
Close Contact 
Businesses
The “Tennessee Pledge” is a plan to help Tennesseans
get back to work in a safe environment, restore their 
livelihoods and reboot our state’s economy.



 

Close Contact Businesses 
As of June 4, 2020 
 
 
These guidelines are intended to apply to “close contact personal services, which include: 
barber shops, hair salons, waxing salons, threading salons, nail salons or spas, spas 
providing body treatments, body-art facilities or tattoo services, tanning salons, and 
massage-therapy establishments or massage services. Substantially similar occupations 
and businesses may also utilize these guidelines as appropriate. 
 
These guidelines do not replace or supersede any requirements applicable to your 
business or licensed employees pursuant to law or regulation, including but not 
limited to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance and Tennessee 
Department of Health. Rather, these guidelines are intended as a supplement to 
assist with safely reopening and providing services due to COVID-19. 
 
Due to the nature of close contact personal services, an abundance of caution should be 
exercised to mitigate or prevent exposure to COVID-19. Persons who are more vulnerable 
or at-risk for COVID-19 as identified by the CDC — including those who are over the age of 
65 or those who have severe underlying medical conditions — should take extra 
precaution or refrain from using close contact personal services. 

 

Safeguarding Guidance 
In addition to strict adherence to CDC guidelines, the State recommends all 
providers of close contact personal services implement an assortment of measures 
to protect consumers and employees, including: 
 
 

Employee Protection 
• Screen all employees reporting to work for COVID-19 symptoms with 

the following questions: 
o Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19 in the past 

14 days? (Note: This does not apply to medical personnel, first responders, or 
other individuals who encounter COVID-19 as part of their professional or 
caregiving duties while wearing appropriate PPE.) 

o Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath or sore throat? 
o Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours? 
o Have you had new loss of taste or smell? 



 

o Have you had vomiting or diarrhea in the last 24 hours? 
• Temperature screening employees: 

o Best practice: employers to take temperatures onsite with a no-
touch thermometer each day upon arrival at work 

o Minimum: temperatures can be taken and logged before arrival. 
Normal temperature should not exceed 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit 

• Practice recommended social distancing to the greatest extent possible— 
“Further is safer” 

• Employees should increase hygiene practices—wash hands more frequently, 
avoid touching face, practice good respiratory etiquette when coughing or 
sneezing 

• Change any protective garments on a regular basis and sanitize 
reusable garments such as aprons or smocks at least once per day. 

• All employees should stay home if feeling ill, report any symptoms of 
illness to supervisor and require notification of COVID-19 positive case in 
employee’s 
household. Employees who are particularly vulnerable to COVID-19 according to 
the CDC (e.g., due to age or severe underlying medical conditions) are encouraged 
to stay home 

• Direct any employee who exhibits COVID-19 symptoms (i.e., answers yes 
to any of the screening questions or who is running a fever) to leave the 
premises immediately and seek medical care and/or COVID-19 testing, per 
Tennessee Department of Health and CDC guidelines. Employers should 
maintain the confidentiality of employee health information. 

• Employers should provide training, educational materials, and 
reinforcement on proper sanitization, handwashing, cough and sneeze etiquette, 
use of PPE, and other protective behaviors to their employees on a regular basis 

• Employees should wear a cloth face covering (not N-95 or medical masks, which 
should be reserved for healthcare workers) and other personal protection items as 
recommended by the CDC; if masks become wet or visibly dirty, the mask should 
be replaced 

• All employees should wash hands between serving each customer, and 
more frequently as necessary. If appropriate for the service provided, gloves 
are recommended and should be discarded after each customer. The use of 
gloves should not be considered a replacement for frequent handwashing 

• Consider designated staff to be tasked with maintaining 
heightened sanitization efforts 

• Post extensive signage regarding increased cleaning, sanitization, and 
hygiene practices 

• Perform regular disinfection of high-touch surface areas (e.g., door handles, 
counter space, light switches, tools and instruments) at least every two hours 
and when visibly dirty 
 

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-small-business.html


 

 

Consumer Protection 
• Do not offer any self-serve food or beverages. Temporarily close water 

fountains. Encourage guests to provide their own water 
• Prohibit congregating in break rooms, check-in counters 
• Customers should wear a cloth face covering while in the premises (not N-95 

or medical masks, which should be reserved for healthcare workers) and as 
recommended by the CDC and executive order of the governor, except for 
services that require removing face-coverings (e.g., beard shaving/trimming, 
facials, etc.). Use other personal protection items as recommended by the CDC 

o Staff providing services that require customers to remove face coverings 
should wear both a cloth face covering and a protective face shield 

o For massage, prone positions could be uncomfortable or dangerous for 
clients who are wearing face coverings. Accordingly, massage professionals 
may consider other appropriate precautions such as draping a client’s head 
and face cradle cover with a thin cotton pillowcase. Otherwise, a face 
covering should be worn during portions of treatment in which the client is 
not prone or facedown 

• Screen customers for illness upon their entry into the premises: 
o Best practice: Temperature checks for every customer. Customers with 

temperatures above 100.4 degrees Fahrenheit should not be permitted in 
the premises 

o Minimum: Question customers regarding COVID-19 symptoms 
• Have you been in close contact with a confirmed case of COVID-19 in 

the past 14 days? (Note: This does not apply to medical personnel, 
first responders, or other individuals who encounter COVID-19 as part 
of their professional or caregiving duties while wearing appropriate 
PPE.) 

• Are you experiencing a cough, shortness of breath, or sore throat? 
• Have you had a fever in the last 48 hours? 

 
 

Business Process Adaptation 
• Limit the number of customers allowed in the premises to allow for 

appropriate social distancing. Workstations should be at least 6 feet apart, with 
additional measures taken as necessary to ensure that all people stay 6 feet apart 
at all times except for the staff providing a service to their client. Physical barriers 
to be used where necessary 

• Services are encouraged to be offered by appointment only; no walk-ins if 
possible 

• Prohibit use of waiting areas (e.g., could adopt such practices as notifying 



 

customers by call or text message) or serenity lounges; limit use of other common 
areas by multiple people at one time (e.g., elevators, breakrooms, etc.) 

• Businesses should remove all books, magazines, or any shared material for 
customers 

• Ensure thorough workstation and equipment disinfection after each customer 
(i.e. sanitize all equipment, instruments, capes, smocks, linens, chairs and work 
area); alternatively, utilize single-use or disposable items 

• Implement enhanced sanitization of commonly touched surfaces and 
equipment (i.e., at least every two hours and when visibly dirty), using 
CDC recommended sanitizers and disinfecting protocols 

• Discard any single-use tools (e.g., files, buffers, neck strips) immediately after use 
• Encourage touchless payment methods where possible 
• Place hand sanitizer stations in shop lobby and bathrooms 
• Do not allow self-serve products (e.g., “testers”); consider limiting 

customer contact with retail products before purchase 
• Daily deep cleaning and sanitization to be completed for high-touch 

areas (tanning beds, massage tables, salon chairs, etc.) 
• Use appropriate temperatures for washers and dryers to ensure 

thorough sanitization of towels, linens, etc. 
• Open windows and doors where possible to increase ventilation 
• Do not allow non-customer companions to accompany customer during a service 
• Do not allow group or communal settings for close contact personal 

services (e.g., couples’ massages, salt rooms, saunas, pools) 
• Plan for potential COVID-19 cases, and work with local health department 

officials when needed (e.g., monitor and trace COVID-19 cases, deep clean 
facilities) 

• Covered employers and employees should be aware of the provisions of the 
federal Families First Coronavirus Response Act, which allows for paid sick 
leave or expanded family and medical leave for specified reasons, such as for 
self- quarantining or seeking a medical diagnosis for COVID-19 symptoms 
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