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Registration of Juvenile Offenders Adjudicated in Juvenile Court 

 
PURPOSE:  The purpose of this procedure is to define the necessary guidelines for the 
registration of juvenile offenders adjudicated of specific crimes in juvenile or family 
court, requiring registration in the Tennessee Sex Offender Registry (SOR) Database. 
This activity is mandated by Tennessee state law effective July 1, 2011. 
 
PROCEDURAL PROCESS: 
 
Juvenile offenders who are transferred to and receive convictions from adult court, in this 
state or any other state, are treated and registered the same as all adults requiring 
registration on the Tennessee SOR. This Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) does not 
apply to juvenile offenders transferred and convicted in adult court. 
 
I. For offenders to be classified as Violent Juvenile Sexual Offenders or Violent Juvenile 

Sexual Offenders Against Children and registered on the SOR Database, all of the 
following must apply: 
 

A. The offender must have been adjudicated delinquent (for SOR purposes, 
equivalent to a conviction or finding of guilt) in juvenile or family court of 
one or more of the following crimes:  

i. Aggravated Rape, under 39-13-502;  
ii. Rape, under 39-13-503;  

iii. Rape of a Child, under 39-13-522, provided the victim is at least 
four (4) years younger than the offender;  

iv. Aggravated rape of a child, under 39-13-531;  
v. Aggravated sexual battery, under 39-13-504 committed on or 

after July 1, 2014; or  
vi. Criminal attempt, under 39-12-101, to commit any of the offenses 

listed above. 
B. The offender must have been fourteen (14) years of age or more at the 

time of the offense for any of the qualifying charges. 
C. The offense for which the juvenile was adjudicated must have occurred on 

or after July 1, 2011 for i-iv and vi or July 1, 2014 for Aggravated Sexual 
Battery. 
 

D. It is important to note that under TCA 37-1-127(f), if a child is charged 
with a delinquent act (listed in A, i-vi above) that could qualify such child 
as a violent juvenile sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender 
against children, such child shall be given verbal and written notice of the 
violent juvenile sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender against 
children registration requirements prior to a hearing on whether the child 
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committed such act. Verbal and written notice of these requirements may 
be accomplished by reading and providing a copy of the TBI Sex Offender 
Instruction Form as mentioned in section VI of this standard operating 
procedure.  

 
E. Juveniles who are adjudicated delinquent of one or more of the offenses 

listed above will be classified as either Violent Juvenile Sexual Offenders 
or Violent Juvenile Sexual Offenders Against Children. As of July 1, 
2014, juveniles whose victims are 12 years old or under will be required to 
register for life.  They will be classified as Violent Juvenile Sexual 
Offender Against Children.  Juveniles whose victims are 13 years old or 
older may apply for termination from the Sex Offender Registry at the age 
of 25.  See Termination SOP. 

 
 

II. If the offender was adjudicated as a juvenile for any sexual offense in another state and 
was required to register in that jurisdiction, and subsequently establishes contact in 
Tennessee sufficient to satisfy the requirements of registration, the offender must 
register in Tennessee regardless of the offender’s date of conviction, adjudication, or 
discharge from supervision. The date the offender actually moved to Tennessee or the 
offender’s age at the time the offense was committed are not a consideration in this 
situation. 
 

III. If the offender was adjudicated as a juvenile for any sexual offense in another state and 
was not required to register in that jurisdiction, and subsequently establishes 
contact in Tennessee sufficient to satisfy the requirements of registration, a Tennessee 
registration determination must be made by the TBI Legal Advisor to the TBI Sex 
Offender Registry Unit (SORU) prior to registering the offender in Tennessee. Contact 
the SOR Hotline (1-888-837-4170) for assistance. 
 

IV. Only the base charges listed in section I.A. above pertain to offenders adjudicated in 
juvenile court in Tennessee. The other charge forms used for adults in Tennessee: 
Solicitation to Commit, Conspiracy to Commit, Accessory After the Fact to Commit, 
Criminal Responsibility to Commit, or Facilitating the Commission to Commit, do not 
apply and do not register. 

 
V. Any Tennessee court exercising juvenile jurisdiction that adjudicates a juvenile 

fourteen (14) years of age or older at the time of offense as delinquent for any of the 
crimes listed in section I.A., shall immediately, after adjudication, complete a TBI 
Registration Form for Adjudicated Juveniles and SOR Instruction Form, having the 
offender sign both, and transmit that information with the offender’s court records 
relating to that adjudication to the Lead Intelligence Analyst of the TBI SORU by 
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scanning and e-mailing (Karrie.Stanfill@tn.gov ), by fax (to the attention of Karrie 
Stanfill 615-744-4655), or by mail: 

TBI 
Attn: Intelligence Analyst Karrie Stanfill 

Sex Offender Registry Unit (Juvenile Adjudication) 
901 R.S. Gass Blvd. 

Nashville, TN 37216-2639 
 

within 48 hours of the offender’s adjudication. The transmitting court shall also      
provide name and telephone contact information of the person sending the information 
to TBI. 

 
Agencies and courts may obtain blank TBI forms at the Sex Offender Registry web 
site for Law Enforcement:  
http://www.tn.gov/tbi 
Click on Helpful Links 
Click on Law Enforcement Resources 
Click on the “Tennessee Sex Offender Registry” 
Click on “SOR Forms”  
Click on “Registration Form for Adjudicated Juveniles” and/or “Instruction Form” 

 
VI. The Registration Form for Adjudicated Juveniles and Instruction Form shall be 

completed by a court official, juvenile court clerk, youth service office, or law 
enforcement officer, filled out in legible print, signed by the offender and witnessed by 
the official completing the form. In no instance shall the form be given to the offender 
for completion. 
 

VII. The offender’s primary address listing on the Registration Form shall be the actual 
address where the offender actually resides. If the offender is adjudicated and sent to 
an in-custody treatment facility, then the address of the treatment facility shall be used 
as the offender’s primary address listing on the Registration Form. The residence 
address where the offender will reside when not in custody may be listed as a 
secondary address. Once the offender is released from in-custody treatment, the 
address listing changes must be reported and updated within 48 hours. 
 

VIII. Any local or state officer or agency having knowledge of a juvenile adjudication 
meeting all of the above listed criteria shall notify the Lead Intelligence Analyst of the 
TBI SORU by e-mail (Karrie.Stanfill@tn.gov ) and provide any or all of the following 
information if known: 

 
A) Name of the adjudicated offender 
B) Date of adjudication 
C) Charge(s) for which the offender was adjudicated 
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D) Court the adjudication took place in 
E) Name and contact number of the court clerk 
F) Name and contact number of the presiding judge 

 
IX. Once the registration and instruction forms are received by the Lead Intelligence 

Analyst of the TBI SORU, the information will be entered into the SOR Database. 
Initial entries into the SOR Database of adjudicated juveniles meeting the above 
criteria shall only be performed by employees within the TBI SORU. 
 

X. Once the offender has been entered into the SOR Database, the TBI SORU will 
electronically transmit by e-mail the offender’s registration information to the proper 
Tennessee law enforcement registering agency. The offender will register with the 
same appropriate registering agency as any other offender. No new registering 
agencies have been created to deal with adjudicated offenders other than the 
completion of the initial paperwork by the adjudicating court. If the offender is sent to 
an in-custody treatment facility, then, during the time the offender resides at the 
facility, the registering agency will be the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction 
where the treatment facility is located. 

 
XI. Upon notification from TBI, the appropriate registering agency shall immediately 

schedule the offender to complete the registration process and obtain the following: 
 

A) Fingerprints and palm prints (following TCA and the SOP on SOR 
Fingerprint Guidelines) 

B) Photograph (uploaded into the SOR Database) 
C) DNA (following the DNA collection SOP) 
D) A photocopy of a valid driver license, or if no valid driver license has been 

issued to the offender, a photocopy of any state or federal government 
issued identification card (only if one exists) and forwarded to the TBI 
SORU 

E) For an offender on supervised release, the name, address and telephone 
number of the registrant's probation or parole officer or other person 
responsible for the registrant's supervision (entered into the SOR 
Database) 

F) An information update on any changed or missing information in the SOR 
Database 

G) NCIC entry by doing an information update in SOR and checking the 
“Create New Nic” box in section “B”. 
 

XII. Offenders adjudicated as juveniles are not required to pay the annual SOR 
Administrative Fee until the offender reaches eighteen (18) years of age. Once the 
offender reaches 18, the “SOR Fee Collection by Agency” SOP should be followed. 
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XIII. Violent juvenile sexual offenders or violent juvenile sexual offenders against children  
are not required to obtain a photo identification card or driver license designated 
pursuant to 55-50-353, until they reach age 18. 

 
XIV. Residential restrictions set out in T.C.A. 40-39-211(a)-(d) shall not apply to a violent 

juvenile sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender against children required 
to register unless otherwise ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction. 

 
XV. For any violent juvenile sexual offender or violent juvenile sexual offender against 

children who is adjudicated for a violent juvenile sexual offense (as listed in section 
I.A.), the information concerning the violent juvenile sexual offender or the violent 
juvenile sexual offender against children shall be confidential and not listed on the 
public SOR website, except as otherwise provided under T.C.A. 40-39-207(j) and any 
other provision of law. Additionally, information concerning adjudicated juveniles 
who have contact in this state requiring registration due to being adjudicated or 
required to register in another jurisdiction, shall be confidential and not listed on the 
public SOR website, except as otherwise provided under T.C.A. 40-39-207(j) and any 
other provision of law. 

 
XVI. Violent juvenile sexual offenders or violent juvenile sexual offenders against children  

after completing the initial registration process described above, must report on the 
same quarterly schedule and in the same manner as violent sexual offenders.  

 
XVII. Violent juvenile sexual offenders or violent juvenile sexual offenders against children  

who are kept in custody shall be classified in the SOR Database as “Inactive-
Incarcerated” only after fully completing the initial registration process described 
above. For example: 

 
 
On July 5, 2011, an offender is adjudicated delinquent in the Juvenile Court of 
Montgomery County for the crime of Criminal Attempt to Commit Rape. The 
juvenile and his family reside in Clarksville, however, the juvenile is sent to in-
custody treatment in Knoxville. The juvenile court completes an Initial Registration 
Form and Instruction Form and lists the primary address as the Knoxville treatment 
facility and secondary address as the family residence in Clarksville. The juvenile 
court scans and e-mails the forms and court documents relating to that adjudication 
to TBI the same day. Original signed forms are mailed by the juvenile court to TBI 
within 48 hours. 
 
TBI receives the paperwork from the court, enters the information into the SOR 
Database, assigns the offender to the Knoxville Police Department, and 
electronically forwards the initial registration paperwork to Knoxville PD. 
Knoxville PD then will immediately coordinate with the agency having custody of 
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the offender (Tennessee Department of Children’s Services (DCS) and/or the 
treatment facility itself) to complete the registration process with photographs, 
fingerprints, etc. Once completed, the Knoxville PD will perform an Information 
Update in the SOR Database, ensuring the offender is classified as Inactive-
Incarcerated and all information is listed correctly. The agency having custody of 
the offender (DCS and/or the treatment facility itself) must notify the Knoxville PD 
48 hours prior to the offender’s release. The Knoxville PD must then perform 
another Information Update in the SOR Database, classifying the offender as Active 
and listing the updated residence address and information. 
 
Registration flowchart attached: 
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