
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQs) 

What is kingpin and how is it measured? 

How do I know if my vehicle needs a permit? 

What types of permits are available at the TDOT Permit Office and how much do they cost? 

How do I apply for a permit? 

What forms of payment are accepted? 

What are some important escort and safety requirements I need to know? 

What is kingpin and how is it measured? 

Tennessee over length law uses kingpin to determine if the vehicle is over length.  Some 
Carriers get kingpin and bridge law mixed up. Where bridge law is the distance from the 
 kingpin to center of single axle or center of tandem the over length kingpin is measured 
from the kingpin to the rear of the trailer or overhang. If the kingpin is over 50’ the  
vehicle or load is over length and needs a permit. 

How do I know if my vehicle needs a permit? 

According to Tennessee Law, a vehicle or combination of vehicle and load requires a permit if any 
of the following dimensions are exceeded: 

Width:  If width exceeds 8'6" 

Height:  (13 feet and 6 inches) 

Length: Truck tractor-semi-trailer combination – (50 feet)

Semi-trailers and trailers used in truck tractor-semi-trailer-trailer combination – (28 feet 

and 6 inches) 

 Overhang:   60 inches (5 feet) total for both the front and rear 

 Weight:   No single axle shall exec twenty thousand pounds (20,000 lbs.), no tandem group shall exceed 

thirty four thousand pounds (34,000 lbs.) 

A permit is required if the vehicle or combination of vehicles and loads is overweight, over-width, 
over-length, or over-height.   Commodity being hauled must be loaded so that the vehicle or 
vehicle and load combination presents the least dimension and exposure to the motoring public. 



What types of permits are available at the TDOT Permit Office? 

1.) 120,000 Overweight - Allows up to 120,000 pounds in weight, 12'-6" in width, 85' feet in overall length and 13'-
10" in height. 120,000 overweight annual permits allows the load description to list multiple commodities. Only 
dimensions can be supplemented on a 120,000 pound annual permit. 

2.) 150,000 Overweight - Allows up to 150,000 pounds in weight, 12'-6" in width, 85' feet in overall length and 13'-
10" in height. 150,000 overweight annual permits allows the load description to list multiple commodities and both 
the dimensions and weight can be supplemented. 

3.) 120,000 Construction - Allows up to 120,000 pounds in weight, 13'-6" in width, 85' feet in overall length and 13'-
10" in height. 120,000 construction annuals allow the load description to only list construction equipment as the 
commodity and only dimensions can be supplemented on a 120,000 pound construction equipment permit. 

4.) 150,000 Construction - Allows up to 150,000 pounds in weight, 13'-6" in width, 85' feet in overall length and 13'-
10" in height. 150,000 construction annuals allow the load description to only list construction equipment as the 
commodity and both the weight and dimensions can be supplemented.  

5.) 120,000 Fixed - Allows a self-propelled unit to move up to 120,000 pounds in overall weight, 12'-6" in width, 85' 
feet in overall length and 13'-10" in height. 120,000 fixed load annual permits are allowed to move on interstates, 
US routes and state routes as long as they don't exceed 24,000 pounds on any single axle. No other commodity can 
be listed with this annual permit and this permit cannot be supplemented for weight or dimension 

6.) 150,000 Fixed - Allows a self-propelled unit to move up to 150,000 pounds in overall weight, 12'-6" in width, 85' 
feet in overall length and 13'-10" in height. 150,000 fixed load annual permits allows a self-propelled unit to move 
up to 24,000 pounds on the steer axle and up to 40,000 pounds on the drive axles. Self-propelled units over 120,000 
pounds in gross weight can only travel on US or state routes. If the self-propelled unit exceeds 150,000 pounds in 
gross weight, the unit must be hauled by a tractor-trailer configuration and cannot exceed 20,000 pounds per axle. 
150,000 pound annual permit can be supplemented for weight and/or dimensions. 

7.) Ocean Going Container - Allows for movement of sealed containers that are for import or export to be moved 
up to 90,000 pounds in gross weight. No single axle can exceed 20,000 pounds and there must be a minimum of 5 
load bearing axles. Annual permits for ocean going containers are route specific and customer must provide a 
detailed route of origin to destination and the annual permit will only be valid for the specified route. There are no 
supplements for ocean container permits. 

8.) Over dimensional - Allows up to 12'-6" in width, 85' feet in overall length and 13'-10" in height. There is no 
weight on this annual permit. Multiple commodities are allowed to be listed on the over dimensional permit and 
you can supplement dimensions on the over dimensional permit. 

9.) Roof Trusses - Allows up to 14'-0" in width, 85'-0 feet in overall length and 13'-10" in height. There is no weight 
on this annual permit. Roof Truss annual permits are load specific and no other commodities can be hauled with 
this permit. Dimensions can be supplemented on this permit. 

10.) 14ft. Mobile Home - Allows up to 14'-0" in width, 120'-0" in overall length and 14'-2" in height. Carriers also 
use this annual permit to haul portable storage buildings. A metal placard is also issued along with the paper permit 
that displays the permit number and must be attached to the rear of the mobile home during movement of each 
mobile home or storage building. This mobile home does not have weight and can only be supplemented for height 
and length. 



11.) 16ft. Mobile Home - Allows up to 16'-0" in width, 120'-0" in overall length and 14'-2" in height. Carriers also use 
this annual permit to haul portable storage buildings. A metal placard is also issued along with the paper permit that 
displays the permit number and must be attached to the rear of the mobile home during movement of each mobile 
home or storage building. This mobile home does not have weight and can only be supplemented for height and 
length. 

12.) Commercial Boats - Allows a commercial carrier to haul boats up to 14-'0" in width, 85'-0" in overall length and 
13'-10" in height. There is no weight with this annual permit but dimensions can be supplemented and weight added 
to a single trip permit. 

13.) Non-Commercial Boats - Allows a private, not-for-hire, individual to move a personal boat across the state. The 
yearly cost for a non-commercial boat is double the fee of a single trip permit and pricing varies based on size of boat. 
The non-commercial boat can cover width, length and height. When speaking with customers concerning non- 
commercial boats, it is suggested that you remind them that Sunday travel is not allowed in Tennessee. 

14.) Single Trip Permit - 

Valid:  6 calendar days from effective date 

Width: 16 feet maximum 

Height: 

Weight: 150,000 pounds must pass bridge analysis 

What is the cost of a TN OS/OW permit? 

There are a variety of factors that make up the cost of a Tennessee DOT OS/OW permit.  Below are 
the general parameters for pricing but is not a comprehensive list.  

Excessive length or height: Fifteen dollars ($15.00) 

Excessive weight:  Fifteen dollars ($15.00)   plus below 
Twenty dollars ($20.00) plus six cents ($.06) per ton-mile. 

Excessive Width:  less than ten feet (10’), ten dollars ($10.00) 

    Greater than ten feet (10’) but not more than twelve feet (12’), fifteen dollars ($15.00 

  Greater than twelve feet (12’) but not more than fourteen feet (14’), twenty five 
dollars ($25.00) 

Greater than fourteen feet (14’) but not more than sixteen feet (16’), thirty   
dollars ($30.00) 

Annual Permits:   One hundred twenty thousand pounds 120,000 lbs. cost five hundred dollars ($500) 
    One hundred fifty thousand pound 150,000 lbs. cost one thousand dollars ($1,000) 
    Ocean Going Container ninety thousand pounds (90,000), cost ($500) 
   Mobile Home two thousand dollars ($2,000) 



Bridge analysis fees: 
Movements up to three hundred thousand pounds (300,000 lbs.) cost, one hundred dollars for 

analysis ($100.00) 
Movements up to five hundred thousand pounds (500,000 lbs.) cost, three hundred dollars for 

analysis ($300.00) 
Movements up to one million pounds (1,000,000 lbs.) cost, five hundred dollars for analysis 

($500.00) 
Movements over one million (1,000,000 lbs.), actual cost 

How do I apply for a permit? 

A permit can be applied for by telephone, fax, mail, internet, or in 

person. Telephone:   615-741-3821

Fax: (334) 832-9084 

Address (mail or walk-in): 
Tennessee Department of Transportation  

   Over-Size and Over-weight Permits Office Suite 800 
   James K. Polk Bldg.  
   505 Deaderick st.  
   Nashville, TN   37243  

What forms of payment are accepted? 

Many forms of payment are accepted including: 
  Company Check  
  Cashier’sCheck  
  Money Order 
  Credit Card (Visa, Master Card, AMEX, Discover)  
  Escrow Accounts may be used for Single Trip Permits. 

What are some important safety requirements I need to know? 

Movement is not allowed from sunset to sunrise, anytime on Sunday, or anytime on New Year’s 
Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. 

When routing is applicable, the permitted vehicle will not travel any route other than the one 
permit- ted. If the permitted route becomes impassable, the permitted party is to halt travel and call 
the permit office for alternate routing. 

Safety Requirements: 

The escort vehicle must be a properly-licensed, single-unit vehicle (passenger automobile, pickup 
truck, or SUV) that allows an unobstructed 360˚ view for safety. No flatbed trucks, service vehicles, 
and no vehicle towing a trailer can be used as an escort vehicle. 



 
 
 
An escort vehicle should allow for an unobstructed 360° view for safety.  It should be equipped with 
two 18-inch square red flags mounted on the roof and two rotating or strobe amber lights that are 
visible 360˚. 

 
The escort’s headlights are to be on low beam. 
A yellow sign shall be mounted on the front and rear of any overwidth or overlength vehicle or load. 
When escorts are required, a yellow sign should be placed on the front of the escort vehicle (for front 
escorts) or the rear of the escorts (for rear escorts). The sign shall read “OVERSIZE LOAD” and be five 
feet wide by 12 inches high with ten-inch black letters with 1.5 inch brush stroke. The rear sign must not 
obscure the rear signals or lighting system. The wording “WIDE LOAD” is not an acceptable alternative. 

 
18-inch square red flags are to be placed on all corners of an oversized vehicle or combination of 
vehicles and loads. 

 
For mobile homes, the approved lighting system includes two rotating or strobe amber lights that are 
visible 360˚ placed at the rear corners of the mobile home. The lighting system should be controlled 
from inside the tractor cab with a warning device to alert the driver in the event of the malfunction. 
Two-way communication is required at all times with all units of the convoy. 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 


