## STATE OF TENNESSEE



#### BUREAU OF ETHICS AND CAMPAIGN FINANCE TENNESSEE ETHICS COMMISSION

404 James Robertson Parkway, Suite 104 Nashville, TN 37243-1360 (615) 741-7959 Fax: (615) 532-8905 www.tn.gov/tec

BOARD MEMBERS Charles Traughber, Chair Tammy S. White, Secretary Stacey Floyd-Thomas Duane Gilbert Lynn Richardson James G. Stranch, III EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Bill Young

# **PUBLIC NOTICE**

The Tennessee Ethics Commission ("Commission") will meet on Tuesday, October 26, 2021 for its regularly scheduled meeting. The meeting will begin at **9:00 a.m.** (**CST**) at the Tennessee Tower, 312 Rosa L. Parks Avenue, Nashville, TN, 37219, in the Nashville Room of the 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Conference Center. Due to COVID-19 containment efforts, participants, and members of the public (including press members), will be allowed to dial in telephonically, the dial in number is 615-253-0716. If you wish to dial in, please contact Bureau Chief of Staff Janet Williams at <u>janet.williams@tn.gov</u> by no later than Friday, October 22, 2021, so the Commission will have a list of dial in participants. Please note this meeting will be recorded.

The agenda for the meeting is as follows:

- 1. Approval of June 29, 2021 minutes
- 2. Discussion whether to issue a formal advisory opinion in the Brown Forman matter (see pages 1-38)
- 3. Discussion of authority to issue penalties relating to non-payment of lobbyist registration fees and lobbyist training fees (see page 39)
- 4. Update on Kelsey Ketron, Case No. 2018-055 (see pages 40-41)
- 5. Discussion of sworn complaint filed with the Registry of Election Finance against Jonathan Hall
- 6. Discussion of recent Informal Advisory Opinions provided to Ethics Commission members
- 7. Discussion regarding future meeting participation via telephone
- 8. Legislative Update from 2021 General Assembly (see pages 42-43)

#### 9. Discussion of SB1005/HB1201 (see pages 44-55)

#### 10. Discussion of possible proposed legislation by the Bureau (see pages 56-74)

#### 11. Reconsiderations

Terry Alley – 2021-090 Richard Bain – 2020-230 Austin Bond – 2021-004 Dennis C. Bynum – 2020-117 Brian Cook – 2021-172 Sid Crocker – 2021-095 George Foster – 2021-097 Charles Keller – 2021-195 Michael McMillan – 2021-113 Gary Melton – 2021-200 Jerry Simons – 2021-203 Matthew Somers – 2021-123 Terry Spearman – 2020-148 John Walker – 2021-126 Darrell Woodard – 2021-211

## 12. Informal civil penalty assessment proceedings –Local Candidates

Nicolas Ciparro – 2021-235 Deidra Harper – 2021-223 Steven Brad Griffey – 2021-224

# 13. Informal civil penalty assessment proceedings –Local Officials

Bill Trivett – 2021-225 Freddie Harding – 2021-226 Patricia McCreight – 2021-227 Jason Roach – 2021-228 Mark Wells – 2021-229 Jim Duke – 2021-236 William Murray – 2021-116 Maria Jiminez – 2021-231 Larry Presswood – 2021-232

#### 14. Informal civil penalty assessment proceeding – State Officials

Joan Carter – 2021-237 Frank S. Niceley – 2021-233 Katrina Robinson – 2021-234

#### 15. Informal civil penalty assessment proceedings – Lobbyist

Kendra Lee – 2021-138

#### 16. Informal civil penalty assessment proceedings – Employer of Lobbyist

Nashville CARES – 2021-238

#### 17. Rescind Civil Penalty Orders

Hugh Hale – 2021-101 Saundra Jarvis – 2020-210 David Morrison – 2020-173 Jennifer Powers – 2019-052 Ralph Mike Worley – 2021-129

## 18. Lobbyist Audits

### **2019:**

Thomas Barnett Hope Jackson Michael Bivens Rebecca Kelly Alan Breech Mike Knotts Nuraldeen Brifkani Chuck Laine Will Burns Megan Lane Clayton Crownover Antoinette Lee Tamara Currin Eddie Mitchell Haley Dale Katherine Moffat Garvin Dillinger Michael Murphy Tina Gerardi Patrick Sheehy Carolyn Grant Gif Thornton Bradley Jackson Jacqueline Twiggs

## **2020:**

John C. Bowman Elizabeth Powers David Braam Reina Reddish **Bonnie Britt** Wil Richardson **Ashley Cates** Susan Ritter **Stewart Clifton** Theresa Sabella Jennie Corley Jesse Samples Len Engel Ben Stewart Richard Foge Michael Turner Jack Graham Jennie Verner David Huneryager Roberts Weaver, Jr. Debra Maggart Jessica Whitmill Amanda Young Nole Mangine Terry McCurren

## 19. Set date of Ethics Commission's next meeting

#### 20. Other Business