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TO BE USED ON YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE!*TO BE USED ON YOUR NEXT ADVENTURE!*

WITH NEW HOME PURCHASE 

ClaytonTN.com

800-344-1732

Enjoy Life In Your New Home!Enjoy Life In Your New Home!

7 8 0 6 7 2 3 1 8 8 6 3

BRING IN THIS COUPON FOR 

*$1000 gift card offer available only at 
participating Clayton Homes retailers and only 
available with the purchase of a new home.  
Retail purchase agreement for a new home 

must be signed, during  July, 21 2015 through July, 21 2016 to be eligible for offer. Offer not available with 
USDA/FHA/VA financing.  Promotion only available at the  Clayton Homes retailer where the new home was 
purchased.  Allow 4-6 weeks after the home purchase has been completed and all conditions of the sale are 
satisfied to receive the gift card.  Gift card will be a VISA® prepaid debit card, will be delivered to recipient either 
in person or by mail and will be issued in the name of the primary buyer listed on the home purchase agreement. 
Offer cannot be transferred and cannot be combined with any other offers. Limit one (1) gift card per new home 
purchase.  VISA debit card is subject to all terms and conditions sets forth on the card, including the expiration 
date, and also to all terms and conditions set forth in the issuer’s Cardholder  Agreement. VISA debit cards are 
issued by MetaBank® pursuant to a license from VISA U.S.A. Void where prohibited by law. 
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Monroe County
HOME TO A NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED  
Wild Trout Stream
Nationally recognized as a premier trout stream, the 
Tellico River in Monroe County, Tennessee, is a freestone 
stream located within the heart of The Cherokee National 
Forest. Its headwaters begin in North Carolina and flow 
for almost twenty miles to Tellico Plains.

RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR FISHING AREA
There’s a daily Tellico/Citico permit required to fish the 
Tellico River. It’s required in addition to your Tennessee 
fishing license.

HINTS AND TIPS FOR FISHING THIS AREA
The Tellico River provides year round fishing with a 
Delayed Harvest Season in the fall.

225 Cherohala Skyway | Tellico Plains, TN 37385 | Open 7 Days A Week, 9am–5pm
800.245.5428 | 423.442.9147 | info@monroecounty.com 

Department of Tourism 
www.cherohala.org | www.monroecounty.com
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This guide is designed and produced by The Bingham Group: 11921 Kingston Pike, Suite 201, Knoxville, TN 37934, www.binghamgroup.com
For inquiries regarding advertisement in this publication, call (865) 523-5999.

Hunting and fishing license sales and federal excise taxes comprise more than 90 percent of the TWRA’s hunting and fishing operating revenues. Thank you for buying a hunting and fishing 
license. Without your support, Tennessee would not have fish and wildlife management programs.

The publication is not a legal document. It is a summary of Tennessee’s fishing regulations. More detailed information on  fishing is available from all TWRA offices.

Equal opportunity to participate in and benefit from programs of the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency is available to all persons without regard to their race, color, national origin, sex, age, 
disability, or military service. TWRA is also an equal opportunity/equal access employer. Questions should be directed to TWRA, Human Resources Office, P.O. Box 4747, Nashville, TN 37204, (615) 
781-6594 (TDD 781-6691), or to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Office for Human Resources, 4401 N. Fairfax Dr., Arlington, VA 22203.

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency Authorization No. 328686, 450,000 copies, January 2016. 

This public document was promulgated at a cost of $.02 per copy.

Printing of the Fishing Guide is provided by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Foundation in partnership with TWRA.

About this Guide
This high-quality regulation guide 
is offered to you by the Tennessee 
Wildlife Resources Agency through 
its unique partnership with The 
Bingham Group.

The revenue generated through ad 
sales significantly lowers production 
costs and generates savings. These 
savings translate into additional 
funds for other important fisheries 
and habitat programs. Promotional 
advertisement does not constitute 
endorsement by TWRA.

If you have any feedback or are 
interested in advertising, please 
contact us: 
ph: (865) 523-5999 
web: www.binghamgroup.com 
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Free Fishing Day! 
See page 15

Please scan with your 
mobile device for fishing 
season dates and limits. 
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POPPING 
FROG

www.lunkerhunt.com
For More Information Visit

The Lunkerhunt Popping Frog™ calls fish in 
by creating a surface disturbance. Its 
concave face catches water, causing 
popping and spitting noises. The Popping 
Frog generates tons of action with minimal 
movement. They can be worked along 
edges, through grass, in pockets and on edges, through grass, in pockets and on 
open water. 

Guide License
A guide license is now required for those individuals or businesses that accept 
compensation for providing assistance to another in any act of hunting, fishing, 
or trapping.  The guides and their customers are also required to possess all 
other required licenses and permits.

Region I: 
•	 Pin Oak Lake (Natchez-Trace State Park): Black Bass – 12-16 inch 

protected length range (slot limit), creel limit of 10 bass per day.
Beech River Watershed Lakes
•	 Pine Lake: Largemouth bass – Creel limit of 10 bass per day.
•	 Dogwood and Redbud lakes: Largemouth bass – 12-16 inch protected 

length range (slot limit), creel limit of 10 bass per day.

Region II:
•	 Elk River and its tributaries from Tims Ford Dam downstream to I-65 

Bridge: Brown Trout – 20 inch minimum length limit, one Brown Trout 
per day. Creel limit of 7 trout per day (all species in combination).

•	 Campbell Lake (Maury County): Grass carp may not be harvested.

Region III:
•	 Cordell Hull Reservoir: Largemouth bass – 15 inch minimum length 

limit, creel limit of 5 per day in combination with other bass species.
•	 Parksville Reservoir: Largemouth bass  – 15 inch minimum length limit, 

creel limit of 5 per day in combination with smallmouth bass. 
•	 Watts Bar Reservoir: Paddlefish – Creel limit of one per day.

Region IV
•	 Douglas Reservoir: upstream boundaries on Pigeon and French Broad 

rivers extended to Hwy 321 bridges in vicinity of Newport. 
   October 16-May 31: 15-inch minimum length limit for smallmouth bass    	
   with a creel limit of 5/day in combination with other bass species. 
   June 1-October 15: 18-inch minimum length limit for smallmouth bass.  	
   Only one smallmouth bass may be harvested as part of 5/day bass creel limit. 

•	 Cherokee Reservoir 
   October 16-May 31: 15-inch minimum length limit for smallmouth bass 	
   with a creel limit of 5/day in combination with largemouth bass. 
   June 1-October 15: 18-inch minimum length limit for smallmouth bass.  	
   Only one smallmouth bass may be harvested as part of a 5/day creel limit 	
   in combination with largemouth bass. 

•	 French Broad River between Hwy 168 Bridge and Douglas Dam: 
Smallmouth Bass – 18-inch minimum length limit, up to 5 smallmouth 
bass may be harvested in combination with other bass species.

•	 Chilhowee Reservoir: Reservoir has been closed to all access while the lake 
is drawn down for repairs.

•	 Crayfish Restrictions: Crayfish harvested for food from the French Broad, 
Holston, and Clinch rivers and their tributaries shall not be possessed 
alive away from the waterbody from which they were harvested.  Crayfish 
harvested for bait in these watersheds may be used as live bait, but may not 
be moved from the waterbody of capture. 

WHAT’S NEW FOR 2016-2017
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Resident Licenses
Resident licenses can be purchased by:
•	 Persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license, or Tennessee state ID issued by the 

Department of Safety. Tennessee state law requires drivers to obtain a Tennessee driver’s license 
within 30 days of residency. Out-of-state driver’s license only accepted for military personnel and 
students meeting the criteria below.

•	 Persons who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making 
Tennessee their permanent home. Proof of residency required.

•	 Military personnel on active duty in this state and their immediate families, who reside with them, 
regardless of resident status.

•	 Students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college, or university for at least six months, 
with student ID.

Ages 12 and under, no license required. Permits may be required.
NOTE: A Social Security Number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license. 

Annual Hunting and Fishing Combination (Type 001) ages 16–64 $34

   Minimum license required to fish and/or hunt small game. 

Junior Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 002) ages 13–15 $10

   Required for hunting all game, fishing, and trapping. Must be purchased prior to 16th birthday. No 
   supplemental licenses are required, but applicable permits are required. 

One‑Day Fishing (Type 021) no trout; ages 13–64 $6.50

One-Day Fishing All Fish ( Type 023) includes trout; ages 16–64 $11.50

Annual Trout (Type 022) ages 16–64 $22

   Type 022 is a supplemental license required to fish for trout in addition to Type 001, 020, or 021. 

Annual Sportsman (Type 004) ages 16-64 $166

   An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state  
   supplemental licenses or permits. Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents. 

Annual Hunt/Fish Disabled Under Age 18 (Type 168) $5

   Available by application only. 

County of Residence Fishing (Type 020) ages 13 and over $11

   This license allows an angler to fish in his/her county of residence with natural bait (worms, crickets,  
   cut bait, corn, etc.), but not minnows. No artificial lures can be used. A supplemental license (Type                	
   022) is required to fish for trout. 

South Holston Reservoir (Type 063) ages 13 and over $21

   This additional license allows licensed TN resident anglers to fish the VA portion of South Holston  
   Reservoir. This is essentially a VA license sold by TWRA, therefore all license holders, including the  
   sportsman’s license types, would need to purchase this additional license if fishing in VA. 

Permanent Senior Citizen Hunt/Fish/Trap (Type 166) ages 65 and over $50

   Available from any license agent for a one-time fee, and valid as long as holder remains a resident  
   of Tennessee. This is not a Lifetime Sportsman License. Additional permits may be required. Can  
   only be purchased when 65th birthday is reached. A valid Tennessee driver’s license or proof of 
   age and residency is required. A trout license is not required. 

Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman (Type 167) ages 65 and over $50

   An all-inclusive license valid for hunting, trapping, and sport fishing without any state  
   supplemental licenses or permits. Sportsman licenses can be purchased from all license agents.

Lifetime Sportsman age determines the cost

   An all-inclusive lifetime license valid for hunting, trapping and sport fishing without any Tennessee  
   supplemental licenses or permits. Allows holders to apply for quota permits at no additional fee. 
   Applications are available at your local TWRA office and tnwildlife.org. Applications may only be 
   submitted by mail, Fax (615-837-4262) or TWRA offices. 

Type 401 (Under 3 years) $200

Type 406 (Ages 3–6) $659

Type 402 (Ages 7–12) $988

Type 403 (Ages 13–50)  $1,976

Type 404 (Ages 51–64) $1,153

Type 405 (Ages 65 & over)  $329

Hunting and fishing license sales and 
federal excise taxes comprise more than 
90 percent of the TWRA’s operating funds. 
Thank you for buying a hunting and 
fishing license. Without you, Tennessee 
would not have the abundance of fish  
and wildlife that we all enjoy.

 Fishing licenses go on sale February 18 each year 
and are valid through the last day of February 
of the following year. Most license types may 
be purchased at License Agents located at some 
County Clerk offices, sporting good stores, 
hardware stores and boat docks. All licenses can 
be purchased at TWRA regional offices. Also, 
many licenses can be purchased remotely using 
four methods:

Online: Log on to www.tnwildlife.org and click 
on the link, “Buy a license online.” Regular license 
fees plus a processing fee will be charged to your 
credit card. Processing fee is $3.00 if you print it, 
or $4.25 if it is mailed to you.

Mobile App: Visit gotwra.org to download the 
free app. It can be used to purchase most license 
types. Processing fee is $3.00. No license will  
be mailed. 

By phone: Call 1-888-814-8972. An authorization 
number will allow you to begin fishing or 
hunting the minute you hang up. Regular license 
fees plus a processing fee will be charged to your 
credit card. Processing fee is $6.25, or $7.50 if 
license needs to be mailed to you.  
Hours: Mon – Sat ; Mar – Nov, 6 a.m.– 8 p.m.;  
Dec – Feb, 9 a.m.–3 p.m.

U.S. Mail: Send your name, address (including 
zip code), social security number, date of birth, 
physical features (height, weight, eye and hair 
color), and enclose the correct fee to:  
TWRA Sales Office, P.O. Box 41729, Nashville, 
TN 37204-1729.

All license and permit fees are subject to 
change.

All expire at midnight of last effective date.

Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park
A valid fishing license obtained from the state 
of Tennessee or the state of North Carolina is 
required and honored throughout the park for 
all persons 13 years of age and older. A Tennessee 
trout license is not required. The National Park 
Service sets fishing regulations within the park. 
For detailed fishing information, contact:

Park Headquarters 
Gatlinburg, TN 37738 
(865) 436‑1200

Misplace Your License?
If you misplace your fishing license, go to 
any license agent and ask for a duplicate 
license. 

There is a $7.00 replacement fee ($6.00 
goes to the TWRA; $1.00 to the agent). 

LICENSE INFORMATION
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Nonresident Licenses
   Ages 12 and under, no license required.

Junior Hunt/Fish (Type 070)  
(Required for nonresidents age 13–15 fishing and small game only.) 

$11

Three‑Day Fishing (Type 077)—no trout $20.50

Ten‑Day Fishing (Type 079)—no trout $30.50

Annual Fishing (Type 076)—no trout $50

Three‑Day All Fish (Type 078)—includes trout $40.50

Ten‑Day All Fish (Type 080)—includes trout $61.50

Annual All Fish (Type 081)—includes trout $99
 

Special Permits (Resident and Nonresident)
   If you purchase one of the following special permits, you must also have all applicable licenses. 
   Holders of Annual Sportsman’s License (Type 004), Lifetime Sportsman’s License (Types 401–406) 
   or Annual Senior Citizen Sportsman (Type 167) do not need to purchase permits below 

Reelfoot Lake Permit is required for all users except: those under 16 years of age; residents 65 
years or older.
   Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Annual (Type 089) $17

   Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Three‑Day (Type 088)     $10.50

   Reelfoot Preservation Permit—Daily (Type 090) $3.50
Tellico-Citico Permit is required seasonally to fish Tellico River, Citico Creek and year-round on 
Green Cove Pond. See page 32 for details.
   Tellico‑Citico Trout—Daily (Type 098); Required for all ages. See page 32. $6.50

Agency Lake Permits are required to fish Agency Fishing Lakes (pages 24-25), except those under 
16 years of age and residents 65 years or older.
   Agency Lake—Daily Permit (Type 191) 
   Valid on all Agency lakes, this permit is sold at Agency Lake offices. $6

   Agency Lake—Annual Permit (Type 193) 
   Valid on all Agency lakes, this permit is sold at Agency Lake offices &  
   TWRA Nashville office. 

$48

   Bedford Lake—Daily Permit (Type 65) 
   Available at nearby license agents only.  $6.50

Gatlinburg Trout Fishing – For information on fishing in the Gatlinburg area, contact the Gatlinburg 
Chamber of Commerce, 1‑800‑568‑4748 or the Gatlinburg trout facility at 865-436-4558.
   Gatlinburg Three‑Day Trout Permit (Type 096) 
   Required for both residents and nonresident ages 13–64 in addition to the 
   appropriate fishing licenses except for those who purchase the (Type 097) permit.

$9.50

   Gatlinburg One‑Day Trout Permit (Type 097) 
   Only requirement for residents and nonresidents ages 13 and up to fish in 
   Gatlinburg for one day.

$11.50

   Gatlinburg Trout—Daily (Type 099) 
   Required for both residents and nonresident ages 13–64 in addition to the  
   appropriate fishing licenses except for those who purchase the (Type 097) permit.

$3.50
 

Resident Permanent Licenses
  The following licenses are available only by application from the TWRA Sales Office located in  
  Nashville. Applications are available at regional offices and online. A doctor’s statement will be 
  required as defined on the application. Licenses are available for a one-time fee and are valid  
  as long as holder remains a resident of Tennessee. They are not Lifetime Sportsman Licenses 
  Additional permits may be required. A trout license is not required. 

Sport Fishing License for the Blind (Type 197) $10

Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing (Type 189) $10
  Application must be accompanied by a doctor’s statement stating that the applicant is permanently  
  confined to a wheelchair. 

DAV Hunting and Fishing (Type 198) $10
  Available to resident veterans certified by the VA as 30 percent disabled by reason of war service or 
  100% service connected.

Intellectual Disability (Type 199)—fishing only $10

  Must be receiving SSI Benefits due to intellectual disability. 

Intellectual Disability Hunting and Fishing (Type 169) $10

Must be receiving SSI Benefits due to intellectual disability.

Who must have a  
Tennessee license?
If you take, or attempt to take fish (including 
crayfish) by any method or if you assist someone 
else to do so, you must have a valid fishing 
license. There are some exceptions:
•	 If you are under 13 years of age (resident or 

nonresident).
•	 Landowners, their spouses and children, who 

fish on their farm land which is owned by 
an individual or a family. Landowners, their 
spouses and children must be residents of 
Tennessee but need not reside on the land.

•	 Tenants, their spouses and dependent 
children who fish on farm land owned by an 
individual or a family. Tenants, their spouses 
and dependent children must be residents of 
Tennessee and must actually reside on the 
land and have permission of the landowner 
to fish. A tenant is a person who, for money, 
free rent, or other consideration, cares for 
farmland. The tenancy must be agricultural 
in nature.

•	 Resident grandchildren (under 16) and 
resident great-grandchildren (under 16) who 
fish on farm land which is owned by their 
resident grandparents or great-grandparents.

•	 First cousins who own farmland jointly or 
in common may fish on the farmland. Their 
children may fish as well.

•	 You are on military leave, carrying a copy of 
your leave orders. A pass does not meet this 
requirement.

•	 You are a resident who was born before  
March 1, 1926. (To qualify for this exemption, 
you must carry proof of your age and 
residency to show to a wildlife officer, if 
requested.)

•	 It’s Free Fishing Day! This year it falls on June 
11 (see page 15).

•	 It’s Free Fishing Week! All children, ages 15 
and younger, can fish free between June 11–17 
inclusive (see page 15).

NOTE: Giving false information to obtain a 
license is a misdemeanor punishable by fine and 
loss of license. Licenses are not transferable.

Guide License
   This license is required for anyone who  
   accepts compensation for providing  
   assistance to another in any act of hunting,  
   fishing, and/or trapping. These license may  
   be purchased at any license agent.  

   Residential Guide License  
   (Type 450) $151

   Non-Residential Guide License  
   (Type 455) $651
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STATEWIDE LIMITS & REGULATIONS
Statewide Creel and Length Limits
The following are the creel and size limits that apply statewide. Several waters have exceptions to  
these limits. Refer to the pages listed in red at the bottom of this page to see exceptions to the statewide 
regulations. If you are fishing a location that does not have exceptions listed in this guide, then the 
statewide limits apply.

Species Creel Limit Minimum  
Length Limit

Black Bass 
(includes Largemouth, Smallmouth, 
Spotted, Alabama and Coosa)

5  
No more than 5 black bass per 
day in any combination may 

be taken

none

Crappie (all species combined) 15 10 inches

Region I Crappie Exception: unless 
otherwise noted for specific waters 30 none

Rock Bass or Redeye and  
Shadow Bass (all species combined) 20 none

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped 
Bass (any combination) 2 15 inches

White Bass 15 none

Muskellunge 1 36 inches

Sauger or Sauger/Walleye hybrids 10 15 inches

Walleye 5 16 inches

Trout (all trout species combined) 7 none

Lake Trout Only 2 trout may be lake trout none

Redear Sunfish or Shellcracker 20 none

Yellow Bass, Bluegill, Warmouth, 
Bream, Bullheads, Pickerel, 
Northern Pike, Yellow Perch,      
nongame species

no limit none

Skipjack Herring 100 none

Alligator Gar: No harvest allowed. Must be returned to water immediately.

Catfish: Only one catfish over 34 inches may be harvested per day. No harvest limit on catfish 
less than 34 inches.

Paddlefish: Paddlefish may be harvested from April 24 through May 31. Daily creel limit is 2 fish 
per day with no size limit. Culling is prohibited. For exceptions on Center Hill, Cherokee, and 
Watts Bar reservoirs, see pages 17 and 19.

Sturgeon (Shovelnose, Pallid, Lake, and Hybrids): No harvest allowed. Must be returned to 
water immediately.

EXCEPTIONS TO THE STATEWIDE LIMITS and OTHER REGULATIONS:

Reservoirs	 pages 16–21

TWRA Fishing Lakes		  pages 24–25

Small Impoundments		 page 26

State Park Lakes			  page 26

Streams and Rivers	 pages 28–29

Trout Fisheries		  pages 30–33

Measuring a Fish’s Length
Lay the fish on a flat ruler, close the mouth, and squeeze the 
lobes of the tail fin to produce the maximum length. The 
mouth of the fish may not be manipulated or extended.

When hiking, fishing, camping, etc., your 
presence in nature leaves an impact 
on our natural resources. A group of 
concerned citizens in East Tennessee are 
working to minimize the impact on their 
greatest natural resource, Norris Lake.

The member-driven Leave No Trace 
Center for Outdoor Ethics teaches 
people of all ages how to enjoy the 
outdoors responsibly, and is the most 
widely accepted outdoor ethics program 
used in public lands. Through relevant 
and targeted education, research 
and outreach, the Center ensures the 
longterm health of our natural world. 
Leave No Trace is about making good 
decisions to protect the world around 
you, the world we all enjoy.

The Leave No Trace Center has  
identified seven principles:

Plan Ahead and Prepare
Travel and Camp on Durable Surfaces
Dispose of Waste Properly
Leave what you find
Minimize Campfire Impacts
Respect Wildlife
Be Considerate of Other Visitors

For more info about the  
Leave No Trace Principle: 
ph: 800-332-4100 
web: www.LNT.org 
 
For more info about the Norris Lake 
Stakeholders, their cleanup and other 
current projects: 
 ph: 800-524-3602 
web: www.lakenorris.org
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TWRA’s goal is to manage each species of fish 
with statewide creel and length limits where 
possible. However, many waters, because of their 
unique characteristics, require individual creel 
and length limits. These regulations improve 
fishing for all anglers.

Minimum Length Limits restrict the harvest 
of fish below a specified minimum length. For 
example, a 15-inch minimum length limit allows 
the angler to keep fish 15 inches or greater. Fish 
less than 15 inches cannot be harvested. 

Slot Limits or Protected Length Ranges (PLRs) 
allow anglers to harvest fish above and below a 
specified length range. For example, a 14–18" PLR 
protects fish in the 14- to 18-inch length group. 
Anglers may harvest fish that measure less than 
14 inches and they may harvest fish that measure 
over 18 inches. For a protected length range to 
be effective, anglers must harvest fish below the 
protected range.

Possession Limits: The total possession limit is 
twice the daily creel limit. You may not have more 
than the daily creel limit with you while afield. It 
is unlawful to have, while afield, any fish which 
has been altered so that its species and/or total 
body length cannot be determined.

Pole or Rod Limit: There is no limit on the 
number of poles, except at Center Hill and Dale 
Hollow Reservoirs (pages 17 and 18).

Banned In Tennessee
It is unlawful to possess or transport live 
specimens of the following animals:

•	 Silver Carp 
(Hypophthalmichthys molitrix)

•	 Bighead Carp 
(Hypophthalmichthys nobilis)

•	 Black Carp 
(Hypophthalmichthys piceus)

•	 Blueback Herring 
(Alosa aestivalis)

•	 New Zealand Mud Snail 
(Potamopyrgus antipodarum)

•	 Round Goby 
(Neogobius melanostomus)

•	 Rudd 
(Scardinius erythrophthalmus)

•	 Ruffe 
(Gymnocephalus cernua)

•	 Snakeheads 
(all members of the Family Channidae)

•	 Swamp eels 
(all members of the Family Synbranchidae)

•	 Zebra Mussel 
(Dreissena polymorpha)

Statewide Hook Restriction
Unless otherwise restricted in this proclamation, 
anglers are restricted to a maximum of 3 hooks 
per rod, pole or hand-held line. Single, double 
or treble hooks each count as one hook. The 
statewide hook restriction does not apply when 
using a sabiki rig (also known as piscatore rig) to 
take shad or herring. A sabiki rig is a set of small 
lures attached to a single line typically used to 
catch baitfish. 

Example of a legal multi-arm 
array with three hooks.

NASHVILLE’S OLDEST FORD DEALER
1319 Foster Avenue, Nashville, TN 37210

800-476-5184 or 615-259-2050

Offering the 
full line of 
Crossovers, 
SUVs, Vans 
and F-Series.

Serving 
Tennessee like 
no one else. 

Please visit our website for more information 

www.midtennfordtrucks.com

MID-TENN FORD
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Silver carp pose a serious risk to boat operators and the resource. This 
photo was taken in 2015 below Barkley Dam (KY).

Photo Credit Ben Corda/TTU Photo Services. 
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Invasive species continue to threaten fisheries in Tennessee.  Last year 
was a particularly concerning year as we received reports of unwanted 
species in new locations.  We want anglers to be aware of these species 
for their own safety and help in preventing their spread.

There was a successful spawn of silver carp in 2015 and these fish are 
expected to be abundant in Kentucky and Barkley lakes.  They may 
become more abundant upstream depending on how many swim 
through the locks over time.  This 2015 cohort will grow quickly, reaching 
20 inches or more by the end of 2016.  Always use extreme care when 
moving shad for bait, making sure you are not moving young carp.  Silver 
carp are known to jump near boats, so use caution while boating in carp 
infested waters.  There is no sure way to prevent getting hit by jumping 
carp, but it is definitely safer to go slow and avoid shallow areas where 
carp are most prone to jump.   

Zebra mussels have become locally abundant on Tennessee lakes, and 
they are now flourishing at Norris and Melton Hill lakes. They were 
discovered in Cherokee Lake in 2014. These mussels reduce the amount of 
food available for sport fish and they will foul submerged structures like 
intake pipes and houseboats.  Always inspect, clean, and drain your boat 
and trailer to prevent movement of zebra mussels.

Alabama bass have become abundant in Parksville Lake.  The largemouth 
bass population has collapsed in the lake due to competition from Alabama 
bass.  To protect other largemouth bass fisheries across Tennessee do not 
move any live bass from Parksville Lake.  

Last year the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission documented 
whirling disease and gill lice in a few North Carolina trout streams.  Whirling 
disease kills young rainbow and brook trout, and the spores that cause 
the disease can easily be carried from stream to stream on wading gear.  
To date we have not documented whirling disease in TN, but this close 
call serves as a reminder that all trout anglers should be cleaning their 
boots and fishing gear between fishing trips, especially those to new or 
out-of-sate waters.

What can you do to stop the spread of  
unwanted species?
Only use the approved Class A or B bait fish when hauling bait over the 
road. See pages 38 and 39 of this guide.  Be especially careful not to 
move young Asian Carp which can look like shad.  

Do not stock fish. Discard unused baitfish on shore away from the water.   
Always inspect, clean, and drain your boat between fishing trips to new 
waters.  Invasive plants and zebra mussel larvae can easily be transported 
to new waters while attached to a boat or trailer, or in bilge water.  Always 
inspect and clean wading boots between trips. 

UNWANTED SPECIES  
On The Move

Boat hull encrusted with zebra mussels on Norris Lake.

An example of gill lice on wild trout.

Rhea County High School Bass Fishing Team gets certified to inspect 
boats  for nuisance species.
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By restoring streamside habitat to trees, shrubs and native 
grasses, you stabilize the streambank, reduce soil erosion and 
cool the water temperature by shading the stream. The result? 
An improved stream that better supports fish and other 
aquatic life.

In many cases the U.S. Department of Agriculture will pay  
for stream and streamside habitat restoration. Contact a local 
TWRA Private Lands Biologist:
West Tenn: Chris Hunter - (731) 668-0700 ext. 104
Middle Tenn: Clint Borum - (615) 893-9295 ext. 111
Plateau Region: Michael McCord - (931) 528-6472 ext. 110
East Tenn: temporarily vacant

www.TWRAprivatelands.org

Want BETTER FISHING in YOUR STREAM?
Go Mobile with 

TWRA On The Go!
•	 Buy Your License
•	 Fishing Reports
•	 Renew Boat Registration
•	 Stocking Schedules
•	 Locate a WMA
•	 Find Boat Ramps
•	 Check in Big Game
•	 Watchable Wildlife

Get the app!

BeforeBefore AfterAfter

Want BETTER FISHING in YOUR STREAM?
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Saturday, June 11 is Free Fishing Day in Tennessee and anyone (resident or nonresident) of any age may fish free without a license 
in Tennessee’s public waters! Even better, if you are 15 years old or younger, you may fish free the entire week, beginning on Free 
Fishing Day, June 11, and running through the following Friday, June 17.

This day and week are annual events in Tennessee and are great opportunities to introduce children to the joys and excitement of a 
day on the water catching fish! Not only is fishing a great family activity, it helps make us more aware of our natural environment.

Finding a place to fish is easier than ever. Starting in late spring, all you need to do is go to www.tnwildlife.org to view the 2016 
Kid’s Fishing Events. There you will find a variety of activities planned across the state with details as to event locations and times. 
You can also contact your regional TWRA office to find out what’s going on in your area or let them know you are interested in 
sponsoring or volunteering to help with an event. Anglers and would-be anglers should check the events list often since more 
fishing rodeos are frequently added. Whatever you do, don’t miss the fun!

Free Fishing Day and Week apply to Tennessee’s public waters, Agency owned and operated lakes, and state park facilities. Some 
privately owned pay lakes continue to charge during this special day and week. Please consult with lake operators if you have any 
questions about the status of a particular facility.

FREE Fishing Day
June 11, 2016

FREE Fishing Week
June 11-17, 2016

I-75 to “top of Tennessee” 
First 7 exits south of KY 

Norris Lake & 
Royal Blue Trail 

Adventure 
campbellcountychamber.com 

(423) 566-0329 
 

For area information
www.dalehollowlake.org

Whether it be big game or small, by rifle or arrow,  
Clay County, Tennessee offers a veritable treasure  
of prime public and private hunting lands. The county 
hosts a significant portion of the Army Corps of 
Engineer’s Dale Hollow Lake complex, which opens 
most of its public land to hunting. This is complemented 
by numerous private farms and other grounds that 
permit hunting. 

424 Brown Street | Celina, TN 38551 | (931) 243-3338
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RESERVOIR REGULATIONS
Full pool elevation is the reservoir/stream 
boundary for harvest restrictions unless 
otherwise noted.

Statewide regulations apply for any species not 
mentioned under each listed reservoir section.

REGION I
Barkley
Includes the following dewatering areas—Barkley 
Unit 1 (also known as Dover Bottoms) and  
Bear Creek WMA. The dewatering areas are 
closed to fishing 5 days prior to and during the 
waterfowl season.

Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination. 

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Kentucky Lake
Includes the following dewatering areas—West 
Sandy, Big Sandy, Gin Creek, Camden Bottoms, 
Duck River Bottoms, Busseltown, Perryville, 
and Gumdale. The dewatering areas are closed 
to fishing 5 days prior to and during the late 
waterfowl season.

Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

REGION II
Barkley Lake
See Region 1, this page.

Cheatham
Includes Stones River up to J. Percy Priest Dam.

Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Cordell Hull
See page 18.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit—this includes all 
dewatering areas.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Pickwick
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
9-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Reelfoot
Preservation Permit required for lake users except 
those under 16 years of age and residents 65 years 
or older. The use of gasoline powered boats is 
prohibited in TWRA posted areas Apr 1 - May 31.

Largemouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per day in 
combination 

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
no length limit.
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Normandy
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Old Hickory
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit. 

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Percy Priest
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length 
limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

REGION III
Center Hill
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum length 
limit.

Paddlefish: reservoir and its tributaries are closed 
to taking or possessing paddlefish.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS: 
Jan 1 - Apr 30: on Caney Fork River from Rock 
Island State Park boat ramp upstream to Great 
Falls Dam, anglers are restricted to the use of 
one hook having a single point, or one lure with a 
single hook with one point. No more than three 
rods and reels or poles per angler may be used.

Chickamauga
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted/Alabama 
Bass: 5 per day in combination, only one may be a 
smallmouth bass.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 1 per day, 18-inch minimum 
length limit.

Spotted/Alabama Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Tims Ford
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Woods

Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth/Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length 
limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.
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Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Cordell Hull
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no minimum length.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination.

Striped Bass: 32- to 42-inch PLR. Only one fish 
may be over 42 inches.

Hybrid Striped Bass: 15-inch minimum length. 
limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

16-inch minimum length limit. Only one walleye 
over 20 inches may be harvested. No more than 3 
rods and reels or poles per angler may be used.

Great Falls
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum length 
limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Guntersville
Largemouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per day in 
combination, no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 1 per day, 18-inch minimum 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day in combination,  
9-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length 
limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Dale Hollow
All Species: 3 pole limit per angler from boat and 
6 pole limit per angler from bank may be used.

Largemouth/Spotted/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per 
day in combination, only two may be smallmouth 
bass.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 2 per day, 16- to 21-inch PLR. 
One fish may be under 16 inches and one may be 
over 21 inches. Includes Wolf River upstream to 
South Ford Road bridge.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length 
limit. See special restrictions below.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum length 
limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS: 
Jan 1 - Apr 15: on the east fork of the Obey from 
Compton boat ramp upstream to Hwy. 52 bridge, 
anglers are restricted to the use of one hook 
having a single point, or one lure with a single 
hook with one point. Walleye creel limit 5 per day, 

RESERVOIR REGULATIONS

ARE YOU A BASS TOURNAMENT ANGLER?
What is the average size bass weighed in 
for tournaments?

How many hours does it take tournament 
anglers to catch a 5 pound bass?

What lake in Tennessee has the highest 
bass catch rate for tournament anglers?

How many bass does the average  
tournament angler catch?

If you would like to know the answers to 
these questions and more, have your bass 
club join the TWRA B.I.T.E. program!

B.I.T.E. Program 
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 
Fisheries Management Division 
P.O. Box 40747 
Nashville, TN 37204

(615) 781-6575 or www.tnwildlife.org

Water Release Schedules 
For Dams

Water release schedules of TVA and U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers dams and observed lake 
elevations of TVA impoundments can be 
found at 1-800-238-2264 or  
www.tva.com/environment/lake-levels

For lake information on US Army Corps of 
Engineers impoundments, call:

J. Percy Priest Lake....................... 
Old Hickory Lake.......................... 
Cordell Hull Lake.......................... 
Center Hill Lake............................. 
Dale Hollow Lake......................... 
Lake Barkley................................... 
Cheatham Lake.............................

www.orn.usace.army.mil

615‑883‑2351 
615‑824‑7766 
615‑735‑1050 
931‑858‑4366 
931‑243‑3408 
270‑362‑8430 
615‑883‑2351
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Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 
Apr 1 - Oct 31: 2 per day in combination.  
Nov 1 - Mar 31: 2 per day in combination, only 
one may be a striped bass.

Striped Bass: 
Apr 1 - Oct 31: 15-inch minimum length limit. 
Nov 1 - Mar 31: 36-inch minimum length limit.

Hybrid Striped Bass: 15-inch minimum length 
limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 1 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 36-inch minimum length 
limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

REGION IV
Boone
Reservoir defined as from dam upstream to 
Hwy. 37 Bridge at Bluff City on South Fork 
Holston arm and upstream to new Austin Springs 
Bridge on Watauga arm.

Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass:  
Apr 1 - Oct 31: 2 per day in combination.  
Nov 1 - Mar 31: 2 per day in combination, only 
one may be a striped bass.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Nickajack
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination, only one may be smallmouth bass.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 1 per day, 18-inch minimum 
length limit.

Spotted Bass: From Chickamauga Dam 
downstream to mouth of South Chickamauga 
Creek 15 per day, no length limit. Rest of reservoir: 
5 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Parksville
Largemouth/Smallmouth: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length 
limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length 
limit.

Spotted/Alabama Bass: no creel or length limits.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Watts Bar
Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Striped Bass:  
Apr 1 - Oct 31: 15-inch minimum length limit. 
Nov 1 - Mar 31: 36-inch minimum length limit.

Hybrid Striped Bass: 15-inch minimum length 
limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Calderwood
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Cherokee
Restrictions extend from Cherokee Dam 
upstream to John Sevier Dam.

Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination, limit of one smallmouth bass Jun 1 
through Oct 15.

Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass:  
Jun 1 - Oct 15: 1 per day, 18-inch minimum length 
limit.  
Oct 16 - May 31: 5 per day, 15-inch minimum 
length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): No harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Walleye, Sauger, and Saugeye: 10 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Paddlefish: 1 per day. Season is open from  
Apr 1-15. Culling is prohibited.
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Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS:  
A closed fishing zone will be in effect from Jul 15 
through Sept 15. This zone is enclosed by lines 
from the boat ramp at the south end of the dam 
across the lake to Point 2, from Point 2 to Point 
3, and from Point 3 back across the lake to the 
TWRA boat ramp at the north end of the dam. 
All bank fishing will be open and the coves along 
the southeast shoreline will be open to boat 
fishing, but no fishing for any species will be 
allowed by boat in the described zone from Jul 15 
through Sept 15.

Chilhowee (closed to fishing until 
otherwise posted)
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length 
limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit, only two may be 
lake trout.

Douglas
Restrictions extend from Douglas Dam upstream 
to the ENKA Dam on the Nolichucky River, Hwy 
321 Bridge in Newport on Pigeon River, and Hwy 
321 Bridge on French Broad River. Restrictions 
on Walleye and Sauger also include Pigeon and 
French Broad Rivers upstream to NC state line.

Largemouth/Smallmouth/Spotted Bass: 5 per 
day in combination, limit of one smallmouth bass 
Jun 1 through Oct 15.

Largemouth Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 
Jun 1 - Oct 15: 1 per day, 18-inch minimum 
length limit. 

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 18-inch minimum length 
limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

John Sevier
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 13- to 17- inch protected 
length range, only one Smallmouth bass over 17 
inches per day.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Melton Hill
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no minimum length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, including Clinch River upstream to 
Highway 61 bridge in Clinton.

Striped Bass: 32- to 42- inch PLR; only one fish 
may be over 42 inches.

Hybrid Striped Bass: 15-inch minimum length 
limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length limit.

Oct 16 - May 31: 5 per day, 15-inch minimum 
length limit.

Spotted Bass: no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Walleye/Sauger: 5 per day in combination.

Walleye: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Sauger: no minimum length limit but only one 
sauger may be over 16 inches per day.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 36-inch minimum length 
limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Ft. Loudoun
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Sauger: 10 per day, 15-inch minimum length 
limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 16-inch minimum length 
limit.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Ft. Patrick Henry
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

RESERVOIR REGULATIONS

DAM
BOAT RAMP

POINT 2

Cherokee 
Reservoir

POINT 3

CLOSED
JULY 15 - SEPT. 15

BOAT RAMP

 
 

CLOSED
Jul 15 - Sept 15
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Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum length 
limit. Muskellunge that are not intended to be 
harvested must be released immediately in a 
manner that promotes survival of the fish. Culling 
is not allowed.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Norris
Extends from the dam upstream to the Hwy. 25E 
bridge on the Clinch River arm and upstream to 
Gap Creek on the Powell River arm.

Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination, only one smallmouth bass Jun 1 
through Oct 15.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit. 

Smallmouth Bass: 
Jun 1 - Oct 15: 1 per day, 20-inch minimum 
length limit. 
Oct 16 - May 31: 5 per day, 18-inch minimum 
length limit.

Spotted Bass: no creel or length limit.

Crappie (all species): 10 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass: 
Apr 1 - Oct 31: 2 per day, 15-inch minimum 
length limit. 
Nov 1 - Mar 31: 1 per day, 36-inch minimum 
length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye/Sauger: 5 per day in combination, 
15-inch minimum length limit (upstream to 
Grissom Island on the Clinch River).

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Muskellunge: 1 per day, 36-inch minimum length 
limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: 30 per 
day, no length limit.

South Holston (TN & VA Rules)
•	 An additional South Holston Reservoir  

License (Type 063) is available for TN residents 
that want to fish Virginia portion  
of reservoir. See page 43.

•	 Restricted to 15 limb lines per angler.
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Walleye: 5 per day, 18-inch minimum length 
limit. Walleye run regulation from Jan 1 through 
Apr 30, anglers are restricted to the use of one 
hook having a single point or one lure having no 
more than one hook with a single point (artificial 
or bait) on the following waters: Elk River from 
the Hwy. 321 Bridge downstream to RM 3.0 (Pt. 
11) on the Elk River Arm of Watauga Reservoir, 
Doe Creek (Old Cabin Private Road downstream 
to Roan Creek), Roan Creek (Mountain Lake 
Estates Bridge downstream to Doe Creek), and 
Watauga River (NC line downstream to the end 
of Cowanstown Road).

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit, only two may 
be lake trout.

Largemouth Bass: no length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): 20 per day in combination. 
Only one fish over 34 inches in length may be 
harvested per day.

White Bass: No harvest allowed.

Walleye: 5 per day, 18-inch minimum length 
limit. Includes tributaries.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: 50 per day, no length limit.

Warmouth and other sunfishes: no creel or 
length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, only two may be lake trout.

Tellico
Restrictions extend upstream on Tellico River to 
Big Creek Boat Ramp.

Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 14-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10 inch minimum length limit.

Catfish (all species): no harvest limit for fish 
under 34 inches in length; only one fish over 34 
inches in length may be harvested per day.

Striped Bass or Hybrid Striped Bass: 2 per day in 
combination, 15-inch minimum length limit.

White Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Yellow Bass: no creel or length limit.

Walleye/Sauger: 10 per day in combination 
but no more than 5 may be walleye. 15-inch 
minimum length limit. One walleye may be 24 
inches or larger. Includes tributaries.

Paddlefish: 2 per day; season is open from  
Apr 24 - May 31. Culling is prohibited.

Rock Bass: 20 per day, no length limit.

Redear Sunfish: 20 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Warmouth and other sunfishes: no 
creel or length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Watauga
Largemouth/Smallmouth Bass: 5 per day in 
combination.

Largemouth Bass: 12-inch minimum length limit.

Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum length limit.

Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day in combination, 
10-inch minimum length limit.

HELP STOP POACHING
THE FOLLOWING TELEPHONE 

NUMBERS ARE FOR REPORTING  
GAME VIOLATIONS ONLY

CALL BETWEEN 7:00 A.M. & MIDNIGHT, 
SEVEN DAYS A WEEK

West Tennessee (Region I) 
1-800-831-1173

Middle Tennessee (Region II) 
1-800-255-8972

Cumberland Plateau (Region III) 
1-800-241-0767

East Tennessee (Region IV) 
1-800-831-1174

REPORT FISHING VIOLATIONS
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Required by Law
•	 Approved wearable flotation device for 

each person readily accessible
•	 Additional throwable flotation device on  

boats over 16 feet
•	 Persons 12 and under must wear PFD  

while underway
•	 Fire extinguisher if fuel tank or engine  

is enclosed
•	 Running lights after sunset or during  

restricted visibility
•	 State registration card on board
•	 Registration number and validation sticker 

displayed
•	 Do not operate a boat under the influence 

of alcohol or drugs
•	 Observe navigation rules
•	 Do not overload boat
•	 Sound signaling device

Other Items
•	 Do not occupy ramp until boat is ready to launch
•	 Notify others of your schedule
•	 Obtain weather forecasts
•	 Navigation charts
•	 Bail bucket
•	 Anchor and line
•	 Paddle and extra plug
•	 Secure boat to trailer after loading
•	 Trailer lights
•	 Reduce speed at night
•	 Check for gasoline fumes
•	 Motor kill switch
•	 170 degree wide-angle rear view mirror

80% of drowning victims in boating accidents were not wearing a personal flotation device.
Life Jackets Float. You Don't. Always wear your life jacket!

Boating Safety Checklists

Boating Division 
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency 
State: 1-800-799-4890 
Middle Tennessee: 1-800-624-7406 
www.tnwildlife.org

www.wearittennessee.com

BOATING SAFETY
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BUY LOCAL FIREWOOD AT OR NEAR YOUR DESTINATION.

MOVING FIREWOOD TRANSPORTS 
TREE-KILLING INSECTS AND DISEASES

Protect the trees and forests of Tennessee 
from invasive insects and diseases: 
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www.angryfishrods.com
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TWRA FISHING LAKES
Eighteen TWRA managed lakes, located 
in Middle and West Tennessee, are open 
year‑round. Some of these lakes are 
operated by private concessionaires under 
contract and offer complete services for 
the fishing public.

Hours
The lakes are open to fishing all week. Lakes 
will open one‑half hour before official sunrise 
and close one‑half hour after official sunset, 
except Garrett Lake which is open 24 hours a 
day. Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day the 
following lakes are closed: Carroll, Gibson Co., 
Glenn Springs, Herb Parsons, and Lake Graham.

Permits
A daily lake permit of $6.00 (available at most 
lakes), in addition to the regular fishing license, 
is required to use these lakes. A lake permit is 
not required at Garrett and Whiteville lakes. 
All residents 16 through 64 years of age, and 
nonresidents 16 years of age or older must have 
this permit. Sportsman license and lifetime 
license holders do not need a lake permit. 
Resident anglers 65 years of age and older do 
not need a lake permit, but do need a fishing 
license. A $48.00 Annual Lake Permit may 
also be purchased at many of the lakes with 
concessionaires, and is good at all TWRA fishing 
lakes. For Coy Gaither-Bedford Lake, a daily lake 
permit should be purchased from a license agent  
in the surrounding area before going to the lake.

Alcoholic beverages are prohibited at all  
Agency lakes.

Speed boating, personal water craft, water 
skiing and swimming are prohibited. 
Houseboats, sailboats and inboard cruisers 
are prohibited. On Coy Gaither-Bedford, 
Marrowbone, VFW and Williamsport lakes, 
only trolling motors can be used.

Boats may be rented for $10.00 per day at some 
lakes on a seasonal basis. There is no charge for 
boat cushions or paddles.

Tackle
Only rods and reels, poles, hand‑held lines, and 
jugs may be used (see page 37 for jug fishing rules 
at TWRA lakes). Snagging is prohibited.
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TWRA Fishing Lakes 
Locations And Facilities  

See more details at tnwildlife.org
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  1. Brown’s Creek Lake (731) 423-5725 
Henderson Co. 10 miles S of I-40 in the Natchez Trace State Park. 
(167 acres)

• • • • • •

  2. Carroll Lake (731) 423-5725 (closed for repairs) 
Carroll Co. 4 miles E of McKenzie on Hwy 22. (100 acres) • • • • • •

  3. Coy Gaither-Bedford Lake (615) 781-6622 
Bedford Co. 10 miles SE of Shelbyville on Hwy 269. (47 acres) • • • •

  4. Davy Crockett Lake (731) 784-3889 
Crockett Co. 5 miles W of Humboldt on Hwy 152. (87 acres) • • • • • •

  5. Garrett Lake (731) 423-5725 
Weakley Co. 7 miles E of Dresden on Hwy 54. (183 acres) • • • •

  6. Gibson County Lake (731) 855-2990 
Gibson Co. 5 miles E of Trenton off of Vaughns Grove Rd.  
(560 acres)

• • • • • • • •

  7. Glenn Springs Lake (901) 835-5253 
Tipton Co. 12 miles NE of Millington on Glenn Springs Rd. (310 acres) • • • • • • • •

  8. Herb Parsons Lake (901) 860-3880 
Fayette Co. 15 miles N of Collierville on Fisherville Lake Rd. (177 acres) • • • • • • • •

  9. Lake Graham (731) 424-4800 
 Madison Co. 9 miles E of Jackson on Cotton Grove Rd.  
(500 acres)

• • • • • • • •

10. Laurel Hill Lake (931) 762-7200 Lawrence Co. 15 miles W of 
Lawrenceburg on Hwy 64. (325 acres) • • • • • • • •

11. Maples Creek Lake (731) 423-5725 Carroll Co. 4 miles N of I-40 in 
Natchez Trace State Park. (90 acres) • • • • • •

12. Marrowbone Lake (615) 876-6012 Davidson Co. 6 miles N of 
Joelton off of Hwy 41-A. (60 acres) • • • • • • •

13. VFW Lake (931) 762-7200 Lawrence Co. 12 miles W of Lawrenceburg 
off of Hwy 64. (22 acres) • • •

14. Whiteville Lake (731) 423-5725 Hardeman Co. 2 miles S of 
Whiteville on Old U.S. Hwy 64. (158 acres) • • • •

15-18. Williamsport Lakes (4 lakes) (931) 583-2477 Maury Co. 8.5 
miles NW of Columbia on Hwy 50. (164 acres total) • • • • • • •

TAKE IT  
TO THE BANK
Contact your TWRA Office or log in to
www.tnwildlife.org
for a list of bank fishing locations. Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
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Brown’s Creek Lake
Black Bass: 5 per day, 18- to 24-inch PLR. Only 
one fish longer than 24 inches may be harvested.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 8-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Carroll Lake (closed for repairs)
Black Bass: 5 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Coy Gaither-Bedford Lake
Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, 14- to 18-inch PLR. 
Only one fish longer than 18 inches may be 
harvested.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
14-inch minimum length limit.

Davy Crockett Lake (Crockett Co.)
Black Bass: 10 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Garrett Lake
Black Bass: 5 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Gibson County Lake
Largemouth Bass: 10 per day, 18- to 24-inch  
PLR. Only one fish longer than 24 inches may be 
harvested.

Maples Creek Lake
Black Bass: 5 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 8-inch minimum 
length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Marrowbone Lake
Black Bass: 5 per day, 14- to 18-inch PLR. Only 
one fish longer than 18 inches may be harvested.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

VFW Lake
Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
14-inch minimum length limit.

Whiteville Lake
Black Bass: 5 per day, no length limit.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 8-inch minimum 
length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Williamsport Lakes (4 lakes)
Whippoorwill Lake is for juvenile fishing, only 
youths 16 and under and an accompanying adult 
may fish. Two wetland ponds, Egret and Heron, 
are closed to fishing.

Largemouth Bass: 1 per day, 20-inch minimum 
length limit.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
14-inch minimum length limit.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Glenn Springs Lake
Black Bass: 10 per day, 14- to 18-inch PLR. Only 
one fish longer than 18 inches may be harvested.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 8-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Herb Parsons Lake
Black Bass: 10 per day, 14- to 18-inch PLR. Only 
one fish longer than 18 inches may be harvested.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 8-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Lake Graham
Black Bass: 10 per day, 14- to 18-inch PLR. Only 
one fish longer than 18 inches may be harvested.

Bluegill: no creel or length limit.

Redear: 20 per day, no length limit.

Crappie (all species): 30 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
no length limit.

Trout: 7 per day, no length limit.

Laurel Hill Lake
One embayment is for juvenile fishing, only 
youths 16 and under may fish. Nursery ponds 
may be closed as posted.

Largemouth Bass: 10 per day, 13- to 18-inch 
PLR. Only one fish longer than 18 inches may be 
harvested.

Bluegill/Redear: 20 per day in combination, no 
length limit.

Crappie (all species): 15 per day, 10-inch 
minimum length limit.

Blue/Channel Catfish: 5 per day in combination, 
14-inch minimum length limit.

Statewide regulations apply for 
any species not listed.

Protected Length Range (PLR)
PLR is a Protected Length Range. Fish in this length range may not be harvested. To promote 
growth of bigger bass in these lakes, anglers are encouraged to harvest their daily limit of 
bass shorter than the listed PLR.
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SMALL IMPOUNDMENTS
Exceptions To Statewide 
Fishing Regulations On Small 
Impoundments
Allen Branch Pond (Cocke County)
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit. 

Beech River Watershed Lakes
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, 15-inch minimum length 

limit.
•	 Crappie: 30 per day, no length limit. 

Pine Lake
•	 Largemouth Bass: 10 per day. 

Dogwood Lake
•	 Largemouth Bass: 12- to 16-inch protected 

length range, 10 per day. 

Redbud Lake
•	 Largemouth Bass: 12- to 16-inch protected 

length range, 10 per day. 

Bridgestone/Firestone Centennial  
Wilderness WMA Ponds 
Designated as youth fishing ponds. Fishing is 
permitted for youths 16 years of age or younger 
who are accompanied by a non-fishing adult 
(18 years of age or older). Youths are limited to 
using one pole or rod while fishing. Fishing is 
permitted from one-half hour before official 
sunrise to one-half hour after official sunset.
•	 Bluegill: 10 per day, no length limit.
•	 Channel Catfish: 5 per day.
•	 Largemouth Bass: catch and release only 
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, 14-inch minimum length 

limit.
•	 Bluegill/Redear Sunfish: 20 per day in  

combination, no length limit.
•	 Crappie (all species): 30 per day in 

combination, no length limit. 

Campbell Lake (Maury County)
•	 Largemouth Bass: 1 per day, 12-inch  

minimum length limit.
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, 14-inch minimum length limit.
•	 Bluegill/Redear Sunfish: 20 per day in  

combination, no length limit.
•	 Crappie (all species): 30 per day in  

combination, no length limit.
•	 Grass Carp: No harvest allowed.

Carroll County Lake
•	 Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, 14- to 18-inch 

PLR (slot). Only one bass over 18 inches.
•	 Bluegill/Redear Sunfish: no length limit, creel 

limit of 20 per day in combination.
•	 Crappie (all species): 10-inch minimum 

length limit, creel limit of 30 per day in  
combination.

•	 Blue/Channel Catfish: no length limit, creel 
limit of 5 per day in combination. 

Casper Lake (Shelby County)
•	 Largemouth Bass: 2 per day, 16-inch  

minimum length limit. 

New Lake (Lewisburg City Lake)
•	 Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, 15-inch minimum 

length limit.
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit.
•	 Crappie: 15 per day, no length limit.

Open one half-hour before official sunrise to one 
half-hour after official sunset. Only rods and reels 
and cane poles permitted.

Paint Rock Refuge (on Watts Bar Reservoir)
Trespassing and fishing are prohibited in 
embayments and sub-impoundments from  
Nov 15 - Feb 28. Boats must remain within the 
river channel defined by navigational buoys.

Reelfoot Watershed Lake #18
•	 Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, 15-inch minimum 

length limit. 

State Park Lakes
State Park Lakes are managed by the Department 
of Environment and Conservation. Unless 
otherwise posted, statewide fishing regulations 
apply with the following exceptions:

Crappie (all species combined):
•	 All lakes: 15 per day, no length limit, except:
•	 Pin Oak Lake, Natchez Trace State Park: 30 

per day, no length limit. 

Channel or blue catfish or in combination:
•	 All lakes: 5 per day, no length limit. 

Black bass from the following lakes must be a 
minimum of 15 inches:
•	 Lake Lindsey, David Crockett State Park.
•	 Byrd Lake, Cumberland Mountain State Park.
•	 Sullivan’s Pond, Ft. Pillow State Historic Area.
•	 Indian Mt. “B” Lake, Indian Mountain State Park.
•	 Acorn Lake, Montgomery Bell State Park.
•	 Creech Hollow Lake, Montgomery Bell S.P.
•	 Kelly (Standing Stone) Lake, Standing Stone 

State Park.

Black bass from:
•	 Lake Lajoie and Lake Placid, Chickasaw State 

Park: 14- to 18-inch protected length range (slot 
limit). Daily creel limit 10 bass per day, only one 
bass over 18 inches may be harvested.

•	 Big Ridge Lake, Big Ridge State Park: must be a 
minimum of 14 inches.

•	 Poplar Tree Lake, Meeman-Shelby Forest State 
Park: 14- to 18-inch PLR (slot limit).

•	 Travis McNatt Lake, Big Hill Pond 
State Park: 10 bass per day, no length limit.

•	 Pin Oak Lake, Natchez Trace State Park: 12- to 
16-inch protected length range (slot limit), 10 
per day.

Bluegill and redear sunfish in combination:
•	 Poplar Tree Lake, Meeman-Shelby Forest 

State Park: 20 per day, no length limit.
•	 Fall Creek Lake, Fall Creek Falls State Park: 

20 per day, no length limit.

Catoosa Wildlife Management Area 
All streams and ponds are open from Apr 1 -  
Dec 31, except on the dates of managed big game 
and turkey hunts.

Davy Crockett Lake (Greene County)
•	 Crappie: 30 per day, no length limit.
•	 Smallmouth/Largemouth Bass: 5 per day in 

combination.
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 13- to 17-inch protected 

length range, only one over 17 inches.
•	 Spotted Bass: 15 per day, no length limit. 

Dickson City Lakes (Dickson County)
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit.

Doakes Pond (on Norris Reservoir) 
The portion of Norris Reservoir known as 
Doakes Pond, located adjacent to Hwy. 63 
approximately 9 miles NE of Lafollette, is  
closed to fishing.

Douglas Reservoir 
Henderson Island WMA Rearing Pond is closed 
to fishing year-round.

Federal Refuges 
Some federal wildlife refuges have closed 
seasons. For details contact the office of the 
national wildlife refuge where you wish to fish.

Gooch Unit E Lake
•	 Largemouth Bass: 5 per day, 15-inch  

minimum length limit.

Hiwassee Refuge
Trespassing and fishing are prohibited in 
embayments and sub-impoundments from  
Nov 15 - Feb 28. Boats must remain within the 
river channel defined by navigational buoys.

Indian Boundary Lake (Cherokee NF)
•	 Largemouth Bass: 2 per day, 14-inch  

minimum length limit.
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit.
•	 Crappie: 30 per day, no length limit.

Kingston Wildlife Refuge
Trespassing and fishing are prohibited in 
embayments and sub-impoundments from  
Nov 15 - Feb 28. Boats must remain within the 
river channel defined by navigational buoys.

Lake Kefauver (Madisonville, Monroe County)
•	 Bass: 2 per day, 14-inch minimum length 

limit.
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit.

Land Between the Lakes
All waters are open year round with the 
following provisions:
•	 Farm ponds are open to fishing unless  

otherwise posted.
•	 Bards Lake: Trotlines and limblines are  

prohibited. Jugs are permitted from Oct 1 -  
Mar 21, with a limit of 10 jugs per person.

Liberty Park Lake (Clarksville)
•	 Catfish: 5 per day, no length limit.
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Jump into the stream at

Visit TWRA.tv and view Tennessee Uncharted 
and other free content 24/7.

Subscribe and have full access to everything 
TWRA.tv has to offer, plus the ability to 

upload your video content to share with a 
world of viewers.

Subscribe as a Producer and create original 
content for TWRA.tv on your own channel.
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STREAMS AND RIVERS
Exceptions To Statewide 
Fishing Regulations On 
Streams and Rivers 
(also see trout streams pages 30–33)

Buffalo Creek (Grainger County)
Closed to all fishing and minnow seining 
upstream from the mill dam.

Calfkiller River and tributaries
•	 Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum 

length limit.

Caney Fork River (headwaters of Center  
Hill Reservoir)
Walleye run regulation in effect on the upper end
of Center Hill Reservoir, including the Caney Fork 
River beginning at the boat ramp at Rock Island 
State Park and extending upstream to Great 
Falls Dam. Anglers restricted to use of one hook 
having a single barb or lure containing a single 
hook with one barb from Jan 1 - Apr 30. No more 
than 3 rods and reels or poles may be used.

Caney Fork River (above Center Hill Dam)  
and tributaries
•	 Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum 

length limit. 

20 inches may be harvested. No more than 3 rods 
and reels or poles may be used.

Forked Deer, Hatchie, Loosahatchie, Obion and 
Wolf Rivers (includes tributaries)
•	 Crappie: 30 per day, no length limit. 

French Broad River
•	  Smallmouth bass: 

Hwy. 168 to Douglas Dam: 18-inch minimum 
length limit. 
Hwy. 321 to state line: 13- to 17-inch PLR 
with a creel limit of 5 black bass allowing one 
smallmouth bass to be greater than 17 inches. 

French Broad River (from confluence with 
Pigeon River upstream to state line)
•	 Walleye/Sauger: 5 per day in combination.
•	 Walleye: 15-inch minimum length limit.
•	 Sauger: No minimum length limit but only one 

sauger can be over 16 inches per day.  

Holston River (I-40 bridge upstream to 
Cherokee Dam and John Sevier Dam upstream 
to North Fork Holston River) 
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black bass, 
allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel to be 
greater than 17 inches.

Clear Creek (tributary to the Clinch River – 
Anderson County)
Closed to fishing and minnow seining from Hwy.
441 upstream to the second dam (adjacent to the
city of Norris water tower), as posted from  
Nov 1 - Mar 31.

Clinch River
•	 Norris Reservoir upstream to Grissom 

Island: Sauger and Walleye (in combination) 
— 5 per day, 15-inch minimum length limit.

•	 Hwy. 25E upstream to state line:  
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black 
bass, allowing only one smallmouth bass in 
creel to be greater than 17 inches.

Collins River and tributaries
•	 Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum 

length limit.

East Fork of the Obey River  
(headwaters of Dale Hollow Reservoir)
Walleye run regulation in effect on the East 
Fork of the Obey River from Compton Boat 
Ramp upstream to the Hwy. 52 bridge. Anglers 
restricted to use of one hook having a single barb 
or lure containing a single hook with one barb 
from Jan 1 - Apr 15. Walleye creel limit 5 per day, 
16-inch minium length. Only one walleye over 
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Little River (Rockford Dam upstream to Great 
Smoky Mountains NP boundary)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black 
bass, allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel 
to be greater than 17 inches.

Little Pigeon River, Sevier County (from mouth 
upstream to the Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park boundary, including the West 
Prong and East Fork of the Little Pigeon River)
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 1 per day, 20-inch  

minimum length limit. 

Mississippi River (includes adjacent sloughs, 
bayous, and all river runs and chutes, that are 
accessible by boat from the river proper)
•	 Black Bass: 10 per day, no length limit.
•	 Sunfish/Bream: 50 per day, no length limit.
•	 Catfish: no creel limit, only one per day over 

34 inches.
•	 Crappie: 50 per day, no length limit.
•	 Striped Bass and Hybrid Striped Bass: 6 per 

day, no length limit.
•	 Sauger: 6 per day, no length limit.
•	 White Bass: 30 per day, no length limit.

Rocky River and tributaries
•	 Muskellunge: 1 per day, 50-inch minimum 

length limit.

South Fork Holston River (confluence with North 
Fork Holston River upstream to Fort Patrick 
Henry Dam)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black bass, 
allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel to be 
greater than 17 inches.

Stones River (confluence with Cumberland River 
upstream to J. Percy Priest Dam)
Regulations for Cheatham Reservoir apply  (page 16).

Tellico River (Tellico Reservoir Boundary 
upstream to state line)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black bass, 
allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel to be 
greater than 17 inches.

Wolf River (South Ford Road Bridge
downstream into Dale Hollow Reservoir)
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 2 per day, 16 to 21-inch PLR 

(one under 16 inches and one over 21 inches.)

Nolichucky River (ENKA Dam upstream to
state line, includes Davy Crockett Lake)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black 
bass, allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel 
to be greater than 17 inches.

North Fork Holston River (confluence with  
South Fork Holston River upstream to state line)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black 
bass, allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel 
to be greater than 17 inches.

Pigeon River, Cocke County (from Hwy 321 
bridge at Newport upstream to North Carolina 
state line)
•	 Smallmouth Bass: 1 per day, 20-inch  

minimum length limit.
•	 Walleye/Sauger: 5 per day in combination. 

Walleye: 15-inch minimum length limit. 
Sauger: No minimum length limit but only 
one sauger can be over 16 inches per day.

Powell River (Gap Creek confluence
upstream to state line)
13- to 17-inch protected length range for 
smallmouth bass, with a creel limit of 5 black 
bass, allowing only one smallmouth bass in creel 
to be greater than 17 inches.

www.tn.wildlifelicense.com
GET IT NOW

IT’S NO LIE
The fastest, easiest, most convenient way to get 

your fishing license is online.
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TROUT REGULATIONS

Delayed Harvest Areas
In the areas listed below, the harvest or possession 
of trout is prohibited during the catch‑and‑release 
season. During the catch‑and‑release season, 
only artificial lures are permitted and the use or 
possession of bait is prohibited.

Hiwassee River: Appalachian Powerhouse 
downstream to L&N Railroad Bridge.
•	 Catch-and-release season is Oct 1 - last day 

of Feb.
•	 From Mar 1 - Sep 30, trout creel limit is 7 trout 

of all species combined and only 2 may be 
brown trout.

Paint Creek: Paint Creek Campground 
downstream to mouth at French Broad River.
•	 Catch‑and‑release season is Oct 1 - last day 

of Feb.

Piney River: Cumberland Trail State Park 
downstream to Highway 27 Bridge.
•	 Catch-and-release season is Nov 1 - last day 

of Feb.

Tellico River: Mouth of North River upstream to 
the Tennessee/North Carolina state line.	
•	 Catch‑and‑release season is Oct 1 - Mar 14.

Special Trout Regulations
Caney Fork River: Center Hill Dam to 
Cumberland River, including tributaries.
•	 Total daily creel of all trout (rainbow, brown 

and brook) in combination is 5 fish.
•	 Rainbow Trout: 5 per day, 14- to 20-inch  

protected length range, only one fish over  
20 inches may be harvested.

•	 Brook Trout: 5 per day, 14- to 20-inch 
protected length range, only one fish over 20 
inches may be harvested.

•	 Use or possession of any bait is prohibited.
•	 Trout less than 14 inches may not be in 

possession.

Polk County: Big Lost Creek, Goforth Creek, 
Spring Creek, Greasy Creek, and their tributaries 
in Polk County.
•	 Closed to fishing on Fridays from Mar 1 - Jun 1 

except for state and federal holidays.
•	 Only one single hook lure or baited single hook 

is permitted.
•	 The use or possession of lures or baits with 

multiple hooks is prohibited.
•	 Fishing is permitted from one-half hour before 

official sunrise to one-half hour after official 
sunset.

•	 Fishing equipment or tackle is prohibited on the 
stream banks except during legal fishing hours. 

Horse Creek: Greene County, U.S. Forest Service 
Boundary Line upstream to the junction of 
Squibb Creek.
•	 Daily limit: 7 trout per day, except from  

May 1 - Sep 30 daily limit is 2 trout. 

Slickrock Creek: That portion of Slickrock Creek 
which constitutes the boundary between the 
states of Tennessee and North Carolina.
•	 Appropriate licenses from TN or NC are valid.
•	 Rainbow, brown and brook trout: Daily limit 

of 4 in combination with a 7-inch minimum 
length limit.

•	 Fishing permitted one half-hour before official 
sunrise to one half-hour after official sunset.

•	 Only single-hook artificial lures are permitted. 
Use or possession of bait or multiple hook lures 
is prohibited. One single-hook artificial lure 
separated from a legal lure by a length of line 
(for example, a dropper fly) is also permitted.

•	 Each angler permitted only one rod or pole.  

Dillard Ponds:
•	 4 trout per day.
•	 Each angler limited to one rod or pole.
•	 Fishing permitted from one half hour before 

official sunrise to one half hour after official 
sunset.

Great Smoky Mountains 
National Park
Most of the streams in the Great Smoky 
Mountains National Park provide trout fishing 
opportunities. For detailed fishing information 
and regulations, contact: Park Headquarters, 
Gatlinburg, TN 37738; phone (865) 436‑1200.

Fort Campbell Military Reservation
Several streams on Fort Campbell Military 
Reservation including Dry Creek, Little West Fork 
and Fletcher’s Fork are stocked with rainbow and 
brown trout. Special fishing regulations apply and 
a Post Fishing Permit is required in addition to a 
valid Tennessee fishing license and trout stamp. 
For details, contact the Community Recreation 
Division, Hunting and Fishing Unit, Fort 
Campbell, KY 42223‑5000; phone (270) 798‑2175.

•	 Brown Trout: 1 per day, 24-inch minimum 
length limit.

Elk River: Tims Ford Dam to I-65 Bridge, 
including tributaries.
•	 Brown Trout: 20-inch minimum length limit, 

1 per day.
•	 Total daily creel limit of all trout species in 

combination is 7 trout.

Clinch River: Norris Dam. downstream to Hwy. 
61 bridge, including tributaries.
•	 14- to 20-inch  protected length range on all 

trout.
•	 7 trout creel limit, only one trout may be 

greater than 20 inches.

Clear Creek: tributary to Clinch River —
Anderson Co.
•	 Closed to fishing and minnow seining from 

Hwy. 441 upstream to the second dam 
(adjacent to the city of Norris water tower), as 
posted from Nov 1 - Mar  31. 

Hiwassee River: Appalachian Powerhouse 
downstream to L&N Railroad Bridge.
•	 Mar 1 - Sep 30: 7 trout creel limit, only 2 may 

be brown trout.
•	 Oct 1 - last day of Feb: see delayed harvest areas.

South Fork Holston River: South Holston Dam 
to Hwy. 37 Bridge at Bluff City.
•	 16- to 22-inch protected length range on all 

trout.
•	 7 trout creel limit, only one trout may be 

greater than 22 inches.
•	 Closed to all fishing Nov 1 - Jan 31 in the 

following areas:
1.	 Hickory Tree Bridge upstream to the 

confluence with Bottom Creek.
2.	 Downstream point of Boy’s Island (first 

island downstream of Weaver Pike Bridge) 
upstream to the top of the first island 
above Webb Road Bridge.

Watauga River: Quality Trout Fishing Area 
Smallings bridge downstream to CSX railroad 
bridges.
•	 14-inch minimum length limit.
•	 2 trout creel limit.

Statewide Regulations
Any combination of trout species:
Daily Limit: 7

Minimum Length Limit: None

Exceptions: 
• Only 2 trout in a creel may be lake trout 
• See the following specific regulations
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Gatlinburg Trout Fishing
TWRA and the city of Gatlinburg offer a 
variety of trout fishing opportunities in four 
streams. All streams are closed on Thursday 
each week and a Gatlinburg permit is required 
(page 7). Some areas are managed especially for 
children 12 and under. For more information 
contact the Gatlinburg Convention and Visitors 
Bureau, (800) 568-4748, or the Gatlinburg trout 
facility at (865) 436-4558.

The taking of trout using a Gatlinburg Permit
is allowed only within the designated streams,
designated times, and under the restrictions 
listed in the following paragraphs.

General Streams
•	 West Prong Little Pigeon River from Park 

Boundary to Gnatty Branch except those 
sections set aside as Children’s Streams.

•	 Dudley Creek from Park Boundary to West 
Prong Little Pigeon River, except those 
sections set aside as Children’s Streams.

•	 Roaring Fork from the Park Boundary to 
West Prong Little Pigeon River.

•	 Leconte Creek from Painter Branch to West 
Prong Little Pigeon River.

From April 1 through November 30:
•	 General Streams: The creel limit is 5 trout 

per day. Bait and artificial lures permitted.
•	 Children’s Streams: The creel limit is two 

per day.
•	 Total possession limit shall not exceed twice 

the daily creel limit.
•	 While fishing or when afield, possession 

of more than the daily creel limit shall be 
prohibited, regardless of whether the trout 
are fresh, stored in an ice chest, in a vehicle, 
or otherwise preserved.

Children’s Streams  
(May only be fished by children 12 and under, 
unless otherwise posted.)
•	 Leconte Creek from Painters Branch  

upstream to Park Boundary.
•	 West Prong Little Pigeon River from 100 

yards above entrance of Herbert Holt Park 
downstream to Gatlinburg By-pass Bridge.

•	 Dudley Creek from Highway 441 Bridge to 
West Prong Little Pigeon River.

Season and Creel Limits
Fishing permitted year-round, except on 
Thursday, from one half-hour before official 
official sunrise to one half-hour after official 
official sunset. Fishing is permitted with one 
hand-held rod and single hook only.

From December 1 through March 31
(all streams):
•	 Possession of any trout shall be prohibited.
•	 All trout caught must be immediately 

returned to the water.
•	 Use or possession of bait is prohibited. Use or 

possession of any artificial lures other than 
single hook artificial flies, spinners, and spoons 
is prohibited. The use of one dropper fly having 
a single hook which is separated from a legal 
lure by a length of line is permissible.
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TROUT REGULATIONS

Tellico-Citico Permit Areas Regulations
TELLICO RIVER from its confluence with Turkey Creek upstream to the 
Tennessee-North Carolina state line.

Tellico-Citico Permit required March 15 through September 15.

Closed on Thursday and Friday during the period March 15 through 
September 15 (except when national or state holidays fall on Thursday and 
Friday). From September 16 through March 14 fishing is allowed every day 
and Tellico-Citico Permit is not required.

Daily creel limit of 7 trout, with no size limit.

Fishing permitted from ½ hour before official sunrise to ½ hour after official 
sunset. The possession of fishing equipment and/or tackle is prohibited on 
stream banks except during legal fishing hours.

Each angler permitted only one rod or pole.

CITICO CREEK from its confluence with Little Citico Creek upstream to the 
confluence of North and South Forks of Citico Creek.

GREEN COVE POND

HANDICAPPED – any person who is mentally impaired or physically impaired 
(including blindness) because of injury or disease, congenital or acquired, which 
permanently renders him/her so severely disabled as to be unable to move 
without aid of crutches or a wheelchair, or a person who has 80% permanent 
impairment of a hand or arm as determined by a physician using the standards 
outlined in the “Guide to Evaluations of Permanent Rating,” published by the AMA 
or other acceptable rating system.

Fishing limited to handicapped individuals, children under age 13, adults 65 
years of age and older, and those using the following license types: Type 197 
Sport Fishing License for the Blind, Type 189 Wheelchair Hunting and Fishing, 
Type 198 DAV Hunting and Fishing, Type 199 Mentally Challenged, and Type 
169 Intellectual Disability Hunting and Fishing.

Tellico-Citico Permit required year-round.

Closed on Thursday and Friday year-round (except open on all state and 
national holidays and scheduled special organized handicapped or children’s 
fishing events).

Hours open – ½ hour before official sunrise to ½ hour after official sunset.

Daily creel limit of 7 trout, with no length limit.

Bait restriction – no minnows.

Each angler permitted only one rod or pole. Use of boats is prohibited.

Wild Trout Streams Regulations
NORTH RIVER and tributaries (Monroe County).

BALD RIVER and tributaries (Monroe County).

SYCAMORE CREEK (tributary to Tellico River in Monroe County) and 
tributaries.

LAUREL FORK and tributaries beginning at the cable crossing ½ mile 
upstream from the USFS Dennis Cove Recreation Area and extending 
upstream (Carter County).

BEAVERDAM CREEK and tributaries from its confluence with Birch Branch 
downstream to Tank Hollow Road (USFS Rd. 300) (Johnson County).

PAINT CREEK and tributaries from USFS campground upstream to USFS 
Boundary line south of Highway 70 near Munday Gap (Greene County).

ROCKY FORK and tributaries upstream of Rocky Fork Rd. and State Park 
Entrance Rd. junction. (Greene/Unicoi Counties).

LEFT PRONG (tributary to Hampton Creek in Carter County).

Daily creel limit of 5 trout with no length limit.

Only single-hook artificial lures are permitted. Use or possession of 
bait or multiple hook lures is prohibited. One single-hook artificial lure 
separated from a legal lure by a length of line (for example: a dropper fly) 
is also permitted.

Fishing permitted from ½ hour before official sunrise to ½ hour after 
official sunset.

Each angler permitted only one rod or pole.

ALL STREAMS IN CHEROKEE WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREA Each angler permitted only one rod or pole.
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Tailwater Trout
TWRA stocks fingerling and adult trout into coldwater tailwaters below dams to provide fishing opportunities. In many tailwaters trout fishing can be good 
year-round. Trout are stocked routinely during the following months. Use caution below dams. Call TVA at 1-800-238-2264 to check dam discharge and 
generation schedules (www.tva.com/environment/lake-levels).

River Below Trout Species Stocking Schedule

Re
gi

on
 II Duck River Normandy Dam rainbow November through June*

Elk River Tims Ford Dam rainbow, brown, and brook March through December

Stones River J. Percy Priest Dam rainbow December through March*

Re
gi

on
 II

I

Caney Fork River Center Hill Dam rainbow, brown, and brook March through December

Hiwassee River Appalachia Dam rainbow, brown, and brook January through December

Obey River Dale Hollow Dam rainbow, brown, and brook January through December

Ocoee River Ocoee Dam #1—Parksville rainbow March through May*

Re
gi

on
 IV

Clinch River Norris Dam rainbow, brown, and brook March through September

Holston River Cherokee Dam rainbow and brown November through April

South Fork Holston River Boone Dam rainbow, brown, and brook March, April, and December

South Fork Holston River Fort Patrick Henry Dam rainbow and brown March and April

South Fork Holston River S. Holston Dam rainbow March through September

Watauga River Wilbur Dam rainbow March through September

Wilbur Reservoir Watauga Dam rainbow February through June

  *Seasonal Fishery - only productive during stocked months.

Hardin County

Call 866.261.7534 or email info@VisitSWTenn.com  
for your FREE vacation planner.

LURESooo. . . a i ng

Savannah • Pickwick • Shiloh
www.TourHardinCounty.org

1.800.552.3866 • 731.925.8181
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Fish Tissue Advisories (This list is subject to revision.)
WATERBODY COUNTY PORTION POLLUTANT COMMENTS

West Tennessee

Beech Reservoir Henderson Entirety (877 acres) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

Big Sandy River and 
Embayment

Henry, Benton, Carroll 
and Henderson

From embayment on mouth on Kentucky Reservoir to 
headwaters. (Mile 0.0 to 59.0) Mercury Precautionary advisory for all bass species.*

Cypress Creek Shelby Entirety (7.7 miles) Chlordane, Other Pesticides, 
PCBs Do not eat the fish.

Loosahatchie River Shelby Hwy 14, Austin Peay Highway (Mile 0.0 – 17.0) Chlordane, other Organics, 
Mercury Do not eat the fish.

McKellar Lake Shelby Entirety (13 miles) Chlordane, other Organics, 
Mercury Do not eat the fish.

Mississippi River Shelby MS state line to just downstream of Meeman-Shelby 
State Park (31 miles)

Chlordane, other Organics, 
Mercury Do not eat the fish. Commercial fishing prohibited by TWRA.

Nonconnah Creek Shelby From mouth to Kansas Street (Mile 0.0 – 1.8) Chlordane, other Organics Do not eat the fish. Advisory ends at Horn Lake Road bridge.

North Fork Forked Deer River Dyer, Gibson From mouth of the Middle Fork Forked Deer River  
(Mile 17.6) upstream to State Highway 188 (Mile 23.6) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

Wolf River Shelby From mouth to Germantown Road (Mile 0.0 – 18.9) Chlordane, other Organics, 
Mercury Do not eat the fish.

Middle Tennessee

Beech Creek Wayne From mouth to origin (Mile 16.7) including Tennessee 
River Embayment Mercury

Do not eat the fish.
Avoid contact with sediment between Leatherwood Branch  
and Smith Branch.

Buffalo River Humphreys, Perry From mouth upstream to Highway 438 (Mile 31.6) Mercury Precautionary advisory for smallmouth bass.*

Duck River Humphreys, Hickman From mouth of Buffalo River (Mile 15.8) upstream to 
Interstate 40 (Mile 31.8) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth, smallmouth, and spotted 

bass.*

Woods Reservoir Franklin Entirety (3,908 acres) PCBs Catfish should not be eaten.

East Tennessee

Boone Reservoir Sullivan, Washington Entirety (4,400 acres) PCBs, Chlordane Precautionary advisory for carp and catfish.*

Chattanooga Creek Hamilton From mouth to GA State line (11.9 miles) PCBs, Chlordane Fish should not be eaten. Also, avoid contact with water.

East Fork of Poplar Creek and 
Poplar Creek Embayment Anderson, Roane From mouth to New Hope Pond (Mile 0.0 – 15.0) Mercury, PCBs Fish should not be eaten. Also, avoid contact with water.

Emory River Roane, Morgan From Hwy 27 near Harriman (Mile 12.4) upstream to 
Camp Austin Road Bridge (Mile 21.8) Mercury Precautionary advisory for all fish.*

Fort Loudoun Reservoir Loudon, Blount Entirety (14,600 acres) PCBs 
Mercury (upper portion only)

Commercial fishing for catfish prohibited by TWRA. No catfish or 
largemouth bass over two pounds should be eaten. Do not eat 
largemouth bass from the Little River embayment. Due to mercury, 
precautionary advisory for any sized largemouth bass from Highway 
129 to the confluence of Holston and French Broad rivers (534 acres).*

French Broad River Cocke From Rankin Bridge (Mile 71.4) to Hwy 321 near  
Newport (Mile 77.5)  Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

Hiwassee River Meigs, McMinn, Bradley From Hwy 58 (Mile 7.4) upstream to the railroad bridge 
just upstream of U.S. Hwy 11 (Mile 18.9) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

Holston River Sullivan, Hawkins
From the mouth of Poor Valley Creek embayment  
(Mile 89.0) upstream to confluence of the North and 
South Forks of the Holston near Kingsport (Mile 142.3)

Mercury Precautionary advisory for all fish.*

Melton Hill Reservoir Knox, Anderson Entirety (5,690 acres) PCBs Catfish should not be eaten.

Nickjack Reservoir Hamilton, Marion Entirety (10,370 acres) PCBs Precautionary advisory for catfish.*

Norris Reservoir
Campbell, Anderson, 
Union, Claiborne, 
Grainger

Clinch River portion (Powell River embayment not 
included in advisory) (15,213 acres) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass, striped bass, smallmouth 

bass, and sauger.*

North Fork Holston River Sullivan, Hawkins VA Stateline (Mile 0.0 – 6.2) Mercury Do not eat the fish. Advisory goes to TN/VA line.

Sequatchie River Marion From the Tennessee River (Mile 0.0) upstream to  
State Highway 283 near Whitwell (Mile 22.1) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

South Holston Reservoir Sullivan Portion within Tennessee (7,206 acres) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass.*

Tellico Reservoir Loudon, Monroe Entirety (16,500 acres) Mercury, PCBs Catfish should not be eaten.

Watauga Reservoir Carter, Johnson Entirety (6,427 acres) Mercury Precautionary advisory for largemouth bass and channel catfish.*

Watts Bar Reservoir Roane, Anderson Clinch River Arm (1,000 acres) PCBs Striped bass should not be eaten. Precautionary advisory for catfish 
and sauger.*

Watts Bar Reservoir Roane, Meigs, Rhea, 
Loudon Tennessee River portion (38,000 acres) PCBs

Catfish, striped bass, and hybrid (striped bass-white bass) should 
not be eaten. Precautionary advisory for white bass, sauger, carp, 
smallmouth buffalo, and largemouth bass.*

* Precautionary Advisory: Children, women who might become pregnant, pregnant women, and nursing mothers should not consume the fish species named. All other 
   persons should limit consumption of the named species to one meal per month.

CONTAMINANTS IN FISH
The Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation’s (TDEC)  
Division of Water Resources issues advisories for the consumption of fish from 
certain Tennessee waters. The following information is subject to change and 
was copied from TDEC’s site. Concerned individuals should visit TDEC’s site 
for more information about these advisories, bacteriological advisories, and tips 
on how to reduce risks from contaminated fish. 

For specific information regarding aquatic contaminants or affected waters, 
contact:
TDEC’s Division of Water Resources Office 
(615) 532-0699 
http://www.tn.gov/assets/entities/environment/attachments/water_
fish-advisories.pdf
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METHODS OTHER THAN ROD & REEL
Trotlines, Limblines and Jugs
Trotlines consist of a main line with drop lines 
to which single hooks are attached. Drop lines 
must not be closer than 24 inches. Nongame fish, 
except paddlefish and sturgeon, may be taken 
without limit. Game fish may be taken according 
to local limits. There is no limit on catfish, except 
only one fish may exceed 34 inches. The creel 
limit for skipjack is 100 fish.
Sportfishing trotlines, limblines and jugs must 
be tagged and/or marked with the owner’s name 
and address, or TWRA identification number. 
Trotlines attached to the bank must be tagged 
on the line within five feet of the bank. Other 
trotlines must be tagged within five feet of either 
end, and floating trotlines must be marked 
on floats. The holder of a sport fishing license 
may use one or more trotlines not having a 
combination of more than 100 hooks. Limblines 
(including yo-yos) must be tagged above water 
level and are allowed only one hook per line. 
Sport anglers are limited to 25 limblines. Sport 
anglers are limited to 50 jugs or blocks and each 
with only one hook.
Trotlines, limblines and jugs must be run at
least once each day and are prohibited within 
1,000 yards below any TVA or Corps of 
Engineers dam. Trotlines may not be set within 
100 yards of the mouth of any river, creek or 
slough.
Exceptions:
•	 Allen Branch Pond and Chilhowee  

(McKamy) Pond in Cherokee WMA:  
Closed to jugs and trotlines.

•	 Bards Lake on Land Between the Lakes: 
Closed to trotlines and limblines. Jugs  
permitted from Oct 1 - Mar 21.

•	 Beech River Watershed Development  
Authority: 20 jugs or blocks per boat.  
Trotlines prohibited.

•	 Calderwood: Trotlines and limblines  
prohibited.

•	 Danville Railroad Bridge Dikes: Trotlines 
prohibited within 50 yards of dikes.

•	 Indian Boundary Lake: Closed to trotlines, 
jugs and limblines.

•	 New Johnsonville Steam Plant Harbor: 10 
jugs or blocks per angler. Trotlines prohibited.

•	 Norris Reservoir: From Jan 1 - Apr 30, 
trotlines, limblines and jugs are prohibited 
between River Mile 32 (Point 15) and Hwy. 
25E Bridge on the Powell River arm and 
Between River Mile 137 (Point 31) and the 
Hwy. 25E Bridge on the Clinch River arm.

•	 TWRA Lakes: Trotlines and limblines are 
prohibited. From Apr 1 through Sept 30 jug 
fishing is prohibited on Saturdays, Sundays, 
Memorial Day, Independence Day and Labor 
Day. On days open to jug fishing, each boat is 
limited to 10 jugs or blocks per day.

Slat Baskets
Holders of annual sport fishing license, 
Sportsman License, Lifetime Sportsman License, 
Jr. Fishing license, Lifetime Senior Citizens 
license or residents 65 and over (prior to Mar 1, 

Powell River arm and between River Mile 137 
(Point 31) and the Hwy. 25E Bridge on the 
Clinch River arm.

•	 Elk River in Carter County: from the Hwy. 321 
Bridge downstream to River Mile 3.0 (Point 11) 
on the Elk River arm of Watauga Reservoir.

•	 Doe Creek: Old Cabin Private Road 
downstream to Roan Creek.

•	 Roan Creek: Mountain Lakes Estates Bridge 
downstream to Doe Creek.

•	 Watauga River: NC state line downstream to 
end of Cownstown Road.

1991) or under 13 may fish with one slat basket, 
provided the slat basket is marked with a metal 
tag, obtainable from the TWRA for an annual 
fee of $8.00. Possession or use of more than 
one slat basket is prohibited. A slat basket is 
defined as a device used for taking nongame 
fish and catfish only. Slat baskets may have only 
one outside funnel opening and must be made 
of wood, plastic or cane slats which are placed 
lengthwise and so constructed that there must be 
a minimum of four openings in the catching area,
each being at least 1½ inches wide and 6 inches 
long. Fish taken may not be sold.
The slat basket may not be set within 100 yards 
of the mouth of any river, creek or slough. Slat 
basket must be checked at least every 72 hours.
Applications for metal tags can be obtained by
writing to: 
Administrative Services, TWRA, P. O Box 40747, 
Nashville, TN 37204. If you are applying in 
person and need directions to the TWRA central 
office, call (615) 781‑6585.

Grabbling, Gigging, Grab Hooks, 
Snagging, Tubbing, Archery,  
Crossbow, Speargun, Dipping and 
Cast Netting
Season open year round in all waters except:
a.	 where closed to fishing or expressly 

prohibited.
b.	 within 100 yards below dams. At Pickwick 

Dam the closed area extends downstream to 
the first moorage cell across from ramp.

c.	 at John Sevier Steam Plant the discharge 
channel is closed.

B and C do not apply to cast netting or dipping.

Nongame fish may be taken without limit. Game 
fish, sturgeon, and alligator gar may not be 
taken. Catfish, paddlefish, and skipjack may be 
harvested according to local limits.

Cast nets must be no more than 10 feet in radius 
with a mesh size no smaller than one quarter 
inch, and no larger than one inch on the square.

Gigging is prohibited in Bedford, Giles, 
Hickman, Lawrence, Lewis, Marshall, Maury, 
and Wayne counties. Snagging, grabbling, 
grabhooks, tubbing, archery, speargun, dipping, 
and cast nets are legal methods in these counties.

Gigging is closed on the East Fork of the Obey 
River and its tributaries from Jan 1 - Apr 30.

Snagging is prohibited year round on the South 
Holston tailwater (from South Holston Dam 
to the headwaters of Boone Reservoir), Center 
Hill Reservoir, and the Cumberland Fossil Plant 
discharge channel into Barkley Reservoir.

Grabbling, gigging, grab hooks, snagging, 
tubbing, archery, crossbow, speargun and 
dipping is prohibited on the following waters 
from Jan 1 - Apr 30:
•	 Dale Hollow Reservoir: East Fork Obey 

Riverand and its tributaries.
•	 Norris Reservoir: between River Mile 32 

(Point 15) and the Hwy. 25E Bridge on the 

SHOW YOUR SUPPORT 
With a TWRA License Plate 

Tennessee First Fish Award 

FREE!

Money from the sale of specialty plates 
is available to the TWRA to fund wildlife 
habitat protection and enhancement  
programs, provide public hunting and 
fishing access, support law enforcement 
efforts and improve youth education 
projects.

TWRA’s smallmouth bass license plate 
is available at county clerk’s offices 
throughout the state. This plate features 
a smallmouth bass created by renowned 
wildlife artist Al Agnew from a print 
titled “Sunlight on Bronze.”

As with other specialty license plates, 
such as the ones mentioned above, 
the new smallmouth bass plate will 
cost $35.00 above the regular cost of 
registering a vehicle.

The First Fish Award is designed to 
commemorate that special moment in 
every boy or girl’s life—the landing of 
their first fish.

The award is an 8.5 x 11 certificate, 
suitable for framing, identifying the 
child, the fish caught, and other details 
of that special moment. Size of the fish 
and age of the angler have no bearing, 
only that the fish is their first and that it 
was caught in Tennessee.

Visit www.tnwildlife.org 
or call (615) 781-6575 

for further information.
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LIVE BAIT
Live Bait Regulations
The following sections explain which species can 
be used for bait, and how they can be harvested, 
sold and transported. Under no circumstance 
shall live fish or crayfish be intentionally 
released into Tennessee waters away from the 
waters from which they were harvested. These 
regulations do not apply to bait that is dead. Dead 
bait can be transported without restrictions. 

For the purposes of these rules, a sport angler 
shall be defined as anyone who attempts to take, 
kill, injure, capture, or catch any sport fish and 
every act of assistance thereof. A bait dealer shall 
be defined as anyone engaged in the business 
of selling or offering for sale any legal species 
of live bait fish. All bait dealers must purchase 
a Type 118 (resident) or Type 116 (nonresident) 
license annually, and make all necessary reports 
as required to the Tennessee Wildlife Resources 
Agency. The harvest and use of bait fish by 
commercial fishers shall be regulated in the 
commercial fishing proclamation.

A licensed sport angler (with all required licenses 
and permits) can harvest game fish (including 
rainbow trout and sunfish) for use as bait from 
the wild using legal sport fishing methods. When 
harvesting game fish, all restrictions in the sport 
fishing proclamation apply (including creel and 
length limits, seasons, and license requirements).

The following species may be: 

1.	 harvested by licensed sport anglers for use 
as bait; 

2.	 imported into Tennessee or exported from 
Tennessee by licensed bait dealers and 
licensed sport anglers; 

3.	 sold in Tennessee by licensed bait dealers. 
There is no possession limit for gizzard shad, 
threadfin shad, fathead minnow, golden shiner, 
and goldfish.

Skipjack Herring (creel limit of 100 per day) 
Alosa chrysochloris 

Gizzard Shad 
Dorosoma cepedianum

Threadfin Shad 
Dorosoma petenenes

Fathead Minnow 
Pimephales promelas

Golden Shiner 
Notemigonus crysoleucas

Goldfish 
Carassius auratus

Sunfishes* 
Lepomis spp.

Rainbow Trout** 
Oncorhynchus mykiss

 *  All species in the genus Lepomis may be 
bought and/or sold subject to the following 
conditions:

a.	 Such fish may be bought and/or sold for bait 
purposes only.

b.	 Such fish bought and/or sold must not be 
more than four (4) inches in length.

c.	 Such fish must have been lawfully taken from 
privately owned lakes and/or ponds.

d.	 Nothing contained herein shall be construed 
as legalizing the sale of bream taken from any 
stream or public lake.

** A licensed sport angler may possess rainbow 
trout 8 inches or less in length without limit 
for use as bait if purchased from a licensed bait 
dealer and accompanied by an invoice that 
was issued by the licensed bait dealer. Such 
invoices shall be consecutively numbered and 
must contain the name, license number, and 
location of the licensed bait dealer, the date 
of sale or delivery, the number of rainbow 
trout bought or delivered, and the name and 
address of the person receiving the rainbow 
trout. Any person transporting or possessing 
rainbow trout obtained from a licensed bait 
dealer for bait must have a copy of this invoice 
on their person. Rainbow trout larger than 8 
inches in length may be purchased by sport 
anglers and used for bait provided compliance 
with all sport fishing regulations on the waters 
being fished (including creel and length limits, 
seasons, and license requirements).

SECTION I 
CLASS A Bait Fish
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The following species may be: 

1.	 harvested by licensed sport anglers for use 
as bait; 

2.	 imported into Tennessee or exported from 
Tennessee by licensed sport anglers for use 
as bait. 

These species shall not be sold. A licensed sport 
angler shall possess no more than 100 each of 
the following species: stonerollers (Campostoma 
spp.), creek chub (Semotilus atromaculatus), 
bluntnose minnow (Pimephales notatus), 
bullhead minnow (Pimephales vigilax).

Bait fish that are not listed in Section I or II above 
and are not listed by proclamation as endangered, 
threatened, or in need of management may be 
harvested by licensed sport anglers for use as bait 
with the following restrictions: 

1.	 they shall only be used in the water from 
which they were harvested; 

2.	 they shall not be possessed away from the 
waters from which they were harvested; 

3.	 they shall not be imported into Tennessee or 
exported from Tennessee by anyone; 

4.	 they shall not be sold.

•	 Minnow Seine: A minnow seine consists of a 
float and lead line to which netting is attached. 
A minnow seine shall not be longer than 10 
feet and the mesh size shall not exceed ⅜ inch 
on the square. Seines must be constantly  
attended, and may not be fished in a stationary 
manner.

•	 Minnow Traps: A minnow trap is hereby 
defined as a device used for the purpose of 
catching minnows. The mouth opening or 

openings shall not exceed 1½ inches in  
diameter. All minnow traps shall be clearly 
and legibly labeled with owners name and 
address, or TWRA identification number.

•	 Cast Net: A cast net is defined as a net having 
a maximum radius of 10 feet and a mesh 
(square measure) of not less than ¼ inch and 
not greater than 1 inch on the square. Sunfish 
and trout may not be taken with a cast net.

•	 Shad Trawl: A shad trawl is one having a mesh 
size no larger than 1 inch, a hoop diameter 
no larger than 48 inches, and a net length 
no larger than 72 inches. Only threadfin or 
gizzard shad shall be taken with a shad trawl 
and shad trawling is not allowed within 1,000 
yards below any dam.

•	 Dip Net: A dip net is a net constructed from 
natural synthetic fibers, or metal/plastic mesh 
which is attached to a frame that is attached 
to a pole.

•	 Angling: Use of line with a hook attached to a 
bait or lure.

•	 Hand Collection: Use of hands or 
non-mechanized hand tools.

Crayfish may be taken from the wild according to 
rules of live bait Section V for food. Wild caught 
crayfish may not be sold.

Only Northern Dusky and Spotted Dusky 
salamanders (Desmognathus fuscus and 
Desmognathus conanti) and native crayfish 
species that are not listed by proclamation 
as endangered, threatened, or in need of 
management may be harvested without limit 
by licensed sport anglers for use as bait. Any 
method, except use of explosives, chemicals, and 
electroshocking devices may be used to harvest 
crayfish and salamanders.

Amphibians and crayfish species shall not be sold 
or purchased for bait. Amphibians and crayfish 
shall not be imported into Tennessee or exported 
from Tennessee by anyone for bait. The harvest, 
use, and possession of crayfish is prohibited in 
the following streams, in all of their tributaries, 
and on all adjacent banks:

•	 Mill Creek in Davidson and Williamson 
counties

•	 East Fork Stones River in Cannon County
•	 Hurricane Creek in Cumberland, Fentress, 

Overton, and Putnam counties
•	 Roaring Paunch Creek in Scott County
•	 South Chickamauga Creek in Hamilton County
•	 Caney Fork River in Cumberland County
•	 Robinson Creek, Beason Creek (upstream of 

confluence of North Fork and South Fork), 
and Owl Creek (upstream of Highway 142) in 
Hardin and McNairy counties

•	 Flint River in Lincoln County
Crayfish harvested from the following streams 
and their tributaries shall not be possessed alive 
away from the waterbody from which they were 
harvested:

•	 French Broad River and its tributaries
•	 Holston River and its tributaries
•	 Clinch River and its tributaries

SECTION II 
CLASS B Bait Fish

SECTION III 
CLASS C Bait Fish

Crayfish as Food

SECTION IV
Legal Gear for Harvest of Bait Fish

SECTION V
Amphibians and Crayfish

EXTENDED FIN

GIZZARD SHAD

DO NOT USE LIVE CARP FOR BAIT
Bighead and silver carp are illegal to possess alive. Shad are legal bait fish.
The easiest way to tell them apart is to look at the dorsal (top) fin. Both shad have a long, 
threadlike fin that extends toward the tail. Asian carp will not have this thread-like fin.

Photo: Brian James

BIGHEAD CARP

Photo: Doug Hardesty Photo: Doug Hardesty

SILVER CARP

THREADFIN SHAD
EXTENDED FIN

Photo: Brian James
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HYBRID STRIPED BASS or CHEROKEE BASS
(Striped Bass / White Bass)

STRIPED BASS

Multiple lines 
extend to tail

WHITE BASS
(Rarely exceeds 4 lbs.)

Only one line 
extends to tail

YELLOW BASS
No tooth patch

Mismatched linesSecond spine is longest

ROCK BASS or REDEYE

5-7 anal spines

Illustrations ©Joseph R. Tomelleri

SPOTTED BASS Shallow notch
Always has a 
tooth patch 
on tongue

Jaw does not extend 
beyond eye

Dark band

ALABAMA BASS Shallow notch

Always has a 
tooth patch 
on tongue

Jaw does not extend 
beyond eye

LARGEMOUTH BASS

Sometimes has 
a tooth patch 
on tongue

Deep notch

Dark band Jaw extends 
beyond eye

SMALLMOUTH BASS Often has a 
tooth patch 
on tongue

Vertical bars
Jaw does not extend 
beyond eye

SHADOW BASS

6-7 anal spines

Only found in 
Conasauga River 
Watershed

IDENTIFYING YOUR FISH
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PADDLEFISH

FRESHWATER DRUM

COMMON CARP

LAKE STURGEON

Black spot 
on dorsal fin

BLUEGILL

7 to 8 dorsal spines
BLACK CRAPPIE

5 to 6 dorsal spinesWHITE CRAPPIE

vertical 
bars

Slight fork 
in tail

FLATHEAD CATFISH

Deeply 
forked tail

BLUE CATFISH

Fin edge in a 
straight line

Deeply 
forked tail

CHANNEL CATFISH

Fin edge 
slightly curved

Illustrations ©Joseph R. Tomelleri

Red to orange mark on 
edge of gill cover

REDEAR SUNFISH  or SHELLCRACKER
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IDENTIFYING YOUR FISH

YELLOW PERCH

MUSKELLUNGE

BROOK TROUT

Red, yellow or orange 
spots on the sides and 
belly

Light, worm-like markings 
on a dark upper body

Tricolor lower fins, leading edge is 
white, followed by black and red

RAINBOW TROUT Pink streak along the 
middle of the body

Small black dots throughout 
the body, continue to tail

BROWN TROUT

Tail slightly forked, no spots 
on the bottom of the tail

Brown body with large dark 
spots and reddish dots, many 
having halos

WALLEYE
Dark areas at base of dorsal fin

White tip

LAKE TROUT

White leading edge on lower fins

Deeply forked tail

SAUGER Dark saddles

Spots in rows 
on dorsal fin

Illustrations ©Joseph R. Tomelleri
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GENERAL INFORMATION
NOTICE OF INSPECTION LAW: It is the 
duty of every person participating in the 
privileges of taking or possessing wildlife 
to permit agency officers to ascertain 
whether the requirements of this title are 
being faithfully complied with, including 
the possession of a proper license. It is a 
violation of law to refuse such inspection  
or to interfere with an officer attempting 
such inspection. TCA 70-6-101(b)(1)

Basic Laws and Definitions
•	 Stocking of any fish or crayfish into public 

waters is strictly prohibited.
•	 It is unlawful to possess while afield any fish 

which has been altered to the extent that 
its species or total body length cannot be 
determined.

•	 Explosives, chemicals and electrical shocking 
devices are strictly forbidden, and their use 
carries heavy penalties.

•	 Shooting with any type of firearm or air gun to 
injure or take fish or turtles is prohibited.

•	 All boaters and passengers must wear a Coast 
Guard approved life jacket within the area 
designated and appropriately marked as a 
hazardous area below any dam and/or lock.

•	 It is illegal to take any fish, crayfish or turtle 
that is listed as endangered, threatened or 
in-need- of-management.

•	  It is illegal to sell or offer to sell fish or turtles 
without a commercial fishing license.

Bait: Any living or dead organism, or prepared 
substance designed to attract fish by taste or 
odor. For the purpose of this proclamation bait 
includes, but is not limited to, fish, fish eggs, 
crayfish, worms, grubs, crickets, corn, cheese, 
bread, pork rinds, putty or paste-type products, 
and flavors or scents applied to or impregnated 
into artificial lures.

Culling: The removal of a fish from the creel limit 
and replacing it with another fish of the same 
species. The released fish must be a live, healthy 
specimen which should be expected to survive 
once it is returned to its natural environment.

Gigging: The taking of fish by means of a 
handheld pole or spear with a tip consisting 
of a single, sharpened point or one or more 
sharpened barbed points. This includes, but is 
not limited to gear known as the Hawaiian sling.

Single hook: A hook with only one point.

Spear gun: Any device designed to propel a 
spear through water and is drawn or held by a 
mechanical device.

Reciprocal Agreements
Tennessee has several reciprocal agreements 
with adjacent states. These agreements have been 
arranged so that any fishing license from either 
Tennessee or the corresponding state is valid in 
the following waters.

Alabama/Mississippi
Pickwick Lake: Applies to anyone with a valid 

Sport fishing license holders shall abide by the 
regulations of the state in whose waters they are 
fishing. Wildlife enforcement officials in either 
state shall have the right to inspect the licenses, 
permits, catches and equipment of any person on 
this portion of Kentucky Lake subject to the laws 
of either state.

Missouri
Persons possessing a valid sportfishing license 
in either state may fish in the Mississippi River 
and its backwaters within the boundaries of the 
other state and any oxbow lakes through which 
the Missouri-Tennessee boundary passes. They 
may fish from or attach any device or equipment 
to land under the jurisdiction of the other state. 
Persons licensed in only one state may not fish 
in the Mississippi River tributaries of the other 
state. Anglers must comply with the fishing 
regulations of the state where they are fishing 
and when fishing where they are not licensed 
will comply with the most restrictive state’s 
regulation. Persons legally exempted from license 
requirements of either state are entitled to these 
privileges and provisions.

Except where it is shown to be elsewhere, the 
center of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
navigation channel will be the boundary between 
Tennessee and Missouri.

North Carolina
Sportfishing licenses from either state are 
recognized in all of Calderwood Reservoir 
while fishing from a boat and in that portion of 
Slickrock Creek which constitutes the boundary 
between the two states. See pages 19 and 30 
for regulations on Calderwood Reservoir and 
Slickrock Creek, respectively.

Virginia
South Holston Reservoir: Tennessee residents 
may purchase an annual South Holston 
Reservoir License (Type 063) to fish the VA 
portion of South Holston Reservoir. Virginia 
residents can purchase a similar license from 
VDGIF to fish the TN portion of the reservoir. 
Anglers that are not TN or VA residents must 
abide by the state boundary line unless they 
purchase other appropriate fishing licenses from 
both states.

A South Holston Reservoir License is valid for 
all impounded portions of the reservoir below 
full pool elevation of 1,730 feet, including the 
confluence of the Middle Fork and South Fork 
Holston Rivers and the South Fork Holston 
upstream to the Route 710 Bridge at Alvarado, VA. 

In addition to the South Holston Reservoir 
License, an angler must have whatever licenses 
that are required to fish in their home state. A 
valid resident TN trout fishing license or a valid 
resident VA trout fishing license is required to 
fish for trout. All anglers shall abide by the laws of 
the state in which they are fishing as to manner 
and means of taking fish. Length and creel limits 
are listed on page 21 of this guide.

Sport Fishing License from Tennessee, Alabama 
or Mississippi. Resident anglers of the three 
states may fish without purchasing a nonresident 
license anywhere within the boundaries covered 
by the agreement. The reciprocal area includes all 
impounded water from Pickwick Dam upstream 
to Tennessee River Mile 224.8 at the mouth of 
Bear Creek but does not include Bear Creek and 
does not include that portion of Yellow Creek 
above the Hwy. 25 Bridge. Sport fishing license 
holders shall abide by the regulations of the state 
in whose waters they are fishing.

Arkansas
This state agrees to honor either license on the 
flowing waters of the Mississippi River, adjacent 
sloughs, bayous and old river runs, which 
are accessible by boat from the river proper, 
and the old river chutes forming a common 
boundary, excluding all wildlife management 
areas established by either state and the Wolf, 
Loosahatchie, Hatchie, Forked Deer and Obion 
rivers. The following common regulations apply:

•	 Black Bass: creel limit 10, no length limit.
•	 Bream: creel limit 50, no length limit.
•	 Crappie: creel limit 50, no length limit.
•	 Striped Bass and Hybrid Striped Bass: creel 

limit 6, no length limit.
•	 Sauger: creel limit 6, no length limit.

All anglers must follow Arkansas regulations 
governing creel and size limits, trotlines, and 
other equipment requirements on Ikes Chute, 
Hopefield Chute (Dacus Lake), Mosquito Lake, 
Mound City Lake, Island 40 Chute and Lake 
Neark.

Kentucky
Dale Hollow Lake: Sportfishing licenses 
from either state are recognized in Wolf River 
including Illwill Creek, beginning at a line 
crossing the Wolf River at its mouth where it 
joins the Obey River. Creel limits and other 
regulations of the state where the license was 
issued apply.

Big South Fork of the Cumberland River: Sport-
fishing licenses from either state are recognized 
from Leatherwood Ford Bridge (Hwy. 279) in 
Tennessee, downstream to the Hwy. 92 bridge 
at Yamacraw, Kentucky. Creel limits and other 
regulations of the state where the license was 
issued apply.

Kentucky Lake: Each state will recognize the 
sport fishing licenses for the other state on the 
portion of Kentucky Lake south of the Eggners 
Ferry Bridge (US 68 & Hwy. 80) in Kentucky 
and north of the Governor Ned McWherter 
Bridge (US 79 & Hwy. 76) in Tennessee. This 
includes all embayments and tributaries within 
this portion of Kentucky Lake except the Blood 
River embayment. Blood River embayment shall 
be defined as a straight line between opposite 
points where the embayment connects to the 
main body of Kentucky Lake. A sport fishing 
license holder from either state may fish from 
the bank or attach legal sport fishing trot or limb 
lines in this described portion of Kentucky Lake. 
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STATE RECORDS

TENNESSEE ANGLING RECORDS as of January 1, 2016 
CLASS A—Sport Fishing Methods

COMMON NAME WEIGHT LOCATION ANGLER DATE

BLACK BASS

Coosa (Redeye) Bass 1 lb., 15 oz. Parksville Reservoir Harry E. Parker August 18, 1991
Smallmouth* 11 lbs., 15 oz. Dale Hollow Reservoir D. L. Hayes July 9, 1955
Largemouth 15 lbs., 3 oz. Chickamauga Reservoir Gabe Keen February 13, 2015
Spotted 6 lbs., 1 oz. Chickamauga Reservoir Chris Coleman February 22, 2011
Alabama 7 lbs., 0 oz. Parksville Reservoir Shane McKee March 10, 2014

TRUE BASS

Striped Bass (rockfish) 65 lbs., 6 oz. Cordell Hull Reservoir Ralph H. Dallas May 1, 2000
Cherokee (Hybrid) 23 lbs., 3 oz. Stones River         Ray Pelfrey April 17, 1998
White 5 lbs., 10 oz. Mississippi River Bill Nelson September 29, 2003
Yellow* 2 lbs., 9 oz. Duck River (near Waverly,TN) John T. Chappell February 27, 1998

TROUT

Brook 3 lbs., 14 oz. Hiwassee River Jerry Wills August 15, 1973
Brown 28 lbs., 12 oz. Clinch River Greg Ensor August 30, 1988
Cutthroat 6 oz. Obey River (Dale Hollow tailwater) Philip Neyman June 1, 1969
Rainbow 16 lbs., 15 oz. Ft. Patrick Henry Reservoir Ronnie Rowland September 6, 2002
Ohrid* 14 lbs., 5 oz. Watauga Reservoir Richard Lynn Carter March 28, 1986
Lake 22 lbs., 2 oz. Watauga Reservoir Jack Forbes July 3, 2008

CRAPPIE
Black 4 lbs., 4 oz. Brown's Creek Lake Clyde Freeman March 23, 1985
White 5 lbs., 1 oz. Garner Brown's Pond Bill Allen April 20, 1968

PERCH

Yellow 2 lbs., 2 oz. Parksville Lake Jackie V. Kersey March 10, 2010
Sauger 7 lbs., 6 oz. Kentucky Reservoir (Pickwick tailwater) Rayford D. Voss February 19, 1973
Saugeye 10 lbs., 12 oz. Melton Hill Reservoir Chris Vittetoe July 18, 1998
Walleye* 25 lbs. Old Hickory Reservoir Mabry Harper August 3, 1960

PIKE
Northern 24 lbs., 8 oz.              South Holston Reservoir Frank Childers March 28, 1995
Muskellunge 42 lbs., 8 oz. Norris Reservoir Kyle F. Edwards April 27, 1983
Chain Pickerel 7 lbs., 7 oz. Kentucky Reservoir Burke Williams February 2, 1991

SUNFISH

Bluegill (Tie) 3 lbs.
Farm Pond, Bledsoe Co. Brad Pendergrass December 19, 1987
Fall Creek Falls Creek Thelma Grissom June 27, 1977

Pumpkinseed 5 oz. Dogwood Lake Lynn Middleton June 14, 1998
Green 1 lb., 4 oz. North Cross Creek Dwight M. Lehman June 8, 1991
Longer 13 oz. Pond, Overton Co. Kay Forsberg May 15, 1985
Redbreast 1 lb., 5 oz. Holston River R. W. Gillespie June 22, 1974
Redear 3 lbs., 6 oz. Private Pond Annelise S. Houston September 1, 1979
Rock Bass 2 lbs., 8 oz. Stones River Bill Sanford 1958
Warmouth 1 lb., 12 oz. Nolichucky River Frank E. Garrett May 26, 1984
Flier 8 oz. Kentucky Reservoir Craig Ellis June 8, 2001
Orangespotted 5 oz. Nolichucky River Donald Daryl Fox May 30, 1982

CATFISH
Channel 41 lbs. Fall Creek Falls Lake Clint Walters, Jr. July 30, 1982
Blue 112 lbs. Lock C, Cumberland River Robert E. Lewis June 7, 1998
Flathead 85 lbs., 15 oz. Hiwassee River Larry Kaylor July 25, 1993

BULLHEAD
Black Bullhead 3 lbs., 6 oz. Emberton’s Pond (Cannon Co.) Hunter Chance Gaither February 20, 1997
Brown Bullhead 3 lbs, 15 oz. Whiteville Lake Gary Dean Arthur October 25, 2014
Yellow Bullhead 4 lbs., 8 oz. Chickamauga Reservoir Jessie R. Johnson April 21, 1979

CARP

Bighead* 90 lbs., 0 oz. Guntersville Reservoir Jeffrey J. Rorex June 2, 2005 
Common 53 lbs. Marrowbone Lake John R. Pepper, Jr. May 21, 1997
Goldfish 1 lb., 11 oz. Douglas Reservoir Scott Hickman February 17, 2011
Silver 14 lbs., 13 oz. Kentucky Reservoir Timothy D. Mcaroy October 20, 2013
White Amur (Grass) 70 lbs. Guntersville Reservoir (Nickajack tailwater) Chad A. Killian June 4, 2005

BUFFALO
Bigmouth 62 lbs., 0 oz. Percy Priest Reservoir Jeff Wilkins April 1, 2010
Black 58 lbs., 0 oz. Nickajack Reservoir Steve Coursey May 20, 2013
Smallmouth 62 lbs., 7 oz. Percy Priest Reservoir Jerry W. Young April 28, 2001

GAR
Longnose 38 lbs., 3 oz. Barkley Reservoir Mathew A. Norton April 19, 2002
Shortnose 7 lbs., 3 oz. Cross Creeks Stephanie Flood June 13, 2014
Spotted 10 lbs., 10 oz. Cross Creeks Keith Edward Bartley April 28, 2014

REDHORSE

Black 3 lbs., 1 oz. South Fork Holston River Roy Hawk February 16, 2009
Golden 2 lbs., 15.5 oz. South Fork Holston River W. Powell Partridge, Sr. March 28, 2008
River 11 lbs., 10 oz. Pigeon River David H. Ray May 2, 2009
Smallmouth 1 lb., 10 oz. French Broad River Larry Hamilton July 27, 2013
Silver 4 lbs., 8 oz. Harpeth River Jimmy A. Filson June 21, 2008

OTHER

American Eel 5 lbs., 12 oz. Old Hickory Reservoir Kelly Rollin Jr. July 29, 2008
Atlantic needlefish 1.6 oz. Pickwick Dam tailwater J. Wesley Neal September 20, 2008
Bowfin 15 lbs., 7 oz. Reelfoot Lake Charles Aaron June 22, 1983
Paddlefish 96 lbs., 0 oz. Cherokee Reservoir Ronnie Leon Meade April 2, 2015
Creek Chub 7 oz. Dillard Pond #2, U. Paint Creek Jacob Lee Hale May 10, 2014
Central Stoneroller    (Hornyhead) 10 oz. Hiwassee River Roy S. King May 1, 1983
Golden Shiner 15 oz. Chickamauga Reservoir Dave Littlejohn March 26, 1999
Gizzard Shad 3 lbs., 3 oz. Holston River Preston H. Taylor III December 13, 2008
Skipjack Herring* 4 lbs., 0 oz. Watts Bar Reservoir Chris Vittetoe February 28, 2004
Goldeye 14 oz. Cumberland River Harold A. Sanders April 17, 1993
Mooneye 1 lb., 4 oz. Hiwassee River Steve D. Moss May 5, 2005
River Carpsucker 1 lb., 9 oz. Pickwick Reservoir Dr. Jim Youmans February 28, 1980
Quillback 5 lbs., 8 oz. Boone Reservoir Brandon Hollaway June 23, 2012
Spotted Sucker* 3 lbs., 3 oz. Chickamauga Reservoir Greg M Henry March 9, 2008
White Sucker 1 lb., 10 oz. Little War Creek (Hancock Co.) Jim Habera April 26, 2007
Northern Hogsucker 2 lbs., 9 oz. South Holston River Roy Hawk February 16, 2009
Freshwater Drum* 54 lbs., 8 oz. Nickajack Reservoir Benny Hull April 20, 1972
Tilapia 3 lbs, 10.5 oz. Old Hickory Reservoir Tien Huynh November 28, 2014

 *Recognized All-Tackle World Record
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1.	 If I am casting from my own property while 
I fish, do I need a fishing license to fish in 
a public lake or reservoir? Yes. You do not 
qualify for a landowner exemption because 
you do not own the waterbody that you are 
fishing.

2.	 Can I stock fish? No! Releasing fish or any 
other animal into a stream, river or reservoir 
can irreversibly ruin the fishing in that 
location. It is easy to imagine how an exotic 
species released from an aquarium could 
harm our native fish populations. But even 
the release of species such as a bass that 
might already live in that waterbody could 
introduce harmful viruses or diseases. For 
this reason only TWRA has the authority 
to stock public waters which includes all 
streams and rivers, and all public lakes and 
reservoirs. It is illegal to stock the waters of 
Tennessee, and only privately owned ponds 
may be stocked without TWRA approval. 

3.	 Can I clean/dress my fish in any way, while 
on the water? It is unlawful to possess while 
afield any fish which has been altered to 
the extent that its species and/or total body 
length cannot be determined.

4.	 Do I need a trout license if I do not plan on 
keeping trout? If you are fishing for trout, 
you need a trout license whether or not you 
possess trout.

8.	 What is a thermocline and what effect does 
it have on reservoir fish populations?  
As the surface water warms in the late 
spring, a distinct temperature gradient is 
formed between the warm surface water 
and the cool water below. This thermocline 
does not allow the cold water to mix with 
the warm, oxygenated water above. The cold 
water slowly loses oxygen due to the decay 
of organisms and lack of photosynthesis. 
In certain reservoirs, the cold water loses 
enough oxygen during the summer that it 
can no longer support certain cool water 
species like striped bass.

9.	 When do our reservoirs “turn over”? 
Northern reservoirs experience a spring and 
fall “turn over,” but our lakes destratify only 
in the fall. It occurs when the surface water 
cools sufficiently to mix with the cold water 
below. Prior to the cooling period, the warm 
surface water cannot mix with the denser 
water below because of thermal stratification 
(see the previous question).

10.	 What are those jelly-like masses that are 
attached to tree limbs, bushes and other 
objects in the water? They are colonies 
of harmless microscopic animals called 
Bryozoans. They have miniature tentacles to 
capture prey and are permanently attached 
to the colony mass. Large colonies can 
exceed two feet in diameter, but most are less 
than one foot.

5.	 Do I need a fishing license to fish a private 
farm pond? Yes, unless you are not required 
to have a license under a landowner, age, or 
military exemption. See “Who Must Have a 
Tennessee License” section on page 9.

6.	 What licenses are required to fish on 
Wildlife Management Areas (WMAs)? No 
license is required if you are under the age 
of 13, or are military personnel on furlough 
with papers. Otherwise, you only need the 
proper fishing license. Generally there are no 
special WMA licenses required. However, 
a Tellico-Citico permit is required for all 
ages on certain waters within the Cherokee 
National Forest (Cherokee WMA). In addi-
tion, certain WMAs are periodically closed.

7.	 As I was cleaning a fish, I noticed a black, 
white or yellow grub or worm in them. 
What are these and are the fish safe to eat? 
These are small parasites that are referred 
to as Trematodes. Commonly known as 
black spot, yellow grub and white grub, they 
are very common in many fish species in 
Tennessee and worldwide. The parasites 
have a complex life cycle that involves fish, 
fish-eating birds and other invertebrates 
such as snails. While the appearance may 
be unappetizing, fish that are cleaned and 
completely cooked cannot transmit any 
parasite or disease to people who eat the fish. 
The parasites usually do not affect the health 
of the fish except under unusual conditions. 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

CLASS B—Methods Other Than Rod and Reel 
(a) trotline, (b) limbline, (c) jug, (d) slat basket, (e) grabbling, (f) grab hooks, (g) snagging,  

(h) tubbing, (i) archery, (j) speargun, (k) dipping, (l) commercial gear, (m) cast net, (n) seine
COMMON NAME WEIGHT LOCATION ANGLER DATE

BUFFALO

Bigmouth Buffalo 59 lbs., 7 oz. (i) J. Percy Priest Reservoir Brett J. Dennison May 2, 2013

Smallmouth Buffalo 68 lbs., 8 oz. (i) Kentucky Reservoir Reece Bledsoe 
Jonathon Bledsoe April 6, 2013

Black Buffalo 80 lbs. (a) Robco Lake (Shelby Co.) Hiluard J. DeLoach April 1, 1980

CARP

Bighead Carp 95 lbs. (l) Kentucky Lake (Eagle Creek) Billy Roberson September 3, 2014
Silver Carp 36 lbs. (i) Kentucky Lake CeJae Brown June 13, 2013
Bowfin 21 lb., 12 oz. (i)  Cedar Creek Pat Johns June 3, 1997
Common Carp 52 lbs., 14 oz. (i) Nickajack Reservoir Allen Kimsey June 24, 2002

REDHORSE
River Redhorse 11 lb., 6 oz. (f) West Fork of Obey River John Mark Keisling April 28, 2007
Black Redhorse 3 lbs., 10 oz. (a) Chilhowee Reservoir Lewis Winters October 26, 2007
Silver Redhorse 4 lbs., 14oz. (i) W. Prong Little Pigeon River Greg Bull January 28, 2015

CATFISH

Flathead Catfish 92 lbs. (l) Mississippi River
Kenneth A. Childress 
Jackie W. Stafford 
Jerry L. Stafford

November 30, 2000

Channel Catfish 12 lbs., 14.4oz (b) Hiwassee River (Bradley Co.) Jolene Watson 
Justin Watson September 8, 2014

Blue Catfish 130 lbs. (l) Ft. Loudoun Reservoir
J.C. Garland 
Bill Norman 
Richard Reagan

December 18, 1976

BULLHEAD
Black Bullhead 3 lbs., 14 oz. (k) Lakeland Trout Farm David Tait June 18, 1982
Brown Bullhead 3 lbs, 4 oz (c) Whiteville Lake Gary Dean Arthur October 25, 2014
Yellow Bullhead 0 lbs.,  9 oz. (c) Beaver Creek (Knoxville) Dan Pluff September 17, 2013

GAR

Longnose Gar 45 lbs., 8 oz.  (i) Kentucky Lake Kirk Wood
Alex Bailey October 7, 2015

White Amur 78 lbs. (i) Nickajack Reservoir Allen Kimsey May 19, 2001
Short Nose Gar 8 lbs., 4 oz. (i) Chickamauga Reservoir Scott Simmons April 15, 1984
Spotted Gar 12 lbs., 0 oz. (i) Reelfoot Lake Jim Ulerick April 14, 2013

OTHER

Freshwater Drum 25 lbs., 7 oz. (i) Nickajack Reservoir Allen Kimsey April 23, 2002
Quillback 3 lbs., 8 oz. (i) Obion River (Hop-in) Travis Reaves August 2, 2014
River Carpsucker 4 lbs., 4 oz. (i) J. Percy Priest Reservoir Jeremy Bozza May 5, 2014
Gizzard Shad 2 lbs., 14 oz Kentucky Lake Billy Roberson April 18, 2013
Skipjack Herring 2 lbs., 5 oz. (l) Duck River Billy Roberson December 14, 2015
Paddlefish 120 lbs. (g) Center Hill Res. (Bluehole) John T. Johnson March 23, 1982  
Central Stoneroller 5 oz. (g) Doe River Rex Timbs November 6, 1997
Spotted Sucker 2 lbs., 10 oz. (i) Ky. Lk.-Standing Rock Creek Christopher Todd July 26, 1996
Northern Hogsucker 1 lb., 10 oz. (i) Ky. Lk.-Standing Rock Creek Dale E. Brooks Aug  9, 1996
American Eel 2 lbs., 5 oz. (c) Kentucky Lake (Big Sandy) Timothy D. Mcaroy October 14, 2013

 *Recognized All-Tackle World Record

How To Be Considered For  
A State Record Fish
The following criteria must be followed:

1.	State record fish application is available at tnwildlife.org 
in the For Anglers section.

2.	To be considered for a state record certificate, the fish 
must be weighed on a certified scale. These scales 
may be found at supermarket meat centers or at 
TWRA Regional Offices.

3.	Two witnesses, one of which must be the scale 
operator/ owner, must sign the application certifying 
that they have observed the declared weight.

4.	Only species recognized by the International Game 
Fish Association (IGFA) will be considered for 
Tennessee state record certification. These are 
available at http://www.igfa.org.

5.	Ties are accepted, but a new state record will be 
recognized only if the weight of the fish is 1 oz. or 
more than the weight of the previous state record for 
that species or recognized hybrid.

6.	It is the responsibility of the fisherman to contact a 
TWRA fisheries biologist for positive identification of 
the fish. The fish must be alive, fresh or frozen until 
positive species identity can be established.

7.	Only two hybrid classifications, the striped bass/white 
bass (Cherokee bass) and the walleye/sauger 
(Saugeye), will be considered for state record 
classification. Applicants must be willing to submit to 
the professional judgment of the certifying biologist 
as to the fish’s hybrid status. A photograph is not 
acceptable for identification.

8.	TWRA reserves the right to conduct genetic testing on 
any fish submitted as a state record to verify its 
species or hybrid status.

9.	The completed application must be forwarded to the 
TWRA Fisheries Management Division within 30 days 
of the catch in order to be considered for a state 
record certificate.
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TENNESSEE ANGLER RECOGNITION PROGRAM
The Tennessee Angler Recognition Program 
(TARP) gives anglers an opportunity to 
have their trophy-size fish recognized by the 
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency. Anglers 
of any age, who catch large fish that meet or 
exceed qualifying lengths, can apply. The 
TWRA Fisheries Management Division sends 
these accomplished anglers TARP certificates 
featuring color reproductions of fish artwork by 
renowned wildlife artist Joseph R. Tomelleri.

The program is designed to acknowledge anglers 
for outstanding sportfishing accomplishments, 
to encourage catch and release of trophy size fish 
and to provide the TWRA with information on 
large fish caught throughout the state. Not to be 
confused with the State Record Fish program, 
TARP recognizes anglers who catch trophy fish 
that are not necessarily state records.

Trophy Fish/Master Angler 
Certificates

TARP features 
five levels of angler 
recognition. Anglers 
catching a fish that 
meets or exceeds the 
minimum “trophy” 
length requirements 
will receive a 

Trophy Fish certificate. These certificates feature 
artwork representing the species caught by the 
applicant. After anglers submit five trophy-size 
fish, in any combination, a Master Angler Level 
I certificate and patch will be awarded at no cost 
to the angler.

Anglers submitting five different trophy-size fish 
will receive a Master Angler Level II certificate 
and patch. The Master Angler Level III will be 
awarded to anglers submitting ten different 
trophy-size fish.

In addition to a certificate and patch, the angler 
will receive a “tackle package,” courtesy of Bass 
Pro Shops (Kodak, TN). The newest level, Master 
Angler IV will be awarded to anglers submitting 
fifteen different trophy fish. The award will 
consist of a certificate, patch and an engraved 
trophy.

How Do You Qualify?
•	 The fish must meet or exceed the minimum 

Trophy Fish Length listed on the right of this 
page.

•	 Persons 13 years of age and older must be  
licensed anglers and must provide their 
license number (TWRA #) on the application.

•	 The fish must be caught legally (in accordance 
with Tennessee Sportfishing Regulations) in 
Tennessee waters, by sportfishing methods 
only (rod and reel or cane pole).

•	 The length of the fish must be verified by 
either a witness or a photograph. The witness 
must complete the section on the application 
and/ or the photo must be of the fish lying 
flat on top of or beside a flat measuring rule 
or tape and included with the application. Be 
aware that photos may be used on the TWRA 
web site and in TWRA publications.

If you believe your catch exceeds the current 
state record for that species, you should 
immediately contact a TWRA Fisheries Biologist 
for positive identification of the fish (see page 45).

How Do You Apply?
An application form is located below. Complete 
one application form for each fish you are 
registering. You may include more than one 
application form per envelope. If the fish length 
is being verified by photo, the picture must be 
enclosed with the application. For Trophy Fish 
Certificate only, a $5.00 processing fee, per 
application, must also be enclosed and mailed 

within 90 days from the date of catch. Make 
check or money order payable to TWRA and 
mail, with the application(s), to the address at 
the right of the application. The processing fee is 
non-refundable for non-qualifying applications. 
For further information about TARP or the State 
Record Fish program, call (615) 781-6575, or visit 
www.tnwildlife.org.

Measuring Your Fish
Please refer to the instructions on page 10.

TROPHY FISH APPLICATION FORM 
FORM MUST BE FILLED OUT COMPLETELY. PLEASE PRINT. 

Angler’s name:  ____________________________________________________ Phone number: ( ________ )  __________ -  __________________

Address:  __________________________________________________________ City: _________________________  State: ______  Zip: __________

Age of applicant:  ____________  Do you qualify for a Master Angler Award? ___Yes ___No

Fishing license number (TWRA #):  ____________________________________________

FISH INFORMATION:  ___________________________  DATE CAUGHT: ________________________

Body of water where caught:  ________________________________________________________   ___Yes ___No 

Type of Water: ___Pond ___Reservoir/Lake ___River/Stream  Bait: ___Natural 

County:  _________________________   (to nearest ¼ inch): _____________________   (A or B)

A. Witness signature: _______________________________________________  Phone number: ( ________ )  __________ -  __________________

 Address: ________________________________________________________  City: _________________________ State: ______  Zip: __________

B. Photo:   
Photos become property of TWRA and are not returned. Photos may be used in publications.

(Angler sign here) I,   ______________________________________________________________________________
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Minimum Trophy Fish Lengths
Species Length (inches)
Largemouth Bass 22
Spotted Bass 18
Smallmouth Bass 20
Striped Bass 40
Hybrid Striped Bass  
(Cherokee Bass) 28

White Bass 18
Black Crappie 14
White Crappie 14
Bluegill 10
Redear Sunfish 11
Rock Bass 10
Sauger 20
Walleye 28
Yellow Perch 11
Muskellunge 40
Brook Trout 10
Brown Trout 26
Rainbow Trout 24
Lake Trout 28
Channel Catfish 30
Blue Catfish 34
Flathead Catfish 34
Common Carp 34
Freshwater Drum 28
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SPORTING MARKETPLACE
RETAILERS & CAMPGROUNDS

FISHING RESORTS, GUIDES & OUTFITTERS

LAND MANAGEMENT

CHARITY

FRANKLIN COUNTY
HIKING
KAYAKING
CANOEING
GOLFING
ENTERTAINMENT
CAMPING
FESTIVALS
RESTAURANTS
2 AIRPORTS
HUNTING
MOVIE THEATRE
DRIVE IN MOVIE
MARINAS
ARTS & CRAFTS
FISHING
BOATING

Franklin County Chamber of Commerce
44 Chamber Way / PO Box 280

Winchester, TN 37398
931.967.6788

info@franklincountychamber.com
www.FranklinCountyChamber.com

The Flyshop in Gatlinburg

Professional Fishing Guides
Complete Selection of Flyfishing Equipment

Spinning Gear and Equipment Rental
TWRA License Agent

Spinshop: (865) 436-0746
466 Brookside Village Way

Gatlinburg, TN 37738

Flyshop: (865) 436-9080
469 Brookside Village Way

Gatlinburg, TN 37738
SmokyMountainAngler.com

STAY SHARP!
THE INDUSTRY 

STANDARD 
SINCE 1957

GRANBERG
PRECISION CHAIN GRINDERS

FREE CATALOG • 800•233•6499  
OR VISIT

WWW.GRANBERG.COM

Make Hunting & Fishing 
Dreams Come True!
Hunt of a Lifetime is 
a nonprofit organization 
that grants hunting 
and fishing dreams to 
children, age 21 and 
under, who have been 
diagnosed with life 
threatening illnesses. 

If you are interested in helping a child live thier 
dream, please contact us for more information. 

Toll Free 866.345.4455 HuntofaLifetime.org
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Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, and Weakley counties. 
Each net must be marked with the owner’s name 
and address or TWRA Identification Number. 
Each net must be set so that a portion of the 
catch area is above the water. John Tully WMA 
and Cove Lake State Park are closed to all sport 
methods for turtle harvest.

No turtle may be possessed while afield which 
has been altered to the extent that its species or 
length cannot be determined.

A sport fishing license is required and only the 
common snapping turtle may be taken. Turtles 
taken by sport fishing methods may not be sold. 
Shooting with any type of firearm or air gun is 
prohibited.

Common snapping turtles may be taken by 
all legal sport fishing methods except archery, 
spearguns. Daily limit is 5 with a minimum 
legal length of 12 inches–length is determined 
by measuring the upper shell in a straight line 
from the scute directly behind the turtle’s head 
(nuchal scute) to the base of the notch where the 
two most posterior scutes meet. Sport fishermen 
may also take snapping turtles by the use of up 
to three turtle trap nets, with minimum net 
size of three inches on the square in Benton, 
Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, 
Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, 
Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, 
Lauderdale, McNairy, Madison, Obion, Perry, 

TURTLES

Attention Anglers
The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency is conducting an alligator snapping turtle 
restoration project in West Tennessee which involves the release of live alligator snapping 
turtles. Both adult and juvenile turtles have been released to restore this rare, native 
species. Alligator snapping turtles are listed in Tennessee as In Need of Management and 
are illegal to take.

For more information or to report sightings of alligator snapping turtles, contact TWRA 
at (731) 423-5725, or write to 200 Lowell Thomas Dr., Jackson, TN 38301

Tennessee’s Lake 
Sturgeon Project
Lake sturgeon are a primitive species that 
can grow to eight feet in length, weigh up 
to 300 pounds, and live 150 years. Since 
2000, over 181,000 lake sturgeon have been 
stocked into the French Broad and Holston 
rivers near Knoxville and the Cumberland 
River near Nashville. These stocking efforts 
are part of a long-term program designed 
to restore reproducing populations of this 
primitive species to Tennessee waters. This 
species is known to travel long distances, so 
it is very likely that anglers could catch lake 
sturgeon in waters of the state other than 
where they were stocked. Angler reports 
are important to TWRA because they 
provide important movement and growth 
information needed to monitor the success 
of Tennessee’s lake sturgeon reintroduction 
program.

Since 2006, over 300 anglers have reported 
catching a sturgeon.

If you catch a lake sturgeon, please be as 
careful as possible not to harm the fish— 
avoid holding lake sturgeon by their tails 
and remember that fish cannot breathe 
while they are out of the water. Lake 
sturgeon are endangered in Tennessee and 
should be released immediately. If possible, 
note an approximate length before the 
fish is released. Additionally, TWRA would 
appreciate a picture of your lake sturgeon 
catch if you can take one without harming 
the fish.

In appreciation of your report, TWRA will 
issue you a numbered Lake Sturgeon 
Certificate (above) that features a color 
reproduction of a lake sturgeon drawn by 
renowned wildlife artist Joseph R. Tomelleri.

If you catch a lake sturgeon please call the 
toll free number for your regional office 
(see page 7 of this fishing guide) or the Fish 
Management Division at (615) 781-6575.

You will be asked to provide your name, 
address, and phone number and the 
following information about your catch: 
when and where you caught it, an 
approximate length, and what you were 
using for bait.

Legal Turtle -12 inches or larger

Common Snapping Turtle
•	 Common snapping turtles have a 

smoother, rounded shell (especially as 
adults) without the three ridges, and a 
smaller head and weakly hooked beak.

•	 Rarely exceeds 30 pounds.
•	 Common snapping turtles do not have 

the extra row of scutes (scales) between 
the outer scale row and large central 
scales.

Alligator Snapping Turtle
•	 Alligator snapping turtles have three 

large prominent ridges along the back, 
a large head, and a prominently hooked 
beak.

•	 They often reach weights in excess of  
30 pounds.

•	 Alligator snapping turtles have an extra 
row of scutes (scales) between the outer 
scale row and the large center scales.
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