


• Tennessee Code Annotated (TCA) is the basis for the 
program

• The Medication Administration for Unlicensed Personnel 
Program allows agencies to keep costs down by allowing 
for some things to be done by certified staff rather than 
nurses.

• TN Dept of Health’s Board of Nursing had a hand in 
creating the curriculum and the rules which drive the 
program
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DIDD Regional Nursing Departments shall

• Train RN trainers on curriculum and rules

• Monitor classes and paperwork

• Create tests and forms for maintaining the program

• Keep accurate data base to determine eligibility and 
expiration of issued certifications

• Help trainers advertise their classes by posting calendars

• Assist with investigations of issues related to medications
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• Maintain current certification of both their RN license 
and their Med Administration training certification

• Follow the training curriculum approved by the Board of 
Nursing – 20 hours instruction

• Maintain the integrity of the test

• Process class paperwork timely and accurately and send 
to regional office

• Notify agencies within 2 business days 

following class with pass/fail information
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• Provider agency must have a written policy and procedure 
demonstrating compliance with TCA rules for employees who 
administer medications

• These policies and procedures shall be reviewed and 
accepted by DIDD prior to the implementation of medication 
administration by unlicensed employees in that agency

• Agencies must have a separate medication administration 
record (MAR) of medications for each person receiving 
medications
– These records are subject to review by DIDD
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• Verify status of Med Administration certifications of all 
new hires by contacting the Regional Office Nursing Dept

• Provide training materials to staff who will be taking the 
Med Admin class for study prior to attending class

• Send staff to class well-rested an ready to learn – trainers 
may send staff home who are falling asleep or who are 
disruptive. 
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When trained staff fail to administer medications safely
When an agency has evidence that staff is unable to safely administer 
medications due to

– The use of drugs, alcohol or controlled substances which could impair 
judgement, or

– Performance of unsafe or unacceptable care of people receiving medications, or
– Failure to conform to the essential and prevailing standards of medication 

administration

the agency shall immediately suspend the authority of the employee 
to administer medications and shall contact the Regional Office 
nursing department – form available on web 

https://www.tn.gov/didd/divisions/health-services/--medication-
administration.html
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• The Department shall review the recommendation and 
provide a decision to the provider agency.  Termination of 
certification notice shall be provided to the certified 
personnel by certified mail and he/she shall have the 
right to request an appeal hearing on his/her termination 
of authority to administer medications, pursuant to the 
Tennessee Uniform Administrative Procedures Act. 

• TCA 0465-01-03-.08
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• Track certification dates of employees so as to keep 
certifications current, 
– they expire 3 years from last day of class (test date)

– i.e. Class is Sept 12-16, 2017 then certification will Expire - Sept 
16, 2020

• Schedule staff for test-outs or retraining timely (may 
attend up to 45 days before expiration date)

• Enforce expiration dates. There is no grace period for 
administering medications! Certification expiration 
date is the last day staff can administer medications.
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• If staff have not attended retraining before expiration 
date, he/she must stop administering meds but can 
attend class and test up to 30 days after expiration  

• ** NOTE – Failure of test (whether after class or at a test-
out administered by a certified RN Trainer) means 
certification is null and void and staff must stop
administering medications until they have re-tested and 
Passed both written test and skills test
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• The provider agency shall monitor, at a minimum the 
first medication pass of the certified personnel upon 
successful completion of his/her original certification, 
provide ongoing monitoring in accordance with agency 
policy and maintain documentation of such. 

TCA 0465-01-03-.09

• Agencies are expected to check the level of competency 
of their staff to ensure the health and safety of the 
people served
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• Administration, storage and disposal of medications

• Documentation and record keeping – the MAR

• Types of medications, their actions, interactions and potential 
side effects

• Appropriate emergency responses to adverse reactions

• Terminology, abbreviations and measurements 

• State and federal regulations regarding medications

• Legal and ethical aspects of medications administration

• An Introduction to pharmacology and sample forms
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• Test outs and classes have a 20:1 ratio – 20 students to 
1 RN certified instructor mandated by Tennessee Code 
Annotated

• Test Outs are defined as – completion of online review 
followed by successfully passing the written and 
practical tests administered by a certified RN Trainer

• TCA 0465-01-03-.04
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• Attend the required hours of classroom instruction (20 
hours) 

• Employees shall achieve a score of at least 80% for the 
course based on a written, objective test on the 
components and

• Demonstrate proficiency in the practicum of medication 
administration with a score of at least 80%
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• Individual agency policies must be taught separately, 
outside the 20 hour time frame.
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• The monthly calendar is posted on the “DIDD Health Services” 
website

• Contact info for each class is listed next to the class dates and 
location

• Agencies use that contact info to enroll employed staff giving 
name and social security number

• Staff info is checked against the data base and if eligible, staff 
are enrolled taking up one of the 20 available seats (some 
trainers waitlist additional staff names to cover no shows)
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• Currently DIDD pays the Independent trainer at a rate of 
$50 for staff who have never taken the course before and 
$5 for a recertification test-out

• Agencies who employ their own RN, who is a certified 
trainer, receive a check based on those same rates made 
out to the agency
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• When registered staff do not attend, it takes money

out of the independent trainers’ pockets

• Staff needing class are told classes are full, but when 
there are no shows there is no way to get those other 
staff into the class

• Trainers end up teaching to small classes or may cancel 
the class due to low numbers and No One Wins!

• Persons we serve are impacted when agencies do not 
have adequate numbers of Med Admin certified staff

19



• Enroll only employed staff who meet the age, legal and 
language requirements

• Monitor expiration dates of certified staff so as to retrain 
timely

• Communicate with staff the class time and location and send 
them rested, prepared and ready to learn

• Supply staff with the course materials and explain and 
practice the paperwork especially the MAR

• Be prepared, after staff pass, to train on your agency policies 
and to monitor staff competency
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Contact your regional Nurse Educator or Director or Nursing
East # 423-787-6925
Middle # 615-231-5434
West # 901-745-7801
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