Contact Us

If you are experiencing a mental health emergency, call 855-CRISIS-1 (1-855-274-7471)
Trained professionals are available to help 24 hours a day/7 days a week

If you have concerns about yourself or a loved one, contact our Helpline 
Hours: Monday-Friday: 8 AM to 4:30 PM
Phone: 800-560-5767
Email: OCA.TDMHSAS@tn.gov

Department Operator
(615) 532-6500

Commissioner's  Office
Commissioner Marie Williams, LCSW, (615) 532-6500, Marie.Williams@tn.gov
Deputy Commissioner Sejal West, (615) 253-6748, Sejal.West@tn.gov
Executive Assistant
Kris Jernighan, (615) 770-0468, Kristosser.A.Jernighan@tn.gov

Division of Administrative & Regulatory Services
Assistant Commissioner's Office - Cynthia Tyler, (615) 532-6670, Cynthia.Tyler@tn.gov
Director of Office of Licensure - Alex King, J.D., (615) 532-6590, Alex.King@tn.gov
East Tennessee Office of Licensure - Kristi Crawford, (865) 594-6551; Complaints: (866) 777-1250
Middle Tennessee Office of Licensure - Alphie Duncan, (615) 532-6590; Complaints: (866) 797-9470, Alphie.Duncan@tn.gov
West Tennessee Office of Licensure - Nicole Rivers, (901) 543-7442; Complaints: (866) 344-0858
Director of Subrecipient Monitoring & Audit – Paul Havlicek, (615) 770-0434, Paul.Havlicek@tn.gov
Fiscal Monitor, Middle & West Regions - Paul Havlicek, (615) 770-0434, Paul.Havlicek@tn.gov
Fiscal Monitor, East Region - Dennis Wright, 865.594.2817, Dennis.Wright@tn.gov

Division of Mental Health Services
Assistant Commissioner's Office - Matt Yancey, (615) 253-5443, Matt.Yancey@tn.gov
Behavioral Health Safety Net (BHSN of TN) - Debbie Shahla, (615) 532-6505, Debbie.Shahla@tn.gov
Child and Youth Mental Health - Interim contact: Matt Yancey, (615) 253-5443, Matt.Yancey@tn.gov
Consumer Affairs and Peer Recovery Services - Lisa Ragan, (615) 532-6732, Lisa.Ragan@tn.gov
Wellness and Employment - Katie Lee, (615) 253-2828, Katie.Lee@tn.gov
Crisis Services and Suicide Prevention Services - Morenike Murphy, (615) 253-7306, Morenike.Murphy@tn.gov
Housing and Homeless Services - Michael Davis, (615) 253-8401, Michael.J.Davis@tn.gov
Statewide System of Care (SOC) Initiatives - Keri Virgo, (615) 770-0462, Keri.Virgo@tn.gov
Older Adults, Disaster Services & PASRR - Dennis Temple, (615) 253-5558, Dennis.Temple@tn.gov
Operations - Justine Bass, (615) 253-6893, Justine.Bass@tn.gov

Division of Substance Abuse Services
Assistant Commissioner's Office - Dr. Stephen Loyd, (615) 532-1225, Stephen.Loyd@tn.gov
Deputy Assistant Commissioner - Taryn Harrison Sloss (615) 532-7793, Taryn.Sloss@tn.gov
Office of Criminal Justice Services - Ellen Abbott, (615) 253-7837, Ellen.Abbott@tn.gov
Office of Prevention Services - Sarah Cooper, (615) 532-7786, Sarah.Cooper@tn.gov
Office of Treatment and Recovery Services - Linda McCorkle, (615) 532-7803, Linda.McCorkle@tn.gov
Office of Faith-Based Initiatives and Special Projects – Monty Burks, (615) 770-1783, Monty.Burkes@tn.gov
Office of Opioid Treatment Services – Ira Lacy, (615) 532-7802, Ira.Lacy@tn.gov

Division of Hospital Services
Assistant Commissioner's Office William (Bo) Turner, Ph.D, (615) 532-5006, Bo.Turner@tn.gov
Deputy Assistant Commissioner Melissa Sparks, (615) 253-4641, Melissa.Sparks@tn.gov
Director of Hospital Services - Bruce Gilmore, (615) 741-3032, Bruce.Gilmore@tn.gov
Memphis Mental Health Institute - (901) 577-1800, CEO Josh Carter, Josh.Carter@tn.gov
Middle Tennessee Mental Health Institute - (615) 902-7400, CEO Joyce Kovacs, LCSW, Joyce.Kovacs@tn.gov
Moccasin Bend Mental Health Institute - (423) 265-2271, CEO Mary C. Young, Mary.C.Young@tn.gov
Western Mental Health Institute - (731) 228-2000, CEO Roger PursleyRoger.Pursley@tn.gov
Director of Recruitment - (615) 532-6515, John R. Arredondo, John.Arredondo@tn.gov

Division of General Counsel
General Counsel - Zack Griffith, (615) 532-6520, Zack.Griffith@tn.gov
Office of Legislation and Rules - Kurt Hippel, (615) 532-9439, Kurt.Hippel@tn.gov
Office of Legislation and Rules - Clinton Sprinkle, (615) 253-8763, Clinton.Sprinkle@tn.gov
Office of Contracts and Privacy - Quinn Wilson, (615) 532-6520, Quinn.Wilson@tn.gov or MHSAS.Contracts@tn.gov

Division of Clinical Leadership
Medical Director/Assistant Commissioner - Howard L. Burley, Jr. M.D., (615) 532-6564, Howard.Burley@tn.gov
Statistical Research Specialist/Licensed Psychologist - Edwina Chappell, Ph. D., (615) 741-9476, Edwina.Chappell@tn.gov
Education & Development Director/Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator - Gwen Hamer, (615) 532-6510, Gwen.Hamer@tn.gov

Division of Planning, Research, and Forensics
Assistant Commissioner's Office - Marthagem Whitlock, (615) 532-6744, Marthagem.Whitlock@tn.gov
Office of Planning - Avis Easley, (615) 253-6397, Avis.Easley@tn.gov
Office of Research - Karen Edwards, Ph. D., (615) 532-3648, Karen.Edwards@tn.gov
Office of Forensic and Juvenile Court Services - Jeff Feix, Ph. D., (615) 532-6747, Jeff.Feix@tn.gov

Division of Fiscal Services
Department Controller - Michael Walden, (615) 770-0464, Michael.Walden@tn.gov
Accounts Payable - Tina Manning, (615) 532-6649, Tina.Manning@tn.gov
Grants Accounts Payable - Mike Drewry, (615) 253-4731, Mike.Drewry@tn.gov
Policy 03 and Cost Allocation Plans - Mike Drewry, (615) 253-4731, Mike.Drewry@tn.gov

Office of Communications
Director/Media Contact - Micheal A. Jones, Esq., Office: (615) 532-6597, Cell: (615) 943-3172, Micheal.A.Jones@tn.gov
Assistant Director of Communications - Leslie Judson, (615) 770-0466, Leslie.Judson@tn.gov

Office of Human Resources  Ph: (615) 532-6580

Location and Mailing Address
Andrew Jackson Building- 6th Floor
500 Deaderick Street | Nashville, TN 37243