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LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR 

RESIDENT INSURANCE PRODUCERS REQUIRED TO TAKE EXAMINATIONS 

 

An “Insurance Producer” is a person required to be licensed under the laws of Tennessee to Sell, Solicit or Negotiate insurance. 

 
General Requirements 

 
1. The applicant is at least eighteen (18) years of age. 

2. Resides in Tennessee. 

3. The applicant is competent, trustworthy, financially responsible, and has a good business reputation. 

4. The applicant is required to pass a written examination.   

 

Application Procedure 

 
1. Schedule your examination with PearsonVue online at https://home.pearsonvue.com/tn/insurance or contact them by phone: (800) 

274-4957).  

2. Fingerprint based background check is required -- see attached instructions. To avoid delays, please complete your fingerprinting 

at least 2 business days prior to submitting your application for a license.   

3. Pass the required examination.  PearsonVue will electronically submit your scores to the department. 

4. Submit your application and filing fee ($50.00) online at www.nipr.com.  YOU MUST WAIT 48 HOURS FROM TAKING THE 

EXAMINATION TO SUBMIT YOUR APPLICATION ELECTRONICALLY.  Processing time for paper applications is 15 days 

from receipt in the Agent Licensing Section. 

5. You will be issued a license by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance once you pass your examination, and the 

Department of Commerce and Insurance is satisfied that you meet all other licensing requirements.  THE TENNESSEE 

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE AND INSURANCE MAKES THE FINAL DECISION AS TO WHETHER TO LICENSE 

ANY APPLICANT UNDER TENNESSEE INSURANCE LAW. 

 
An insurance producer shall not act as an agent of an insurer unless the insurance producer becomes an appointed agent of that insurer.  The appointing insurer 
shall file within fifteen days from the date the agency contract is executed or the first insurance application is submitted. 
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Registering for Fingerprinting 
 

 

 

Online Registration  
 

Available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  

 

      1. Go to www.identogo.com  

      2. Click on Tennessee map  

      3. Enter required information: name, agency (Department of Commerce and Insurance), choose type:    

 

            TN Insurance Producer - ORI # TN920680Z  (Transaction Type – IP) 

 

            TN Public Adjuster – ORI# TN920560Z  

 

            TN Navigator/CAC - ORI# TN920783Z 

 

       4. Follow prompts for locations and payment   

 

 

 

If you need assistance, call 1- (855) 226-2937 to speak to a representative.   

 

 

To avoid delays, please complete your fingerprinting at least 2 business days 

PRIOR to submitting your application at www.nipr.com.    

 
 

 

 

 
Insurance Producers - Departmental Rule 0780-1-56, Rev. 4/14  

Public Adjusters - T.C.A. 56-6-901 – 56-6-920 

Procedures Rev. 08/2011 
Navigators/CAC –T.C.A. 56-6-1301 - 1305 

T.C.A. 56-1-107 
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FINGERPRINTING 

 

APPLICANT RECORD NOTIFICATION 

 

 

 

Notification 

 

Fingerprints submitted will be used to check the criminal history records of the TBI and FBI. 

 

 

 

Obtaining Copy 

 

Procedures for obtaining a copy of FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 28, Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR), Section 16.30 through 16.33 or go to the FBI website at http://www.fbi.gov/about-

us/cjis/background-checks 

 

 

 

Change, Correction or Updating 

 

Procedures for obtaining a change correction or updating of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at Title 

28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 16.34. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


