THE PLASTIC CARD IS THE CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER

AND MUST BE CARRIED ON BOARD WHENEVER THE 24119768
¥ESSEL IS LISE. ACCOUNTING NUMBER
TENNESSEE WILDLIFE RESOURCES AGENCY , INSTRUCTIONS
CERTIICATE OF BOAT MUMSSR 3 (SEE TENNESSEE BOATING GUIDE FOR MORE INFORMATION)

- REMOVE EXPIRED DECALS - ONLY CURRENT DECALS MAY BE VISIBLE

« MAKE SURE BOAT SURFACE IS CLEAN BEFORE APPLYING DECAL

- PEEL DECAL AWAY FROM BACKING AND APPLY BY PRESSING FROM
CENTER TO EDGE.

THE CERTIFICATE NUMBER WHICH APPEARS ON YOUR PLASTIC CARD
MUST BE DISPLAYED ON YOUR BOAT AS SHOWN BELOW. THE NUMBERS
AND LETTERS MUST BE BLOCK STYLE AT LEAST 3 INCHES HIGH,

OF CONTRASTING COLOR TO THE HULL, WITH SPACES BETWEEN TN
AND NUMBERS AND LETTERS.

TENNESSEE BOATING DECAL TENNESSEE BOATING DECAL

BOAT NUMBER EXPIRATION DATE BOAT NUMBER EXPIRATION DATE

FOR REMOVAL OF DECALS, CAREFULLY SEPARATE
PLASTIC STICKER FROM THICKER, BACKING PAPER

ALL EXPIRED DECALS MUST BE EITHER REMOVED OR COVERED

g TN 0000 AA

Example Only: THIS IS NOT YOUR CERTIFICATE NUMBER

e TN 0000 AA
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EXPIRATION DATE



REGISTRATION

Required for sailboats and all mechanically powered vessels (also docu-
mented vessels). Number must be permanently attached or painted on the
bow, read left to right. Example: TN 0000 AA; number not less than 3 inches
in hicight. Block style numbers and letters.

IDENTIFICATION DECAL

A vaiidation decal must be affixed to the vessel on each side of the bow
(the forward half of the vessel), either preceding or following the TN identi-
fication number. For documented vessels, please see below.

DOCUMENTED VESSELS

Documented vessels are those vessels that are five tons or larger and are
issued a federal document (title) by the U.S. Coast Guard. The vessel must
also be registered with the State of Tennessee but is not required to display
the registration number. However, a validation decal must be displayed on
either side of the vessel on the windows located nearest the main operator
station. Documented sailboats, in lieu of that location , may place the decal
on the bottom of the main mast, on both the right and left sides.

FURSONAL WATERCRAFT
' boating laws apply to PWC. Must wear life jacket at all times. May not
nperate between sunset and sunrise.

“cGULATIONS

No Wake Areas
Areas within 300’ of a commercial dock and other areas as posted.

Owner Responsibility

A vessel, used with the owner’s consent, is liable for any injury or damage
caused by the negligent operation of the vessel, even if owner is not pres-
ent.

Reckless Operation

$2,500 fine plus 11 months and 29 days in jail for any act that endangers
life, limb, property. (Examples: operating under the influence of alcohol or
drugs; operating in swimming areas; riding on seatbacks, gunwhales or
transoms.)

Baating Accident Reports

Immediate notification to TWRA of any reportable boating accident. A
reportable boating accident is any boating incident that involves death,
missing person, injury beyond first aid or $2,000 in property damage.

Skiing

Ali skiers must wear an adequate flotation device. Boats towing skiers must

be equipped with a wide-angle mirror or have an observer of at least 12
years of age. If a Coast Guard approved life jacket is not worn by the skier,
then one must be on board the towing vessel.

Tennessee Requirements For Recreational Boats
Additional requirements can be found in the pamphlet “Tennessee Boating”

Lighting

All boats operating between sunset and sunrise and during periods of
restricted visibility are required to display the appropriate lights. An
anchored vessel must display an anchor light, which is an all-around, white
light, visible for two miles.

Life Jacket
All children 12 years of age and under must wear a life jacket at all times
while on a boat underway. (Drifting is considered underway.)

MANDATORY BOATER EDUCATION

Any Tennessee resident born after 1/1/1989 must have obtained a TWRA-
issued, wallet-size boating education certificate as proof of passing a moni-
tored exam administered by a representative of TWRA. For exam locations
and times, log onto www.tnwildlife.org.

BOATING SAFETY COURSE
Take a free home study boating course. Call (615) 781-6682.

For detailed boating brochures, write or call:
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Boating Safety
5107 Edmondson Pike
Nashville, TN 37211
Phone: (615) 781-6682

Regional Offices

Region 1 Jackson, TN 1-800-372-3928
Region 2 Nashville, TN 1-800-624-7406
Region 3 Crossville, TN 1-800-262-6704
Region 4 Morristown, TN 1-800-332-0900
BOAT SAFE - BOAT FUN
WWW.TNWILDLIFE.ORG



THE PLASTIC CARD IS THE CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
AND MUST BE CARRIED ON BOARD WHENEVER THE
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(SEE TENNESSEE BOATING GUIDE FOR MORE INFORMATION)

- REMOVE EXPIRED DECALS - ONLY CURRENT DECALS MAY BE VISIBLE
« MAKE SURE BOAT SURFACE IS CLEAN BEFORE APPLYING DECAL
- PEEL DECAL AWAY FROM BACKING AND APPLY BY PRESSING FROM

CENTER TO EDGE.

THE CERTIFICATE NUMBER WHICH APPEARS ON YOUR PLASTIC CARD
MUST BE DISPLAYED ON YOUR BOAT AS SHOWN BELOW. THE NUMBERS
AND LETTERS MUST BE BLOCK STYLE AT LEAST 3 INCHES HIGH,
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FOR REMOVAL OF DECALS, CAREFULLY SEPARATE
PLASTIC STICKER FROM THICKER, BACKING PAPER

ALL EXPIRED DECALS MUST BE EITHER REMOVED OR COVERED

B TN 0000 AA

Example Only: THIS IS NOT YOUR CERTIFICATE NUMBER

TN 0000 AA [

EXPIRATION DATE



REGISTRATION

Required for sailboats and all mechanically powered vessels (also docu-
mented vessels). Number must be permanently attached or painted on the
bow, read left to right. Example: TN 0000 AA; number not less than 3 inches
in height. Block style numbers and letters.

IDENTIFICATION DECAL

A validation decal must be affixed to the vessel on each side of the bow
(the forward half of the vessel), either preceding or following the TN identi-
fication number. For documented vessels, please see below.

DOCUMENTED VESSELS

Documented vessels are those vessels that are five tons or larger and are
issued a federal document (title) by the U.S. Coast Guard. The vessel must
also be registered with the State of Tennessee but is not required to display
the registration number. However, a validation decal must be displayed on
either side of the vessel on the windows located nearest the main operator
station. Documented sailboats, in lieu of that location , may place the decal
on the bottom of the main mast, on both the right and left sides.

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
All boating laws apply to PWC. Must wear life jacket at all times. May not
operate between sunset and sunrise.

REGULATIONS

No Wake Areas
Areas within 300’ of a commercial dock and other areas as posted.

Owner Responsibility

A vessel, used with the owner’s consent, is liable for any injury or damage
caused by the negligent operation of the vessel, even if owner is not pres-
ent.

Reckless Operation

$2,500 fine plus 11 months and 29 days in jail for any act that endangers
life, limb, property. (Examples: operating under the influence of alcohol or
drugs; operating in swimming areas; riding on seatbacks, gunwhales or
transoms.)

Boating Accident Reports

Immediate notification to TWRA of any reportable boating accident. A
reportable boating accident is any boating incident that involves death,
missing person, injury beyond first aid or $2,000 in property damage.
Skiing

All skiers must wear an adequate flotation device. Boats towing skiers must
be equipped with a wide-angle mirror or have an observer of at least 12
years of age. If a Coast Guard approved life jacket is not worn by the skier,
then one must be on board the towing vessel.

Lighting

All boats operating between sunset and sunrise and during periods of
restricted visibility are required to display the appropriate lights. An
anchored vessel must display an anchor light, which is an all-around, white
light, visible for two miles.

Life Jacket
All children 12 years of age and under must wear a life jacket at all times
while in a boat underway. (Drifting is considered underway.)

MANDATORY BOATER EDUCATION

Any Tennessee resident born after 1/1/1989 must have obtained a TWRA-
issued, wallet-size boating education certificate as proof of passing a
moni-tored exam administered by a representative of TWRA. For exam
locations and times, log onto www.tnwildlife.org.

BOATING SAFETY COURSE
Take a free home study boating course. Call (615) 781-6682.
For detailed boating brochures, write or call:
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
Boating Safety
5107 Edmondson Pike
Nashville, TN 37211-5129

Phone: (615) 781-6682

Regional Offices

Region 1 Jackson, TN 1-800-372-3928
Region 2 Nashville, TN 1-800-624-7406
Region 3 Crossville, TN 1-800-262-6704
Region 4 Morristown, TN 1-800-332-0900

BOAT SAFE - BOAT FUN

WWW.TNWILDLIFE.ORG
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