  any of the required information. 
 

Added provision that upon completing probation/parole, offender must 
report to new registering agency within 48 hours. 

  
 Homeless must register monthly. 
  
 Registered sex offenders must have a dl or photo id card with a code  

  that lets law enforcement know they are a sex offender.  
  
 Offenders must give email addresses, instant messaging, chat, or other  

  internet communication names.  (TBI can send this to internet   
  companies for comparison with their lists of subscribers.) 

  
 Agencies must list all of offenders’ aliases on Registry. 
  
 Number of victims is added to information gathered by agencies. 
  
 Offenders in nursing homes, assisted living centers,…must report to  

  registering agency within 48 hours of being released from these facilities. 
  
 Effective 1/1/2009 public can see a detailed physical description of the  

  offender; the offender’s criminal history; and the text of the law   
  defining the offender’s offense. 

  
 An offender must be on the Registry for five years before he/she is   

  eligible to ask for removal and an offender must wait five years to   
  reapply if he/she is turned down for termination due to substantial   
  noncompliance.  Those offenders who applied for termination before  
  7/1/2008 will not have to wait the 5 years; however, anyone who  
  applies on or after 7/1/2008 will be required to have been on the  
  Registry for at least 5 years.  An offender who receives a letter of  
  denial due to substantial noncompliance dated on or after 7/1/2008  
  will have to wait 5 years from the date of the letter to apply again. 

  
 “Prior conviction” for removal is re-defined. 
  
 “Failure to register or report” is added as a violation. 
  

Clarifies that courts cannot remove an offender from the Registry, except 
through legitimate expungement. 
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 Expanded the prohibition against contact with victims in 40-39-211. 
  
 Sets out restrictions for ALL offenders regarding being around schools. 
  
 Sets out new law requiring offenders, whose crimes are against minors,  

  from impersonating certain fictional and nonfictional characters; from  
  engaging in employment where they will have unsupervised contact  
  with minors; and from having jobs like driving an ice cream truck. 

  
 The phrase “provided, that the victim of the offense is less than 13   

  years of age” was removed from the crime “exploitation of a minor by  
  electronic means under 39-13-529” meaning that anyone convicted of  
  this crime on or after 7/1/2008 must register—no matter the age of their  
  victim. 

 
 Language was added to make it clear that a violation of 40-39-211 is a  

  Class E felony. 
  
 Effective 7/1/2008 except for the provision that made new detailed  

  information public and the provision that allowed the public to sign  
  up for email notification.  These two provisions become effective  
  1/1/2009. 

 
2009 

 
 40-39-211(d) was altered to take away a sex offender’s ability to make  

  a delivery at a school; contact with schools was altered; parks,   
  recreation centers were added. 

 
 TBI may digitize files. 
 

2010 
 

Sex offenders with children in schools must get written permission to be 
on school property unless it is an emergency situation. 
 
Sex offenders must notify school if they are picking up or dropping off 
their children. 
 
Procedure established to potentially revoke the license of one practicing 
medicine if that person is required to register as a sex offender. 
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Aggravated prostitution moved from a “sexual” offense to a “violent” 
offense. 
 
“Trafficking for sexual servitude” added as a registerable violent sex 
offense. 
 
Registering agencies must collect passport and immigration documents as 
well as professional licensing information. 
 
The address of the sex offender’s employer and the license plate # and 
description of offender’s vehicles added to the public website. 
 
No more than two sex offenders may live together (with few exceptions.) 
 
Effective 7/1/2010. 
 

2011 
 
Sex offenders living in halfway houses or other alternatives to 
incarceration must register with law enforcement where the alternative 
living accommodation is located. (Effective 5/5/2011) 
 
Public library directors may restrict sex offenders’ access to public 
libraries. (Effective 5/16/2011) 
 
Incarcerated sex offenders must register. (Effective 5/23/2011, but gave 
incarcerating facilities until August 1, 2011 to get all currently 
incarcerated offenders registered.) 
 
Law on number of sex offenders that are allowed to live together was 
altered so that it only applies to residential areas. (Effective 5/27/2011) 
 
Certain juvenile sex offenders must begin to register on a private sex 
offender registry. (Effective 7/1/2011) 
 
Sex offenders engaging in international travel outside the U.S. must 
inform registering agencies. (Effective 7/1/2011) 
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2012 
 
 

Promoting prostitution was added to the Registry. (Effective 7/1/2012) 
 
 Personal property of sex offenders can be seized for certain violations 
 of the Registry. (Effective 7/1/2012) 
 
 Judge may order statutory rape offenders to register as sex offenders. 
 (Effective 7/1/2012) 
 
 A new human trafficking offense was created and added to the sex 
 offender registry. (Effective 7/1/2012) 
  
 The punishment for stalking may be increased if the defendant is a 
 registered sex offender. (Effective 7/1/2012) 

 


